• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Ho Ching insults Singaporeans with western names

Liquigas

Sam Leong isn't my name you twit. It's my internet moniker.:rolleyes: I chose it because I grew up near Sam Leong Road. The moniker in no way relates to my real life ethnicity or identity.

Sam, if you grew up at Sam Leong St then surely you will know the old lady selling porridge and fried bee hoon by the roadside at Verdun Road. She was my maternal grandmother! Sometimes during school holidays you will see me (a skinny boy then) helping out at the stall...

hockbeng

Sam, if you grew up at Sam Leong St then surely you will know the old lady selling porridge and fried bee hoon by the roadside at Verdun Road. She was my maternal grandmother! Sometimes during school holidays you will see me (a skinny boy then) helping out at the stall...

This Sam Leong Asshole is a fake.

He says he's done NS and was super fit.

Ask him how many parts are there to strip in an M16 rifle blot carrier; or the ball to tracer ratio in 1 mag during night shoot.

Most have christian names bcos they are christain/roman catholic.

What LKY + family truely needed was the christain faith; something which eluded them and made them poorer for it.

Although there are many christian haters out there, I believe that the teachings of the faith would have made them better people.

They can give themselves english names like Aura, Nirvana, Karma, Kosmic or Retribution...ha ha ha since they are not Christian/Roman Catholics!:biggrin:

[COLOR=_______]And their Elitism too:[/COLOR]

'In China, only waiters and waitresses use Western names.'

sHE not only insulted the entire Chinese people in China, but all the Chinese in themselves & insulted her own ancestors who hail from China...or hers is from Outer space...:p

hockbeng

sHE not only insulted the entire Chinese people in China, but all the Chinese in themselves & insulted her own ancestors who hail from China...or hers is from Outer space...:p

Diplomacy at its worst!

Fastest way to make enemies.

Worst case of making enemies for no reason/gain.
At least the americans fight in iraq for oil!

I agree with her 100%. "Foyce" Lim, "Wendy" Chong and "Jack" Neo should too.

The Chinese seem to be more ashamed of the names their parents gave them than any other ethnic group on the face of this earth.:rolleyes: What a pathetic bunch they are. :eek:

Why you also call youself Sam - I have a new name for you Sextrader Leong ....heheheh

That's a load of bullshit. Only 16% of Sinkie Chinese are Christians/Catholics but probably more than 80% have Western names.

You can throw your theory into the garbage where it belongs.

The Chinese give themselves Western names because they know the West is superior in all aspects. When you admire something, you ape it. That's exactly what the Chinese the world over do.

Many Chinese also go out of the way to LOOK Western too. Take a look at this sorry specimen. Her name is "Wendy" and she's turned herself blonde.:rolleyes:

Michael%20%2B%20Wendy%20266.jpg

Sam, you are such a fucking moron. She is dressing up as Marilyn Monroe (notice the white dress?), that's why she has the blonde hair.

Ai yeah! Quilo are arse-holes until today. Quilos Ang moh think and Play God and still think the East is less superior than the West. These fucking POMEs are stubborn and angry people and as such they get angry easily and frustrated if they cunt speak to the Chinese. So the waitress and waiters in China have to use Ang Moh names just to serve them quicker and tell them to fuck off.

Ozzies POMES are the troubled lot, lazy, annoying, stupid like the m&d in Singapore. Except m&ds don't get angry quick unlike the fucking POMEs.

Pok Choy, peh chye, pai chye is one Chinese veggi already confused the POMEs.

[COLOR=_______]And their Elitism too:[/COLOR]

'In China, only waiters and waitresses use Western names.'

Ho Jinx, the moron does not realise one simple thing. She eats at expensive restuarants in China, where the clientele are rich chinese and westerners. Its easier for the western patrons of these restaurants to call their waiters and waitresses by their western names. If you go and eat at restaurants where pudong people eat, the waiters and waitresses don't even have a name tag, and they certainly don't have western names. (Exception being maybe HK). Its quite interesting that Ho Jinx would extrapolate something like that from her limited experience into a general application. This is how Temasek got into all the trouble that it is in.

SotongMee

I know one called himself Hairy Lan Gan Yew, try to figure that out.

The Chinese seem to be more ashamed of the names their parents gave them than any other ethnic group on the face of this earth.:rolleyes: What a pathetic bunch they are. :eek:

HTOLAS

Isn't it so typical of anyone associated with the PAPzis to put down what they don't like, and in the process do a lot of collateral damage?

Couldn't Ho Ching have just advised her child that people adopt Western names for many reasons that don't apply to them? Many take on Western names because they work with or serve Westerners who have difficulty pronouncing Chinese names.

And why is our Presstapo always blighted with single women bitching about this and that? First Tan Sai Siong, then Sumiko Tan and now, Lee Wailing (kbkb).

This Sam Leong Asshole is a fake.

He says he's done NS and was super fit.

Ask him how many parts are there to strip in an M16 rifle blot carrier; or the ball to tracer ratio in 1 mag during night shoot.
To this day, I still maintain that I saw someone who looked exactly liked the winking guy in Sam Leong's picture at a health centre in JB.
And he signed his name in the book as Sam Leong.
I'm serious. I believe that he is not a fake.

UseYourBrain

Isn't it so typical of anyone associated with the PAPzis to put down what they don't like, and in the process do a lot of collateral damage?

Couldn't Ho Ching have just advised her child that people adopt Western names for many reasons that don't apply to them? Many take on Western names because they work with or serve Westerners who have difficulty pronouncing Chinese names.

Serving Westerners? Why should we change just to serve them? Are you slave or what? On the contrary, why didnt the ang moh change their name to Ah kau or Ah Tan or Ah Long to make life easier for those twisted toungue chinese? David becomes labid, Michael become Miker etc. On the other hand, if that is the the sole reason, then which one is easier to pronounce by the ang moh: Ah Tan, Ah kau, Ah Pek or Ah Long Or Foinsour, Bjonberg, Hymen, (ang moh also paiseh to call this name)..? Lame excuse. Once a peasant will always be peasant no matter where they go...

pallkia

Serving Westerners? Why should we change just to serve them? Are you slave or what? On the contrary, why didnt the ang moh change their name to Ah kau or Ah Tan or Ah Long to make life easier for those twisted toungue chinese? David becomes labid, Michael become Miker etc. On the other hand, if that is the the sole reason, then which one is easier to pronounce by the ang moh: Ah Tan, Ah kau, Ah Pek or Ah Long Or Foinsour, Bjonberg, Hymen, (ang moh also paiseh to call this name)..? Lame excuse. Once a peasant will always be peasant no matter where they go...

I totally agree!The Chinese are simply lack of confident and security,First they adopt a European Language English to be their mother tongue,then the names and to complete it they change to angmo religion and now they are one step short of,and that is to change their skin colours to white!

Sometime I feel ashame for our leaders like Tony Tan, George Yeo,Grace Fu, Josephine Yeo,when they meet their Western couterparts and introduce themselves with their Western names,sort of like ,call my first names and I am a slave here to serve you!

HTOLAS

People can reasonably expect Western colleagues to learn their Chinese names - they would have enough time to try. But should they expect a Western customer or diner they SERVE in passing to be able to pronounce their names? The answer can go either way, and I respect either choice, as I think should Ho Ching. Incidentally, I do not have a Western name.

HTOLAS

This is perhaps a good time to remind ourselves of some words uttered by Singapore's Empress Dowager, and echoed by the clown princess.

Mar 21, 2010

No need for a 'uneqqee' name

Trend of using unique Westernised names reflects insecurity

<!-- by line -->By Lee Wei Ling

http://www.straitstimes.com/Think/Story/STIStory_504595.html
Over the last 50 years, the names people choose for their children, and the names some people give themselves, have changed dramatically.
When my father was born in 1923, his family consulted a friend knowledgeable in choosing names. He suggested 'Kuan Yew', which means 'brightness' in Hokkien.

My great-grandfather was awed by the British and added 'Harry' to my father's name. Because his name appeared as 'Harry Lee Kuan Yew' on his birth certificate, when he graduated from Cambridge University and later from Middle Temple, he could not persuade either institution to drop 'Harry' from his university degree or his certificate as Barrister-at-law.

In 1950, he managed to arrange for himself to be called to the Singapore Bar as just 'Lee Kuan Yew', sans 'Harry'. 'Lee Kuan Yew' thus became his public persona. To this day, only family members and a few very close friends call him 'Harry'.

My brothers and I have no ang moh name. My parents were not literate in Chinese when we were born, so my father approached a court interpreter he knew to give him some names to choose from.

My name, 'Wei Ling', means 'the sound of tinkling jade'. My parents did not foresee that I would grow up to be a tomboy who would join the army cadets in secondary school, where my loud and resonant voice was deemed appropriate for a parade commander.

'Wei Ling' is a very common name for Chinese girls. When I try to sign up for electronic journals on the Internet, and the system prompts me for a user name, I try all possible permutations of my name, including 'Li', 'Weiling' or 'Wei-Ling'. Alas, I invariably find they have all been taken by others. Exasperated, I would sometimes try 'Lee Hsien Yang', and the system would immediately accept it.

Throughout my years in school, from kindergarten to pre-university, all my friends had only Chinese, Malay or Indian names. When I was in medical school and during my early years of postgraduate training, the only Westernised names were the Christian names of those who were actually Christian.

By the late 1980s, however, non-Christian Chinese began to have Westernised names and often did not use their Chinese names at all. The trend was initially subtle and I had assumed that those with Westernised names were all Christians. It was only when I needed to write a cheque to a friend and I was told, 'don't include my Western name, just write 'Tan Chee Beng'' or whatever, did it dawn on me that the Western names were not official.

My brothers chose not to give their children any Western names. One nephew, when he was in school, asked his parents' permission to adopt a Western name. His mother Ho Ching told him: 'In China, only waiters and waitresses use Western names.' My father also explained how 'Harry' became part of his name and how he tried to remove it.

To date, none of my nephews or niece has a Western name.
I trained in Boston from 1981 to 1984, and in Toronto in 1992. I kept my Chinese name throughout and told those who had difficulty remembering my name just to call me 'Lee'.

To my close childhood friends and my family, I am just 'Ling'. I still think 'tinkling jade' hardly reflects my nature. To those who know me, 'Wei Ling' perhaps conjures up a very different image from that of tinkling jade.
I am glad that Malays and Indians rarely give or adopt Western names - unless they are Christians, in the case of the Indians. I guess there is still a strong anti-colonial instinct in me that leads me to abhor any attempt by people in former colonies to adopt the names of their past colonial masters.

In the book The Narcissism Epidemic by Jean M. Twenge and
W. Keith Campbell, there is a chapter on 'Uniqueness'. They write: 'The biggest trend in baby names recently isn't a particular name; it's that fewer children receive common names.

'The Social Security Administration has compiled a database of the names given to every American child born since 1879. Half the boys born in 1946 received one of the top 23 names. Back then, naming a child was about belonging and fitting in instead of uniqueness and standing out...
'But over the last few decades, parents, tired of common names, wanted something unique for their children. At first it was a slow progression: As late as 1987, 3 per cent of boys were named Michael and 3 per cent of girls were named Jessica, with one out of five boys and one out of six girls receiving one of the 10 most popular names.

'Then, during the 1990s, unique names caught fire and fewer and fewer children received the most popular name for their sex, and only one out of 11 boys and one out of 12 girls went by a name in the top 10...
'Now it is considered better to stand out as an individual and be 'unique'. In fact, 223 babies born in the 1990s in California were named Unique, with some parents putting teeth into it with names like Uneek, Uneque or Uneqqee...

'Unique spellings are also trendy: Why name a child Michael or Kevin when they can be Mychal or Kevyn?'

The same trend can be observed in Singapore, especially among the Chinese. An example I came across recently here of a thoroughly made-up, 'uneqqee' name was 'Evetor'.

I asked a Malay friend whether there has been a similar trend among Malay names. She replied: 'Most Malay names have either Arabic or Sanskrit roots and some are drawn from Malay literature. When I was younger, many more Malays had simpler names. Now you find a whole generation growing up with multiple names, not just a simple Fatimah or plain Aminah. Instead, it will be Fatimah Nadia Trina, or Natasha Atiqa, et cetera.
'What you will notice about these new fashionable names is that they are a blend of Western and Islamic names,' my friend told me.

I view this new trend of choosing Westernised unique names as another example of the narcissistic epidemic. I feel that if you need a name to distinguish yourself, you or your parents probably have a chip on your or their shoulder, combined with a cultural inferiority complex.

The writer is director of the National Neuroscience Institute.

Charlie99

I do not understand the need for an "English" name, or "Christian" name, for an individual of Chinese descent.

When I started work in Toronto, in the early 1980's, the HR Manager asked me to pick an "English" name so that it will be easier for my colleagues and managers to remember.
My response was: my parents gave me a name which is meaningful, and I do not wish to have another name.
Since that day, the HR manager called be stubborn.
Although I almost always spelled my name when I leave a voice mail, I am stuck with the name given to me, at birth.

yes yes lee kuan yew the man who wanted to show solidarity with the chinese and independence from his british overlords yet spoke not a lick of anything except english until he was the age of 26.then tried to eradicate sinkies roots and dialects and brainwash them into bananas and wore a dragon robe in his dieing age.not use his name "harry" my ass.what a hypocrite,probably thought his name sounded crude and low crass and would have stuck to it if he was named Cornelius or Caesar or Constantine or Augustine or Rothschild.

using anti colonialism and the issues of the day as fuel for his political agendas and publicity

If u are a chinese banana at least be proud of it,be proud of who you are not come up with stupid excuses and shit.