• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

How to obtain boat driving license in Singapore ?

Onitsuka

I'm not sure if "drive" is the correct adjective, all that there is a difference between a boat and a pleasure craft.

I'm thinking of expanding my interest to driving a boat. How does one go about obtaining a relevant license in Singapore ? Is the same license recognized, say, in Thailand ?

What are the different classes of license ?

Your not a baby dun expect to be spoonfeed.
That said having a license without the boat would be like owning a dildo without anyone to use it on

Microsoft

PPCDL think can be obtain frm few bodies...If chiu r toking bout commercial boat operate at port then moi think tat huan ish Harbour craft license...go MPA website for more details...for aircraft carrier...go ask obama...:biggrin::p

4 submarine leh? ...

Cerebral

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
I'm not sure if "drive" is the correct adjective, all that there is a difference between a boat and a pleasure craft.

I'm thinking of expanding my interest to driving a boat. How does one go about obtaining a relevant license in Singapore ? Is the same license recognized, say, in Thailand ?

Back then when i took, pleasure craft license, it has no size limitation as long as for private usage. Now dunno got change

Microsoft

Back then when i took, pleasure craft license, it has no size limitation as long as for private usage. Now dunno got change

think there are 2 diff license...1 for boat below 20+ meter and another advance license for 20 sumting n above...but still under private pleasure craft...cnot operate boat for commercial purpose...

Must quote this during your boat test :

The fog's just lifting. Throw off your bow line; throw off your stern. You head out to South channel, past Rocky Neck, Ten Pound Island. Past Niles Pond where I skated as a kid. Blow your air-horn and throw a wave to the lighthouse keeper's kid on Thatcher Island. Then the birds show up: black backs, herring gulls, big dumb ducks. The sun hits ya - head North. Open up to 12 - steamin' now. The guys are busy; you're in charge. Ya know what? You're a goddamn swordboat captain. Is there any thing better in the world?

Forgive me for asking the obvious. Who is going to check if you have licence on the high seas? If I build a catamaran, who is going to stop and check for my licence? :confused:

Onitsuka

PPCDL I got...u can ask me...is life time wan...

This site seems to have all the relevant information:

http://ppcdl.sn.sg/

but still, it's better to hear from someone who has been there and done it.

How much did you pay for the course ? According to the site, it's only $300 and I feel it's unbelievable. You mean it's cheaper than obtaining a license for 4 wheels ?

And after you have obtained in PPCDL, who is going to trust you to rent a boat to you (assuming if you can't afford to buy one yet)?

I plan to go Changi Sailing Club and dig out more stuff and share here.

How much did you pay for the course ? According to the site, it's only $300 and I feel it's unbelievable. You mean it's cheaper than obtaining a license for 4 wheels ?

And after you have obtained in PPCDL, who is going to trust you to rent a boat to you (assuming if you can't afford to buy one yet)?

If you like it, you should buy it.

Onitsuka

If you like it, you should buy it.

You mean like this ?

Pleasure-Craft.jpg

xebay11

You pilot a boat, not drive.

peacock

the course very cheap but provided u can pass 1 time lah...I fail my time and each practical exam is 50...

I rent my jetski and boat from a guy in another yatcht club not changi...anyway drive boat very simple..go forward and back..if too fast slow down...but rent boat very ex especially petrol