• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Analytical Professor

HH its ok for you if you drive right? But lets say your kids need to go tuition, then you need to send them or your wife needs to send them right? That is what i meant by lack of a public transport system. I would not demand that JB have a fantastic PTS like Spore but it should atleast provide people with independence to travel on their own (not cars). Every country has a PTS in whatever form that may be.

I agree with you fully when you say for us Petrol is cheap or Kancil or 2nd local cars are cheap. Phew Road tax that cheap ah?

I am fine with not having a decent public transport in JB at the moment as cars in Malaysia are still very cheap. Kancil or 2nd hand local cars cost just S$5k or slightly more. Road tax is like S$50? Petrol is cheap so its still affordable. But one thing i dont like is that public buses cost average RM 3 if u need to go to the city. And the bus stinks, except the causelink link heading back to Singapore of cos.

cathylmg

Oh yea sorry. Forgot that one. Which means not much in capital appreciation right?

IMHO, most developements in Nusajaya, Kempas as well as Pasir Gudang have priced in prices that would have been up the the point before all the facilities are opened. Including Medini, Legoland, highways, Educities....etc There will be another spike after these facilities open itself, but will settle down after sometime, just like what Singapore is going through right now after the opening of the 2 casinos. Provided their garment is able to attract more investments that creates better paying job opportunities for their locals, property prices will go back to steady gradual increase.

This is just my humble point of view hor? Don't mind hor? :smile:

Analytical Professor

I would love that to happen.

Yeah the lesser people migrate the more space we have.

I hope the exchange rate goes up to RM 240 soon so that I can enjoy more. Almost paying for everything in ringgit now. For those who are still afraid to come to JB, please stay put in SG as I still enjoy the jam-less peak hour traffic currently.

Analytical Professor

This is exactly what i have been harping on in the last couple of pages. But somehow got misconstrued or misunderstood.

:o:o:o

Provided their garment is able to attract more investments that creates better paying job opportunities for their locals, property prices will go back to steady gradual increase.

This is just my humble point of view hor? Don't mind hor? :smile:

aangsc

Let me put it politely. I am but a single Singaporean. I cant change Singapore nor can i change the world.

Look at it this way. How many people truly observed Earth Hour? And for those who did why not more than one hour?

Look at it differently now. When we go on holidays to cheaper countries lets not shop <<we could be making a nuisance of Singaporeans right>>

We could go on arguing like this.:smile:

Dear Professor,

your decision to move to JB has already change the "world" for your family members. Of course it makes a different in a small way to start with. The many individuals like you, me and your family members make up part of the world.

If every singaporean think they cannot make a different, then there will not be a opposition in coming election, that will be sad. At least now there is hope.

I am not into observing such campaign like 'Earth' hour, I think it lacks the sincerity to do it once a year for an hour. Many do for publicity and join the herd mentality.
I personally find that knowing the reason behind the campaign is good ; all resources on earth has a limit.

Please be thankful and appreciate whatever small benefit you received from your host country's generousity. Wasting resources because it is cheap is a real turn-off. Don't you think singaporean already have too many negative traits like kiasu and kiasi ? We do not need another trait like a 'wasteful' people ?

cathylmg

This is exactly what i have been harping on in the last couple of pages. But somehow got misconstrued or misunderstood.

:o:o:o

Forgot to include this. Propery prices will not go down to what it used to be 5 years ago anymore. Nor will is spike like what had happen in the last 2 years. Except if they adjust the property for foreigner to buy at say more then RM700K. That is history for now. What I really mean by steady gradual increase is increasing by say a few percent on a yearly basis. Which I feel is more sustainable.

Again, this is just my humble opinion. You are entitled to yours. ;-)

cathylmg

I notice that terrace houses in HH ( inter-terraces ) are going at RM 500k - RM 600+k in Horizon Hills Gateway. It used to be RM 200k-RM 300k. Anyone notice this trend? Recently I was looking to buy a terrace with a budget of RM 400K, which is considered high and seems that I cant find a decent house with this pricing.

You must be a local. Or your wife is. Foreigners cannot buy less then 500k. All developers up their prices so that foreigners can qualify to buy it. This is the very catalyst that propelled the sharp spike towards the second half of last year and beginning this year.

Analytical Professor

Ofcourse i am thankful and appreciate the benefits offered by my host country. That is why i said somewhere earlier "If there was no JB next to Spore i would surely die much earler and that JB has added several days/years to my life"

Now the toy swimming pool is sold at Giant. I believe a lot of local people buy it and use it too. I am just filling it up with water and using it for my kids to splash around in. I have strictly told my maid to use the water for the Gardening that is to water the plants.

Please be thankful and appreciate whatever small benefit you received from your host country's generousity. Wasting resources because it is cheap is a real turn-off. Don't you think singaporean already have too many negative traits like kiasu and kiasi ? We do not need another trait like a 'wasteful' people ?

29ers

For those who are still afraid to come to JB, please stay put in SG as I still enjoy the jam-less peak hour traffic currently.

Call me Selfish or whatever u want, but i 2nd that opinion. I can imagine if it's going to be crowded then i will need to move further up north.

Cheers to Wuqi and Gang for keeping this forum so lively.

cathylmg

Yes I think the price has risen too high for many. But they still dont know that it will go further. The time will come when a normal terrace in EL/HH hit RM 1 million mark.

There might be another spike after Legoland and Educity opened. So if you want a ride on this, you have jump in now.

PS: This is just my humble opinion. You invest at you own risk.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Aangsc - The last property spike was more than 10 years ago i believe.
Winners - We do our best not to use too much water and electricity as well though its very tempting.
Cathylmg - Thanks a lot for sharing, it will do a gradual increase in most areas, in a select few areas, it has spiked up a lot though. Even in ST, it has increased.

That said, its not guaranteed that prices will not fall, even to the past lows. As you said, the government must be able to find jobs, etc so sustain their economy.

Increasingly though, they are diverting their resources in a slew of job creating manner like growing industries, encouraging businesses from SG to move here as well as building financial districts here and extremely near to SG.

Xisiqomelir - Thank you so much for sharing that, its a beautiful page. Hats off to their family for taking the plunge.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
HH its ok for you if you drive right? But lets say your kids need to go tuition, then you need to send them or your wife needs to send them right? That is what i meant by lack of a public transport system. I would not demand that JB have a fantastic PTS like Spore but it should atleast provide people with independence to travel on their own (not cars). Every country has a PTS in whatever form that may be.

I agree with you fully when you say for us Petrol is cheap or Kancil or 2nd local cars are cheap. Phew Road tax that cheap ah?

There are also taxis that you can call, buses or services that ply certain areas but for peace of mind, best to drive them or to go for tuition centres, some of which provides transport. Yes, my road tax here ranges from 90 to 100 plus.

There is a reason why there isn't so much public transport and taxis are parking there for much of the day.

aangsc

There are also taxis that you can call, buses or services that ply certain areas but for peace of mind, best to drive them or to go for tuition centres, some of which provides transport. Yes, my road tax here ranges from 90 to 100 plus.

There is a reason why there isn't so much public transport and taxis are parking there for much of the day.

What ? only 100 plus for road tax ! That's is incredibly low compare to SG. Damn I am paying like 8 times of that which does not translate to 8 times better road conditions with endless road work and noise every here and there whole year round.

Investor

Wuqi - I think you've missed out this question from newbie gforker.

gforker - I share the same sentiments as LeMans, Horizon Hills, dapbest, Coolsaint and many others. For now, there are enough committed investments in Nusajaya which will keep the price moving up for at least the next 5 years. Beyond the 5 years all the way up to 25 years, I can only say that I can't see that far. Anyway if your intention is to get only one unit for own stay, current price can never be wrong as long as you think it's worth it. Current price is roughly S$100psf in EL and HH, you should know Singapore's price.

Analytical Professor - From my reading of your previous post, I realized that your concern is more of the long term(5-25 years) 'sustainability' of this new city. Most of us have the confidence in capital appreciation of Nusajaya's properties for the next 5 years and I believe that you feel the same way too. It's just that you suddenly worry about longer term, am I right? I don't know how many units you've bought. If it's one, there's nothing to worry about as long as you enjoy it and moreover it has the magic to add a few more years to your life, that's the beauty of it don't you agree? If you have more than one unit and you're worried about the long term, you can always sell the excess units for profit at some point of time when you don't see anymore big investments coming into Nusajaya. You'll have plenty of time to make that decision, don't worry my friend.

Hi Wuqi. My interest in living in JB and working in Singapore was really piqued after reading the article on the Straits Times yesterday. Is the price of units too high now to enter the market in HH or East Ledang now? I am a doctor working and living in Singapore now. Really looking into crossing the strait to live across the border. Thanks.

aangsc

Hi Wuqi. My interest in living in JB and working in Singapore was really piqued after reading the article on the Straits Times yesterday. Is the price of units too high now to enter the market in HH or East Ledang now? I am a doctor working and living in Singapore now. Really looking into crossing the strait to live across the border. Thanks.

You should go over and please setup a clinic over there as well. Many shop available at HH. Singapore trained doctor, I trust better but please charge me Msia price hor. Put your horizon longer, there is never a better time to invest. How much do you price fresh air , less jam and quiet night.

gregorian

Hi Wuqi and fellow investors

Thanks for sharing with me so much about Iskandar. I myself have met up with a lot of resistance myself and thus i really can understand how everyone of us feel.

Buying property is a tough decision. i have drive around Johor for the past few months thinking about what properties to invest in.

I personally dun really enjoy JB and would prefer to stay at Nusajaya instead.
But i have been checking out with the leading developments.
East Ledang, Setia Bukit Indah and HH.
Apparently they are not launching yet at least until June.

so i am thinking about buying a resale in HH, and thus i am seeking your advices.
1) which bank shld i go for since i dun have any connection to any banks yet.
2) How much deposit shld i place with the agent first.
3) is there any stamp duties and other hidden fees that i need to take note of?
I am looking around $1m MY pricing.

Thanks all the mentors, you have made my life much more happier with this forum around.

gregorian

Hi Wuqi and fellow investors,

I have to show my appreciation by saying thank you. all your contributions are really very encouraging towards what i believe in too. I have met many resistances from my friends and even until now...But thanks to all your contributions, i have started to take a big step forward.

I am interested in getting a house but apparently HH, EL, Setia are not launching any new landed phases until June, so i was thinking of getting a Venus in Bukit Indah or a resale in HH.

I wanted to seek some advices from all the masters if i am buying resale. 1) Any recommended banks that i should go first since i am a singaporean and dun have any bank accounts yet in Malaysia. 2) if i decided to buy a resale, how much deposits should i pay? 3)What's the stamp duty and any other significant fees that i need to prepare? My cash on hand isnt that significant.

Thanks in advance. you guys are the amazing!

Investor

Usually there are around 300+ viewers in Coffee Shop Talk. Today, there are 1450 viewers. I guess most of the new viewers are here for Wiqi's "Living in JB" topic. Last time we can see the number of viewers in each individual topic but I can't find the numbers now.

Status
Not open for further replies.