• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Property News

Frodo

Nothing is more important than having a piece of paper "HAK MILIK" with your name written on it.

LOL well said! In Singapore I can't put my name down on any such legal document...so for me it is really a case of Malaysia boleh!

cow138

That's true.
In Singapore this is harder to attain although its definitely much more easier in Malaysia.
Just have to manage expectations.

Frodo

That's true.
In Singapore this is harder to attain although its definitely much more easier in Malaysia.
Just have to manage expectations.

So far our JB experience has exceeded expectations, the weakened ringgit also helped.

xebay11

Renting a house in JB means we don't have a house to call our own, you can't do anything to it. We intend to settle down in JB and have our own place, and money is not sunk as rental expenditure but goes towards ownership. That's why we did not just buy anything off the market, but decided on the landed property that met our criteria, and most importantly the boss i.e. wife likes it. Rental may work for some who do not intend to own anything or settle down long term. But in our case we would like to own something, and live in it. I may not have $2.6m sitting in my bank account, but at least I can sit on RM750K of freehold land to call my own. Maybe 10 years later I still do not have $2.6m sitting in my bank, but maybe I can sit on RM2.6m of landed property that has appreciated in value. ...LOL!

Buying a landed property is at least a better investment. If it is anything I would buy in JB it is still landed.

RedsYNWA

So far our JB experience has exceeded expectations, the weakened ringgit also helped.

Exceeded expectations except for the daily commute, I think! Haha.... yah I also never get it, when people keep asking why cant you rent in JB instead?

How on earth am I going to be able to spend RM 200k to do up my dream house, if it's rented? A bare landed looks exactly just that, a bare landed house. With Rm200k thrown in, it transforms itself from a bare landed into a dream home!

"To each his own" is an impt concept that some people will never get it..... :biggrin:

xebay11

If I have $2.6m I would probably invest two million into properties to get passive income, and spend 600k jet setting and seeing the world on a 2 year sabbatical. But also dream only lah.....:p

I am getting passive income now from the landed, my parents are living on the first floor and the other three floors are rented out, it is a dual key unit. I bought a hdb for investment, mop period not up till September 2016, I have to wait until they are no longer around and I will sell and my plans start now. Er many of my parent's friends sold their landed property and went round the world, they are paupers today.

Tekkun

Exceeded expectations except for the daily commute, I think! Haha.... yah I also never get it, when people keep asking why cant you rent in JB instead?

How on earth am I going to be able to spend RM 200k to do up my dream house, if it's rented? A bare landed looks exactly just that, a bare landed house. With Rm200k thrown in, it transforms itself from a bare landed into a dream home!

"To each his own" is an impt concept that some people will never get it..... :biggrin:

RM200k is just average dream home for fixed fittings. Add in another RM200k, you get those UHD 60" or Kuro TV plus Balinese 7ft teak dining table and sideboards not included. You can throw in a 8 ft long water fountain in the garden with palm trees and carpet grass.

That is what I call a dream luxury home. :biggrin:

Frodo

I am getting passive income now from the landed, my parents are living on the first floor and the other three floors are rented out, it is a dual key unit. I bought a hdb for investment, mop period not up till September 2016, I have to wait until they are no longer around and I will sell and my plans start now. Er many of my parent's friends sold their landed property and went round the world, they are paupers today.

Wah you can buy hdb while having landed property, got connection or some special privilege or way around the restrictions. Good for you lah....I started off with nothing, then a hdb for 15 years before it dawned on us that we can actually move over to JB and rent out our HDB. ..

Frodo

RM200k is just average dream home for fixed fittings. Add in another RM200k, you get those UHD 60" or Kuro TV plus Balinese 7ft teak dining table and sideboards not included. You can throw in a 8 ft long water fountain in the garden with palm trees and carpet grass.

That is what I call a dream luxury home. :biggrin:

I am a man of miserable means, so can only have 小小的梦想:p

Tekkun

I am a man of miserable means, so can only have 小小的梦想:p

You can have your 小小的梦想 to become your cosy home in your name. But if it not your home, how to transform into a dream home? Spend RM10k also in the end also belong to the others in the end.

xebay11

Wah you can buy hdb while having landed property, got connection or some special privilege or way around the restrictions. Good for you lah....I started off with nothing, then a hdb for 15 years before it dawned on us that we can actually move over to JB and rent out our HDB. ..

Ha ha ever heard of company assets? Shhh... Cannot say anymore. Many directors also buy lambo and ferrari through company. I am small fry.

xebay11

Renting a house in JB means we don't have a house to call our own, you can't do anything to it. We intend to settle down in JB and have our own place, and money is not sunk as rental expenditure but goes towards ownership. That's why we did not just buy anything off the market, but decided on the landed property that met our criteria, and most importantly the boss i.e. wife likes it. Rental may work for some who do not intend to own anything or settle down long term. But in our case we would like to own something, and live in it. I may not have $2.6m sitting in my bank account, but at least I can sit on RM750K of freehold land to call my own. Maybe 10 years later I still do not have $2.6m sitting in my bank, but maybe I can sit on RM2.6m of landed property that has appreciated in value. ...LOL!

Security has to be proven first before I consider next stage. My colleague owned condo in Malacca, broken in and all furniture stolen.

Frodo

You can have your 小小的梦想 to become your cosy home in your name. But if it not your home, how to transform into a dream home? Spend RM10k also in the end also belong to the others in the end.

Maybe instead of dream house some prefer dream rented house.:biggrin:

Frodo

Security has to be proven first before I consider next stage. My colleague owned condo in Malacca, broken in and all furniture stolen.

My HDB block also got break in, but no one is giving up living in HDB anytime soon. Same with the landed property nearby. Got big police signboard placed on road side pavement reporting of break in but anyone giving up buying landed in Singapore? Don't think so.

Tekkun

Maybe instead of dream house some prefer dream rented house.:biggrin:

And pay dream rent. :biggrin:

But one can choose to pay normal rents for house with normal furniture. No owner would furnish a house for rent using posh furniture. They will supply IKEA or rubberwood furniture or worse still used furniture. Teakwood or Rosewood furniture is out of the question.
If you are lucky, they get you a 32" plasma Korean TV, otherwise it would be a those Made in China type. No such thing as Kuro Pioneer TV.

But one still have a choice to rent a empty unfurnished house. Buy a thick mattress and put it on the floor, hang clothes across a rafia string to dry just like I used to do in my young days.

Cheap, good and enjoy all the facilities.

Frodo

And pay dream rent. :biggrin:

But one can choose to pay normal rents for house with normal furniture. No owner would furnish a house for rent using posh furniture. They will supply IKEA or rubberwood furniture or worse still used furniture. Teakwood or Rosewood furniture is out of the question.
If you are lucky, they get you a 32" plasma Korean TV, otherwise it would be a those Made in China type. No such thing as Kuro Pioneer TV.

But one still have a choice to rent a empty unfurnished house. Buy a thick mattress and put it on the floor, hang clothes across a rafia string to dry just like I used to do in my young days.

Cheap, good and enjoy all the facilities.

Unless one can rent of those condos that come almost fully furnished...then at least you know there is no need to sleep on concrete.:p