• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Suicide verdict for widow

metalslug

http://www.asiaone.com/News/AsiaOne+News/Singapore/Story/A1Story20101213-252550.html

Mon, Dec 13, 2010
AsiaOne

20101213.195222_kerin_peh_suicide.jpg

Suicide verdict for widow

Her bridegroom fell to his death on the night of their wedding banquet last year in November. His death was ruled as a misadventure by the coroner.

Eight months later, 28-year-old widow Kerin Peh Li Ling fell from a block of flats in Hougang and died too. On Monday, coroner Victor Yeo ruled that sales executive Kerin Peh Li Ling, 28, had committed suicide on July 5.

Peh's grief at the loss of her husband was revealed through the two diaries she kept after her husband, Vernon Leong Jun Wei, 31, a computer shop owner, died. She wrote of her 'undying love' for him, and her wish to be with him, even in death.

Shin Min Daily News published snippets of writings from Peh's diary, in which she wrote practically on a daily basis about how she could not come to terms with her widowhood. She had made a total of 240 entries, most of them stating that she missed Leong.

According to the Chinese evening daily, her family got to know of her diaries, and often checked on them to understand Peh's mental condition. They would keep a close eye on her and ensure she was not alone.

Peh had slit her wrists and drank bleach last December, but was rushed to the hospital in time.

An investigation showed that Peh had last spoken to her sister on the evening at July 4, at about 11pm, before the latter went to sleep. Her sister woke up at about 1 to 2am to discover Peh missing from the house, before finding her body at the ground floor of their block.

The family had declined to be interviewed.

Ms Peh wrote in her diary for 240 days. Every entry was addressed to her late husband. Some of the excerpts include:

- "I beg God to let me be with you, I hope he can help me and take pity on me. You're all that I need. I know he will not return you to my side, so the only thing I can do is to go and look for you."

- "I'm able to end my life anytime, but I'm worried it will add on to your burden and cause you to be sad."

- "I really wish I can be with you, I don't want to be alone in this world. I want to go on a honeymoon with you and live a life together as husband and wife."

- "Although you're not by my side now, I know we will be together soon."

- "It's been 106 days without you. I really can't do this anymore. I want to be with you."

Her entries grew more desperate after that.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Kerin Peh's final eight months

Nov 4, 2009: Her husband, Vernon Leong Jun Wei is found dead outside Hilton Hotel hours after his wedding banquet. Hotel videos show him wandering into the hotel's stairwell. The exits are locked and he makes it to the fourth floor rooftop from which he falls to his death.

Nov 9: Kerin starts her diary expressing her love for late husband.

Dec 7: She slits her wrists and is taken to Tan Tock Seng Hospital (TTSH) where she is put on suicide watch. She is also prescribed anti-depressants.

Dec 16: She is discharged from TTSH after an improvement in her mental state.

Dec 18, 23:She goes for her check-ups.

Jan 26, 2010: She tells the doctor that she does not wish to end her life as "hell did not want me". She is observed to be more cheerful. However, the doctor's verdict reveals that though the "short-term risk had resolved, long-term prognosis remains guarded."

March 26: She visits the clinic with her sister and claims that stopping the medication worsened her mood. She is prescribed more anti-depressants and asked for the follow-ups to be held once in four months as she was starting a new job and would not be able to commit to the schedule until after confirmation.

April 14: Ms Peh's sister visits the clinic on her behalf to get more of the medication as it helped her sleep better.

July 4: At 3pm, Ms Peh visits her late husband's niche with his brother before heading to dinner at 4 or 5pm with a female friend at Changi Beach. After dinner they head Beach Culture cafe for a drink and called it a night at about 10pm.

July 5: Between 1 and 2am Ms Peh's dog's whining wakes up her sister. She checks on her sister to only find her missing from her room. Police receives a call at 1.50am from a neighbour informing them about a body at the foot of Block 540, Hougang Avenue 8. Kerin Peh died due multiple fractures.

HELPLINES
Samaritans of Singapore (SOS): 1800-2214444
Singapore Association for Mental Health: 1800- 2837019
Sage Counselling Centre: 1800-5555555
Care Corner Mandarin Counselling: 1800-3535800

remind me of titanic ...very sad ...( you jump ...i jump )

<object width="480" height="385"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/saalGKY7ifU?fs=1&amp;hl=en_US"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/saalGKY7ifU?fs=1&amp;hl=en_US" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="480" height="385"></embed></object>

u have oredi printed dat b4 ... iz oredi mor dan 5 mths ago ... y u stil wanna bling it up? ... nutting 2 write? ...

tiz 4 u, 154th ... :oIo:

Maximilian Chua-Heng

It's sad to read that she could not overcome her grief.

She could have given herself more time to do so.

May she and her hubby find solace and closure.

It's sad to read that she could not overcome her grief.

She could have given herself more time to do so.

May she and her hubby find solace and closure.

They took with them to death, the reason why the groom died. It is not easy to overcome grief, especially for someone you love most dearly.

Why they come to that end of that road, only they both know, & in death, they think they will be as one.

It is closure, the solace will be for the people who are connected to them.

why did the family not get professional help? just as psychologist.

why did the dog whinning at the middle of the night. How does it know?

Tristan

If I'm her parents, I'll buy her a one way ticket to somewhere far away in Europe or the States and enrol her in a school there to get her mind off her dead hubby. Staying in Sinkeepoo will just make her feel sad. A change of environment, lifestyle, new friends...etc... will take her mind off things.

Watchman

If I'm her parents, I'll buy her a one way ticket to somewhere far away in Europe or the States and enrol her in a school there to get her mind off her dead hubby. Staying in Sinkeepoo will just make her feel sad. A change of environment, lifestyle, new friends...etc... will take her mind off things.

Her parents may not be that stable .
With her looks she have to hitch up with something that will die on you .
Not very promising . Also meaning her marriage is step to better lifestyle .
A turn for the worst .

Tristan

Her parents may not be that stable .
With her looks she have to hitch up with something that will die on you .
Not very promising . Also meaning her marriage is step to better lifestyle .
A turn for the worst .

???:confused: Wah, your post very cheem man. Don't understand what you're trying to say.

Watchman

???:confused: Wah, your post very cheem man. Don't understand what you're trying to say.

Just trying to read what is printed that is all .
What is printed is rather brief . And I am like you make no sense of it all .
Maybe dirty laundry is not to be washed in public after all.
End of story .

kukubird58

anyone here , know why that guy fall from the hotel ?

I never knew such "romance" still exist in real world; especially in sinkapore.
Everyday she would visit him for more than 200days before joining him.
I suggest we give her a break lah.

Regarding the accident, there was quite a detailed account.
Husband went for a smoke, get locked out in the escaped staircase because it is one way.
Combination of some liquor and panicking, try to search for exit.
took some wrong turn and ended up in the darkened balcony with no barrier and fell down.
Normally he would not be able to access the balcony but there was renovation works and somebody forgot to lock the access door to the balcony.

As in most accidents, it is a combination events.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
It is very sad, i wished that both she and her husband didn't have to end it like that. It must be doubly devastating to the family they left behind.

Sometimes i wish to give up as well, seeing so much hypocrisy, backstabbing going on in life. People choosing to believe lies rather than the truth and the more honest you are, the bigger liar you are seen to be. Its really hard, would have long given up if not for my family.

I wished someone showed her another way rather than to end her young life like that, at the same time, its very touching how devoted she was to him. Most SG girls will probably just move on if their husband died.

Like in the case of one guy who committed suicide 6 months after marriage, saddled with credit card and debts incurred because of the wedding dinner, etc.

She quarrelled and walked out on him, in the end, no money, no wife, he choose to end his life. I heard she didn't even go to his funeral.

This one however, is a real sad case. I just hope that they will be together again, where ever they are.

Dedicating this song to them.

<object width="480" height="385"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/zZHrbjhwKik?fs=1&amp;hl=en_US"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/zZHrbjhwKik?fs=1&amp;hl=en_US" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="480" height="385"></embed></object>