• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Would you buy Renault Fluence 1.5Dci Diesel Saloon Car at S$114,999?

SockPuppet

The features look good. The price looks good at $114,999.
It runs on diesel. Cheap Cheap. It has got good features and best of all its continental!

Any bros with experience with Renault reliability and service quality of Wearnes Automotive?

It runs on diesel. Cheap Cheap. It has got good features and best of all its continental!

Any bros with experience with Renault reliability and service quality of Wearnes Automotive?

I see a lot of conti small vans, ie kangoo, blowing black smoke like nobody business while their Japanese counterparts NV200 don't.

find out more on LTA ruling on diesel cars regulations, ie inspection standards, black smoke, etc etc...

and being conti vans, many workshops at ubi or sing min may not service them or u be subjected to chop Robert head by authorised dealer's workshop.

btw, driving diesel don't really save $$ in Singapore as travel distance too short. btw, diesel on 5% discount and don't qualify to many petrol station promotion. and can cross into JB in diesel car?

SockPuppet

This is Renault's latest but I heard its built in Turkey not France.
This one qualifies for LTA's CEV bonus which means its meets the current emission standards.
Think the old diesel vehicles are the ones which give problems. The new ones should be fine.
You are right about the Nissan NV200 but that one needs a company registration to own.
Private car sure can cross into JB. Its the diesel vans and goods vehicles that cannot cross into JB using the car lane.

The Froggies and the Italians make the worst cars on the face of this earth. They are world renowned for their lack of reliability.

I wouldn't drive a French car even if it was FREE!

From "What Car" http://www.whatcar.com/car-news/35th-29th/1205860#serieslist

Renault 33rd out of 35
Last year’s position 30th out of 32
Cars needing repair work 45%
Average repair cost £242
Best model Clio (’05-)
Worst model Espace (’02-)

Renault has failed to improve its reliability, with 45% of vehicles suffering failures. Just under 40% of issues are down to dodgy electrics, the highest score of any manufacturer. Once again the Clio (’05-’09) is the most-dependable model, with a respectable RI score of 32 and a breakdown rate of 19%. Renault’s worst model, the Espace (’02-), gets the wooden spoon in the MPV class. - See more at: http://www.whatcar.com/car-news/35th-29th/1205860#serieslist

This is Renault's latest but I heard its built in Turkey not France.
This one qualifies for LTA's CEV bonus which means its meets the current emission standards.
Think the old diesel vehicles are the ones which give problems. The new ones should be fine.
You are right about the Nissan NV200 but that one needs a company registration to own.
Private car sure can cross into JB. Its the diesel vans and goods vehicles that cannot cross into JB using the car lane.

I not so sure about the diesel engine for the old kangoo also EuroV engine as per the Fluence. I think the $115k is for basic model and option extra must pay $$.

why u want a diesel car? if want just a car to travel, why not the new Honda city which also listed at $115k with everything drop in. MPG claim to be 17km/l while not as good as fluence diesel but still very good for a city car.

if u really want diesel, then bobian lah. caltex station that give 14% on diesel is at whitley road, opposition SJI. There another 2 Caltex stations that offer 12% on diesel, one along macpherson road after VW (old mazada) showroom while the other one along Changi Road, opposite the old geylang serai VITB, just after lor 102 changi.

so bad meh? I think its the Italian cars that are unreliable.

I wouldn't touch any continental car unless I wanted "status" rather than a reliable means of transport.

Even the Germans are crap today. Audi is the only manufacturer that has actually been building decent cars.

Stick to to Jap brands but avoid Nissan as it is owned by Renault and now produces crap too.

I wouldn't touch any continental car unless I wanted "status" rather than a reliable means of transport.

Even the Germans are crap today. Audi is the only manufacturer that has actually been building decent cars.

Stick to to Jap brands but avoid Nissan as it is owned by Renault and now produces crap too.

I heard the audi workshop also running at 100% capacity due to many complaints.

cocobobo

You've not factored in the additional road tax for diesel cars.
Will come to the same.

Also, i disagree contis are crap work horses. Ford focus is very reliable.

You've not factored in the additional road tax for diesel cars.
Will come to the same.

Also, i disagree contis are crap work horses. Ford focus is very reliable.

Ford is one of the worst performing brands of the lot.

Consumer reports is my bible. It accepts no advertising and is not beholden to any brand.

• CRO_Cars_2014_Reliability_Chart_10-14.png
    CRO_Cars_2014_Reliability_Chart_10-14.png
    45 KB · Views: 2,794

garlic

I wonder what sort of "prestige" you hope to get from buying a renault? This is a budget car right up there with volkswagen, Opel, Citreon and skoda but asians think coz of the continental image, it has some sort of prestige. When you go european countries and hire rental cars, these are the brands right smack in the "standard" category and cheapest of all to rent (Even the BMW 1 series is also in the same category). If it's not a BMW, Audi, Merk, Volvo or SAAB, it has no prestige whatsoever of any kind as it is considered budget cars by the europeans after those above-mentioned brands in the mass sedan categories. Pls do yourself a favour and get a Honda City, you will be thanking yourself for the reliability and save the embarrassment thinking you got the conti "prestige" and save on higher maintenance costs. Most in sinkieland do not truly love these brands, but they are buying to get a "conti" car as they can't afford the luxury marques, which is where these brands fill in and the owners convince themselves they love the brands, ignoring the practical issues of reliability, which we cant in SG as the price of cars are so high. One exception is the Volkswagen Phaeton which is truly a luxury car VW wanted under the VW badge, but that is another different category altogether.

The reliability chart from CR above is the best industry guide, afterwhich go read on edmunds the specific review rather than top gear.

Yes very very bad. New car break down and their engineer also don't know why.

It's the same in NZ. Fixing a Fiat or an Alfa involves a process of trial and error. They'll start with the ECU and if that doesn't help they'll work their way through various modules with hope that at some point, the problem will be resolved.

By the time the initial problem finally is fixed, something else has usually gone wrong.

When the owner finally gives up and sells the car, they'll find it has lost 50% of its value in one year.

Cerebral

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
The cost of a diesel car is in the annual road tax. Watch out for that, unless they have changed it, it is few folds of a petrol version

if shopping for a new car, especially Japanese makers, maybe wait a while first as yen is dropping like a stone which in turn reduce price of the car. already I have PI of Honda quoting me less than $100k for the new Honda freed spike even though listing price $105K. it was listed as $112k when I was in the showroom in early nov. So the price already slash by $10k in a month despite coe had gone up by $3k.