• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Property News

snowbird

Being slow to judge is a virtue. Sometimes circumstances lead us to make radical changes, or bring forward our plans. This couple has thought for their kid by not making him commute daily across the Causeway. Had they done that so the kid can enjoy life I am quite sure you will have harsh words for the couple too.

Its a between a rock and a hard place for that couple, not many options available.
Take that kid with them to "enjoy life" in JB but that poor kid has to wake up at about 4 am to prepare himself for school.
Under those circumstances, the couple shouldn't be driving a car so that poor kid need to brave all elements just catch the earliest bus for his JC and then getting home in the evening (you know JC timing)
Don't think that kid is very happy with that arrangement and all his time wasted on the road (4 to 6 hrs daily) instead of studying.
And too bad, he can't ride a motorbike like you.
Don't take him along, then got to send him away to board with relatives, the other option.
Of course there is another option, sell the JB terrace house, take the money and all can live together in SG, after all, life is all about choosing what is best for all.

Frodo

Its a between a rock and a hard place for that couple, not many options available.
Take that kid with them to "enjoy life" in JB but that poor kid has to wake up at about 4 am to prepare himself for school.
Under those circumstances, the couple shouldn't be driving a car so that poor kid need to brave all elements just catch the earliest bus for his JC and then getting home in the evening (you know JC timing)
Don't think that kid is very happy with that arrangement and all his time wasted on the road (4 to 6 hrs daily) instead of studying.
And too bad, he can't ride a motorbike like you.
Don't take him along, then got to send him away to board with relatives, the other option.
Of course there is another option, sell the JB terrace house, take the money and all can live together in SG, after all, life is all about choosing what is best for all.

But the couple may not be having their jobs anymore, so they may need the income from the HDB for their living expenses in JB. And this is temporary, JC is 2 years, after that boy go become 阿宾哥。

Frodo

It's not rut lah. One man's meat is another man's poison, like I said. It's all based on individual's perception. As long as you're happy with it, go for it.

National Day just passed and I was near the stadium. There were so many happy faces coming out of it at the end. If you watched the coverage TV, you could see many happy Singaporeans, PRs and even foreigners.

I have Malaysian, Indonesian, China, Filipino, India colleagues. Some of them are already Singaporeans. Some PR. Some can't wait to be Singaporeans but their applications failed. All live in HDB flats.

You can tell how happy they are with their lives here. Their children are happy with school here, they go for events, stroll in the parks, cycling, roller-blading, and yes, even visit Legoland! Haha... Just drive there lor, so easy. No need to buy a S$300k condo there to stay as holiday home. Most of these people are also "peasants". But they are satisfied with the high standards and quality of life in SG. I find it's sometimes excuses or exaggerations that people say you will die working in SG. But of course it's not wrong if you seek other forms of lifestyles or places to live in.

Why wouldn't there be happy faces for those who attended the NDP at Kallang? Anyway, I don't think folks here are saying that all Singaporeans are unhappy with life in Singapore. Perhaps many are. In any case, the many peasants who choose to make life work in Singapore have made their choice. For me, we could choose to remain as well. But things will just be as before. Well not really, since no more SG car to drive as i won't be able to afford even a 2nd hand car or renew the COE. But turning our HDB into an investment vehicle would mean a new passive income stream for us, which certainly helped.

Frodo

But at least he got chance, starters or consolation dunno la. He dare to hope. An improvement from those dreamers.
For those who did not buy, how to strike?

And I am getting itchy again...looking at a condo in Subang Jaya. Offer given and countered...deciding in 2 days time. :smile:

Interesting analogy! Though in reality lottery tickets can only be kept in the wallet. In my case, we could make use of the "lottery ticket" and live in it for the past couple of years. Anyway, all the best for your next condo "trophy"!

mpan12

Why wouldn't there be happy faces for those who attended the NDP at Kallang? Anyway, I don't think folks here are saying that all Singaporeans are unhappy with life in Singapore. Perhaps many are. In any case, the many peasants who choose to make life work in Singapore have made their choice. For me, we could choose to remain as well. But things will just be as before. Well not really, since no more SG car to drive as i won't be able to afford even a 2nd hand car or renew the COE. But turning our HDB into an investment vehicle would mean a new passive income stream for us, which certainly helped.

I'm trying to show that there are lots and lots of people happy to live in Singapore. It's not the location or event per se, i.e. National Stadium or National Day. There are people who are living in HDB flats and are happy. Feeling happy does not rely on the amount of wealth you have, the size of house you live in, or the type of car you can afford but in the type of your thoughts you plant in your head.

I still hear bullshit talks and read articles from Malaysian developers, writers and property promoters who say more and more Singaporeans will move to Iskandar because the cost of living is getting too high here. That's the greatest lie ever. The ground sentiments all sound so different.

I've been talking to my colleagues, Singaporeans and Malaysians, my friends outside my work, strangers sometimes, and I've not seen the slightest push to move over. Young graduates will be more than willing to pay S$450-500k to buy their 4-room BTO flats to set up families here. And they are not complaining! They love the convenience, stability, safety and future prospects of living in SG.

No money to buy car then don't buy. Is a car really necessary for you? If no job, then go find one! Make things happen. Running away to JB and making the JC kid suffer having to wake up unearthly hours is not the best solution. If I were the kid and my school grades had to suffer, I'd hate such parents.

I've read great stories of how people overcome adversities over here and make it big -- Peasants who grew up in rented flats but were determined to be rich. Academically slow students who were called "stupid" or "hopeless" by teachers getting quality degrees or even Ph.Ds. Thank goodness they didn't all say, "F*** Singapore, I am going to rent out my HDB flat and flee to Johor for cheaper and bigger housing!"

Do you know the current Chief of Defence Force in SAF had a father who was a taxi-driver and mother as a housewife? He didn't grow up in a privileged environment. But his upbringing allowed him to excel and go to the top secondary school and JC in SG. He then went on to receive the prestigious President's Scholarship. If his parents had said, "Let's move to Johor, F*** this place" we would have lost a good leader. He might have just ended up a peasant like you on his bike every morning to work in SG and back to JB in the evening!

mpan12

I not so lucky with Malaysian property. Last time I bought a piece of LH land from Johor State Economic Board (forgotten the actual name), hold unto it for a number of years, later sold it off at a loss.

You bought land instead of a property itself? How come lost money despite holding for some time? Could you have made back the money if you had held on much longer?

snowbird

But the couple may not be having their jobs anymore, so they may need the income from the HDB for their living expenses in JB. And this is temporary, JC is 2 years, after that boy go become 阿宾哥。

So this couple is a very good case study for many people here.
For a working couple (she's 50 so hubby must near there too), even if they lost their job so near retirement, they have no or little savings.
They had probably "invested" in a JB terrace house with all their savings few years back.
And now, something happen they may lose their job and they are caught in a 两头不到岸 situation.
Renting out their HDB flat only fetch them, say, around S$2,000 (depend how many rms type).
They have their own living expenses, JB house expenses and their child's boarding fees and school expenses to attend to.........S$2,000 enough meh?
Wouldn't it be better to sell or rent out the JB house, so that the family can stay together and no more boarding fees, a better solution?

tstar

how much money they have in the bank i do not know. I canno ask right. but i think they do have savings and other investments and also a sg car. actually they intend to send kid abroad for university later.

They just want to spend money prudently. that is, try to use hdb rental to cover living expenses and keep own savings for kid education and other urgencies. RM6000 or 7000 a month should live comfortably in HH. after all, utility fee a peanut in JB.

Jc is not like primary. JC students big enough to take care of themselves and less than two years then army. the kid lives with relative and can communicate with parents everyday. anyway they feel boy should grow up and learn to become independent when going abroad.

if only primary or secondary, definitely cannot. but most people in fifties have their children at least in JC.
it is better to have kids earlist possible.

xebay11

Good to know history but also learn to be progressive. After these events, all Indo Chinese take indon names and drop their Chinese names.

Please lah, they dropped their Chinese names long before 1998, and living in Indonesia, these sorts of events can flare up anytime.

xebay11

It is really scary when people get retrenched in their 50s. Not easy to get a new job at that age.
And this is the time when you have house mortgage, kids in universities, car loan not paid in full yet...

Not scary if you plan well, I am not scared, because I did not foolishly buy "lottery tickets" that required 20 years pay out, I have no loans, the only loan I have is car loan, which I can use to generate money by driving Uber or just sell it.

If really need to live in Johor, just rent out properties here and live in RM1.1k condo, maybe go push trolleys at Changi Airport for some income and tips.

I can terminate some insurance policies to put my kids through uni and then all is good. What's so scary?

xebay11

Did i say tere wasnt any riot/deaths? Not just chinese. Read my post carefully.

Nice twist, trying to prata your way out, the main targets were Chinese and an image of a decapitated Chinese woman on a stick being paraded is still fresh in my mind today.

xebay11

But at least he got chance, starters or consolation dunno la. He dare to hope. An improvement from those dreamers.
For those who did not buy, how to strike?

And I am getting itchy again...looking at a condo in Subang Jaya. Offer given and countered...deciding in 2 days time. :smile:

Again, please do not way lay Mr Frodo, you are a Malaysian with deep pockets, what you do or say should have no bearing on average Sinkie. Good luck with you on buying your lottery ticket, for others who spent a lifetime buying lottery, I always ask them if they have at least recovered what they spent and 99.999999% do not, so what's the point?

Tekkun

Again, please do not way lay Mr Frodo, you are a Malaysian with deep pockets, what you do or say should have no bearing on average Sinkie. Good luck with you on buying your lottery ticket, for others who spent a lifetime buying lottery, I always ask them if they have at least recovered what they spent and 99.999999% do not, so what's the point?

No difference I am a Malaysian or not, rich or poor.
It is commendable Frodo took charge of his life instead of waiting for things to happen. Many people in this world dare not.
He took his calculated risks. Win or lose, only he know. He has his own priorities. I am sure even if he loses, he has no regrets. At least he tried.
But so far, he is optismistic and happy with his choice.

Investor888

Actually I seldom heard of people regretting their move into Iskandar.

My only regret is that I just don't have the extra time to spend more in Malaysia!

It is commendable Frodo took charge of his life instead of waiting for things to happen. Many people in this world dare not.
He took his calculated risks. Win or lose, only he know. He has his own priorities. I am sure even if he loses, he has no regrets. At least he tried.

xebay11

Well I have made my choices to and mine is not Johor, my plans are moving along smoothly and no hiccups expected.

xebay11

Actually I seldom heard of people regretting their move into Iskandar.

My only regret is that I just don't have the extra time to spend more in Malaysia!

Strange, I guess all your friends are in this forum where all is fine and dandy, outside this circle, I have so far only heard of horror stories from simple theft to huge property value losses.

kawan2sgmy

long story cut short...
bought the land thinking to build a factory on it, then can collect rental.
At that time industrial rent was going for something like RM1.20/sf, construction cost was like RM90 to RM100, so 10,000sf build-up would cost something like RM900,000, rental income @RM1.20/sf =RM12,000, thought can recoup the cost in 7 yrs time.
I was too 'hiong', just plunge into it without any research! How naïve I was at that time!!!! Thought making money was so easy like ABC kiam chye char loti!
So somehow kena burnt!
At that time, where go internet, if not can seek advice from virtual friends here, right?

You bought land instead of a property itself? How come lost money despite holding for some time? Could you have made back the money if you had held on much longer?