• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Low ranking for press freedom here absurd: Shanmugam

metalslug

http://www.asiaone.com/News/AsiaOne+News/Singapore/Story/A1Story20091027-176233.html

Tue, Oct 27, 2009
AsiaOne

20091027.130824_freedomofpress.jpg

Low ranking for press freedom here absurd: Shanmugam

LAW Minister K. Shanmugam yesterday said rankings that place Singapore lowly on press freedom "struck him as quite absurd and divorced from reality".

At the Opening of the seasonal meeting of the New York state bar association International Section, Mr. Shanmugam addressed the perception American newspapers portray of Singapore being "a repressive, state that controls the people's thoughts" and "unfairly target the press".

He referred to the Press Freedom Index compiled by the organization Reporters without Borders - which placed Singapore 144th out of 173 countries on press freedom in 2008 below Ethiopia, Sudan, Kazahkstan, Venezuela, Guinea, Haiti.

This year Singapore was ranked 133rd out of 175 countries below Kenya - which saw riots following a disputed election - and Congo - which continues to struggle with the aftermath of an armed conflict that has claimed more than 5 million lives.

Mr. Shanmugam said that it did not make sense that Singapore is ranked lower than countries trying to progress. "My point is not that we are in any way inherently superior to them - the question is whether a truly objective assessment will give us such a ranking."

The Singapore government has had tussels and won law suits against with several newspapers such as the Wall Street Journal and Far Eastern Economic Review. He said that the press is not used to this anywhere else in the world and "they don't like it one bit".

"So every Law suit is met with the same reaction - we are out to silence the press. That feeling has been pervasive and has, in my view, coloured the general reporting on Singapore."

"Is it possible to have a modern, successful, open economy if the people are not empowered and educated?"

He added that it is perfectly possible to be deeply critical of government policies without the addition of totally unnecessary remarks on some form of corruption, as he had seen such cases when he was previously in private practice.

"Our approach on press reporting is simple: The press can criticize us, our policies. We do not seek to condemn that.

"But we demand the right of response, to be published in the journal that published the original article. We do not accept that they can decide whether to publish our response."

There will be libel suits if personal factual attacks are made. "Public discourse does not have to descend into the gutter, " he said.

He went on to emphasize that there is a public right to comment on policies and even if it is "someone is stupid or that policies make no sense and the policies are attacked vigorously you can't sue."

He stressed the public right to comment on policies while the goverment will respond to defend policies and ignore comments on intellect.

Mr. Shanmugam said that proof of our stability can be seen by the billions of dollars invested in Singapore annually by international organizations.

"Our main selling point is that there will be good value added when they invest here, their investments will be protected, and that we are a stable democracy."

... LAW Minister K. Shanmugam yesterday said rankings that place Singapore lowly on press freedom "struck him as quite absurd and divorced from reality". ...
ah shanmugam ...

u really showed dat u r divorced fr reality, man! ...

n u oso cannot accept ze tooth! ...

oli9

It also shows that sometimes Singapore cannot face the harsh & stark truth about the way our leaders run the country.

SneeringTree

Is it not absurd that Catherine Lim wrote something in the press that's not even remotely critical of the Leegime and was challenged to enter politics?!?

TeeKee

The irony here is this article just undid all the improvement SPH has made this year to become 133rd.

Next year it'll fall back to 160+ place :rolleyes:

this ah neh dun really understand why they setup this index?

or he pretend to act blur?

you know he used to be the legal consul for that Hakka Lee who suka suka anyhow throw lawsuits against foreign newspapers and opposition members kena fined hundred of thousands of dollars in our kangaroo courts!

Of course win lah!

so who is the one who is really absurd and divorced from reality? :biggrin:

he still dare to talk cock in public, why nobody throw shoes at him?

borom

The Singapore government has had tussels and won law suits against with several newspapers such as the Wall Street Journal and Far Eastern Economic Review. "

He conveniently forgot to mention that all the lawsuits were filed in Singapore.
Why not file the lawsuits in the publications home country eg USA for WSJ and
HK for FEER.
Another way is to seek enforcement in these countries based on the local courts judgement.

The irony here is this article just undid all the improvement SPH has made this year to become 133rd.

Next year it'll fall back to 160+ place :rolleyes:

1. bro, on one hand, yes it is sph.
2. but deep beneath, it is more than just sph.
3. there is another force doing shittytimes at 133rd.
4. well, if the keling is dissatisfied, he could have get his ammunition and charge the creator of the index.
5. this is not the first time, sinkies done that just to win!
6. pointless, talking cock and singing to the same tune.

What is absurd is how most of the citizens accept and believe what is written in the newspapers as gospel.

jacobsgoh

Funny that a Law Minister of a huge country should, be so bothered by rankings published by Reporters Without Borders- have they been hit below the belt, is it not true that lky's son's govt often claims PESI COLA ?, - i wonder.

Kid278

Funny that a Law Minister of a huge country should, be so bothered by rankings published by Reporters Without Borders- have they been hit below the belt, is it not true that lky's son's govt often claims PESI COLA ?, - i wonder.

It's a tiny nation, it's never huge. The truth always hurt, until he accepts reality that janitor will always be divorced and absurd....:p

OldPlaza

Our approach on press reporting is simple: The press can criticize us, our policies. We do not seek to condemn that.

"But we demand the right of response, to be published in the journal that published the original article. We do not accept that they can decide whether to publish our response.

The West or freedom-fighters commit the same sin that they loath.

If they choose to publish only the selected articles and deny others a chance to respond... this is called 'one-sided/lop-sided' reporting. It is no different than the 'SG press' that some claim to report only favorable/pro-government articles.