• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

HSR and RTS Discussion

PuteriWorld

God Bless Najib and PAP! I am very proud to see PM Najib and PM Lee working together for the benefit of both countries. After all, both are them are reputed to be the world top 10 most capable PMs

To fund the HSR operational costs, the tolls and levies may be raised.

sgcount

Yes. left of 2nd link Malaysia custom is Gelang Patah.

Based on the map below, I thought it is deeper inside.

Gelang%20Patah_zpslclghbbu.jpg

xebay11

By then probably the condos in JB have also increased in prices, which means maybe many will feel very "dui" for missing the boat 10 years ago.

Nobody rushing to buy Johor properties when you can take the train from Singapore, what is there to dui about it?

sgcount

When the HSR, shuttle service news sinks in further in the heads of Singaporeans, there may be more buyers of Johor properties.

Why buy a silly expensive and small 700+ sq ft 3 bedroom Jurong condo (each room can only put a small wardrobe and bed only!) with a big balcony as wasted space for more than S$1 million, when one can get a nice, comfortable 3-bedroom 1,200 sq ft Iskandar condo for about S$300k only?

Also, the one who buys the Jurong condo will be in debt with the bank for the next 20-30 years, every month forking out S$4k in loan payments. Siong!

If property prices do go up because of the HSR, I believe both sides, Jurong and Iskandar will also benefit from it. But with a much lower entry point for Johor properties, it makes more sense to invest there.

The days of investing in SG condos are over for most. They are overpriced and small. Not worth to live inside. Only the rich buy the SG condos as a "game" hoping to sell to the next suckers willing to accept them.

Tekkun

When the HSR, shuttle service news sinks in further in the heads of Singaporeans, there may be more buyers of Johor properties.Why buy a silly expensive and small 700+ sq ft 3 bedroom Jurong condo (each room can only put a small wardrobe and bed only!) with a big balcony as wasted space for more than S$1 million, when one can get a nice, comfortable 3-bedroom 1,200 sq ft Iskandar condo for about S$300k only?Also, the one who buys the Jurong condo will be in debt with the bank for the next 20-30 years, every month forking out S$4k in loan payments. Siong!If property prices do go up because of the HSR, I believe both sides, Jurong and Iskandar will also benefit from it. But with a much lower entry point for Johor properties, it makes more sense to invest there.The days of investing in SG condos are over for most. They are overpriced and small. Not worth to live inside. Only the rich buy the SG condos as a "game" hoping to sell to the next suckers willing to accept them.
I think the Gomen is paving a way but without telling the not so rich ppl in Spore directly, just maybe there is a avenue to be explored to overcome this rising cost of property in Singapore. I never say anything else. It is up to you to think what you want to think. :smile:

Manhattan

Although the egg is not hatched yet, but we now know it is a healthy hen and will likely lay the egg. So should we review the investment strategy to take on a more bold approach? Those who has a condo can buy a landed and those who has a landed can buy a condo?

sgcount

I think the Gomen is paving a way but without telling the not so rich ppl in Spore directly, just maybe there is a avenue to be explored to overcome this rising cost of property in Singapore. I never say anything else. It is up to you to think what you want to think. :smile:

Eh... why you talk so secretive? :biggrin: Nothing wrong to say it out loud... :smile:

Actually I also think alike.

Khaw Boon Wan hinted nursing homes in Johor are so cheap. It angered many Singaporeans so he kept quiet after that.

They allow Medisave to be used in Gleneagles Medini.

Even Temasek had a share in developing Afiniti condo in Medini. Heard many Singaporeans and Malaysians snapped up all the units in a few hours after launch.

Now they are planning shuttle service into Iskandar Puteri. HSR will stop there also.

These are all subtle signals the SG govt is opening up a way for Singaporeans to move there (on their own intention). Of course, it is unlikely they will mention this directly for fear of making more Singaporeans unhappy.

It's a fact that the cost of living is getting very high now even for the educated grads. In 10-15 years, HDB flats may take a lifetime to pay off for the commoners. The only way to live a better quality of life is to move north into Iskandar, provided the transportation and infrastructure are in place by then.

Tekkun

Although the egg is not hatched yet, but we now know it is a healthy hen and will likely lay the egg. So should we review the investment strategy to take on a more bold approach? Those who has a condo can buy a landed and those who has a landed can buy a condo?
Endless possibilities. I am just wondering where will Forest City fit in. Surely there will be a rail link to it.

Tekkun

Eh... why you talk so secretive? :biggrin: Nothing wrong to say it out loud... :smile:Actually I also think alike.Khaw Boon Wan hinted nursing homes in Johor are so cheap. It angered many Singaporeans so he kept quiet after that.They allow Medisave to be used in Gleneagles Medini.Even Temasek had a share in developing Afiniti condo in Medini. Heard many Singaporeans and Malaysians snapped up all the units in a few hours after launch.Now they are planning shuttle service into Iskandar Puteri. HSR will stop there also.These are all subtle signals the SG govt is opening up a way for Singaporeans to move there (on their own intention). Of course, it is unlikely they will mention this directly for fear of making more Singaporeans unhappy.It's a fact that the cost of living is getting very high now even for the educated grads. In 10-15 years, HDB flats may take a lifetime to pay off for the commoners. The only way to live a better quality of life is to move north into Iskandar, provided the transportation and infrastructure are in place by then.
Just curious, why is Gomen & Temasek focusing only in Iskandar Puteri and not JB City? Or did I miss out anything?

ECboy

Singapore not wasting time on this.
=========================
In a separate statement, Singapore's Land Transport Authority said that within the next month, it will call an advance engineering study tender for consultants to carry out engineering studies for the Singapore stretch of the High Speed Rail, which will terminate in Jurong East.

This study will include looking at the alignment of the rail link, the architectural and engineering design of the terminus station, noise and vibration issues, and the preparation of tender documents for the project's construction phase. The study is expected to start by the first quarter of 2017 and will take about 18 to 24 months to complete.

http://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/singapore-kl-high-speed-rail-targeted-to-start-running-by-around-2026-journey-will-take-90

Was just wondering if the Shuttle service will launch much sooner since SG is already calling for advance technical study tender? Likely they'll run the shuttle service earlier while building the northern side? One can only dream.

potter

Eh... why you talk so secretive? :biggrin: Nothing wrong to say it out loud... :smile:

Actually I also think alike.

Khaw Boon Wan hinted nursing homes in Johor are so cheap. It angered many Singaporeans so he kept quiet after that.

They allow Medisave to be used in Gleneagles Medini.

Even Temasek had a share in developing Afiniti condo in Medini. Heard many Singaporeans and Malaysians snapped up all the units in a few hours after launch.

Now they are planning shuttle service into Iskandar Puteri. HSR will stop there also.

These are all subtle signals the SG govt is opening up a way for Singaporeans to move there (on their own intention). Of course, it is unlikely they will mention this directly for fear of making more Singaporeans unhappy.

It's a fact that the cost of living is getting very high now even for the educated grads. In 10-15 years, HDB flats may take a lifetime to pay off for the commoners. The only way to live a better quality of life is to move north into Iskandar, provided the transportation and infrastructure are in place by then.

you're more +ve recently. Skyfall already use it as a blanket :p everyday sing london bridge is falling down falling down..also head pain.

Frodo

Nobody rushing to buy Johor properties when you can take the train from Singapore, what is there to dui about it?

But that's precisely the point that better connectivity would likely be there in 10 years time which would mean property prices could have gone up. So people may say, "wah lau, if only I had bought the condo in 2016, now prices in 2026 went up liao."

potter

But that's precisely the point that better connectivity would likely be there in 10 years time which would mean property prices could have gone up. So people may say, "wah lau, if only I had bought the condo in 2016, now prices in 2026 went up liao."

for sure, RTS will link up with HSR. just buy and wait and dun let 2.6m dollars man knows about it. :p

snowbird

Well at least there is a shuttle service to Iskandar Puteri from SG. They won't plan this for nothing. Lose money or not remains to be seen....

The shuttle service is meant to serve the other 6 destinations.
So, if a Johorean wants to go to Muar, he has to take the train from Nusajaya only while a Singaporean takes the train from Jurong East and change to shuttle service in Nusajaya to Muar.
As for the shuttle service managed exclusively by MY, it will lose money every year just as MAS does.

Tekkun

The shuttle service is meant to serve the other 6 destinations.
So, if a Johorean wants to go to Muar, he has to take the train from Nusajaya only while a Singaporean takes the train from Jurong East and change to shuttle service in Nusajaya to Muar.
As for the shuttle service managed exclusively by MY, it will lose money every year just as MAS does.

These are: an express service between the two end-stations - Jurong East and Bandar Malaysia in Kuala Lumpur; a shorter shuttle service connecting Singapore and Iskandar Puteri in Johor; and a domestic service linking the seven stations in Malaysia.

- See more at: https://www.gov.sg/news/content/the...-tracks-in-10-years-time#sthash.RNe8pJxV.dpuf

Domestic service is not Shuttle service.
Maybe we should ask the experts to run this train service, sure make profits and bleed the people maximum.

snowbird

These are: an express service between the two end-stations - Jurong East and Bandar Malaysia in Kuala Lumpur; a shorter shuttle service connecting Singapore and Iskandar Puteri in Johor; and a domestic service linking the seven stations in Malaysia.

- See more at: https://www.gov.sg/news/content/the...-tracks-in-10-years-time#sthash.RNe8pJxV.dpuf

Domestic service is not Shuttle service.
Maybe we should ask the experts to run this train service, sure make profits and bleed the people maximum.

That is exactly what I said about the services to be offered.
From SG there is one express service direct to KL and another to shutter to Nusajaya for connection to the other 6 stations.

The train system will be run by "local professional", usually a Malay too.
They brought in a German specialist to turn around MAS after years of heavy bleeding but he can't even serve his contracted term and "has to leave" after one year.
Everyone, including their mother and their pet pussy cat wanted his blood after he terminated 6,000 staff, many were caught sleeping or just doing nothing.