• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chitchat Life of an Expat created by Govt of Singapore

Singapore's Bohemian Culture!!

This article comes from a Govt presentation done years ago at an international conference in Europe but never reported in Singapore. It shows a lifestyle that many Singaporeans are not aware of and certainly not available to Singaporeans. Rentals are open to those who work in One-North but that is a euphemism or code for Expat only. I understand there is a token presence of Singaporeans albeit some are SPGS of the true sense. It is only recently that i found out that existing Colbar was relocated lock, stock and barrel by taxpayers on the lobbying of Ang Mos. Its excellent reminder of the colonial era and white man lording over the natives and that has been preserved. 1st World Country, 2nd class citizens and taxi drivers who graduated from NUS and NTU as engineers.

"Wessex Estate
Wessex, one of the heritage area identified in one-north, contains 26 pairs of black and white
semi-detached bungalows and 29 blocks of black and white walk-up apartments. Together with
the rich landscape and tranquil environment, it has attracted an interesting mix of people who
are staying in there. This includes lecturers, drama and theatre actors and writers, designers,
architects and artists, engineers, doctors, accountants, professional clowns and students among
many others. Some of the existing residents have been staying there for more than 30 years.

The existing tenants in Wessex form a community of bohemian, and enjoy their own network of
creative exchanges at an old run down wooden shack. When a major expressway along the
boundary of one-north was to be constructed a year ago, the gathering place for the Wessex
community, the COLBAR was threatened to be demolished and vanished in history. Together
with the community, we re-constructed the COLBAR with its original materials, and re-located it
nearer to Wessex estate. It continues to be the key gathering place for the Wessex community.
Arts and Design incubators, as well as offices of design based creative profession will be injected
into Wessex, with the expectation that the bohemian environment and culture will act as a
catalyst for the growth of a design community in one-north."

JHolmesJr

They can have their fuckin colbar and choke on it….the curry chicken there was fuckin rank…original materials…lol….it looked like a garage when I visited the original.

Even the nice apts at chip bee gardens are available only to expats who work at Biopolis near Buena Vista MRT….

The idea was cheap beer served by a native and where they had some sense of control.

They can have their fuckin colbar and choke on it….the curry chicken there was fuckin rank…original materials…lol….it looked like a garage when I visited the original.

Even the nice apts at chip bee gardens are available only to expats who work at Biopolis near Buena Vista MRT….

THE_CHANSTER

The term 'Expat' in Singapore is a bit of a misnomer.

The true expat was a dying breed a long time ago. Unless you are very senior in the management hierarchy, you are most likely not to receive housing allowance, payment of schools fees for the kids or even free flights back to your native country.

Most expats come here on local packages, live in HDBs or out of town condos. As I'm sure many who will testify, those from the Indian sub-continent will cluster primarily in the east and north. Given the external economic conditions, multi-nationals are relocating their staff to cheaper alternative locations.

The closest we have to a Bohemian culture is visiting those rustic shops along Dempsey Hill.

ang moh are truly the best,they live in individual real houses like the suburbs,have tons of joints and clubs to promote the music scene,culture and budding musicians before they become well known international jazz,blues and rock stars.....even in shitholes like singoland,

while sinkies spent their whole lives growing up in concrete shoeboxes,where u are deemed a crazy pinoy with mental problems if u play a drum set,and the only culture u are exposed to is dog shit and cockroach stain at ur void decks while ah peks and uncles play chiness chess or chinese poker.

You are right. In fact we have British Nurse and Laboratory Technicians renting these places. Not actual talent or the actual expats as we know it.

The true expat was a dying breed a long time ago. Unless you are very senior in the management hierarchy, you are most likely not to receive housing allowance, payment of schools fees for the kids or even free flights back to your native country.

Most expats come here on local packages, live in HDBs or out of town condos. As I'm sure many who will testify, those from the Indian sub-continent will cluster primarily in the east and north. Given the external economic conditions, multi-nationals are relocating their staff to cheaper alternative locations.

The closest we have to a Bohemian culture is visiting those rustic shops along Dempsey Hill.

gatehousethetinkertailor

There are local (in the sense of being locally born and bred) artists residing in Wessex Estate at "artist" rates. It is the same bohemian rate as "the expats".

Those arent real "expats",they are economic refugees,refuse,trash,junk.of course,possessing the lighter pigmentation,skin.they are still classified status as above sinkies.

I am aware, mentioned the Singaporeans including the SPGs in the opening post. These are token representation to avoid a backlash. The lobby behind these policy is the British Chamber of Commerce. They had a say in what type of Singaporeans they preferred in this locales.

I remember Simon Tay years ago managed to rent one of these apartment in the former Seletar Base ( former British Military accommodation) using his poet credentials.

Circa mid 1990s, I was asked by a HK lawyer who was granted PR to help select a HDB flat prior to his arrival. He faxed over the letter from the Singapore authorities providing details of the subsidised rentals and the options across the Island. It was managed by Esmaco in Science Park vicinity. I paid deposit of $50 deposit for 5 units ($10 per unit) for the keys to do physical inspection. Finally picked a Exe Flat in Bedok. Rental was about $250 per month and max tenure was 2 years. Sweet deal.

I bet you 95% of Singaporeans have no clue what goes on in this country when it comes to expats.

There are local (in the sense of being locally born and bred) artists residing in Wessex Estate at "artist" rates. It is the same bohemian rate as "the expats".

gatehousethetinkertailor

I am aware, mentioned the Singaporeans including the SPGs in the opening post. These are token representation to avoid a backlash. The lobby behind these policy is the British Chamber of Commerce. They had a say in what type of Singaporeans they preferred in this locales.

Apologies and yes you had - I was distracted by the SPGs reference unfortunately.

Is this rental scheme distinct from those rentals offered by SLA by tender?

Wessex comes under JTC and the rental are fixed. JTC generally handles govt expat related rentals in the vicinity of Business and Industrial Park they developed. Wessex Park comes under JTC as they developed and managed the entire One-North.

Here is the link - http://www.jtc.gov.sg/industrial-land-and-space/pages/wessex.aspx

Some of the expat related properties comes under stat boards for their own programmes. For instance, NUS controls considerable properties including penthouses in Pandan Valley, bungalows and terrace houses in Kent Ridge etc and meant for NUS Expat stuff. At one time NUS purchased 2 entire point blocks in Gillman Heights HUDC to rent to expats.

SLA tenders are open to all but usually leased by MNCs for their head honcho. Some of these black and white bungalows are air-conditioned for the mem-sahibs but not designed for it and the electricity bills can hit $20k a month.

Apologies and yes you had - I was distracted by the SPGs reference unfortunately.

Is this rental scheme distinct from those rentals offered by SLA by tender?

gatehousethetinkertailor

Wessex comes under JTC and the rental are fixed. JTC generally handles govt expat related rentals in the vicinity of Business and Industrial Park they developed. Wessex Park comes under JTC as they developed and managed the entire One-North.

Here is the link - http://www.jtc.gov.sg/industrial-land-and-space/pages/wessex.aspx

Some of the expat related properties comes under stat boards for their own programmes. For instance, NUS controls considerable properties including penthouses in Pandan Valley, bungalows and terrace houses in Kent Ridge etc and meant for NUS Expat stuff. At one time NUS purchased 2 entire point blocks in Gillman Heights HUDC to rent to expats.

SLA tenders are open to all but usually leased by MNCs for their head honcho. Some of these black and white bungalows are air-conditioned for the mem-sahibs but not designed for it and the electricity bills can hit $20k a month.

Thank you for clarifying.

"mem-sahibs" - one would have thought not since the days of Forster's Passage but seems there are reincarnations of both white and brown persuasion aplenty nowadays in SG.

Charlie99

I remember Simon Tay years ago managed to rent one of these apartment in the former Seletar Base ( former British Military accommodation) using his poet credentials.

Circa mid 1990s, I was asked by a HK lawyer who was granted PR to help select a HDB flat prior to his arrival. He faxed over the letter from the Singapore authorities providing details of the subsidised rentals and the options across the Island. It was managed by Esmaco in Science Park vicinity. I paid deposit of $50 deposit for 5 units ($10 per unit) for the keys to do physical inspection. Finally picked a Exe Flat in Bedok. Rental was about $250 per month and max tenure was 2 years. Sweet deal.

I bet you 95% of Singaporeans have no clue what goes on in this country when it comes to expats.

It looks like the govt is dishonest, not truthful, and not working for the citizens.

Which part of Wessex you not understand? Anglo saxons only! No colonial riff raffs in our compound. Else you have mandarin garden nonsense every other day.

melzp

the State relentlessly accomodates the foreigner/expats esp in the vicinities of Dempsey and Grandstand.

Where Sinkees culture is NOT allowed there, to make them feel homely.......................

...eg. No gantry and paid parking.

blueRad

I agree. The expat in the past could enjoy housing and medical benefits all at the expense of the company. Unfortunately, it is not that way anymore as rising biz cost forces many biz to tell expat to find and pay for their own housing.

The policy for reserving certain housing to attract qualified academics and experts in their respective fields does make sense. This helps Singapore immensely. When they do it for ordinary foreigners and worst still create little oasis and quarters where they have much say and throw their weight around its poor judgment and policy. The fact that they hide these things are indeed dishonest. You can do these things in the West or even in most 3rd World countries.

The "Bohemian" presentation was done in a European country and not done in Singapore and thus the devious nature towards their countrymen.

It looks like the govt is dishonest, not truthful, and not working for the citizens.

Charlie99

The policy for reserving certain housing to attract qualified academics and experts in their respective fields does make sense. This helps Singapore immensely. When they do it for ordinary foreigners and worst still create little oasis and quarters where they have much say and throw their weight around its poor judgment and policy. The fact that they hide these things are indeed dishonest. You can do these things in the West or even in most 3rd World countries.

The "Bohemian" presentation was done in a European country and not done in Singapore and thus the devious nature towards their countrymen.

I do not wish to argue about this:
"The policy for reserving certain housing to attract qualified academics and experts in their respective fields does make sense."

but not anything special for ordinary foreign workers and professionals.

The Singapore should not issue a professional pass or work permit to any foreigner, unless the employer is unable to find a Singapore citizen (no excuse that Singaporeans have to take time off to go for reservist training, because Singaporeans have no choice) to do the work (higher salary is not an excuse).

Accordingly, Singaporeans should inform their MP's now, so that if the government does not take steps to ensure Singaporeans come first, then Singaporeans should speak with their votes at the next General Elections.
Otherwise, please do not complain.