• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

SGD Strong, Ringgit Weak

Runifyouhaveto

The ringgit has been Asia's worst-performing currency over the past month, tumbling more than 3 per cent against the greenback. DBS senior currency economist Philip Wee said it is likely to fall further this year and could reach RM2.87 to the Singdollar.

Mr Mohamad Rafik, a staff member at Arcade Money Changers in Raffles Place, where the ringgit was being sold for RM2.785 to one Singdollar, said business goes up by about 20 per cent during this period every year - See more at:

http://news.asiaone.com/news/business/ringgit-hits-new-low-against-singdollar-amid-debt-rating-fears

Ringgit.jpg

lifeafter41

Good brother L41, this is ah RUN's reaction when i read your post

giphy.gif

I cannot imagine GG789's reaction when he reads your post, hahahahhaa
Anyway he got malaysia wife, so if RM drops = property drop = he can use his wife name to buy cheap <RM500K condo reserved for locals

Assuming fd rate at 4.5%. Anybody that changed at rm2.52 one year ago and put it in FD. Will now face a 6.5% loss, 2.8-2.52/2.52~11%.

I was talking to a Malaysian colleague, he describe the situation in Malaysia as 水生火热. From the way he put it, it seems pretty serious, with the 6% GST, depreciating currency and rising prices. Triple whammy if you ask me.

GG789

Assuming fd rate at 4.5%. Anybody that changed at rm2.52 one year ago and put it in FD. Will now face a 6.5% loss, 2.8-2.52/2.52~11%.

I was talking to a Malaysian colleague, he describe the situation in Malaysia as 水生火热. From the way he put it, it seems pretty serious, with the 6% GST, depreciating currency and rising prices. Triple whammy if you ask me.

ya. i changed my sgd to myr at rate 2.695.

Belingo used to sell very well ten years ago when euro was very weak, although RUN felt that the engineering was too coarse compared to the Japanese vans.

The good sales figures for conti commercial vehicles 10 years ago was not attributed to the euro depreciation but due to a LTA ruling that insist all new commercial vehicles to be euro4 compliant. That time jipunkia models cannot meet standard so companies boh pian then buy conti brands. That time commercial Coe less than $100. LTA lose money so recently they make sure Toyota and Nissan has euro5 models available before changing the ruling to be euro5 compliance.

Cerebral

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
conti commercial vehicle beh kan lah. compare to jipunkia euro5 van, conti euro5 van not reliable and blow black smoke like nobody business. if u check 2nd hand market, conti brand at least $3-8k cheaper than jipunkia brands despite similar in size and duration of coe. while cheaper yen help but towkays are still willing to pay a premium for jipunkia brand. Only those new in business will buy small conti van as there only Datsun MV250 available and it more expensive than a kangroo. chit chat with fellow van drivers at home carpark, those who own conti van before all ptui chao nao, all complain about the black smoke, can only service at dealer and more expensive to service and no resale value.

and don't buy conti 12 foot truck, it only the truck version of the van with the back chopped off. no resale value.

Totally agree with you. When i was deciding then, Hiace was the top choice. Lorry also jeepun ones better. Different length different makes

Runifyouhaveto

Maximum Boleh! Chinese forced to wear Sarong during visit to Malaysia's transport department

Dress-code-No-need-to-Arabise-everything-in-Malaysia-540x300.jpg

"Visitors are prohibited from wearing shorts, short skirts below the knees, sleeveless tops, tight skirts and slippers,"
http://news.asiaone.com/news/malaysia/public-uproar-after-woman-road-transport-department-told-cover

No wonder malaysian chinese are transfering their ringgit savings to SGD

Two more women forced to don sarong
http://www.thestar.com.my/News/Nation/2015/06/22/Sarong-sgor-state-secretariat-bulding

charles-santiago-women-skirts-FB.png

very short meh? I think more malaysian chinese will hide their money overseas liao

Reddog

Three years ago a grassloot leeder, in order to please his pap master, sold his landed property in Singapore and bought heavily at Iskandar. He is cursing the pap regime now.

congo9

conti commercial vehicle beh kan lah. compare to jipunkia euro5 van, conti euro5 van not reliable and blow black smoke like nobody business. if u check 2nd hand market, conti brand at least $3-8k cheaper than jipunkia brands despite similar in size and duration of coe. while cheaper yen help but towkays are still willing to pay a premium for jipunkia brand. Only those new in business will buy small conti van as there only Datsun MV250 available and it more expensive than a kangroo. chit chat with fellow van drivers at home carpark, those who own conti van before all ptui chao nao, all complain about the black smoke, can only service at dealer and more expensive to service and no resale value.

and don't buy conti 12 foot truck, it only the truck version of the van with the back chopped off. no resale value.

I mean who in the right frame of mind will want to buy a conti diesel goods vehicle. Everyone knows that after 2 to 3 years, it breaks down miraculously. You need quite a sum of money just to get a small fault done.

Runifyouhaveto

Today 2.80 in Chinatown

that is very close to bank spot.

Tell you a secret, during my last trip Penang the money changer quoted spot-rate when i sold SGD for ringgit,
No mark-up for RUN selling SGD
They will mark up 2.5 sen margin if you are doing the opposite (sell MYR)

I couldn't believe it at first.
absolutely no commission or spread because the local chinese community wanna hold as much SGD as possible
Penang, being in the far north, maybe SGD supply is not as abundant as Johor.

greedy and cunning

just a observation , not to counter any of the postings in this thread.

when rate is 2.7/2.8 people rash in to exchange
do they deal in large amount like $5K , 10K ?
a week later the rate is 2.9 , do these people exchange again ?
what is the purpose ?
or they just change a few hundreds , a thousand or two so they
can buy things from malaya ?
when rate is 2.9 ,they repeat the same process ?
how many times they want do this ?