• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

lousy STI

JackyCheung

remember to top up your cpf account to enjoy tax relief.
it is year end :smile:

http://mycpf.cpf.gov.sg/Members/Top-Up_LO.htm

Make A Top-Up For Your Loved Ones

The CPF Minimum Sum (MS) Topping-Up Scheme allows you to give top-ups to yourself and/or your loved ones’ Special Accounts (for recipients below age 55) or Retirement Accounts (for recipients age 55 and above). Such gifts help build up the MS and can come from your CPF or in cash.

To make a top-up using your CPF for your loved ones*, the net balances in your Ordinary and Special Accounts, including amount withdrawn for investments, must be more than the prevailing Minimum Sum. Only Ordinary Account balances can be used for the top-up.

You can also enjoy tax relief of up to $7,000 per calendar year, if you or your employer uses cash to make top-ups for you. Your employer will receive an equal amount of tax deduction for the cash top-ups made.

You can enjoy an additional tax relief of up to $7,000 per calendar year if you use cash to make top-ups for your loved ones. To qualify for tax relief for cash top-ups for spouse/siblings, your spouse/sibling (i) must not have income exceeding $4,000 in the year preceding the year of top-up (e.g. salary or tax exempt income such as bank interest, dividends and pension) or (ii) is handicapped.

If you are topping up by cheque, your application must reach the Board by 31 Dec, 10 am if it is a working day, to enjoy tax relief for the following year’s Tax Assessment. If 31 December falls on a weekend, your application must reach us on the last working day of the year, 2pm.

* "Loved ones" include only your parents, parents-in-law, grandparents, grandparents-in-law, spouse and siblings.

You can login with your SingPass to make top-ups for yourself and/or loved ones now.

For the convenience of CPF members, the Board has made available the GIRO facility to members so that they can choose to make monthly and/or yearly cash top-ups to help grow their own or their loved ones’ retirement funds.

To sign up for the GIRO facility, please complete the application forms:

-Application Form for Inter-Bank GIRO Application
-Standing Instruction (SI) to Make Monthly and/or Yearly Cash Top-Ups Under the Minimum Sum Topping-up Scheme via GIRO

Read more about the CPF Minimum Sum Topping-Up Scheme.

JackyCheung

paper loss 5,5k:(
thanks to my small cap stock

holding 320k portfolio, and with paper loss 5.3k

but i have receive dividend+ capital gain around 20k this year.

am i a lousy investor?
uvwxyz, how do you think? am i a lousy investor?

uvwxyz

paper loss 5,5k:(
thanks to my small cap stock

holding 320k portfolio, and with paper loss 5.3k

but i have receive dividend+ capital gain around 20k this year.

am i a lousy investor?
uvwxyz, how do you think? am i a lousy investor?

Our portfolio sure got up got down so personally I think you are doing quite okay . I dont think anyone can claim he is so super that he gets it right all the time.

JackyCheung

very thank you for your encouragement and guidance for my investment journey.
although i do not know you, but i hope you can have good health and good wealth.
thanks you very much.

JackyCheung

http://news.omy.sg/News/Local-News/story20141105-303569

SHARPLY falling oil prices dragged the local stock market down yesterday to kill off a four-day rally.

The Straits Times Index had been climbing since last Wednesday, but dropped 9.27 points or 0.3 per cent yesterday to end at 3,281.57.

Lower oil prices usually mean lower profits for oil and gas companies and associated firms like rigbuilders, so local investors had plenty of reasons to bail out.

The picture across Asia was also fairly gloomy except in Japan, where the weakened yen gave markets a shot in the arm.

Tokyo's Nikkei, which reopened yesterday after a public holiday on Monday, surged 2.7 per cent following the Bank of Japan's surprise announcement of more monetary stimulus on Friday. However, Hong Kong slid 0.3 per cent, Seoul sank 0.9 per cent and Shanghai was flat.

Oil prices plunged yesterday after Saudi Arabia, the world's biggest oil exporter, cut the prices it charges customers in the United States in a bid to retain market share there.

Prices for the benchmark London-traded Brent crude oil fell by more than 2 per cent to US$82 (S$106) a barrel, representing a slump of around 29 per cent since June.

"Declines are seen in the energy sector, triggered by Saudi Arabia's plan to cut shipping cost to the US, while the supply is high there," Jakarta-based BNI Securities said in a note.

The drop in oil prices hit several energy-related stocks here.

Rigbuilder Sembcorp Marine lost nine cents to $3.65, although larger rival Keppel Corp was less affected, dipping only one cent to $9.53.

Offshore firm Emas Offshore dropped 4.5 cents to 77 cents while its parent company, Ezra Holdings, slipped 1.5 cents to 80.5 cents.

The Singapore Exchange (SGX) said in an SGX My Gateway report to investors yesterday that the shares of rigbuilders and oilfield-services firms have fallen less than those of energy explorers and producers, whose values have dropped in tandem with oil prices.

"Some companies can establish long-term contracts with guaranteed minimum pricing to alleviate uncertainty associated with commodity prices," the report said.

"The other side of that trade is that such contracts generally restrict the opportunity for substantial extra profitability if the price of oil rises sharply."

Bucking the general trend, ship-repair and ship-building firm Cosco Corp eked out a 1.5-cent gain to 61.5 cents.

OCBC Investment Research maintained its "sell" call on the counter yesterday, saying that Cosco has three offshore projects that "have already been cancelled or are at risk of cancellation. Looking ahead, margins may be pressured even further as the group executes lower-priced contracts".

The most active counter was Catalist-listed electronics company WE Holdings. It gained 0.2 cents to 1.2 cents, with 99.9 million shares changing hands.

[email protected]

jjcc888

Bros - I hope I may be allowed to post here in this thread
(I’m only active in the Slot Games, Casino Rewards & Privileges Thread that I started in the now-hidden Gambling/Sports/Games/Hobbies Sub-Forum which Sam wants to close in Jan 2015 - hoping that Sam will allow the thread to survive by transferring it to this sub-forum etc)

I am now jobless from retrenchment {PME who lost her job due to the government’s refusal to relax some of the cooling measures to revive the dead property market} and need to do some personal trading in order to survive
Since I am unable to get anyone reliable/professional to trade on my behalf, am left with no choice but to take on the task personally [much as I dread having to do that and inspite of my phobia there]
I have not been doing any trading for over 7 years and am VERY BADLY out of touch with things
So hope the trading bros here can quickly make me ‘catch up’ with the current trading scene etc ....
Q : Which/What are the better Investment/Trading Forums etc for tip-discussion etc etc etc ....... what I need to know etc etc .....

I have a current portfolio in the range of 92-95k [down from just-about 100k value as at August 2014] with some ‘dirt-cheap’ blue chips bought in the 90s as well as some horrible dud counters in the mix
My trading target is to be able to generate trading profit of average 6-8k per month
I used to trade briefly in HSI Warrants and Pennies [profiting from 1-2 cents movement with huge volume/lots] - when contra and shorting were allowed
{My 'bad discipline/‘burnt' experience' during the Lehman Bros crisis quickly cut short this brief trading stint & I developed a phobia there}
I only discovered Wed night that contra has been disallowed >1year back and no more naked shorting too from a dinner with some friends.

Some Questions :
1. Which account would be more suitable to generate the high profit margin I desire - Margin or CFD with my portfolio/capital ?
Am prepared to liquidate all/part of my shares - but question is - best timing to do it - NOW or WAIT till end Nov-early Dec for further rises ???
2. Is Warrant Trading or Trading with better-than-penny-stocks [above 30 cents/below $1/below $5 ?] still a feasible option in TODAY’s Market & Conditions ?
3. If so, WHICH would be the better Warrants and Counters to trade in here - taking into consideration I need those that would move fast ?
I would be TRADING and not Investing for the long-term - my goal is to have Monthly Alternative Trading Income for survival & indulgences .....

Any useful tips highly appreciated ...... TQIA

PS :
I am very very ‘daring’ or willing to take risks
{This time with Strict Cut Loss controls etc so as not to lose my pants ....}
Any tips/info for a gung-ho trader {NOT an investor who’ll hold long term now}

JackyCheung

(I’m only active in the Slot Games, Casino Rewards & Privileges Thread that I started in the now-hidden Gambling/Sports/Games/Hobbies Sub-Forum which Sam wants to close in Jan 2015 - hoping that Sam will allow the thread to survive by transferring it to this sub-forum etc)

I am now jobless from retrenchment {PME who lost her job due to the government’s refusal to relax some of the cooling measures to revive the dead property market} and need to do some personal trading in order to survive
Since I am unable to get anyone reliable/professional to trade on my behalf, am left with no choice but to take on the task personally [much as I dread having to do that and inspite of my phobia there]
I have not been doing any trading for over 7 years and am VERY BADLY out of touch with things
So hope the trading bros here can quickly make me ‘catch up’ with the current trading scene etc ....
Q : Which/What are the better Investment/Trading Forums etc for tip-discussion etc etc etc ....... what I need to know etc etc .....

I have a current portfolio in the range of 92-95k [down from just-about 100k value as at August 2014] with some ‘dirt-cheap’ blue chips bought in the 90s as well as some horrible dud counters in the mix
My trading target is to be able to generate trading profit of average 6-8k per month
I used to trade briefly in HSI Warrants and Pennies [profiting from 1-2 cents movement with huge volume/lots] - when contra and shorting were allowed
{My 'bad discipline/‘burnt' experience' during the Lehman Bros crisis quickly cut short this brief trading stint & I developed a phobia there}
I only discovered Wed night that contra has been disallowed >1year back and no more naked shorting too from a dinner with some friends.

Some Questions :
1. Which account would be more suitable to generate the high profit margin I desire - Margin or CFD with my portfolio/capital ?
Am prepared to liquidate all/part of my shares - but question is - best timing to do it - NOW or WAIT till end Nov-early Dec for further rises ???
2. Is Warrant Trading or Trading with better-than-penny-stocks [above 30 cents/below $1/below $5 ?] still a feasible option in TODAY’s Market & Conditions ?
3. If so, WHICH would be the better Warrants and Counters to trade in here - taking into consideration I need those that would move fast ?
I would be TRADING and not Investing for the long-term - my goal is to have Monthly Alternative Trading Income for survival & indulgences .....

PS :
I am very very ‘daring’ or willing to take risks
{This time with Strict Cut Loss controls etc so as not to lose my pants ....}
Any tips/info for a gung-ho trader {NOT an investor who’ll hold long term now}

hi maybe you should ask our active trader, krafty. he will tell you more.
well, as for your capital 90-100k and expect 6-8k per month trading profit. you are expecting monthly yield 8-10% and compute to yearly yield 100%.

which i think it is impossible to achieve.well, i have capital 320k and only able to yield about 5-7% .

i also join some of other investment forum, well, i think the shares they are discussing mainly for dividend yield and long term holding.

maybe krafty and uvwxyz can give you better advice. i am a conservative investor and low expectation investor.
expect only capital protection with 4-6% yield yearly.

and from the bottom of my heart, i think you buy too big and a bit like gambling. i hope that i am not offence you, well, play so big, contra so big.
may ended up losing big.

hope that you can huat in your investment:smile:

cheer
Jacky

JackyCheung

Oil Futures Rise on Inventory Data, Libyan Supply Concerns
Saudi Oil Pipeline Catches Fire But It Was Brought Under Control

Oil futures snapped a four-session losing streak Wednesday after a smaller-than-expected increase in U.S. oil supplies and a reduction in Libyan output.

Oil prices have declined steadily for months as growing supplies, particularly in the U.S., and weak demand have weighed on the market. On Tuesday, Brent oil, the global benchmark, fell to a four-year low, and the U.S. benchmark slid to a three-year low.

Inventory data released Wednesday boosted oil prices. Crude-oil stockpiles increased by 460,000 barrels in the week ended Oct. 31, the U.S. Energy Information Administration said Wednesday. Analysts surveyed by The Wall Street Journal had expected stocks to rise by 2.2 million barrels on the week.

In addition, oil officials in Libya said attacks on Western oil fields by local militia forces on Wednesday cut the country’s daily production by about 300,000 barrels a day. Libya has recently been producing over 800,000 barrels a day.

Light, sweet crude for December delivery rose as high as $79.35 a barrel and settled up $1.49, or 1.9%, at $78.68 a barrel on the New York Mercantile Exchange.

Brent crude rose 13 cents, or 0.2%, to settle at $82.95 a barrel on ICE Futures Europe.

“The inventory report was obviously supportive,” said John Kilduff, founding partner of Again Capital, and “we’re also watching the situation in Libya, which seems to be deteriorating.”

Unless Libyan supply stays offline, though, “I think it’s a one-day bounce,” he said, noting that global supplies remain ample.

On Wednesday, oil prices jumped briefly after rumors circulated on Twitter that a pipeline exploded in Saudi Arabia, raising fears that the country’s crude production and exports could be curtailed. Prices later pared gains.

State-owned oil giant Saudi Aramco said Wednesday it brought under control a fire caused by a leak at a diesel fuel pipeline along the Riyadh-Al Qassim highway. The leak occurred when highway workers in the area inadvertently caused a small rupture allowing the fuel to escape, the company said in an emailed statement. No injuries were reported and Saudi Aramco’s core business activities were uninterrupted, the company said.

MORE READING ON OIL’S FALL

Some Hedge Funds Profit From Steep Decline in Oil Prices (Nov. 4)
New Oil Shipment Shows Cracks in U.S. Export Ban (Nov. 4)
Heard on the Street: Cheaper Oil an Uneven Boost to U.S. (Nov. 4.)
MoneyBeat: A Global Glut of Oil? (Nov. 4)
Saudi Price Cut Upends Oil Market (Nov. 3)
Saudis Divided Over Oil Drop (Oct. 30)
OPEC Rift Deepens as Prices Fall (Oct. 12)
Slump Strains Budgets of Some OPEC Members(Oct. 10)
Price Drop Puts Drillers to the Test (Oct. 9)
OPEC Members’ Discord Adds to Slide in Prices (Oct. 5)
Meanwhile, gasoline stockpiles fell by 1.4 million barrels to 201.8 million barrels, the EIA said. Inventories are at their lowest level since Nov. 16, 2012. Analysts surveyed by The Wall Street Journal had predicted stockpiles would decline by 300,000 barrels.

“Gasoline is getting into a real red zone here,” said Donald Morton, senior vice president at Herbert J. Sims & Co. “If we [draw from gasoline stocks] much more, you could see a significant rally developing in gasoline prices.”

Distillate stocks, which include heating oil and diesel fuel, eased by 724,000 barrels to 119.7 million barrels, the lowest since June 6. Analysts had expected a 1.8 million-barrel weekly decrease.

Refining capacity utilization rose to 88.4%, the first increase in six weeks. Analysts had expected the operating rate to rise by 0.3 percentage point in the week.

December reformulated gasoline blendstock, or RBOB, settled up 0.87 cent, or 0.4%, at $2.0867 a gallon.

December diesel fell 0.4 cent, or 0.2%, to $2.4387 a gallon, the lowest settlement since December 2010.

JackyCheung

http://www.businesstimes.com.sg/companies-markets/sembmarines-q3-profit-rises-18-to-s132m

Sembmarine's Q3 profit rises 1.8% to S$132m
Despite low oil price environment, group believes long-term fundamentals driving E&P market remain stable

RIG-BUILDER Sembcorp Marine reported a 1.8 per cent increase in net profit to S$132 million for the third quarter ended Sept 30 on the back of higher profit contribution from rig-building and fixed-platform segments.

Turnover rose 3.2 per cent to S$1.71 billion due to

uvwxyz

so, WHICH would be the better Warrants and Counters to trade in here - taking into consideration I need those that would move fast ?

Hi me also these days quite conservative and willing to take long term positions on most of my stocks especially if the dividends are decent. A small percentage of my portfolio is for chionging.

JackyCheung

Hi I got a few lots of ezion and swissco but nothing much.

what price u buy?

sg market i look here and there, really nothing to buy.

i see the Bank of America and apple keep chionging.

especially apple, now 108..super sian. i sold at 97 and didn buy back:(

well, next time we go buy us share. ok?

uvwxyz

what price u buy?

sg market i look here and there, really nothing to buy.

i see the Bank of America and apple keep chionging.

especially apple, now 108..super sian. i sold at 97 and didn buy back:(

well, next time we go buy us share. ok?

Ezion I bought at 1.80 plus now lose money but swissco I bought at 0.825 so about even.