• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Laulan wong gets whacked very badly by netizens

rushifa666

This is what sinkees are good at... attacking from behind a keyboard. That is why the MIWs have been tone deaf for more than 50 decades. They do things to what they feel, not what everyone thinks because they can.
There was ahero who set mp on fire. But they arrested him

nayr69sg

Staff member
First it is new to me that currently there are foreign droms that are in quarantined .
Second did you see the list of infected Indians that came in, We have a 79 years, what type of jobs do you think he is here in Singapore for ?
We also have researchers and Indian Students that came in infected...many Singaporean Students that are studying in China Universities are not
allow to fly back in current pandemic condition, so why allow such things to happen when India is a high risk country ?
Bear in Mind Last year in Feb 2020 when Singapore had an outbreak The Indian Foreign Ministry issued a travel advisory against travelling to Singapore.

If India wants to be a world power , It must comes with responsibility , when Your country situation is out of control, you should not wait for
other countries to stop your citizen from flying all over the world thus spreading the virus...

Anyway You can search on Facebook someone have collated the data of all the Indians citizen or those that flow in from South Asia, you will
notice it is not as what you listed,,.. many short term visitors , dependant pass , students, researchers , etc
(here someone just posted on sammyboy too...
https://www.sammyboy.com/threads/the-list-of-imported-construction-workers-for-your-condos.304353/

.( one case , I remembered was an Indian lady who flew here in Jan and tried to fly back in April, she was supposed to be a domestic maid, what type of maid that can afford to fly only after working for 3 months, mind you, when she was warded.. it was not in a Gov Hospital it was in Mount E a private hospital which supposedly are for the rich. Her employer must treat her very well which such medical benefits.
In current pandemic situation you don't expect major constructions to be going on... those that are cleaning the street etc are still the same
group of people , and a majority are not from India,,,more likely from Blangadesh... we exchanged morning greetings almost everyday...so
don't think you are right....

I am sure you have also read that Australia have banned her nationals who are in India from flying back and majority of them are of Indian origin.
The Australian of Indian origin have even suggested to their Gov to fly to Singapore first as a form of quarantine before flying back....!
You may be right.

But I have heard this existential issues reason too many times from Singapore. No other country talks about existential issues unless it is war.

Fact also is most Singaporeans support the governmemt very much. They will complain a lot but they do support the government.

Maybe there are a lot of rich Indians who go to sg and spend money? Launder money? Give money to banks to invest?

Maid who has super rich employers or employers willing to pay for air fare who is to question?

Singpapore is a shop. Govt says if close shop will die.

Dunno lah. Actually singaporeans should be the ones explaining why the govt continues to bring in indians and not close travel between india and sg. It is your govt leh. Your city. So why? I just find it hard to believe LW do it on purpose to spread covid in Sg. Cannot be so nuts lah. Got reason. He said existential issues and economy. So how does it work. I was just trying to postulate

nayr69sg

Staff member
I have a feeling the government bureaucrats simply got bamboozled by all the exaggerated tales from business owners about the supposedly dire situation if new Indian workers and PMETs are temporarily banned from coming into Singapore.

For e.g. just look at this report https://www.channelnewsasia.com/new...ves-as-workers-from-india-bangladesh-14755650

The numbers here don't sound very logical to me. So it costs S$120-S$150 (let's assume $140 for simplicity) per day on an Indian construction worker. That works out to be $140 x 30 = S$4,200 monthly. The cost breakdown as as follows:

1) Levy - https://www.mom.gov.sg/passes-and-p...ecific-rules/construction-sector-requirements Ranges from $300 - $700, so midpoint is $500 per month.

2) Insurance - I know most employee PME term and medical insurances generally cost about $500 - $600 a year, so I would assume manual laborer under WP are around $300 a year, which works out to be $25 per monthly.

3) Housing - I randomly go google for a dorm in Kranji and apparently it costs around $250 per month per worker. https://www.vobis.com.sg/promo?keyword_k=worker dormitory for rent&gclid=EAIaIQobChMIgMq7pZ7L8AIVkjUrCh1I1wWHEAAYASAAEgKRQvD_BwE

So the so called S$4,200 monthly cost of an Indian worker after deducting levy ($500), insurance ($25) and housing ($250) is $3,425. Are these business owners trying to tell us they pay an Indian S$3,425 per month? This must be the biggest joke of all time.

The numbers get even more ridiculous if we use their China cost $250 + will go up 30-40% more per day claims. $250 x 30 x 1.3 = $9,750. After deducting levy, insurance and housing, these companies are trying to tell us they need to pay a China construction worker $8,975 per month in order for them to come here to work due to elevated demand. This doesn't even pass the laugh test.

If these business owners can come up with such BS even for manual construction labor, you can bet those MNCs/GLCs/banks must be telling the government about their "modelling" indicating hundreds of millions of "losses" they will incur if Indian employment pass holders cannot come here to take up executive and managerial positions.
Wow.

But sinkies will never take construction or cleaning job even if pay is 10k a month.

Low class no face lah.

So that's the real reason.

Wow.

But sinkies will never take construction or cleaning job even if pay is 10k a month.

Low class no face lah.

So that's the real reason.

Find an actual blue collar job that pays that amount, I'm sure there will be takers. Hyperbole is not based on reality. :cool:

nayr69sg

Staff member
Find an actual blue collar job that pays that amount, I'm sure there will be takers. Hyperbole is not based on reality. :cool:
Dunno leh. I hear many sinkies tell me they cannot tahan work in the heat carry heavy things. Very low class.
Have also heard sinkies say that even if pay so much not worth the hardship.
Sinkies very selective when it comes to jobs. If migrate to country that pays that much they wont take the job. Seriously.

ilovechinesegal

Ask him stop eating money. Sg is doomed. Most small biz gonna die. Taxi parking around the road. Summon here and there to earn money. Cant control covid. Depend on ahpunehneh.

nayr69sg

Staff member
Why Singaporean so scared of covid?

Yes you have a few cases but numbers small. Relax lah. Your govt put in strict measures. Most people all wear masks. Why so scared? Many vaccinated already also.

Be vigilant. Do your part. But not end of world lah.

asenmaga

You may be right.

But I have heard this existential issues reason too many times from Singapore. No other country talks about existential issues unless it is war.

Fact also is most Singaporeans support the governmemt very much. They will complain a lot but they do support the government.

Maybe there are a lot of rich Indians who go to sg and spend money? Launder money? Give money to banks to invest?

Maid who has super rich employers or employers willing to pay for air fare who is to question?

Singpapore is a shop. Govt says if close shop will die.

Dunno lah. Actually singaporeans should be the ones explaining why the govt continues to bring in indians and not close travel between india and sg. It is your govt leh. Your city. So why? I just find it hard to believe LW do it on purpose to spread covid in Sg. Cannot be so nuts lah. Got reason. He said existential issues and economy. So how does it work. I was just trying to postulate
I replied to your post , since you have listed so many Jobs that are done by Indians...so just trying to point that is not facts!
Some Singaporean would know what some of the reasons are, clearly you are smart enough to realise that If we prevent new
Indians from coming the grasses are still beinge cut and the roads are being swept etc etc by existing labour.

If you go to the Ministry of Health Page, you will see that Some Local born Indians have come out to protest and explained
that all those jobs that you mentioned are still done by existing workers from South Asian Countries and Including some from
CHina.

You even see that Pro MIW like well known food personality have also put up an article in his Facebook , criticising the Gov from
letting Imports from India during this period, and anyone that anyone that objects are not being racist like what the government
is trying to portray.

Its is the Job of the Indian Government responsibility to the world to have a "lockdown" when her country is out of control, just like what China did after they realised the great danger this virus could cause and not wait for other countries to prevent them from coming in and thus cause friction among the Nations and avoid the current "anger' by citizen with Indians ( thru no fault of theirs).

If I am not wrong you are an ex Singaporean living in Canada ? I am sure you are well versed with the Singapore political scene.

On Rich Indians coming here to bring money in to invest, please Uncle you know which era is it now, Nobody carry that much cash around, have you heard of banking transfer ? FYI it is illegal to bring more than SGD 20,000 ( if I remember correctly) by cash or any other money instruments etc

Anyway nice exchanging views with you...

nayr69sg

Staff member
I replied to your post , since you have listed so many Jobs that are done by Indians...so just trying to point that is not facts!
Some Singaporean would know what some of the reasons are, clearly you are smart enough to realise that If we prevent new
Indians from coming the grasses are still beinge cut and the roads are being swept etc etc by existing labour.

If you go to the Ministry of Health Page, you will see that Some Local born Indians have come out to protest and explained
that all those jobs that you mentioned are still done by existing workers from South Asian Countries and Including some from
CHina.

You even see that Pro MIW like well known food personality have also put up an article in his Facebook , criticising the Gov from
letting Imports from India during this period, and anyone that anyone that objects are not being racist like what the government
is trying to portray.

Its is the Job of the Indian Government responsibility to the world to have a "lockdown" when her country is out of control, just like what China did after they realised the great danger this virus could cause and not wait for other countries to prevent them from coming in and thus cause friction among the Nations and avoid the current "anger' by citizen with Indians ( thru no fault of theirs).

If I am not wrong you are an ex Singaporean living in Canada ? I am sure you are well versed with the Singapore political scene.

On Rich Indians coming here to bring money in to invest, please Uncle you know which era is it now, Nobody carry that much cash around, have you heard of banking transfer ? FYI it is illegal to bring more than SGD 20,000 ( if I remember correctly) by cash or any other money instruments etc

Anyway nice exchanging views with you...

Yes you have good points

I would like to ask. Do you have a maid at home? How many friends and family do you know who have maids at home?

Would housework at home be done if there was no maid?

In my honest opinion the whole idea about exploiting cheap foreign labor to do menial work is from the highly successful foreign maid policy.

Same principles. Just apply to companies instead of households.

If you think of cutting out the foreign cheap workers at companies think of cutting out cheap maids at homes. Then apply the same solutions you want to offer. Singaporeans working as maids?

Respectfully to Singaporeans this is part of Singapore culture. Cheap foreign labor is an expectation to fill menial labor. Surrounding Sg is an abudnance of poor countries and poor people. Also there is no social awakening in Sg to say this is bad or anything. Totally acceptable. China has become more prosperous so cheap labor from there is less of a thing now. India has 1b. Speak English. Degrees. Very well suited to help Sg.

You try talk to them. I think some will say do grab better than construction.
I guarantee they live in tradesmen and guild heavy cities they will not say that. It is economics, not some cultural quirk so coincident infect all races in SG. :cautious:

nayr69sg

Staff member
I guarantee they live in tradesmen and guild heavy cities they will not say that. It is economics, not some cultural quirk so coincident infect all races in SG. :cautious:
A bit chicken and egg I guess.

Sg is blessed to be surrounded by poor countries. So this practice of cheap foreign labor for menial work will continue for a long time. It is part of the Singapore success story.

nayr69sg

Staff member
It all boils down to political control of the masses by the pap for past decades.

Takes 2 to clap and tango.

Also acceptance and cooperation by the Singaporean masses for decades too.

Cannot just pin the blame and responsibility on just one half of the equation.

A bit chicken and egg I guess.

Sg is blessed to be surrounded by poor countries. So this practice of cheap foreign labor for menial work will continue for a long time. It is part of the Singapore success story.
You are right. And so did America. A civil war was fought over the issue, remember? :unsure:

asenmaga

Yes you have good points

I would like to ask. Do you have a maid at home? How many friends and family do you know who have maids at home?

Would housework at home be done if there was no maid?

In my honest opinion the whole idea about exploiting cheap foreign labor to do menial work is from the highly successful foreign maid policy.

Same principles. Just apply to companies instead of households.

If you think of cutting out the foreign cheap workers at companies think of cutting out cheap maids at homes. Then apply the same solutions you want to offer. Singaporeans working as maids?

Respectfully to Singaporeans this is part of Singapore culture. Cheap foreign labor is an expectation to fill menial labor. Surrounding Sg is an abudnance of poor countries and poor people. Also there is no social awakening in Sg to say this is bad or anything. Totally acceptable. China has become more prosperous so cheap labor from there is less of a thing now. India has 1b. Speak English. Degrees. Very well suited to help Sg.
I Don't have a maid in our household, WE do the household stuff ourselves (excepting cutting the grass in the garden which is done by a Bangedashi worker from a construction company during his free time to earn additional income).

My sister who is staying with my elder parents have a maid after my mother got stroke. They didn't have a maid either before that.
Even now the Maid only take care of my mother, the rest of the household staff like cooking etc Is still done by my father/sister.
Maybe you think we cant afford maid ? I am not stayingl in a Public Housing if that is why you want to imply next posting ?

Lets not shift the topic elsewhere, I don't normally post a lot in this forum, I started coming in when someone was posting Soccer Tipsters Tips which was a Fraud which I was trying hard to ensure none from the forum are "sucked in " but unfortunately
we still have some that falls victims too from this forum.

I reply to your post to try and explain that what you have posted that if Singapore will to stop new imports of Indian nationals
Spore needs to close shop....that is unfortunately the Gov's narrative as India is some dowager's pet project that No G4 Mini dares to go against. ( as you can see the quick action that the Taskforce is able to stop people from Taiwan from coming in with the latest measures shows that they know , just that for that "preferred nation" their hands are tied" ).

Most of my friends are in China, they don't have maids either. Some are working professionals with both parents working, usually
they have a part time cleaner from the cleaning company to clean their apartment , the rest cooking etc etc they still do it themsleves . Those that have children , they normally have one side of the parents to come in to take care . ( They all can afford a maid if they want to ).

My parents neighbours all don't have a maid......so not everyone uses a maid .......

We don't only have cheap Indians to fill menial labour as you put it, they are also in the management role, IT sector, banking etc
,that is also because of someone' pet project of CECA agreements with India that allow a free flow of labour into the country.

We Do have other Nationals that are in Singapore to do "menial labour" ,, like from , China ,Cambodia , Indonesia , Thailand , Nepal & Blangadesh etc etc yet you do not hear of much complaints from Singaporeans about them... only India, so we are not racist if that is what you might be thinking ?

I hope my answers have satisfied all your queries ?

nayr69sg

Staff member
I Don't have a maid in our household, WE do the household stuff ourselves (excepting cutting the grass in the garden which is done by a Bangedashi worker from a construction company during his free time to earn additional income).

My sister who is staying with my elder parents have a maid after my mother got stroke. They didn't have a maid either before that.
Even now the Maid only take care of my mother, the rest of the household staff like cooking etc Is still done by my father/sister.
Maybe you think we cant afford maid ? I am not stayingl in a Public Housing if that is why you want to imply next posting ?

Lets not shift the topic elsewhere, I don't normally post a lot in this forum, I started coming in when someone was posting Soccer Tipsters Tips which was a Fraud which I was trying hard to ensure none from the forum are "sucked in " but unfortunately
we still have some that falls victims too from this forum.

I reply to your post to try and explain that what you have posted that if Singapore will to stop new imports of Indian nationals
Spore needs to close shop....that is unfortunately the Gov's narrative as India is some dowager's pet project that No G4 Mini dares to go against. ( as you can see the quick action that the Taskforce is able to stop people from Taiwan from coming in with the latest measures shows that they know , just that for that "preferred nation" their hands are tied" ).

Most of my friends are in China, they don't have maids either. Some are working professionals with both parents working, usually
they have a part time cleaner from the cleaning company to clean their apartment , the rest cooking etc etc they still do it themsleves . Those that have children , they normally have one side of the parents to come in to take care . ( They all can afford a maid if they want to ).

My parents neighbours all don't have a maid......so not everyone uses a maid .......

We don't only have cheap Indians to fill menial labour as you put it, they are also in the management role, IT sector, banking etc
,that is also because of someone' pet project of CECA agreements with India that allow a free flow of labour into the country.

We Do have other Nationals that are in Singapore to do "menial labour" ,, like from , China ,Cambodia , Indonesia , Thailand , Nepal & Blangadesh etc etc yet you do not hear of much complaints from Singaporeans about them... only India, so we are not racist if that is what you might be thinking ?

I hope my answers have satisfied all your queries ?
Thank you for your reply. Appreciate it.
I waa not trying to imply that you cannot afford maid rather many Singaporeans can afford to hire maids.
You are right that the narrative from the Government may be wrong. Different people say different things though.
My own experience with my relatives is they really cannot see themselves doing any menial work even if it pays better. Case in point my own siblings came to Canada and refused to entertain the idea of menial or labor work.
On the other hand another Singaporean couple who came to Canada the husband signed up and trained to be a carpenter.
I think Singapore should reduce this very liberal foreign worker policy. It is not good for the Singapore identity. Particularly Sg is a small country so if you have influx of so many foreigners the locals will feel their presence for sure. It is not like there is big spaces for various races to stay apart etc.
But so far it atill seems to me Singaporeans still support the policy overall.