• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Happy PAP release report: Fewer citizenship and PR granted

†††††

Fewer S'pore citizenship, permanent residency granted: report
By Joanne Chan | Posted: 17 December 2010 1853 hrs

SINGAPORE : Fewer immigrants were granted permanent residency and citizenship this year, according to the first Singapore Public Sector Outcomes Review which outlines challenges for the government.

Competition for jobs from foreigners, rising property prices and over-crowding in public transportation were among concerns raised by Singaporeans over the hot issue of foreigners and immigrants in Singapore.

In a sign that these concerns have been heard, the growth of citizens and permanent residents has slowed significantly to 1.01 per cent this year, compared to 2.5 per cent in 2009.

Recognising concerns over the influx of foreigners, the government has taken steps to manage this growth. These include tightening the framework for granting permanent residency and citizenship.

In addition, infrastructure for transport, housing and other amenities is being enhanced to accommodate gradual population growth.

The government has also said it will keep the foreign share of the workforce at one-third.

However, it added that with Singapore's low fertility rate, the country must remain open to high calibre immigrants to boost the population and sustain competitiveness.

One sociologist said anxieties among citizens must be eased.

Professor Jean Yeung, a sociologist at the Asia Research Institute, National University of Singapore, said: "To affirm that local Singaporeans are the priority of Singapore society, making sure that their life is well taken care of, infrastructure is well, you need to increase the immigrants, but the local population shouldn't feel threatened about it."

Professor Yeung added that there has to be more education and outreach efforts to show the contributions that immigrants are making in Singapore.

Another issue for the government involves the CPF minimum sum requirement, where S$123,000 must be set aside for retirement.

In 2009, only 49 per cent of workers were able to meet the requirement upon reaching 55 years old.

This raises concerns over the ability of the elderly to depend on themselves in retirement, and the potential need for more support from the government.

Prof Yeung said: "Older people rely a lot on their children to support them. And now a large proportion of people don't even get married or have children. So that means they are going to need to accumulate enough on their own, or the government will have to increase their support to the elderly population."

The report looked at six broad areas, including sustainable economic growth and building a cohesive society.

There are plans to publish the report every two years.

- CNA/al

IceLemonT

Isn't this is what most sgers asking for - Less foreigner & PRs?

But wait! Sgers also don't want to get married and have children.

Not enough local manpower replenishment, don't allow foreign workforce import, what to do? One solution, all those who are still alive now must work until they died, no more 55 or 65 or75 years old but until last breathe.

In fact, all this is just simple mathematics. The choice is up to you.

The PAP mouthpiece is just spreading falsehood. I still feel it in my bone that there are plenty of foreigners still lurking in Singapore. Gradual increase in population? PAP will not have the 2nd chance in this election to fix Singaporeans. Either they get voted out or we suffer even more down the road. The choice is now in the hands of those who suffered enough and wanted a change for better life tomorrow.

wahlaneh

Isn't this is what most sgers asking for - Less foreigner & PRs?

Not enough local manpower replenishment, don't allow foreign workforce import, what to do? One solution, all those who are still alive now must work until they died, no more 55 or 65 or75 years old but until last breathe.

In fact, all this is just simple mathematics. The choice is up to you.

wahlaneh...
not less but zero 0 FT/FW/PR/new citizens lah!
also no more retirement work until both legs straight in coffin lor.
dowan married dowan kids dowan anybody alive in sg lor.
soon singapore will become a 荒岛 with no life.:confused:

Forvendet

PAP policy of 1/3 foreigner is too high.

1/4 is more managaeable and socially tolerable.

Don't have any foreigner also cannot.

cathylmg

Most FT return to their homeland eventually. With money they have made from selling off their hdb flats, and the fat pay that we give them. They came, they grab as much money as they could, then go home and talk bad about sinkies.

BusNo64

dont let them bluff u hor....remember their medium term target is 6.5 million...long term is 10 million hor....now only 5.5, so got 1 more million to squeeze after election hor....so u all better vote wisely hor....vote for any oppo except goh meng seng and his malay bodoh bureau hor...:wink:

sampierre

[QUOTE=IceLemonT;629296]Isn't this is what most sgers asking for - Less foreigner & PRs?

In fact, all this is just simple mathematics. The choice is up to you.[/QUOTE]

Hey, u must be a fucking stupid LEMON! You are so easily taken in by your PAP masters' lies!!
There maybe slightly LESS increase in PRs and new citizens as compared to previous years, BUT the number of EMPLOYMENT PASS holders in Singapore has NOT gone down!! I still see many, many foreign office workers everyday on my way to work, at my office surroundings, and on my way back from work.

After GE 2011, sinkies like Lemon are gonna be very happy to see even more foreigners flooding into Singsapore.

IceLemonT

Hey, u must be a fucking stupid LEMON! You are so easily taken in by your PAP masters' lies!!
There maybe slightly LESS increase in PRs and new citizens as compared to previous years, BUT the number of EMPLOYMENT PASS holders in Singapore has NOT gone down!! I still see many, many foreign office workers everyday on my way to work, at my office surroundings, and on my way back from work.

After GE 2011, sinkies like Lemon are gonna be very happy to see even more foreigners flooding into Singsapore.

Enlighten me or humiliate me whatever you like.

I have provided the equation within my line.

1) Give more babies; and/or
2) Import more FT; and/or
3) Work throughout your lifespan.

10 years ago the gov keep pleading for more babies but selfish sinkies put a blind eye over it. Now is it too late to cry foul? In order to make up the numbers, a full 22 years including pregnancy is needed to deliver a valuable working adult, where on earth do you find them now? We are at least 10 years behind time brothers and sisters.

If providing local workforce like brewing a home-made soup, then import FT will be like fast food, it can only solve your immediate hunger but its harmful in the long run.

Whether I believe the figures the gov put in the media doesn't matter anyway. The real problem is still there, lie naked in front of our eyes, on the floor, fully exposed.

For the patriots, what should you do now?
For the bystanders, get some popcorn, sit and watch.
For the opportunist, this is your good chance to slaughter sinkies. Wait for durian drop is it?

Cruxx

By 2015, Sinkie sheep will become a minority in their own land while ex-Sinkies like me enjoy the high life in hiong gong. :smile:

Precisely, less citizenship and PR granted does not mean less foreigners are coming here to stay and work. In fact, I hope for even more foreigners because in the long run local non-white Singaporeans are just too expensive to maintain, and it will be the foreigners that will ensure the survival of Singapore, not Singaporeans.

(o)(o)

Hey, you all must read the article carefully.

This reporter very cunning, really know how to play with words and make you all see things differently.

(1) Growth of citizen and PR have slowed significantly. The statistics deliberately combine citizen growth and PR growth together. We all know that citizen population growth is very low, maybe close to zero or even negative. So it is possible that the 1% (citizen + PR) growth could well mean that the 1% all come from PR population growth. And if we assume half the population consist of PR, then PR growth is actually 2% out of the total PR population.

(2) It is still a positive growth. Today we have 2 million PRs. 1% means tomorrow we will have 2.02million PR. There are still going to be more PRs than today. If my assumption on (1) is correct, then the PR population growth is actually 2%, which will become 2.04 million.

The article is comparing a bad situation to a worse situation, and make you all believe that a bad situation is now a good situation.

A very cunning but smart writer.

SINGAPORE : Fewer immigrants were granted permanent residency and citizenship this year, according to the first Singapore Public Sector Outcomes Review which outlines challenges for the government.

In a sign that these concerns have been heard, the growth of citizens and permanent residents has slowed significantly to 1.01 per cent this year, compared to 2.5 per cent in 2009.

10 years ago the gov keep pleading for more babies but selfish sinkies put a blind eye over it. Now is it too late to cry foul? In order to make up the numbers, a full 22 years including pregnancy is needed to deliver a valuable working adult, where on earth do you find them now? We are at least 10 years behind time brothers and sisters.

When has the PAP ever pleaded for anything from Sporeans :eek:

People's decisions on family size is determined by what they can afford. Most Sporeans can only afford one maid & this one maid is already too busy looking after the parents, family pet & child :smile:

Windsor

The boiling frog analogy, where citizens does not realise the floodgates being opened since GCT became PM. Slowly but surely the water slowly warms up until the frog died without moving. Singaporeans then suddenly noticed that there seems to be a lot more foreigners than usual. Now it is too late, whatever they said about less foreigners taking up PR and citizenships. There are still closer to 50% foreigners amongst us, than official figures stated. Who believe there are less than that are fools.

Fewer S'pore citizenship, permanent residency granted: report
By Joanne Chan | Posted: 17 December 2010 1853 hrs

Competition for jobs from foreigners, rising property prices and over-crowding in public transportation were among concerns raised by Singaporeans over the hot issue of foreigners and immigrants in Singapore.

Recognising concerns over the influx of foreigners, the government has taken steps to manage this growth. These include tightening the framework for granting permanent residency and citizenship.

In addition, infrastructure for transport, housing and other amenities is being enhanced to accommodate gradual population growth.

The government has also said it will keep the foreign share of the workforce at one-third.

However, it added that with Singapore's low fertility rate, the country must remain open to high calibre immigrants to boost the population and sustain competitiveness.

One sociologist said anxieties among citizens must be eased.

Professor Jean Yeung, a sociologist at the Asia Research Institute, National University of Singapore, said: "To affirm that local Singaporeans are the priority of Singapore society, making sure that their life is well taken care of, infrastructure is well, you need to increase the immigrants, but the local population shouldn't feel threatened about it."

Professor Yeung added that there has to be more education and outreach efforts to show the contributions that immigrants are making in Singapore.

Another issue for the government involves the CPF minimum sum requirement, where S$123,000 must be set aside for retirement.

In 2009, only 49 per cent of workers were able to meet the requirement upon reaching 55 years old.

This raises concerns over the ability of the elderly to depend on themselves in retirement, and the potential need for more support from the government.

Prof Yeung said: "Older people rely a lot on their children to support them. And now a large proportion of people don't even get married or have children. So that means they are going to need to accumulate enough on their own, or the government will have to increase their support to the elderly population."

The report looked at six broad areas, including sustainable economic growth and building a cohesive society.

There are plans to publish the report every two years.

- CNA/al

Windsor

I take exception to the statement that "10 years ago the gov keep pleading for more babies but selfish sinkies put a blind eye over it. Now is it too late to cry foul?"

Are citizens selfish for not having more babies? Who propagate the Stop AT 2 and One IS Enough campaign? The fact that having a child in Singapore is very intimidating, given the sacrifices a couple has to make to have one today. Without a very good income, many kids from such background will have an uphill battle to compete with those who have wealthy parents. It is too simplistic to just say citizens are being selfish.

Enlighten me or humiliate me whatever you like.

I have provided the equation within my line.

1) Give more babies; and/or
2) Import more FT; and/or
3) Work throughout your lifespan.

If providing local workforce like brewing a home-made soup, then import FT will be like fast food, it can only solve your immediate hunger but its harmful in the long run.

Whether I believe the figures the gov put in the media doesn't matter anyway. The real problem is still there, lie naked in front of our eyes, on the floor, fully exposed.

For the patriots, what should you do now?
For the bystanders, get some popcorn, sit and watch.
For the opportunist, this is your good chance to slaughter sinkies. Wait for durian drop is it?