• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

The reason behind the 24hr Cooling Off Period

Perspective

You're not using anecdotes correctly. I didn't say the opposition should be worried about forming the govt when they have not won a seat.

A Pri 3 doesn't have to worry about PSLE, but they have to worry about Pri 3 exams. And they have to concentrate and practise hard. You're now echoing my points.

ChaoPappyPoodle

Dear Scroobal,

My intelligence tell me that an independent market research firm has been engaged to carry out poll on the ground. I guess this is necessary for redrawing of the boundaries.

The P65 factor is seriously studied into and I am also studying into it as well. I have come up with a breakdown of P65 percentage for each districts and it is pretty interesting. My analysis is that they are really the swing voters.

Goh Meng Seng

ALl alternative party supporters should tell pollsters and RC and pappy dogs alike that they will vote for the pappies BUT when the time comes to vote, we vote for the alternative party.

Let's mislead the dogs and immoral prostitutes into feeling safe

lockeliberal

Dear Perspective

The P3 exam is errrr 2009/2010 GE the PSLE 2016 kekeekke and errrr FORMING the next GOV is well the PHD

Locke

Perspective

The P3 exam is errrr 2009/2010 GE the PSLE 2016 kekeekke and errrr FORMING the next GOV is well the PHD

Fair enough, but you'd have to admit that a good student's parents worry just about the next exam, while the poor student's parents worry about both this as well as his/her child future given his/her straight, unbroken poor grades. This is the norm I see, at least from Singapore parents.

SneeringTree

You're not using anecdotes correctly. I didn't say the opposition should be worried about forming the govt when they have not won a seat.

A Pri 3 doesn't have to worry about PSLE, but they have to worry about Pri 3 exams. And they have to concentrate and practise hard. You're now echoing my points.

Er, no. You said you are more worried about how opposition are going to keep their seats in 2016 yourself! You are echoing Lockeliberal's point. Your own point is inexplicable.

IR123

Let's say there is a cooling off period for 1 day.

People have time to think over PAP's rule.

Blackout on all candidates.

Then assume on the cooling off day and election day (2 days), newspapers carry profiles of Ministries and Ministers - how hard they work.

On election day, voters vote for the Ministers.

A cooling off period is good for stabilizing negative emotions PLUS adding in favourable emotions to the electorate without commentary from others.

Will this be a possibility?

To ensure a fair and even playing ground, the neutral Elections Commission should extend the blackout even to the political officers of the Ministries and all works of the Government, because electorate associate the Government with the PAP since this is the case for the last few decades.

Then it will be a true cooling off period where voters can reflect on what was said by both sides; with both sides not having any news coverage.

IR123

To help in the reflection, candidates from all parties can produce a track record of their achievements for the past 5 years on paper and distribute it to the residents.

Then during the cooling off period, voters can assess if they would like to have the track record continued.

The decision made will then be balanced, rational and considered.

Sideswipe

80% or higher of peasants have already long made up their mind who to vote for long before the GE started.

No matter what PAP or Oppositions say or manipulate, those 80%+ are not going to change their decisions.

Swing Voters how much 10% or 15%?

I find hard to guess what went on in the mindsets of a swing voter - a person who really decide who to vote for in the last few days of a election.

If one analysis the elections opinions polls of various countries. The polls are amazingly accurate with the winners already decided months before the elections. Peoples don't change their mindsets in the months leading up to the General Elections. The Elections campaigning period will change nothing too. All have already been decided.

The 24hr Cooling Off Period is generally useless for PAP and the Oppositions.

IR123

80% or higher of peasants have already long made up their mind who to vote for long before the GE started.

No matter what PAP or Oppositions say or manipulate, those 80%+ are not going to change their decisions.

I find hard to guess what went on in the mindsets of a swing voter - a person who really decide who to vote for in the last few days of a election.

If one analysis the elections opinions polls of various countries. The polls are amazingly accurate with the winners already decided months before the elections. Peoples don't change their mindsets in the months leading up to the General Elections. The Elections campaigning period will change nothing too. All have already been decided.

Opinion polls in the developed countries are done by established agencies with sophisticated sampling techniques. The polls are constantly updated, right up to the day of election itself. Nothing is therefore certain.

According to you, the 24 hour cooling period is not beneficial for the PAP. It is then surprising that the PAP adopts it. Unless it is to sucker punch the opposition whilst the real right-left is coming from elsewhere. I do not believe that the PAP engages in decisions which do not carry advantages.

As for swing voters, i believe that the opposition polls are highly inaccurate for two reasons. One, it is a very small localized sample. Two, it measures dissatisfaction but not willingness to vote for them. Dissatisfaction cannot be a proxy for votes because they (the opposition) are not offering anything of value to the residents other than an outlet for their frustration with the PAP.

So if you are wondering why the opposition are not succeeding, it is because they are not doing enough to allay the fears of the residents that life under them will be better than life under the PAP.

STUCK_HERE

What's the big deal?

You can give me 4 years cooling off period, I will still vote for the opposition!

ScarFace

If this 24 hour cooling off period is not a new concept in the politics of elections, why worry at all? Why harp on it at all? We all know that there is no level playing field here. Instead of viewing it as a conundrum, all interested parties should be focusing their attention on the real issues of the day that affect the eligible voters and the country as a collective whole.

Nothing ponderous here. Let's move along...:biggrin:

IR123

If this 24 hour cooling off period is not a new concept in the politics of elections, why worry at all? Why harp on it at all? We all know that there is no level playing field here. Instead of viewing it as a conundrum, all interested parties should be focusing their attention on the real issues of the day that affect the eligible voters and the country as a collective whole.

It is not the focus that is in issue.

The oppositions has been focusing on issues since there is a PAP.

What is in issue is that the oppositions has never been viewed as an alternative by more than 50% of the voters for most wards.

Perhaps if they tell us why they can do a better job than the PAP.

Its very funny how some people expect the opposition to explain how they will do a better job :eek:

Except for the 2 oppositions wards there aren't any opposition who've had a chance to show what they can do.

However lets look at what the PAP has done:

Paid themselves better than world class salaries.
Never accepted any responsibility for their numerous failures.
Lost billions & billions of our money without any regrets. Increased costs in Spore. Messed up the education & future of future generations,...

If Sporeans continue to support the PAP they will be dragged down with the PAP.

allanlee

The 24 hr cooling off period is for the Idiotic Stupid Dogs to pick up the opposition voters....... disused empty barracks and training camps are being converted into holding centres....... One division of running dogs can reduce the opposition's votes by as much as 10-15% during one night's work.

Seee3

Fair enough, but you'd have to admit that a good student's parents worry just about the next exam, while the poor student's parents worry about both this as well as his/her child future given his/her straight, unbroken poor grades. This is the norm I see, at least from Singapore parents.

Maybe that is why that parent has "poor students" - worry too much:smile:, That parent is a bad influence.

cooleo

PAPpy got lots of default winning votes for sure leh. No need cool down also sure vote for PAPpy.

Imagine u are a civil servant. Will u risk ur rice bowl to vote opposition?

ScarFace

It is not the focus that is in issue.

The oppositions has been focusing on issues since there is a PAP.

What is in issue is that the oppositions has never been viewed as an alternative by more than 50% of the voters for most wards.

What you've just said underscores my point. The 24 hour cooling period is nothing more than a red herring, in my opinion. Every now and then, to the run up of the pending elections, "throw a spanner in the works" so to speak. Get the opposition, get the electorate running round in circles chasing after ghost issues. And why?

Come on, we must be smarter than what the ruling party makes us all out to be. Come on sheeples, there are numerous national issues on hand that needs to be solved, and urgently I might add.

Focus.

always88888888

What have our Millionaire Ministers and MPs done for us the past years especially for HDB Dwellers? All of these leaders are staying in private housing and do not know the pain, suffering, concerns, fear, insecurity of the people <--these are rising trends and the PAP cant do shit to help us. It is reasonable that Police cannot stay at your void deck like security guards but even my request for CCTVs to be installed for my block which was terrorised by Ah Longs was turned down by the Town Council. They say NO MONEY ....coz lost all invested in LEHMAN Bros & Minibonds ? Pls bear in mind that your MPs are the Town Council advisers.

I can say that LKY has led the team to win the game title: Creation of Singapore (Stage 1), Development of Singapore (Stage 2)....now is Stage 3 and I see the PAP losing their midas touch already.

Let all of us support the opposition. Believe the Oppositions will have good results. By believing, we have already won half the battle. Dun forget to donate some money for the oppositions prior to their campaign as well. PAP has been given the chance but did not cherish it, just too bad and now they are just panicky about the whole issue.