• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Will there be a recession this year?

Byebye Penis

Russia has invaded Ukraine and inflation is felt across the board. We also opening up with less covid restriction which will aid our hospitality sector and domestic consumption (retail dining) which will cushion any downturn. Then China also start to lockdown some cities.

Stock market is also recovering after the initial Ukraine war selldown, so I really don't know if Singapore will experience any recession this year?

Russia has invaded Ukraine and inflation is felt across the board. We also opening up with less covid restriction which will aid our hospitality sector and domestic consumption (retail dining) which will cushion any downturn. Then China also start to lockdown some cities.

Stock market is also recovering after the initial Ukraine war selldown, so I really don't know if Singapore will experience any recession this year?
East is OK... we don't eat their wheats and potatoes... rice still affordable...

Boliao

It will happen. Singapore is highly dependent on FDI. With money flowing back to US and US/ European companies not doing well; couple with inflation, recession will surely come. MNC are already planning retrenchment as government support runs out. Singapore will also run out steam in supporting SGD so inflation will only worsen. All these coupled with high interest rates, our once-in-a-lifetime opportunity to buy the dip incoming to you shortly.

Stock market isn't recovering. It barely dipped. US is releasing more stimulus but wealth is so concentrated in the last few years that the stock market is no longer a good indication of economy. Just look at the US now and you'll know.

Singapore opening up is also rather insignificant as tourism depends on inflow. As long as Chinese don't travel, European has no money to travel. Singapore is still screwed. F&B will survive for a while on local consumption but we know that is unsustainable.

A Singaporean

Sinkies have already suffered for years even before covid. Hope for a major recession and this time foreigners will be affected.

Boliao

Sinkies have already suffered for years even before covid. Hope for a major recession and this time foreigners will be affected.

Unfortunately, it is always Singaporeans who will get the first hit. Take my company for example. We're told to plan for headcount reduction but instructed to leave the AMDK out of the exercise.

mahjongking

just finished my walk.....several buildings along the way, vacated.......that tells a story instead of reading the media.....
but the elites are still enjoying.....what recession? the shit-times will say

hbk75

It will happen. Singapore is highly dependent on FDI. With money flowing back to US and US/ European companies not doing well; couple with inflation, recession will surely come. MNC are already planning retrenchment as government support runs out. Singapore will also run out steam in supporting SGD so inflation will only worsen. All these coupled with high interest rates, our once-in-a-lifetime opportunity to buy the dip incoming to you shortly.

Stock market isn't recovering. It barely dipped. US is releasing more stimulus but wealth is so concentrated in the last few years that the stock market is no longer a good indication of economy. Just look at the US now and you'll know.

Singapore opening up is also rather insignificant as tourism depends on inflow. As long as Chinese don't travel, European has no money to travel. Singapore is still screwed. F&B will survive for a while on local consumption but we know that is unsustainable.

Ang moh usd Kenna inflation Liao. Plus de dollarization with Russia now demands gold or rubles for oil. If Saudi accept other currencies for oil then usd is end of days liao.

U know recently I check some resales hdb at bt batok. Last check was 2 months ago. Last listed price was 890k now ppl wanna sell for 1 million 50k.

Can increased by 160k within 2 months?

Boliao

Ang moh usd Kenna inflation Liao. Plus de dollarization with Russia now demands gold or rubles for oil. If Saudi accept other currencies for oil then usd is end of days liao.

U know recently I check some resales hdb at bt batok. Last check was 2 months ago. Last listed price was 890k now ppl wanna sell for 1 million 50k.

Can increased by 160k within 2 months?

Anything above $700k is crazy for a HDB. Good for them as there will always be goondus, all it takes is just 1 goondu willing to pay. I expect property price to come down quickly towards 2H or early 2023.

1. JB open up means less need for rental. Rental price drop will result in property price drop. Not a direct impact on prices but it will be felt when owners cannot rent out their units.
  2. Interest rate is going up. If US reaches 2% as planned by end of the year, SG should be at 3% or more. We may see some fire sale especially when owners loses their job and rent.
  3. Less foreigners in Singapore, lower birth rates. Less takers will directly result in price drop but this one will take a while to manifest as it depends on how PAP control FT inflow. More FT will help prop up the market but election is coming.

hbk75

Anything above $700k is crazy for a HDB. Good for them as there will always be goondus, all it takes is just 1 goondu willing to pay. I expect property price to come down quickly towards 2H or early 2023.

1. JB open up means less need for rental. Rental price drop will result in property price drop. No a direct impact on prices but it will be felt when owner cannot rent out their units.
  2. Interest rate is going up. If US reaches 2% as planned by end of the year, SG should be at 3% or more. We may see some fire sale especially when owners loses their job and rent.
  3. Less foreigners in Singapore, lower birth rates. Less takers will directly result in price drop but this one will take a while to manifest as it depends on how PAP control FT inflow. More FT will help prop up the market but election is coming.

Usa of die from hyperinflation then sinkapore also die. Pap is creating fake high gdp using inflated prices. everything sell at high prices will generate higher gdp.

Banks better margin call those that cannot pay mortgages. Still wanna defer loans like last year?

Boliao

Pap is creating fake high gdp using inflated prices. everything sell at high prices will generate higher gdp.

:smile: If you want to understand why a person does the things he do, alway find out how he is being compensated. On paper, ministerial salaries are $1.2m but that does not tell you the whole picture. Their bonuses (which can be anywhere from 6-18 months historically) is based on GDP.

hbk75

:smile: If you want to understand why a person does the things he do, alway find out how he is being compensated. On paper, ministerial salaries are $1.2m but that does not tell you the whole picture. Their bonuses (which can be anywhere from 6-18 months historically) is based on GDP.

Using gdp to calculate is fake accounting. Must use PPP.

Byebye Penis

Boliao

Of course they won't cut petrol taxes. We already know this from past policy that it's a (take from the) "people-first" strategy. Government already draw down $53billion from reserves. If they cut taxes, they'll have to draw even more.

LordElrond

Worse. Stagflation. We are already in it.

If the petrodollar goes kaput, a recession will be the last of your worries.

hbk75

Of course they won't cut petrol taxes. We already know this from past policy that it's a (take from the) "people-first" strategy. Government already draw down $53billion from reserves. If they cut taxes, they'll have to draw even more.

Now sinkies all happily borrowing and buying 1 million hdb. I dunno why banks so Kum gong go lend so buy hdb?

bart12

Everyone in Spore has become so rich in the last decade that a 20% inflation is no big deal..