• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

BREAKING NEWS: World Laughing At Singapore's Million Dollar Salaries

ahleebabasingaporethief

First they are laughing at our Ministars.

Then they laugh at ALL Singaporeans for allowing it to happen in the 1st place.

Still not shy when u are overseas. Better tell that yes u r Singaporean; but the other 33.3%. Then at least bo sia suay yourself.

Singapore's
World Records
On this small island lives the 30 best-paid politicians in the world, comments a blogger. MySingaporeNews.
Apr 3, 2009

As the economic crisis worsens and thousands are being retrenched, the huge salaries of Singapore's political leaders have come under the spotlight not only here - but overseas.

With G20 leaders gathering in London to work out solutions to the global crisis, the Times compiled a list of "the 10 best-paid politicians in the world" - naturally with Singapore's Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong taking the top spot.

The story was picked up by The Australia, which also works out their salaries when ranked against population.

Mr Lee earns S$3.76 million (US$2.47 million) a year, excluding bonuses, allowances, pensions, etc which add on a significant bit.

This is about 54 cents per head of population. In second position was his counterpart from New Zealand at 9 cents. The rest of the world are all down there, below even the lowest-ranking minister in Singapore.

But Singaporean blogger redbean's "My Singapore News" carries a calculation from its reader, Green Peas, expanding on the UK and Australian reports.

It pointed out that the world's 30 best-paid politicians (a definition that will include ministers, elected president, etc) are all from Singapore.

Here's what the blogger says:
The TOP 30 highest paid politicians in the world are all from Singapore:

1. Elected President SR Nathan - S$3.9 million.

2. Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong - S$3.8 million.

3. Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew - S$3.5 million.

4. Senior Minister Goh Chok Thong - S$3.5 million.

5. Senior Minister Prof Jayakumar - S$3.2 million.

6. DPM & Home Affairs Minister Wong Kan Seng - S$2.9 million.

7. DPM & Defence Minister Teo Chee Hean - $2.9 million

8. Foreign Affairs Minister George Yeo - S$2.8 million.

9. National Development Minister Mah Bow Tan - S$2.7 million.

10. PMO Miniser Lim Boon Heng - S$2.7 million.

11. Trade and Industry Minister Lim Hng Kiang - S$2.7 million.

12. PMO Minister Lim Swee Say - S$2.6 million.

13. Environment Minister & Muslim Affairs Minister Dr Yaccob Ibrahim - S$2.6 million.
14. Health Minister Khaw Boon Wan - S$2.6 million.

15. Finance Minister S Tharman - S$2.6 million.

16. Education Minister & 2nd Minister for Defence Dr Ng Eng Hen - S$2.6 million.

17. Community Development Youth and Sports Minister - Dr Vivian Balakrishnan - S$2.5 million.

18. Transport Minister & 2nd Minister for Foreign Affairs Raymond Lim Siang Kiat - S$2.5 million.

19. Law Minister & 2nd Minister for Home Affairs K Shanmugam - S$2.4 million.

20. Manpower Minister Gan Kim Yong - S$2.2 million.

21. PMO Minister Lim Hwee Hwa - S$2.2 million.

22. Acting ICA Minister - Lui Tuck Yew - S$2.0 million.

23 to 30 = Senior Ministers of State and Ministers of State - each getting between S$1.8 million to S$1.5 million.

Note: 1. The above pay does not include MP allowances, pensions and other sources of income such as Directorship, Chairmnship, Advisory, Consultancy, etc to Gov-linked and gov-related organisations or foreign MNCs such as Citigroup, etc.
2. Though it is based on an estimate, the data cannot be far off the official salary scales.
The above was posted in redbeanforum by Green Peas.

(London Times report: http://timesbusiness.typepad.com/mo...10-highest-paid-politicians-in-the-world.html)

http://mysingaporenews.blogspot.com/2009/04/top-30-highest-paid-politicians-in.html

Then they laugh at ALL Singaporeans for allowing it to happen in the 1st place.

YOu expect a sinkie to behave like a courageous Thai who throw out a useless minister??, You can wait long long.. you look at how sinkie behave, you will know why.

The reason why the 30 best paid politicians in the world are from Singapore is because Singapore has the world's 30 best politicians.

No other country has such a talented team of political leaders.

There is absolutely nothing wrong with people being paid what they are worth!:rolleyes:

ahleebabasingaporethief

The reason why the 30 best paid politicians in the world are from Singapore is because Singapore has the world's 30 best politicians.

There is absolutely nothing wrong with people being paid what they are worth!:rolleyes:

Ha hahahaha...you have just "Made My Day", dirty Sam

1) Bankrupt of ideas, they open 2 IRs

2) Increase utility prices citing high oil price. Oil price dropped, they say utility prices nothing to do with oil price.

3) Tell everyone to send their aged parents to JB to die.

Hahahha dirty Sam, u reall make my day.

ahleebabasingaporethief

What to do ? asshole here "mmur siat fou" meaning know nuts of about the product...... that is why always kena assed.....:rolleyes:

1) Bankrupt of ideas, they open 2 IRs

2) Increase utility prices citing high oil price. Oil price dropped, they say utility prices nothing to do with oil price.

3) Tell everyone to send their aged parents to JB to die.

4) Let in more FTs so that GDP figures WILL automatically go up.

Hahahha

Let me post it:

About 1/4 of Singapore ministerial pay is pegged to GDP Growth!

That's probably why Health Ministry wants to pack oldies off to nursing homes in Johore, Malaysia (across a short causeway from Singapore) whilst using precious land in teeny Singapore to turn it into an international medical tourism hub!

Ditto for Law Ministry who passed a law on majoritarianism that impinges on private property rights where your neighbours could sell away your home despite your objection! Check-out:
www.singaporeenbloc.blogspot.com

GDP growth (and 1/4 of their pay package) comes with foreigners flocking to Singapore for surgery or luxury condos. OLDIES should not take up precious space! EXISTING OWNERS should give up prime land if they can no longer afford replacement homes at new prices!

That's the Re-making of Singapore!

Strange that we have the the worlds most "talented" ploticians but we are leaking hundren of billions of $$$$ of taxpayers money. :confused:

ahleebabasingaporethief

Let me post it:

That's probably why Health Ministry wants to pack oldies off to nursing homes in Johore, Malaysia (across a short causeway from Singapore) whilst using precious land in teeny Singapore to turn it into an international medical tourism hub!

Ditto for Law Ministry who passed a law on majoritarianism that impinges on private property rights where your neighbours could sell away your home despite your objection! Check-out:

GDP growth (and 1/4 of their pay package) comes with foreigners flocking to Singapore for surgery or luxury condos. OLDIES should not take up precious space! EXISTING OWNERS should give up prime land if they can no longer afford replacement homes at new prices!

Your highlights are nothing.

So mnay other comments from people around the world.

The article is one thing. The comments by the London Times' readers about the article is really VERY SHAMEFUL for us.

http://timesbusiness.typepad.com/mo...10-highest-paid-politicians-in-the-world.html

The world has been laughing at Singapore for decades:
- No chewing gum law
-Caning for minor offences
-Hanging small time drug smugglers, while the masterminds regularly fly into singapore for medical treatment and for face time with the Ministers.
-How a CEO like Ho Jinx is so stupid, she can get repeatedly conned by Thaksin, Merrill Lynch, etc.

$260B were lost over 8 months for the record.

Suharto is one of the most currupted politicians in this region & he was rumoured to have looted billions from Indonesia. I read in Time where they speculated he was worth US$120 billion. Don't know how true but LKY obviously trying to outdo Suharto :eek:

The world has been laughing at Singapore for decades:
- No chewing gum law
-Caning for minor offences
-Hanging small time drug smugglers, while the masterminds regularly fly into singapore for medical treatment and for face time with the Ministers.
-How a CEO like Ho Jinx is so stupid, she can get repeatedly conned by Thaksin, Merrill Lynch, etc.

You forgot the fine for not flushing. Had a non-local asking how they catch those guys/gals :biggrin:

angie II

Comments

I heard George Bush is out of a job. Maybe he can come on over to Singapore and take over the PM job. At least I believe he come cheaper and has the credentials for the job. That is after all the main selling point of the Singapore government in justifying their rationale for importing foreign talents. That they are able to do the job of a Singaporean at a much lower cost. Well I think it is time our PM steps aside and allow a foreigner to take over his job cos he sure ain't doing a good job of suppressing down his cost..

Posted by: Frankiestine | 8 Apr 2009 08:28:06

I supposed thats our resident moniker Frankiestine here :rolleyes:

What about salary + "corruption"?
Can we make an equation including corrupted money? With that equation, who do you think will top the list? Hmmm...

Posted by: freak | 8 Apr 2009 07:20:01

You don't need the people's consent in a fake democracy. A substantial percentage of the electorate have never cast a single vote. Few opposition would contest in elections for fear of defamation suits and bankruptcies. Election rules are designed to make it difficult for opposition. You have an obedient media that favours the ruling party. The ruling party won elections on nomination day through no contest. With absolute power, all you need is to pass laws to justify your own greed for such obscene pay. The PM has two DPM, two Senior Ministers, a Minster Mentor, a full Minister assisting him in his office, costing taxpayers US$12 million a year excluding performance bonus averaging 8.33 months last year. Such astronomical high pays are necessary to prevent corruption and retain talents, most of whom never want to retire.
The elected president is also a joke. He walked over to be President as there were no contest.

Posted by: MIN | 8 Apr 2009 06:01:49

I think we must admit that it takes extraordinary talent to convince the people that the politicians should be paid well. and to be able to do that, they deserved to be paid that well. can any politician pull this through?
I post as http://mysingaporenews.blogspot.com

posted by: redbean | 7 Apr 2009 01:59:04

The TOP 30 highest paid politicians in the world are all from Singapore:
http://singapurakini.wordpress.com/2009/04/03/the-top-30-highest-paid-politicians-in-the-world/

Posted by: Eric | 6 Apr 2009 15:53:41

Singapore Inc - something is amiss!
Even for companies, JOB SCOPE AND SCALE are key determinants of pay:
- Market capitalization
- No. of branches / subsidiaries / affiliates
- No. of employees
- Turnover
- Profit
Other than owner-CEOs, a salaried CEO of a small company is usually paid much less than a MNC CEO.

Posted by: FiftyFourCents | 6 Apr 2009 09:53:54

Posted by: The Pariah | 6 Apr 2009 08:49:50

Wonder if Singapore Ministers watched Jay Leno's interview of Barack Obama on 19 March 2009 where President O said: "... And that, I think, speaks to a broader culture that existed on Wall Street, where I think people just had this general attitude of entitlement, where, we must be the best and the brightest, we deserve $10 million or $50 million or $100 million dollar payouts --- But the larger problem is we've got to get back to an attitude where people know enough is enough, and people have a sense of responsibility and they understand that their actions are going to have an impact on everybody."
Singaporeans get the kind of government they deserve.

Posted by: The Pariah | 6 Apr 2009 08:24:07

The Perfect Corruption... any script writer planning the next hollywood drama could learn something from Singapore.

Posted by: Min | 5 Apr 2009 04:24:20

Dont forget the John Lewis kitchens and 2nd home allowances for the Brit.

Posted by: harry | 4 Apr 2009 20:27:57

hello guys
i think there is a mistake with this information, they didn't mention salaries for the people in the middle east , don't you know that the presedent of Kuwait paid $ 171 million every year, and other counries are paid more in this area.

Posted by: Alen | 3 Apr 2009 21:06:01

when the law is corrupted what could the pple do ?

Posted by: Monkey | 3 Apr 2009 13:59:29

Here is a link to roughly how much they are getting
http://mysingaporenews.blogspot.com/2009/04/top-30-highest-paid-politicians-in.html

In fact those above 55 are drawing the salary and pension together at the same time, which is not included in what you see.
Bonus can be as high as 8-14 months.
9 months for the year 2008.
"A performance bonus of 9 months was used to compute the 2008 norm salary package (of $1.92 million) for a typical officer on MR4 "

Posted by: GreedIsGOOD | 3 Apr 2009 13:03:01

angie II

Comments

Top 10 All should be Singaporeans. In fact maybe TOP 50 ALL SINGAPOREANS.
1)President -
2)Prime Minister -
3)Minister Mentor -
4-5)Senior Minister x 2 -
6-7)Deputy Prime Minister x 2 -
8-22)Minister x 15 -
23-30+)Senior Minister of state and Minister of State x ? -
30+-50) Senior Perm Secretaries x ? -
So even Donald Tsang with USD516k is out of top 50. Not to mention Obama.

Posted by: GreedIsGOOD | 3 Apr 2009 12:57:44

I am afraid this report got it all wrong.
The Top 10 highest paid politicians are all from Singapore - under administration of the People's Action Party (PAP).

Posted by: Raffles Place | 3 Apr 2009 10:04:55

Singaporeans please sit up and read. We must be very proud once again that our politicians occupy all the top 10 places in the world of salary. Of course we have to pay them so much otherwise they will either become very corrupt or will leave to join the Goldman Sachs and Lehmann Bros of the world. They must be paid well to keep them honest so that they can look after our money well, like investing into Citibank, Goldman Sachs and UBS. We must be grateful for without them we would not be where we are today - the first (once again the first) country in Asia to plunge into recession, where properties are way out of reach of the ordinary salaried men and women, where car prices are one of the most, if not the most, expensive in the world, where you are taxed wherever and whenever you drive. We asked for it. we voted them in, so we are paying for it now. Are any of our world's 10 topmost paid politicians listening? Are you listening?

Posted by: Teo MT | 3 Apr 2009 09:53:11

Even with salaries over $1 million, Singapore politicians are too lowly paid.
Remember that these are extremely greedy and self centered people. You have to keep feeding their greed, otherwise they are going to become corrupt. 1 million is too little in present day Singapore - can't even buy you a condo in the best district.
I know it sounds strange but this is how the locals want their politicians. The locals will question your motives if you don't accept high pay to serve the people.

Posted by: Uluno
| 3 Apr 2009 06:32:51

Taking into account of what have been said, possibility other politicians are corrupt, or of mediocre education or incompetent, just puppets ?
Posted by: 2great ? | 3 Apr 2009 04:38:08

CITY PROF, I am not too sure that the ordinary Singaporeans will agree with you on that. Even in good times the ordinary Singaporeans are finding life a huge struggle. The bottom 20% had a decline in salary over the last 10 years while the top 10 % had a huge increase. Singapore gini coeff is one of the worst in the world. Corporate profit has increase from 30% to 50 % of total income. Workers share has decline from 70% to 30%. Now the country is in its 4th recession since 1998. Do u consider this good governance ? All this happened after their salary were increase a few fold. Looks like the higher salary only encourage them to self indulge at the expense of doing their job. The $million salary attracts the greedy kind rather the productive kind. In the eary days of the 70's and 80's when their salaries were only about a few hundred thousands, they did a much better job.

Posted by: Harry | 3 Apr 2009 04:21:32

Remember that Singapore is just one giant corporation...Singapore, Inc.
Compared to many multinational C.E.O.s, Singapore's are just moderately paid.
For the most part, they do deserve their money considering how well Singapore has generally done financially. I lived there in the early 70s and have watched that country grow and develop almost like no other.

Posted by: Cityprof | 2 Apr 2009 21:29:20

A long time ago the Strait Times explained that the reasons the PM of Singapore gets a high salary are: attract the best qualified candidate and, avoid corruption by giving more than adequate compensation as PM. This was when LKY was PM.

Posted by: Ric | 2 Apr 2009 20:16:35

Harry is accurate. Your report on the 10 highest paid politicians in the world is grossly incorrect.
All other ministers: US$1.1 million - there are 15 ministers in the Singapore cabinet:
1. George Yeo
2.Mah Bow Tan
3. Lim Boon Heng
4. Lim Hng Kiang
5. Lim Swee Say
6. Yaccob Ibrahim
7. Khaw Boon Wan
8. Tharman Shanmugaratnam
9. Ng Eng Hen
10. Vivian Balakrisnan
11. Raymond Lim
12. K. Shanmugam
13. Gan Kim Yong
14. Lim Hwee Hua
15. Lui Tuck Yew
There are already 7 Singapore politicians listed by Harry, plus another 15 Singapore politicians (ministers), leading to a total of 22 politicians with salaries over the US$1 million mark, and therefore the 10 highest paid politicians in the world belong to none other than Singapore.
The rest of the politicians in the world are nowhere even close to the salaries of the ministers in Singapore.

Posted by: GChan | 2 Apr 2009 18:29:51

This is what the Singapore politicians get:
President Nathan US$2.63 million
PM Lee Hsien Loong US$2.46 million
MM Lee Kuan Yew US$2.46 million
SM Goh Chok Tong US$2.46 million
SM Jayakumar US$2.2 million
DPM Wong Kan Seng US$2.1 million
DPM Teo Chee Hian US$2.1 million
All other ministers US$1.1 million
On top of this basic pay, they can also get up to 16 months bonus and lifetime pension of 8 months of their last drawn salary. The Singapore polician pay is the most outrageous in the world. They follow the American banking system. Now the American banking system has collapse and Singapore is in deep recession.

Posted by: Harry | 2 Apr 2009 16:56:29

You got it all wrong. With or without the G20 politicians, the 10 highest paid politicians in the world are Singapore's cabinet ministers.

Posted by: Kent | 2 Apr 2009 16:06:53

angie II

Comments

C'mon, i am 100% sure most African presidents earn a lot more than all of the presidents combined. You'll have to be a bit more flexible in your criteria and add kickbacks, stolen and corrupt money etc...

Posted by: Tsatsu | 2 Apr 2009 09:30:14

the kenyan president earns about $338000. you would not expect the president of a third world country whose citizens are hungry to earn that much. but there it is... what a shame

Posted by: mutume | 2 Apr 2009 07:52:07

I agree with Harry and Elliot Kane - but don't forget also that these numbers don't reflect the value of non-pay benefits like housing, transport, etc.

Posted by: DAN | 2 Apr 2009 07:02:23

I can't believe you converted all the salaries into dollars!!!! Have you stopped being a British newspaper?? The last time I checked, we spent pounds in Britain, not dollars.

Posted by: Oye | 2 Apr 2009 05:31:47

Sir, I think u have made a mistake. The top 10 highest paid politicians in the world should all be Singaporeans. The Singaporean PM gets US$2.47 million. The President, Minister Mentor, Senior Minister get more than that. Infact even the junoir ministers in the cabinet gets over US$1 million. Can u please correct your report.

Posted by: Harry | 2 Apr 2009 05:18:56

this should be our benchmark for maximum salaries in banking and commerce. if the PM makes less than $300k and he's running the whole country, how anyone say their job is any harder or justifies more for trading some dodgy paper or making chocoloate?

Posted by: Stephen | 2 Apr 2009 04:51:30

Uh Michael, the last time I checked, Singapore isn't part of the G20. Donald Tsang isn't even a close second to Lee Hsien Loong. Legal corruption is a beautiful thing.

Posted by: Hannah | 2 Apr 2009 04:02:58

The official pay figures for politicians appear to be absolutely meaningless. Maybe there are a few somewhere in the world who do not supplement their income with various 'entitlements' (As in the UK) but they are surely rare.
If this showed actual salary, I would imagine the list would read very differently.

Posted by: Elliot Kane | 2 Apr 2009 02:23:23

Salary in dollars?
For the love of God what country are we in???
Sorry, but this habit of beginning to convert everything into dollars instead of pounds really grates - it's nearly as bad as giving peoples height in metres and weight in kilograms...

Posted by: John T | 2 Apr 2009 01:21:08

What about the ruling leaders of the UAE states? Or the Sultan of Brunei?

Posted by: Nathan | 1 Apr 2009 23:48:22

The best "paid" is Hu of China without a doubt. The sum of the rest is look like a pocket change in comparison.

Posted by: Wong | 1 Apr 2009 23:47:06

The Prime Minister should be the best paid job in the country. Perhaps this would attract better talent instead of the hopeless Brown!

Posted by: Dave | 1 Apr 2009 23:42:49

Ignore official figures, those guys are not even close to a Kenyan politician!! In fact they look poor. Our leaders know how to inflate a salary and steal extra cash allowances like no others!! If you are in power you not only draw a salary but you get "commission" on anything that crosses under your nose! You won't find them doing even any work!!

Posted by: H Kamande | 1 Apr 2009 23:33:11

"worlds" best paid????? You mean G20??? Check out the pay of the Swiss and Austrian politicians.........maybe these guys are smarter....they keep quiet but earn more. Both countries are also richer. A lesson?

Posted by: michael | 1 Apr 2009 22:42:20

soikee

The issue of S'pore govt leaders taking the highest pay in the world has become so very shameful and disgusting!

Absolute power corrupts and since they have been in power for about 1/2 a century, who is going to stop them from
plundering?

When you see so may poor and homeless folks in the Housing Board estates of S'pore, you can't help, but feel that,
that bunch of greedy assholes simply have no conscience and are not ashamed all!

Posted by: alec tang | 8 Apr 2009 10:05:54