• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Puteri Harbour Community

Tekkun

Please lah no matter how you zone Iskandar, there is no difference in occupancy, so stop trying to sound impressive and there is nothing remotely like a big city in Johor.

That's why I say...cannot compare. Singapore is French Wine and JB is toddy.
Mei Mei at 18 and fat old auntie at 50, how to compare?

xebay11

Huh??? You can't be serious! Really got such a law?

Yes and why you think all the forummers here all want to act blur, no discussions about this. If these laws ever get passed, it is the end of their investments, or even plans to live there.

Tekkun

You think the thousands of cars coming in JB everyday are Sinkies? Give me a break! They are 95% Malaysian SPR going back to Johor, only on weekends do you get some Sinkies going JB, anyway don't be selfish, a lot of businesses in Johor rely on Singaporeans, cut them off and you will start seeing empty malls and workshops. So have some pity on your fellow country man, you may not need their business, but they do.

If it come a time where they are beholden to Sinkies for a living, then it will come a time where more obstacles will be place to deter them from coming.
Maybe JB people think so but definitely not Putrajaya who will implement these rules. VEP, RM1.0m are just starters.

xebay11

If it come a time where they are beholden to Sinkies for a living, then it will come a time where more obstacles will be place to deter them from coming.
Maybe JB people think so but definitely not Putrajaya who will implement these rules. VEP, RM1.0m are just starters.

Good for Malaysia, at least I do not have my eggs there, let the folks Putrajaya bring it on! You are right, Malaysians should not be beholden to Singapore for a living, the more obstacles the better.

mpan12

Yes and why you think all the forummers here all want to act blur, no discussions about this. If these laws ever get passed, it is the end of their investments, or even plans to live there.

Really a stupid law. Maybe the 4 Muslim witnesses could be rapists themselves!

If such a law is passed, there will be potentially more crimes committed in Malaysia, especially against the non-Muslims.

As it is now, some investments are already stuck.

One non-Malaysian told me recently he can't sell his property now cos he is stuck with the RM1mil rule. Another Singaporean told me he is trying hard to rent or sell his Johor condo at the same price he had bought 4 years ago but there are no takers.

xebay11

Really a stupid law. Maybe the 4 Muslim witnesses could be rapists themselves!

If such a law is passed, there will be potentially more crimes committed in Malaysia, especially against the non-Muslims.

As it is now, some investments are already stuck.

One non-Malaysian told me recently he can't sell his property now cos he is stuck with the RM1mil rule. Another told me he is trying hard to rent or sell his Johor condo at the same price he bought 4 years ago but there are no takers.

Well sad to say, they had it coming. Investment wise, to me all so plainly predictable and I could already foresee all these....yet so many can go into debate with me. Tekkun is the only winner! Not because he really wins....but because he got nothing to lose....4 years cannot even sell at same price is big loss in bank interest....ha ha ha ha

Tekkun

Not my words but yours.

A fact is a fact. Singapore is safe, is developed and well planned.
JB is not so safe, under developed and not well planned.

Some like French wines but I like toddy more. I don't like wines.
I like to mix with people who drink toddy, by the way they are more down to earth, no airs and simple people.
I don't like to swirl Lucaris glasses and sip slowly. I prefer gulping my drinks.
But I don't say one taste better than the other.

mpan12

Well sad to say, they had it coming. Investment wise, to me all so plainly predictable and I could already foresee all these....yet so many can go into debate with me. Tekkun is the only winner! Not because he really wins....but because he got nothing to lose....4 years cannot even sell at same price is big loss in bank interest....ha ha ha ha

Too much supply of properties and land in Johor, as you mentioned. Also currency exchange loss.

xebay11

A fact is a fact. Singapore is safe, is developed and well planned.
JB is not so safe, under developed and not well planned.

Some like French wines but I like toddy more. I don't like wines.
I like to mix with people who drink toddy, by the way they are more down to earth, no airs and simple people.
I don't like to swirl Lucaris glasses and sip slowly. I prefer gulping my drinks.
But I don't say one taste better than the other.

First of all I never differentiate the status btw Malaysia and Singapore, nor do I even try to stratify the status of each country and the people, all I do is point out differences between the two countries and tamper our expectations accordingly and not try to impose anything on how each country is run.

So good luck to you and all your classification of status between the two countries and it's people. I do not think Malaysia is like toddy and Singapore is French wine, I think that they are more like Pepsi and Coke.

ECboy

You think the thousands of cars coming in JB everyday are Sinkies? Give me a break! They are 95% Malaysian SPR going back to Johor, only on weekends do you get some Sinkies going JB, anyway don't be selfish, a lot of businesses in Johor rely on Singaporeans, cut them off and you will start seeing empty malls and workshops. So have some pity on your fellow country man, you may not need their business, but they do.

No matter what, lower/middle class Sgreans still love Johor, even with all the obstacles, they still come. So many of my colleagues always complain jam, safety, bla bla, ask them what they did last weekend? Oh, go JB lepak, shopping in JPO, spent hundreds if not thousands. Then foreigner friends go Tioman, Rawa, Lang Tengah and Batu Batu. My golfer friends, no need to say, they for sure go JB to play almost every weekend. Unless there's an equilibrium (which likely there will never be) there will always be movement between both countries.

That's why government want to make money with the VEP (even-though its a stupid idea, unless they really channel the money back to infra investments - that's the plan apparently).

xebay11

No matter what, lower/middle class Sgreans still love Johor, even with all the obstacles, they still come. So many of my colleagues always complain jam, safety, bla bla, ask them what they did last weekend? Oh, go JB lepak, shopping in JPO, spent hundreds if not thousands. Then foreigner friends go Tioman, Rawa, Lang Tengah and Batu Batu. My golfer friends, no need to say, they for sure go JB to play almost every weekend. Unless there's an equilibrium (which likely there will never be) there will always be movement between both countries.

That's why government want to make money with the VEP (even-though its a stupid idea, unless they really channel the money back to infra investments - that's the plan apparently).

Tell me for what? Tekkun say Singaporeans not safe and not welcomed.

Tekkun

Tell me for what? Tekkun say Singaporeans not safe and not welcomed.

I said not welcomed but what the use. There are still so many Singaporeans still ignore that fact it is not safe.
Still want to come. Tell them balik, they ignore me. So how?
Oh..I forgot. They come only during weekends......thieves also get to rest during weekdays. They work on weekends too.
That's the message that JB is not safe everyone wanted, rite. You got it. I totally agree...

tstar

it makes no sense to compare sg to malaysia or johor. compare what?

like compare sg to china. you will find millions of poor people in china. some are destitute in the remote rural areas.

but if you go to beijing. shanghai. shen zhen, which are big cities in a developing country. you will see millions of millionairs and many super rich.
Ordinary people there have much more wealth. like some friends who are ordinary electronic engineers in beijing, doing nothing just sit and their three bedroom flat rose from 200k sgd to 2 mil sgd today in less than 15 years. and most them bought two or three flats when price was low.

or take auckland. a house in the east or northshore there rose from 300kn nzd to 1.5 mil in 15 years,
and local people are very happy. cause they can sell or rent out the house and move to beaches like tauranga to enjoy retirement. should go there to see the good and simple life led by kiwi old folks.

enjoylife77

If and when such draconian law eventually get passed, there will be plenty of fire sales to salvage whatever owner have invested earlier at a much stronger RM$. It will be a classic "Lose-Lose" situation for foreign investor as usual. Even with the RM$ weakened drastically (eg S$1 to RM$4) from now on, I dont see any incentives to invest into Iskandar properties going forward as whatever invested may become unrecoverable in such uncertain political climate.

Tekkun

If and when such draconian law eventually get passed, there will be plenty of fire sales to salvage whatever owner have invested earlier at a much stronger RM$. It will be a classic "Lose-Lose" situation for foreign investor as usual. Even with the RM$ weakened drastically (eg S$1 to RM$4) from now on, I dont see any incentives to invest into Iskandar properties going forward as whatever invested may become unrecoverable in such uncertain political climate.

1. What is being proposed now is enhancement of penalties in the existing Syariah laws and that is subjected to passing of this Bill in the Parliment and implemented in Kelantan only.

2. The Head of Islam in Malaysia is the Sultan of respective states. He decide what is the best way forward for his religion.

3. Present Syariah laws do not apply to non muslims.

4. Brunei practises a hardened version of Hudud laws. Anyone has first hand experience in Brunei?

And if you ask me, the present proposal is a political showdown to knock off the Opposition. Come new months later, it would be all forgotten.

enjoylife77

It has been brought up over and over for whatever hidden agenda. If Brunei eventually implement it,so can Malaysia. Investors beware.

Frodo

It has been brought up over and over for whatever hidden agenda. If Brunei eventually implement it,so can Malaysia. Investors beware.

I agree with Tekkun more. In my view if Malaysia truly wants to be reckoned by the international community of countries as a developed country with good economic and political environment (ok, can be cynical on this part LOL!) it would know that implementation of Hudud laws would sent the country back into the middle ages. Would Malaysia therefore follow Brunei just because the latter did it? I could be wrong but I feel that the MY govt is more practical and realistic. Brunei probably doesn’t really have to care two hoots about what the world thinks of it since it has abundance of natural resources and the country is rich but its size is about 50 times smaller than Malaysia.

xebay11

I agree with Tekkun more. In my view if Malaysia truly wants to be reckoned by the international community of countries as a developed country with good economic and political environment (ok, can be cynical on this part LOL!) it would know that implementation of Hudud laws would sent the country back into the middle ages. Would Malaysia therefore follow Brunei just because the latter did it? I could be wrong but I feel that the MY govt is more practical and realistic. Brunei probably doesn’t really have to care two hoots about what the world thinks of it since it has abundance of natural resources and the country is rich but its size is about 50 times smaller than Malaysia.

Religion has no bearing in logic, if it did the whole Middle East would be peaceful and prosperous.