• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Property News

mpan12

Not sure what to make out of this news. Good or bad? I suppose at least now they are making it clear which parts are for foreigners, and which ones for locals.

http://www.thestar.com.my/metro/com...-property-ownership-of-locals-and-foreigners/

Plan to ensure balance in property ownership of locals and foreigners

NUSAJAYA: An international zone will be formed next year to ensure that there is a balance in the ownership of properties between locals and foreigners in Johor.

Mentri Besar Datuk Mohamed Khaled Nordin said that the International Zone for the Johor Straits Development Corridor was to make sure both locals and foreigners had a chance to ownproperties in the state.

Johor welcomes foreign investors and entrepreneurs into the state to boost the domestic economy but the needs of the locals have to be better managed, he said when making the budget announcement here.

He said that the fears of foreigners snapping up available properties needed to be addressed or risk the locals feeling that their needs were being neglected.

He cited an example where foreign ownership for landed, strata and commercial properties outside the international zone would be restricted to between 10% and 30% depending on the category.

Besides that, the international zone would also be developed as an investment and industrial centre to attract more foreign investors into the state, he added.

Meanwhile, he also said that the state’s gross domestic product was expected to grow by 5.5% next year based on positive foreign and domestic investment trends in the past few years.

He was also confident that the international zone would add value to Johor and Malaysia, creating a brand to put the state on the international stage.

He also said Johor was expected to record about RM1.4bil in revenue next year, a 15.04% increase compared to the RM1.34bil recorded as of Nov 17 this year.

Mohamed Khaled said the increase in figures showed the level of confidence investors had in the state despite global economic situation that hit nations like China, Japan, United States and Europe.

Relaxman

Not sure what to make out of this news. Good or bad? I suppose at least now they are making it clear which parts are for foreigners, and which ones for locals.

http://www.thestar.com.my/metro/com...-property-ownership-of-locals-and-foreigners/

NUSAJAYA: An international zone will be formed next year to ensure that there is a balance in the ownership of properties between locals and foreigners in Johor.

Mentri Besar Datuk Mohamed Khaled Nordin said that the International Zone for the Johor Straits Development Corridor was to make sure both locals and foreigners had a chance to ownproperties in the state.

Johor welcomes foreign investors and entrepreneurs into the state to boost the domestic economy but the needs of the locals have to be better managed, he said when making the budget announcement here.

He said that the fears of foreigners snapping up available properties needed to be addressed or risk the locals feeling that their needs were being neglected.

He cited an example where foreign ownership for landed, strata and commercial properties outside the international zone would be restricted to between 10% and 30% depending on the category.

Besides that, the international zone would also be developed as an investment and industrial centre to attract more foreign investors into the state, he added.

Meanwhile, he also said that the state’s gross domestic product was expected to grow by 5.5% next year based on positive foreign and domestic investment trends in the past few years.

He was also confident that the international zone would add value to Johor and Malaysia, creating a brand to put the state on the international stage.

He also said Johor was expected to record about RM1.4bil in revenue next year, a 15.04% increase compared to the RM1.34bil recorded as of Nov 17 this year.

Mohamed Khaled said the increase in figures showed the level of confidence investors had in the state despite global economic situation that hit nations like China, Japan, United States and Europe.

Should be good news.... at least Singaporean can sell back property to singaporean in these zones.

xebay11

Malaysia’s property market slowing sharply

"The economy is slowing, the ringgit is depreciating, and there's a political scandal affecting Prime Minister."

Seems like if there is no improvement to those mentioned factors quickly, the property market situation will probably remain weak and gross rental yield remain low.

http://www.globalpropertyguide.com/Asia/Malaysia/Price-History

Yah and some people challenge me to wait 20 Years to see if my forecasts were right, what a bunch of buffoons, dare to challenge me.

xebay11

Should be good news.... at least Singaporean can sell back property to singaporean in these zones.

And why would Singaporeans want to if there were newer and nicer developments?

Malaysia has so much land and everywhere can be new CBD because the term is so loosely used. Don't get conned because the term CBD in Singapore really means CBD, in Malaysia it is like any developer or Government can just anyhow call a present rubber estate a future CBD ha ha ha ha ha and the best part is Singaporeans believe it too..... Rotflmao.

xebay11

What idiots got Bumi lot, non Bumi lots now international lots, when the time comes to do a transaction they will take 30 years to approve because they cannot differentiate what is what ha haha Malaysi boleh lah.

xebay11

Recently i saw many gals from china in JB town too. Most are office ladies....quite pretty and sexy. Is definitely a good sign.

Are you sure they are office girls? You been to Singapore Geylang recently? Many PRC office girls too what! And Singaporeans take it as a bad sign.

mpan12

What idiots got Bumi lot, non Bumi lots now international lots, when the time comes to do a transaction they will take 30 years to approve because they cannot differentiate what is what ha haha Malaysi boleh lah.

Bumi lots because they want to protect their own people, unfortunately, some of whom are damn lazy or poor. But by virtue of being a Bumi, they will be given priority.

International lots because they realize if they let foreigners, like Singaporeans, come in and snatch away all their housing like buying vegetables, their locals will protest no more cheap housing.

At the end, we can summarise that:

Bumi lots = Cheap but cannot or very hard to buy

International lots = Expensive (by Malaysian standards) and impossible or very difficult to sell on secondary market

snowbird

Are you sure they are office girls? You been to Singapore Geylang recently? Many PRC office girls too what! And Singaporeans take it as a bad sign.

When the now under-construction Country Garden and Princess Cove completes, you'll see many more new massage parlours, karaoke lounges, bistros, etc opening there and you'll also see plenty of made-in-China mei meis working there and many will probably be staying upstairs too and conveniently, they can..............不如,上来楼上我屋里坐(做)吧。

Relaxman

Many Malaysians love to have china mei mei around. They are very friendly and sexy. I knew a few office girls bcos they work for the China Developers. Super friendly and pretty. That is definitely a good sign. Rejuvenate my life again....:biggrin:

xebay11

Bumi lots because they want to protect their own people, unfortunately, some of whom are damn lazy or poor. But by virtue of being a Bumi, they will be given priority.

International lots because they realize if they let foreigners, like Singaporeans, come in and snatch away all their housing like buying vegetables, their locals will protest no more cheap housing.

At the end, we can summarise that:

Bumi lots = Cheap but cannot or very hard to buy

International lots = Expensive (by Malaysian standards) and impossible or very difficult to sell on secondary market

Yes well summarised.

xebay11

Many Malaysians love to have china mei mei around. They are very friendly and sexy. I knew a few office girls bcos they work for the China Developers. Super friendly and pretty. That is definitely a good sign. Rejuvenate my life again....:biggrin:

Ha ha so it is not just Malaysian Chinese who will be happy......i think many VEPs will be paid.

Relaxman

Ha ha so it is not just Malaysian Chinese who will be happy......i think many VEPs will be paid.

I did have coffee with few of them. They are very soft spoken. I love the beijing chinese accent. I notice they have very smooth skin complexion compare to local gals.

Tekkun

Something which we pray hard it will not happen. But we have to be realistic and be on guard always.
Malaysia is not spared either. Imagine what will hapen to our properties?

-------------------------------------------------------------------

SINGAPORE: Radicals who target Singapore are serious about planning an attack, and will look for different ways to do so, Home Affairs and Law Minister K. Shanmugam said.

And the authorities have zero tolerance for those who harbour such thoughts, and constantly work with partners in neighbouring countries to detect and deter such threats.
"What you saw being foiled in Batam, this is the nature of things to come," he said.
"It's not going to go away, and we need to get it right, every single time. The terrorists only need to get it right once to make a statement," he said at a constituency event a day after Indonesia arrested six members of a terror cell in Batam, whose leader had been planning a rocket attack on Marina Bay together with ISIS militant Bahrun Naim.

Shanmugam said that cooperation between Indonesia, Malaysia and Singapore to combat terrorism was good and had to continue, and he will travel to Bali this week for a regional security conference.

Indonesian police continued tracking down other members of the group, which was set up in 2014 and called itself Katibah GR.

Their leader Gigih Rahmat Dewa, 31, who was among the six nabbed on Friday, had received funds from Bahrun Naim, a leading recruiter for Indonesians fighting alongside the Islamic State in Iraq and Syria (ISIS), Indonesian police had said.

Shanmugam said that from time to time, Singapore gets reports and intelligence from regional partners about plans to attack and infiltrate Singapore.

He did not elaborate, but added: "What Singaporeans need to understand is that the people who want to do us harm are pretty serious, and they will look for many different ways of doing it."

Different types of plans are being thought of and hatched, he said, adding there are places not far from Singapore "where people can come together and plan to attack us".

He outlined three main sources of threats to Singapore.

One, people who gather just outside Singapore and attack the country or plan an attack from there.

Two, people who enter Singapore to stage an attack here. The minister noted that some 200 million people pass through Singapore's borders every year.
Three, home-grown radicalised individuals. Recent attacks in London and Nice showed how knives and vehicles could be used to cause death.

This is why the authorities are constantly looking out for threats, working with regional partners, and picking up individuals within Singapore - even if they are thinking of going abroad to fight.

More Singaporeans are also aware of the risks of an attack, he added, citing how they were signing up for emergency preparedness workshops - including one in Toa Payoh West where they learnt first aid skills and witnessed a simulated attack by gunmen.

"The message is getting through, but we need to do much more," Shanmugam added.

More such programmes will be held over the next two years to train at least one member from each of the one million households, he said.

It was a message underlined by Deputy Prime Minister and Coordinating Minister for National Security Teo Chee Hean at a National Day dinner in Pasir Ris-Punggol GRC.
"All of us can play an active role to stay alert and prepared, and be ready to respond. In peacetime, we must build up our social resilience, so that we can bounce back as one united community should an attack occur," he said last night. – The Straits Times/Asia News Network

Relaxman

Something which we pray hard it will not happen. But we have to be realistic and be on guard always.
Malaysia is not spared either. Imagine what will hapen to our properties?

-------------------------------------------------------------------

SINGAPORE: Radicals who target Singapore are serious about planning an attack, and will look for different ways to do so, Home Affairs and Law Minister K. Shanmugam said.

And the authorities have zero tolerance for those who harbour such thoughts, and constantly work with partners in neighbouring countries to detect and deter such threats.
"What you saw being foiled in Batam, this is the nature of things to come," he said.
"It's not going to go away, and we need to get it right, every single time. The terrorists only need to get it right once to make a statement," he said at a constituency event a day after Indonesia arrested six members of a terror cell in Batam, whose leader had been planning a rocket attack on Marina Bay together with ISIS militant Bahrun Naim.

Shanmugam said that cooperation between Indonesia, Malaysia and Singapore to combat terrorism was good and had to continue, and he will travel to Bali this week for a regional security conference.

Indonesian police continued tracking down other members of the group, which was set up in 2014 and called itself Katibah GR.

Their leader Gigih Rahmat Dewa, 31, who was among the six nabbed on Friday, had received funds from Bahrun Naim, a leading recruiter for Indonesians fighting alongside the Islamic State in Iraq and Syria (ISIS), Indonesian police had said.

Shanmugam said that from time to time, Singapore gets reports and intelligence from regional partners about plans to attack and infiltrate Singapore.

He did not elaborate, but added: "What Singaporeans need to understand is that the people who want to do us harm are pretty serious, and they will look for many different ways of doing it."

Different types of plans are being thought of and hatched, he said, adding there are places not far from Singapore "where people can come together and plan to attack us".

He outlined three main sources of threats to Singapore.

One, people who gather just outside Singapore and attack the country or plan an attack from there.

Two, people who enter Singapore to stage an attack here. The minister noted that some 200 million people pass through Singapore's borders every year.
Three, home-grown radicalised individuals. Recent attacks in London and Nice showed how knives and vehicles could be used to cause death.

This is why the authorities are constantly looking out for threats, working with regional partners, and picking up individuals within Singapore - even if they are thinking of going abroad to fight.

More Singaporeans are also aware of the risks of an attack, he added, citing how they were signing up for emergency preparedness workshops - including one in Toa Payoh West where they learnt first aid skills and witnessed a simulated attack by gunmen.

"The message is getting through, but we need to do much more," Shanmugam added.

More such programmes will be held over the next two years to train at least one member from each of the one million households, he said.

It was a message underlined by Deputy Prime Minister and Coordinating Minister for National Security Teo Chee Hean at a National Day dinner in Pasir Ris-Punggol GRC.
"All of us can play an active role to stay alert and prepared, and be ready to respond. In peacetime, we must build up our social resilience, so that we can bounce back as one united community should an attack occur," he said last night. – The Straits Times/Asia News Network

That is why Singaporean should invest in at least one property in JB. In case of any chaos in Singapore, they can run over to JB for shelter. Imagine, if one rocket hit one of our HDB flat, Government sure will ask for mass evacuation to those who effected and stay nearby. So, you prefer spend a night in temporary shelter like in school hall or a landed / high rise property in JB?

mpan12

Think one step ahead. In other words, the jam at CIQ will not go away because there will always be strict security checks.

In the past, we used to think once Saddam Hussein and later, Osama had been killed, the troubles in the Middle East would be lessened. And whatever the problems, it will be confined in the Middle East. Or at least, it's the problem of the West against the crazy radicalised Muslim terrorists.

But now like a dangerous virus, terrorism has spread all the way to Asia. Even "innocent" and friendly countries like Singapore are not spared.

It's not going to be easy when you are surrounded by Muslim countries as immediate neighbours.

mpan12

That is why Singaporean should invest in at least one property in JB. In case of any chaos in Singapore, they can run over to JB for shelter. Imagine, if one rocket hit one of our HDB flat, Government sure will ask for mass evacuation to those who effected and stay nearby. So, you prefer spend a night in temporary shelter like in school hall or a landed / high rise property in JB?

Huh? A bit far-fetched reason to buy a property in JB. Nobody can predict when or where a terrorist attack will take place. In Malaysia, you have a lot more exposure to Muslims and terrorist threats.

xebay11

Huh? A bit far-fetched reason to buy a property in JB. Nobody can predict when or where a terrorist attack will take place. In Malaysia, you have a lot more exposure to Muslims and terrorist threats.

Go to New Zealand and buy 10 acres of farmland and live in your own "country".

Tekkun

If you ask me, Malaysia is safe as far as these terrorists are concerned.
You do not need rockets to attack. Even cars and trucks will do like in Nice. You do not need guns. There are plenty of knives in your kitchen.
But all those crazy people wanted is to make a statement and it can be in any form.

mpan12

Go to New Zealand and buy 10 acres of farmland and live in your own "country".

Hahaha... close to what I was thinking too.

NZ is a beautiful country. Lots of space also. That's what I call a very good place to retire in if one can.

But a pity the country is still seen as "backward" and the last I heard, it's not so easy to migrate there. At least the NZ govt protect their own people, unlike Singapore. May have a bit of racism also.