• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Is it normal to lose interest in getting out of the house ?

Go home is better than being a loser outside. Drink beer at coffeeshop alone and talk to the China beer ladies. Frankly speaking, that's pretty sad.

Hmm... drinking beer alone on a lazy afternoon is one of the rare pleasures in life. Feeling the alcohol buzz, getting some thinking done, watching the people around you. I have seen plenty of ang mohs do it, even at neighbourhood coffeeshops. :wink:

As Sinkie rat racers rush through the tedium of 9-to-5 office life, the ang mohs really do know how to enjoy life. Sometimes you need to slow down and take it easy, and not be so uptight. :cool:

lifeafter41

Hopefully it is normal for the 40s, i am worst in that I no longer enjoy going out to kio kway also. This hobby was once a exciting outings for me.

It's probably mid life crisis onset, if you ask me.

You find that when you go to hawker centre or shopping mall, the salesgirls start calling you uncle.
The kopi tiam aunty call you uncle, the roti prata stall man also call you uncle.

When you look at some pretty girls, they will give you that kind of evil/dirty eye look. Dirty old man, it's what in their mind.
Not when you were in your twenties or thirties, it was taken as a compliment for them, if you stared longer.

You find that your body starts to ache more often, not as robust as it used to be.
Cannot stay out too late, as gets tired easily, unlike in the twenties/thirties.

It is worst if a person is single as one finds that the friends that got married and have children, they have a family to look forward to when they get home, whereas, oneself go home to only four walls, maybe to a dog or cat, but that's it. If you have aged parent's to take care off it is also depressing as you will be facing to take care of them all by yourself if the illness or sickness drags on. There is nothing to cheer for as one will find that they are aging too, and will have no one to take care of them.

At least, for the family man/woman, with children, there is cheer and laughter within the family, amidst the difficult task of taking care of one's aged parent to balance, the positive and negative thoughts and always something to look forward to.

You find that when you go to hawker centre or shopping mall, the salesgirls start calling you uncle.
The kopi tiam aunty call you uncle, the roti prata stall man also call you uncle.

When you look at some pretty girls, they will give you that kind of evil/dirty eye look. Dirty old man, it's what in their mind.
Not when you were in your twenties or thirties, it was taken as a compliment for them, if you stared longer.

You find that your body starts to ache more often, not as robust as it used to be.
Cannot stay out too late, as gets tired easily, unlike in the twenties/thirties.

It is worst if a person is single as one finds that the friends that got married and have children, they have a family to look forward to when they get home, whereas, oneself go home to only four walls, maybe to a dog or cat, but that's it. If you have aged parent's to take care off it is also depressing as you will be facing to take care of them all by yourself if the illness or sickness drags on. There is nothing to cheer for as one will find that they are aging too, and will have no one to take care of them.

At least, for the family man/woman, with children, there is cheer and laughter within the family, amidst the difficult task of taking care of one's aged parent to balance, the positive and negative thoughts and always something to look forward to.

bro you have described my feeling very close. Should be a case of midlife crisis onset. When i look around me, the single 40s, only the richie seems to enjoy everyday without tomorrow. Other than that is the poor gambler, gamble like no tomorrow and in debts. If is between this 2 group, there is nothing much to look forward in life i guess. Jiaklat liao maybe have to quickly find a partner online and express married.

Yeah, Cooleo has always been rather uptight. :biggrin:

Hmm... drinking beer alone on a lazy afternoon is one of the rare pleasures in life. Feeling the alcohol buzz, getting some thinking done, watching the people around you. I have seen plenty of ang mohs do it, even at neighbourhood coffeeshops. :wink:

As Sinkie rat racers rush through the tedium of 9-to-5 office life, the ang mohs really do know how to enjoy life. Sometimes you need to slow down and take it easy, and not be so uptight. :cool:

beer+girl+2+%252818+of+1%2529.jpg

29542900+-+07_10_2013+-+rlmassage.jpg

Nothing like getting a back massage..... at a coffee shop by China beer auntie.

JohorRookie

Do you call them uncles ? Even though they are 50+ ?

redc+det+dee+-+andy+lau.jpgsteve-ma-3_7d74e4ead704b7969727e07996136ec8.jpg

This one even though 60+, I will not call him uncle.
1970.jpg

Sometimes those hawker uncles and aunties have poor mannerism. You go MacDonald's they will address you as Sir. If you are 40 plus and don't look like a Hokkien peng with a pot belly and rolled up singlet, there is no reason for those equally as old as you to call you uncle.

In fact, as soon as you turn adult, say 18 or 21, you shouldn't be calling others uncles or aunties regardless of their age unless they are related to you. Such a manner of address is meant for kids and teenagers, not for those thick-skinned kopitiam aunties trying to act young and cute.

Do you call them uncles ? Even though they are 50+ ?

View attachment 18761View attachment 18762

This one even though 60+, I will not call him uncle.
View attachment 18763

Sometimes those hawker uncles and aunties have poor mannerism. You go MacDonald's they will address you as Sir. If you are 40 plus and don't look like a Hokkien peng with a pot belly and rolled up singlet, there is no reason for those equally as old as you to call you uncle.

I think the most accurate addressing whether is uncle or not should be by teenagers.

Recently i discovered that I do not feel like going out besides having to go out for work. After work i wish to be at home asap. Is this normal or a sickness ?:rolleyes:

Thanks for bros for providing analyse and feedback. I have gathered my problem and summarized as below :

My gradual change of homely behaviour is due to onset of midlife crisis, coupled with PAP ft policies, it builds up and surface as a form of depression.

Resolution - need to find new home hobby e.g. reading up for investment to build wealth. Keep fit and younger looks so that outside people will not call me uncle. Kick out the bloody pap for overcrowding issue.

McDonaldsKid

To me, there's very little to do outside nowadays. Even the malls are cookie cutter malls. I rather stay at home and read, surf the net or watch tv.