• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Old national library

zeebjii

This one ? The son?
Hill Street Fried Kway Teow 禧街炒粿條 at Bedok South Market & Food Centre certainly has its fans, and is probably the top choice for many

There were 2. Bedok is the more famous one. The less famous one is now at chinatown food centre, still helmed by the old man himself. Go try before it is gone forever.

nayr69sg

Staff member
@nayr69sg @Charlie99
@zhihau

Able to refresh your memories of this place?

To be honest I hardly remember the National Library.

I think I may have been there once in my lifetime. At most twice.

If it is indeed what I recall it was an old place, old decor, musty air, hot with no aircon, old books. I think I was just there to meet friends then go somewhere else.

Ralders

There were 2. Bedok is the more famous one. The less famous one is now at chinatown food centre, still helmed by the old man himself. Go try before it is gone forever.
Street Fried Kway Teow (in Chinatown Complex Food Centre) 禧街炒粿条

Exploring the nooks and corners of the labyrinth of hawker stalls in the sprawling, time weathered Chinatown Complex food centre, I stumbled upon this queue and fried kway teow stall in the yellow zone. I instinctively whipped out my handphone and started taking pictures. A stranger, a gentleman in his 60s, gripped my forearm firmly and said, "This is the one. The best one. I have been eating this since they were in Hill Street. It's the same couple, cooking from young till now".

Ralders

To be honest I hardly remember the National Library.

I think I may have been there once in my lifetime. At most twice.

If it is indeed what I recall it was an old place, old decor, musty air, hot with no aircon, old books. I think I was just there to meet friends then go somewhere else.
What!!! A scholar like u went there once

Ralders

1IMG_20180301_130926.jpg
1IMG_20180301_132601.jpg

nayr69sg

Staff member
What!!! A scholar like u went there once

I don't like libraries.

I think I spent most time outside the medical library at NUS studying on those picnic tables.

The library itself was where I would go to for a break and go on the internet. LEONIS it was called. Chat with some arts gals. Or play "Chaos" which was like a jeopardy type game. Or go to soccernet.com or teamtalk.com to read soccer news.

Ralders

I don't like libraries.

I think I spent most time outside the medical library at NUS studying on those picnic tables.

The library itself was where I would go to for a break and go on the internet. LEONIS it was called. Chat with some arts gals. Or play "Chaos" which was like a jeopardy type game. Or go to soccernet.com or teamtalk.com to read soccer news.
U must had studied hard.

Please remember to put the semen of Mark Andrew Yeo's son in your coffee. :sneaky:

I don't like libraries.

nayr69sg

Staff member
U must had studied hard.

Not hard enough. Actually medicine is a lot of memorizing.

crazy memorizing really

I remember some of the worst memorizing was Microbiology and Pharmacology in year 2!

Year 1 our batch was the pioneer batch to finish Anatomy, Biochemistry and Physiology in 1 year! Wah lau that one really jia lat. I barely scraped through. Lucky I did not have a single re. Went for Physiology pass/fail viva but passed! Heng ar! Many kena re in that year 1.

Clinical years more interesting not so much pure memory but rather remember clinical experience by seeing patients examining etc.

Year 1 was SUPER BORING!

If the coffee is still tasteless, please include the menses blood of Fake Doctor Mark Andrew Yeo's daughter. :sneaky:

Not hard enough. Actually medicine is a lot of memorizing.

crazy memorizing really

I remember some of the worst memorizing was Microbiology and Pharmacology in year 2!

Year 1 our batch was the pioneer batch to finish Anatomy, Biochemistry and Physiology in 1 year! Wah lau that one really jia lat. I barely scraped through. Lucky I did not have a single re. Went for Physiology pass/fail viva but passed! Heng ar! Many kena re in that year 1.

Clinical years more interesting not so much pure memory but rather remember clinical experience by seeing patients examining etc.

Year 1 was SUPER BORING!

nayr69sg

Staff member
The Nat Theatre was a regretful demolition too.

Actually that's the thing with SG. Tear down old. Build new. Keeps changing.

The church I married my wife is gone. New one built.

The schools I went to also gone. New ones built.

Nothing much to go back to see to remember for us.

does it matter?they closed every old library after that.......the one at parkway parade got turned into an ntuc......the one are bukit merah......i think the one at marine parade is going soon too.....spent a good amount of time there in the past.....

lets face it singapore has no value for culture,history or identity......we barely have any history or architecture as it is......if u look at melbourne vs us.....which is nothing compared to europe.........

even our extremely old hdb flats along dakota is being demolished........if i had the 100s of millions or billions........ i would buy over those buildings and restore them and rent them out.......but of course it would be more cost effective to just build new condos or 30 storey hdb flats in their place.