The Singapore Culture - Rojak

vincenttan

I ask myself, what is Singapore culture?

The culture of Singapore is a blend and mix of cultures brought by various immigrants, such as Chinese, Malay, Indian and European immigrants. It is generally considered to be a blend of Asian and Western culture, with globalization continuously transforming the culture of the country.

Our Rojak Culture - The term “Rojak” in Malay mean mixture. Rojak is a local salad a mixture of fruits, cucmbers, bean sporouts, pineapple, white radish, fried dough fritters and dried bean curd stirred in a prawn paste, topped off with peanuts.

best-rojak.jpg

If Sinkies can't even explain our own culture, how can we impress upon others?:oIo:

... If Sinkies can't even explain our own culture, how can we impress upon others?:oIo:
ya, man ...

world's bestest paid gahmen oso cant explain ... collect so much moni sum mor 4 wat ...

Every true blooded singaporeans know what his culture is. Those born before the 1990s know very well what it is.

Culture is not a mono themed or linear. Its at an amalgamation of beliefs and practices were time that eventually embeds the psyche.

For instance, we know what a good laksa or chicken rice taste like. We know where to go for fish head curry.

We can spot a Singaporean Malay from a Malaysian malay in term of their dress sense, demeanour, speech pattern etc. The same goes our Indian and Chinese brethren. Even in London, we are able to pick out a Singaporean no matters what their race, education and age are.

The SPG is a truly a singapore item. They found around the world and one can spot them a mile away.

Its the PAP that does not know what it is or does not want this country to be a nation that might prove too strong to ward off at a General Elections.

Our culture was nipped in the bud by a Hakka before it could evolve.
What we are now are pariahs.