• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Financial distress: 2 SG commit suicide!

<TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt>2 Singapore men committed suicide on 3 March 2010 due to financial distress

March 4, 2010 by admin
Filed under Headlines

Leave a comment
http://www.temasekreview.com/2010/03/04/2-singapore-men-committed-suicide-on-3-march-2010-due-to-financial-distress/

Written by Our Correspondent
According to Shin Min Daily yesterday, two Singapore men committed suicide on the same day by jumping off their flats.
The first suicide victim is a taxi-driver by the name of Mr Lim who jumped from his 15 storey kitchen windows at Taman Jurong.
He had lived with his wife and children in the HDB unit where the suicide occurred.
Neighbors described him as slightly plump and friendly to his neighbors.
It was reported that he was under alot of stress due to financial difficulties.
The second victim is a 30 year old Mr Quan who leapt off from 14 storey at a HDB flat at Holland Drive to his death.
He was wearing a white shirt and blue short pants when this tragedy took place.
It is suspected that financial reasons may be a cause too.
Despite being Asia’s second richest country after Japan, Singapore has few social welfare benefits for its citizens though it is able to lose billions of dollars of its reserves in failed overseas investments.
The competition has worsened lately with the relentless influx of foreigners into Singapore who depressed the wages of ordinary Singaporeans, increased the cost of living, especially that of public housing and led to an overall decline in the standards of living.
Foreigners are allowed to compete directly with Singaporeans for jobs and there are no minimum wage or retrenchment benefits for local workers.
Singapore’s octogenarian leader Lee Kuan Yew said during an interview with the National Geographic magazine that it is a “good thing” tha the nation has welcomed so many Chinese immigrants as they are more “hard-driving” and “hard-striving” than locals.
For those Singaporeans who have fallen too far behind in the rat-race as they are not hard-driving enough, suicide may remain the last resort for them.
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

ahleebabasingaporethief

Every SCUM and PORLUMPAR have BLOOD on their hands. These are already the UMPTEEN cases; many not reported.

When they meet their MAKERs, these SCUMS and PORLUMPARS have plenty to answer.

How can these FUCKERS sleep soundly at night? How can they look at themselves in the mirror and say that they are working for SINGAPOREANS when ALL THEY CARE IS FOR THEMSELVES.
<input id="gwProxy" type="hidden"><!--Session data--><input onclick="jsCall();" id="jsProxy" type="hidden">

Y

Yip Hon

Re: Financial distress: 2 SG commit suicide!

Hmmm.....

1. assuming it is not due to illegall loan sharks and
or ilegal money lenders THEN i think due
to banks and credit cards related ...

2 Authorities should look into ways to curbs banks

harassing borrowers who are in arrears ... :(

ahleebabasingaporethief

Hmmm.....

Yes I have heard that banks and other legal companies like COCKs and BEAST stores are also using close to loan-shark tactics to harass their non paying customers.

They get debt collectors to show up at customers' homes and talk loudly so all neighbours can hear.

They also wear shirts with the words "DEBT COLLECTION" big big on their shirts.

They also show up at debtors' OFFICES to harass them.

<input id="gwProxy" type="hidden"><!--Session data--><input onclick="jsCall();" id="jsProxy" type="hidden">

Good riddance to a couple of selfish cowards. Both were fit and healthy and obviously had command of all their faculties.

Instead of dealing with the issues head on which they were obviously capable of doing, they instead chose the "cop out" route while inconveniencing a whole lot of people in the process.

I say fuck 'em. May they rot forever in hell. :rolleyes:

<table border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" width="100%"><tbody><tr><td height="8"></td></tr><tr><td class="msgtxt">
According to Shin Min Daily yesterday, two Singapore men committed suicide on the same day by jumping off their flats.
The first suicide victim is a taxi-driver by the name of Mr Lim who jumped from his 15 storey kitchen windows at Taman Jurong.
He had lived with his wife and children in the HDB unit where the suicide occurred.
Neighbors described him as slightly plump and friendly to his neighbors.
It was reported that he was under alot of stress due to financial difficulties.
The second victim is a 30 year old Mr Quan who leapt off from 14 storey at a HDB flat at Holland Drive to his death.
He was wearing a white shirt and blue short pants when this tragedy took place.

</td></tr></tbody></table>

M

Mdm Tang

Dear All ,

Can we remember the 20 plus yr old lady who commit suicide

upon receiving a lawyer's letter for her credit card debts ...

These are ordinary folks ... who no write at forums and

also do not read Sam's ...

M

Mdm Tang

The Straits Times had a small column on that young lady

suicide story about 1 year plus ago ...

can brothers put here ....

ahleebabasingaporethief

Good riddance to a couple of selfish cowards. Both were fit and healthy and obviously had command of all their faculties.

Instead of dealing with the issues head on which they were obviously capable of doing, they instead chose the "cop out" route while inconveniencing a whole lot of people in the process.

I say fuck 'em. May they rot forever in hell. :rolleyes:

You mean to say they should have followed the example of our gallant hero....SIR KAH CHUA? :rolleyes:

BTW, what happened to Sir Kah Chua?

M

Mdm Tang

Let's us not jump to conclusion on all Borrowers

in distress are bad ( some got no choice ) instead

should curb on the lenders banks and loan sharks .

for the banks the loan managers got targets to meet

so keep lending and the bank keep approving.

if borrower do not pay they use "legal " tactics to

haress borrowers etc.. Just look at the classified adverts

at the Today Newpapers there are so many "legal " loans

adverts ... look at all the "ready credit" avail within one hour

by banks ...

Frankiestine

Hmmm.....

2 Authorities should look into ways to curbs banks harassing borrowers who are in arrears ... :(

Banks are the least of one problems, the most go bankrupt and there is nothing those banks can do to you...it is those leeches loan shark that will hound you even if you go bankrupt...

boring

Banks are the least of one problems, the most go bankrupt and there is nothing those banks can do to you...it is those leeches loan shark that will hound you even if you go bankrupt...

欠钱还钱,天经地义。many people had mess up their financial planning...

lifeafter41

Dear All ,

Can we remember the 20 plus yr old lady who commit suicide

upon receiving a lawyer's letter for her credit card debts ...

These are ordinary folks ... who no write at forums and

also do not read Sam's ...

While I don't recall this incident in the paper.

Ordinary folks don't own credit cards and Ordinary folks live within their means.

1sickpuppy II

As I have adviced alot of people " don't have such a big mouth don't suck such a big cock " but nobody listens. Not enough money still want to buy that big TV or renovate their pegion hole untill it looks like a palace. Then later no money to pay. The worst part is in the company that I am working in I have heard people that telling everyone how he convince his son to sign on as a regular so that he could have this lump sum of money to buy a car or how he spent most of his life savings to buy a car for his son and have to beg the company to give him a job after 62yo makes me sick.
The reason I stay in a 4rm flat and have no car is all my cpf can afford me is a 4rm flat hence I bought a 4rm flat with no loan and I don't need a car hence no car. My advice to you all is stay within your means and always have some reserved stashed for rainny days and not live on borrowed cash :smile:

M

Mdm Tang

While I don't recall this incident in the paper.

Ordinary folks don't own credit cards and Ordinary folks live within their means.

well say , hmm... try selling this idea / point to your children and or

younger folks ....:(

SotongMee

[COLOR="_______"]You FORGOTTEN to mention the opening of the CASINO.[/COLOR]

Hmmm.....

yuelao

How can these FUCKERS sleep soundly at night? How can they look at themselves in the mirror and say that they are working for SINGAPOREANS when ALL THEY CARE IS FOR THEMSELVES.

I wouldn't be worried if all they care for are themselves. Sinkies might find that it is too much even to just ask them to stop sticking sharp spurs into their hides. Even their programme to help Sinkies is called SPUR (Skills Programme for Upgrading and Resilience). Lol! :eek: