• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

AWARE Sex Guide Suspended

bellepepper02

Scroobal,
Academia is in the shit house. With the whole autonomy business, they now don't care about anything but money. The fixation on the bottomline is very myopic and is going to seriously harm intellectual and social development. Already, you can feel the ground move and damage being done. Humanities/social sciences especially are suffering because they don't generate income like other knowledge disciplines.

Read the papers today about NUS objecting to their ranking among Asian unis? Seems like they question the criteria only when the results aren't favourable to them. Otherwise, they're good with it. They should be dissing the whole concept of uni ranking. It's a total farce. Social impact and outreach of uni, quality of teaching, type of programmes, uni culture don't enter into the ranking. That means faculty must focus on churning out many papers rather than groundbreaking ones. And they're not required to make any social impact whatsoever, not required to bring their learning into society. In fact, they get penalised for entering the public domain because it takes time away from publishing. Just hole themselves up and write elite rubbish for elite journals that only their elite colleagues read.

One day, when we have hit rock bottom, an Alan Greenspan of academia, who himself is deeply involved in promoting uni autonomy, will come up and say what is already obvious to your average academic--how this focus on rankings and bottomline was a braindead thing to do. Unis should be supported by the public and they should serve the public.

Thanks for the insight. Many decades ago, old man when he was much wiser determinded that academia would be the "struts and beams" of society. His words mind you. They were given much leeway and massive amount of private property ( including penthhouses and landed black and whites) to bring people committed to the disciplne in.

Now it seems tenure is no longer there and therefore commitment would naturally be secondary as people start following deliverable targets that might ring true to imparting education.

I guess society will be much poorer for it.

Scroobal,
Academia is in the shit house. With the whole autonomy business, they now don't care about anything but money. The fixation on the bottomline is very myopic and is going to seriously harm intellectual and social development. Already, you can feel the ground move and damage being done. Humanities/social sciences especially are suffering because they don't generate income like other knowledge disciplines.

Read the papers today about NUS objecting to their ranking among Asian unis? Seems like they question the criteria only when the results aren't favourable to them. Otherwise, they're good with it. They should be dissing the whole concept of uni ranking. It's a total farce. Social impact and outreach of uni, quality of teaching, type of programmes, uni culture don't enter into the ranking. That means faculty must focus on churning out many papers rather than groundbreaking ones. And they're not required to make any social impact whatsoever, not required to bring their learning into society. In fact, they get penalised for entering the public domain because it takes time away from publishing. Just hole themselves up and write elite rubbish for elite journals that only their elite colleagues read.

One day, when we have hit rock bottom, an Alan Greenspan of academia, who himself is deeply involved in promoting uni autonomy, will come up and say what is already obvious to your average academic--how this focus on rankings and bottomline was a braindead thing to do. Unis should be supported by the public and they should serve the public.

Porfirio Rubirosa

not 100% sure on that one bro...many moons ago when Harry turned up at the then University of Singapore, a physicist stood up and told harry about his interest in rocket science...harry burst his bubble by telling him point blank that there was no room for pipe dreams in s'pore, with then VC toh chin chye nodding his head in agreement...you see this is where s'pore shall always fail when it comes to academia...intellectual thinking cannot be created by pragmatism & $$$...but i do agree with you on the old accommodation, some very nice colonial bungalows

. Many decades ago, old man when he was much wiser determinded that academia would be the "struts and beams" of society. His words mind you. They were given much leeway and massive amount of private property ( including penthhouses and landed black and whites) to bring people committed to the disciplne in.

This was after the Toh Chin Chye era, when old man realised the damage that Toh did. Old man fixed it quite well. Entry level academics had the highest pay in the civil service, stat board etc. You could not entice anyone away from NUS except by secondment. They were also given the luxury of managing their own CPF which did very well.

By the way, that reminds me on something about the first DVC of SU. You were right and I was wrong. He refused to give into old man who insisted that he bar some characters and chose to resign.

not 100% sure on that one bro...many moons ago when Harry turned up at the then University of Singapore, a physicist stood up and told harry about his interest in rocket science...harry burst his bubble by telling him point blank that there was no room for pipe dreams in s'pore, with then VC toh chin chye nodding his head in agreement...you see this is where s'pore shall always fail when it comes to academia...intellectual thinking cannot be created by pragmatism & $$$...but i do agree with you on the old accommodation, some very nice colonial bungalows

bellepepper02

This was after the Toh Chin Chye era, when old man realised the damage that Toh did. Old man fixed it quite well. Entry level academics had the highest pay in the civil service, stat board etc. You could not entice anyone away from NUS except by secondment. They were also given the luxury of managing their own CPF which did very well.

Well, these days, principals, VPs, senior teachers and middle-management journalists get paid better than academics. Plus, there's no job security. Tenure is hard to get, and even when you get it, guarantees nothing. Ageism is here in a big way in academia. I'm not talking of them getting rid of old dodgers, but people in their early 50s.

londontrader

"The exception being one economist and one socioloist in NUS."

Dear Scroobal,

Do share their identities and any work you found inspiring

johnsgp1

Damn sad that you cant tell the difference.

Many charities and private hospitals and clinics are run by religious group as they were started by religious groups and that itself had been accepted as the norm.

Aware was started as a non-religious, secular, pro-woman, pro-choice organisation. Turning the organisation from non-religious to religious could result in many who does not subscribe to that religion unable to get the care they need.

Dun you have the eyes to see? Aware may start off with a brillant agenda to help women, but they lost focus and decided that same-sex engagement is ok, what is this all about?? with the recent saga, many will not know they have this hidden agenda, that one day may pollute the minds to the young ones...at least with a reglious group running the show, i hve more confident that they will do and act what is acceptable....

cowbehcowbu

Aware had many homo associate members and lesbian..who claom that their perverted sexual orientation IS ACCEPTABLE AND NORMAL.......
Aware has beed hijacked by these deviant sub-species of homo sapiens..ALL NORMAL HUMAN BEINGS SHOUL AVOID aWARE LIKE swine flue.........

bellepepper02

Dun you have the eyes to see? Aware may start off with a brillant agenda to help women, but they lost focus and decided that same-sex engagement is ok, what is this all about?? with the recent saga, many will not know they have this hidden agenda, that one day may pollute the minds to the young ones...at least with a reglious group running the show, i hve more confident that they will do and act what is acceptable....

Who are you to comment on whether AWARE started off with a brilliant agenda , and whether this has gone downhill, whether they have lost focus? Firstly, AWARE women have much better brainpower than you--they do not lose focus easily. If they do something, they have a reason for doing it.

A group of women, some of the best minds of their time, got together and started the NGO, based on THEIR ideals. Not yours, not mine. This group of women were there fighting for it at the AWARE EGM. Obviously, if they thought the religious group was more faithful to their original ideals, they would not have fought like mad to wrest it away from them.

You need to understand that an NGO functions around a set of ideals, and that these ideals usually only appeal to a minority. That was why it was set up in the first place--to look after the needs of a specific, disenfranchised minority. It was entirely disrespectful of this religious group to try to take over a group with different ideals than theirs. Why don't you ask why they didn't set up their own group? I'll tell you why--because they were not interested in promoting their values. Actually, they have very little values (certainly, they don't involve integrity, honesty and respect for others). They wanted to stamp out others' values. On what basis? Are the older AWARE women, who had gone through the trouble of setting up and building an NGO, lesser citizens than them?

AWARE represents the ideals of feminist women, women with solid liberal education. Their ideals include not discriminating against any women, including gay women, and making them feel part of society. That does not mean that they are promoting gay sexuality.

Please stop judging AWARE through the lenses of your homophobic fears. It is not up to you to judge it. You either agree with it and become a member. Or stay away from it.

You are nuts to think that AWARE is going around spreading homosexuality, and that, if not stopped, they will ruin society. Take a look at our laws--the ones with power and wealth in this country are ferociously anti-gay. That's why 377a was not repealed. So don't take a victim and try to make it look like the monster. Go hunt the real monsters.

bellepepper02

Aware had many homo associate members and lesbian..who claom that their perverted sexual orientation IS ACCEPTABLE AND NORMAL.......
Aware has beed hijacked by these deviant sub-species of homo sapiens..ALL NORMAL HUMAN BEINGS SHOUL AVOID aWARE LIKE swine flue.........

You should go back to ancient days, and take your Leviticus with you. You'll be safe and sound there, and we won't need to be subjected to your most perverse normality.

londontrader

Another homophobic nutter

You have touched on something that is politically sensitive.

The teachers form the biggest group in terms of government payroll and no other entity comes close. As a single vocation with such large numbers, it becomes easy to manipulate and seek the desired level of support at the voting booth. The bonus is that teachers are housed all over the island. A covenient base. Unfortuantely half of them lose their money to the stock exchange.

Something that the Government will not mention is that Singpore takes 1st place for the highest salaries paid to public school teachers and principals. Not even the developed countries can match it. The entry grade in comparison with some are misleading.

UMNO entire political base is built on public sector teachers.

In the early years, Teachers were watched over due to the the times and Teachers were looked after quite well in terms of teacher estate and Lawrence Sia who headed the union and long time PAP MP. It now much easier to pay them salaries that are record high. It worked for the Admin Service and SPH.

Its crazy when academics can draw salaries lower than teachers and yet not get tenure.

Well, these days, principals, VPs, senior teachers and middle-management journalists get paid better than academics. .