• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Why serve NS or have SAF when we don't even have our own food supply?

i think our stance is to act as a deterrent much like Israel...strike first so long we have sufficient belief that hostility is imminent.

We cannot afford to defend - cos we don't have enough ground to defend. First smell of trouble, we will strike to knock out enemy's strike capability. And then wait for an aircraft carrier to arrive.

bcos there will be no second chance...we have nothing...all we have is our infrastructure built up over these years. Once port / airport/ infrastructure is destroyed by whatever shit...we are gone. Even if we finally win the war, we are still gone.

Times are different, we won't have the chance to build up ourselves as financial hub, logistics hub, whatever hub bcos the world is not goin to give us the time and chance to develope again.

In this region, no need have army actually. All you need is to bride the Indons and Malays in Malaysia. These 2 corrupt countries accept brides easily as long as you keep feeding them well and fat as pig.

So where are they?

We have no capability defending against ballistic missiles.
What we have are 400,000 sitting ducks NS men!

The logic is Singapore is a declared non-nuclear non-ballistic missile country. Countries with those stuff by protocol and rules of engagement shouldn't use them on Singapore. Attack Singapore with those stuff means, foul! Bully! Play cheat!

did u not read about the missle umbrella shield thingy in the papers in devt by Israel? I think we are mentioned as well.

U can judge for urself whether its true or not.

After the demise of USSR, there's only one official and declared nuclear umbrella left in the world, that of USA. Only some NATO countries (not even all) are part of it. Singapore's certainly not officially part of it. Australia and NZ even officially declared out of it by banning US or UK nuclear warships to dock. Singapore's straddling grey areas in this aspect. Singapore doesn't ask for US or UK warships to declare nuclear or not, all can dock.

wahlaneh

Let me ask you

When war comes and the supply lines get cut or Malaysia refuse to ship us food,
Where are we getting our rice, meat and eggs? How many days' supply can you stock up to feed 3 million Sinkies?

:mad::mad:

wahlaneh...
no need war come lah if najib tmr decided to shutdown the water pipe hosay liao lor.:biggrin:
must collect rain water to drink liao lor.:biggrin:

During BMT many years ago, our instructor told us that saf strategy was to try and have 3 soldiers for every 1 soldier from the enemy.
When we heard that, some of us burst out laughing.
Instead of punishing us, the instructor also started laughing. :smile:

wahlaneh...
no need war come lah if najib tmr decided to shutdown the water pipe hosay liao lor.:biggrin:
must collect rain water to drink liao lor.:biggrin:

The waterpipe is an overhyped issue. Surround Singapore and Singapore is indefensible. No food, no water, no fuel, no trade, no economy, and Singapore is small enough to be surrounded by a reasonably powerful force (no need Japan of WW2 power, Thailand, Malaysia and Indonesia by their proximity and manpower can do that if they want if not stopped before they do it). The defence is to prevent being surrounded.

wahlaneh

The waterpipe is an overhyped issue. Surround Singapore and Singapore is indefensible. No food, no water, no fuel, no trade, no economy, and Singapore is small enough to be surrounded by a reasonably powerful force (no need Japan of WW2 power, Thailand, Malaysia and Indonesia by their proximity and manpower can do that if they want if not stopped before they do it). The defence is to prevent being surrounded.

wahlaneh...
u r right, man.
we ALL are dependant on external source for food, water, etc...
if no water come to our pipe, if no lorry bring chicken n duck n fish n veg come in...
si liao lor.:(
last tum still got kampong can rear pigs n grow veg now no more liao.:(

manokie

wahlaneh...
u r right, man.
we ALL are dependant on external source for food, water, etc...
if no water come to our pipe, if no lorry bring chicken n duck n fish n veg come in...
si liao lor.:(
last tum still got kampong can rear pigs n grow veg now no more liao.:(

Of course

So why defend using 400,000 men? You have to feed all of them to fight.

Reduce that to 10% and we have a more well-fed army that can fight a protracted war.
We should have 40,000 elite soldiers that can quell any form of traditional assault on us.

Rubbish defense policy.

Everyone shouldn't laud the dumb NS policy just because you served it. It is a dumb and inefficient policy that is obviously Anachronistic.

Of course

So why defend using 400,000 men? You have to feed all of them to fight.

Reduce that to 10% and we have a more well-fed army that can fight a protracted war.
We should have 40,000 elite soldiers that can quell any form of traditional assault on us.

Rubbish defense policy.

Everyone shouldn't laud the dumb NS policy just because you served it. It is a dumb and inefficient policy that is obviously Anachronistic.

1942 Ford Motor Company Singapore negotiation...

Gen. Yamashita (Jap) : Don't talk too much, surrender now.

Gen. Percival (Brit) : We got combined Commonwealth troops 100,000, I estimate you have at most 30,000 landing troops.

Yamashita : Yeah right, your maths not bad, but your geography fail. Look around you. You're surrounded by Japanese warships and we control Thailand and Malaya. You'll have 100,000 troops starved to death. (*Bang Table*) Now! Surrender or not? Don't waste my time!

Percival : OK, OK, surrender, where to sign?

manokie

1942 Ford Motor Company Singapore negotiation...

Gen. Yamashita (Jap) : Don't talk too much, surrender now.

Gen. Percival (Brit) : We got combined Commonwealth troops 100,000, I estimate you have at most 30,000 landing troops.

Yamashita : Yeah right, your maths not bad, but your geography fail. Look around you. You're surrounded by Japanese warships and we control Thailand and Malaya. You'll have 100,000 troops starved to death. (*Bang Table*) Now! Surrender or not? Don't waste my time!

Percival : OK, OK, surrender, where to sign?

To ensure that this conversation does not take place between Hu and Lee, please purchase more advanced weaponry from US! :biggrin:

Nowadays if that happens...

Cpt. Goh Meng Seng : Surrender your head! We fight until you all die or we all die!

The logic is Singapore is a declared non-nuclear non-ballistic missile country. Countries with those stuff by protocol and rules of engagement shouldn't use them on Singapore. Attack Singapore with those stuff means, foul! Bully! Play cheat!

Yeah! try telling that to the gringoes....they bend where the wind blows & the smell of oil & minerals....they can even help your enemy to fight you..what protocol!:mad:

Wei Tuo Deva

did u not read about the missle umbrella shield thingy in the papers in devt by Israel? I think we are mentioned as well.

U can judge for urself whether its true or not.

Known as xxxx defense system from all air targets including MLR, a second rated system sold to us for land defense.

In addition, upgrading the War ship with ASTRA 30 system for high level SAM 30km. And also heard that AWD warship is on the drawing board. Similar to Australia latest acquisition.

to say we are indefensible bcos we can be easily surrounded is like giving up hope liao....does that mean if you are small sized, you should not learn to defend urself becos u might as well be bullied?

no, i don't think so. its not issue of i won't allow you to hurt me but rather, i will make it painful for you to hurt me, so much so, you will think twice.

singapore is pecuiler becos we have no food, no water and stuff. but that does not mean we should lie down and open our legs wide to be fucked.

on paper, it is obviously possible to have indon and mudland to surround us and choke us with slow death. but getting these 2 countries to work together is one thing. thats why we are always "bribing" and doing PRs...with them...aiding them, giving them loans...etc etc.

and with the Cold War ended, its obvious to sleep with US and allowing them to berth here - whack us and you are whacking Uncle Sam too....

Wei Tuo Deva

to say we are indefensible bcos we can be easily surrounded is like giving up hope liao....does that mean if you are small sized, you should not learn to defend urself becos u might as well be bullied?

no, i don't think so. its not issue of i won't allow you to hurt me but rather, i will make it painful for you to hurt me, so much so, you will think twice.

singapore is pecuiler becos we have no food, no water and stuff. but that does not mean we should lie down and open our legs wide to be fucked.

on paper, it is obviously possible to have indon and mudland to surround us and choke us with slow death. but getting these 2 countries to work together is one thing. thats why we are always "bribing" and doing PRs...with them...aiding them, giving them loans...etc etc.

and with the Cold War ended, its obvious to sleep with US and allowing them to berth here - whack us and you are whacking Uncle Sam too....

It could have been better, if the govern treats our service men equally rather than me elite and you the pawns. During my reservist days, we had done a poll whether to fight for the PAP more than 60% is negative. A sad poll, our comrades would rather fight for their buddies, the govern should have a directive in the event of War or death/injury during peacetime that out love ones will be taken care of, i.e. free education/medical/basic food/housing that way it will at least ease the mind of our dear comrades in any eventulities.

manokie

It could have been better, if the govern treats our service men equally rather than me elite and you the pawns. During my reservist days, we had done a poll whether to fight for the PAP more than 60% is negative. A sad poll, our comrades would rather fight for their buddies, the govern should have a directive in the event of War or death/injury during peacetime that out love ones will be taken care of, i.e. free education/medical/basic food/housing that way it will at least ease the mind of our dear comrades in any eventulities.

You have no food to eat, fight what shit?

You think they can provide 9 million combat ration every day for you, your comrades and family??
Even if you guys starve and just eat once per day, can they even provide 3 million combat ration in 1 day to last a few days?

Wei Tuo Deva

Even no love for PAP, their are strategic plan and provision in place by our beloved Govrn. Six months of rice supply for the general population, additional food supply agreement with Thailand, farming ownership in Batam. Friendly nation to supply and support Silly S'pore such as Burma and Brunei. Also a general reminder to stock up own food supply for years which is not taken seriously.

manokie

Even no love for PAP, their are strategic plan and provision in place by our beloved Govrn. Six months of rice supply for the general population, additional food supply agreement with Thailand, farming ownership in Batam. Friendly nation to supply and support Silly S'pore such as Burma and Brunei. Also a general reminder to stock up own food supply for years which is not taken seriously.

How are you going to ship food to Singapore?

Do you know both Indonesia, Malaysia and China have many submarines?
You think they will use the submarines for fishing?

If you airlift food into Singapore, how much food can you fit per plane?
Can you be sure your planes won't be shot down?