• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Don't eat shark's fins...

theblackhole

SINGAPORE: A local marine conservation group, Project: FIN, has launched a campaign on social networking site Facebook, asking to people to change their profile picture to one which says: Celebrate Chinese New Year with no shark fin soup.

Since the launch last Wednesday, the group claims the campaign has spread globally, attracting more than 20 organisations such as Shark Rescue from the United States and the Hong Kong Shark Foundation.

Project: FIN founder Jennifer Lee told MediaCorp: "Some restaurants have put baby shark's fins on the menu and that's very worrying because adult shark population is declining due to increased demand for shark's fin in Asia".

The depletion of stock is compounded as sharks take many years to mature and produce few young.

This means that their populations are slow to recover once overfished.

WWF Singapore, an environmental group, noted on its website that Singapore was the second largest shark fin trading nation and was not aware of any shark fisheries that were sustainably managed.

"Given the critical situation facing our sharks, we recommend for the Singapore public to stop consumption of shark fin and other shark products," it said.

But restauranteurs told MediaCorp they would still continue to serve shark's fin as long as there was a demand for it.

Jumbo group's general manager Ang Kiam Meng, who is also the president of Restaurant Association of Singapore, said: "It's a question of demand and supply and people are looking forward to eating the dish this New Year".

He told MediaCorp that several customers had walked out of Singapore Seafood Republic - a combined venture among The Jumbo Group, Palm Beach, Tung Lok and Seafood International restaurants at Resorts World Sentosa (RWS) - when they learnt that shark's fin was not served.

RWS is one of the resorts in the world with restaurants that do not serve shark's fin.

Project: FIN said it hopes that with more education and awareness, more people would give up eating shark's fin.

Said Ms Lee: "As we progress with time, it is important that people recognise that the importance of cultural practices should not supercede the importance of maintaining sustainability, as the Earth's resources are not inexhaustible".

-CNA/wk

theblackhole

can eat shark's meat?

better don't eat anything lah...all fishes will go extinct...all animals will go extinct....even greens will go extinct if you eat too much, harvest too much...consume too much..

so what is it going to be? eat or don't eat? die or live ?

Agoraphobic

Shark's fin is a status dish. And its demand is screwing up the balance in the seas, besides being very cruel.

I see more and more Sgns able to give up this dish - a sign of increasing awareness and concern. I hope this trend grows and spreads.

Agoraphobic

If one can, stick to eating "farmed" animals.

can eat shark's meat?

better don't eat anything lah...all fishes will go extinct...all animals will go extinct....even greens will go extinct if you eat too much, harvest too much...consume too much..

so what is it going to be? eat or don't eat? die or live ?

middaydog

emperor-shark-fin-soup.jpg

yeah! yum yum, aroy took kum :smile:

cooleo

>>Jumbo group's general manager Ang Kiam Meng, who is also the president of Restaurant Association of Singapore, said: "It's a question of demand and supply and people are looking forward to eating the dish this New Year".<<

This guy is a nice chap and a really shrew businessman. Seriously what he said is true. Those mutherfucking lameass environmentalists should go shove something up their asses.

theblackhole

environmentalists and the green are powderful people....they can influence and and also wreck havoc.....

theblackhole

amk got 1 dragon! ... :eek:

waulau...u very hungry issit?....damned spot on one....pls lah...not easy to slaughter a dragon.....you kena fired and bakar to bbq meat....then you kena eaten by vampires...

you sure amk got dragon?

Thick Face Black Heart

SINGAPORE: A local marine conservation group, Project: FIN, has launched a campaign on social networking site Facebook, asking to people to change their profile picture to one which says: Celebrate Chinese New Year with no shark fin soup.

I have no problem abstaining from shark fin and in fact I think people should do so. But the fucking problem with these environmentalist nutcrackers is that once you give in one inch to them, they will demand a yard from you.

If now people obey them and stop eating shark fin, next they will ask people stop eating abalone, then stop eating red meat, then stop eating red meat and white meat, then avoid all meat including fish altogether.

Same thing with the global warming fiasco. First tell people not to drive car, take public tpt. Next tell people dun bathe hot water, bathe cold water. Then tell people cycle to work or walk to work. Then tell people dun use air con.

KNNBCCB, dun use air con!!!! Ask them fuck off! When the weather is damn hot, if u turn off air con it will affect your mental state, you will not be able to perform at your work!! KNNBCCB chao ah quas want to deprive people of air con just to save on carbon footprint! CHEEBYE KIA FUCK THESE BASTARD environmentalist ASSHOLES.

KNNBCCB

KNNBCCB, dun use air con!!!! Ask them fuck off! When the weather is damn hot, if u turn off air con it will affect your mental state, you will not be able to perform at your work!! KNNBCCB chao ah quas want to deprive people of air con just to save on carbon footprint! CHEEBYE KIA FUCK THESE BASTARD environmentalist ASSHOLES.

Yes... Boss... :o
The weather has changed... Today we got 24 hours of pouring...
woo hoo... waiting for snows cumming... woo hoo ... :eek:

I don't think sharkfin is status dish per se. It's expensive, yes, a matter of pricing to supply and demand. Too many people eat it? Also no. Only eastern and southern Chinese, Vietnamese and Thai eat it. These combine to less than 10% of world population. Most of them could afford eat it at most once a year. Each the more affluent would eat it on average once a month. Nobody would eat it everyday however affluent they are, there're plenty of variteties of other delicacies to go around the days and moons.

The shark shortage scare stories are cooked up by greenpeace alarmists and tagged on to up the price by shark fishers and sharkfin vendors.