• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Return My CPF Thread: Han HuiHui & Roy Ngerng vs the CPF/NParks

Mr Brown is Mr PAP Brown Nose

• Yeah, he's a fucking PAP dog

Votes: 12 75.0%
  • No, because he's didn't bother to find out the TRUTH before opening his cb mouth

Votes: 3 18.8%
  • Favourite sinkie option: I dunno leh......

Votes: 1 6.3%

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

OverTheCounter

Re: WP MP Yee also criticised HHH and RN!

It's damned if you do and damned if you don't. Comment on the CPF situation, and the anti-SDP camp will say, told you CSJ hasn't changed his activist spots. Don't comment and the same group will say, see, SDP is such a useless oppo party who chooses to keep quiet on such an important national issue.

I generally ignore these anti-SDP troll baits.

Before 2011, SDP was at the receiving end of most of the trolling. After 2011, it is WP's turn to be at the receiving end.

YJJ came out to state his stand, putting his party on the line as well, because it could easily backfire especially amongst the pro-Roy/HHH crowd. Even though I disagree with him, at least he shows he has a stand.

I think it's not too much to ask where SDP stands.

steffychun

I reckon HHH & RN are really wasting their time over the CPF issue which the silent majority of SINKIE RETARDS don't care a damn about even if it is never returned to them.

Why bother fighting battles for SINKIES who don't care? Even the YMCA organisers stated they love the CPF, including minimum sum, non transparency and forever postponing the withdrawal age/sum etc.

Those who want their lump sum CPF payout just emigrate, renounce citizenship and withdraw lump sum!

Exactly. Sinkies want materialistic items not democracy.

Poomer

Re: Has the govt done anything great for Special Needs Children?

They want to try but mess up by HHH and RN...

BTW. You just said in other thread that these group of people's are not important and now you want the government to use YOUR money to take care of them???

Can you explain how the government try? By getting YMCA to bring them out for a song and dance the moment other protesters arrive? By utilising them to cast the protesters in a bad light?

yellowarse

I think it's not too much to ask where SDP stands.

I don't represent the SDP, so I don't know where it stands on HHH/RN. But I know the SDP's views on the CPF issue itself:

Added by: SingaporeDemocrats | Date: 21 April 2011
cpf320240.jpg

Elderly Singaporeans face a bleak existence where social security is often non-existent. It is not uncommon to see senior citizens in Singapore working as janitors and cleaners, or picking up tin cans and cardboard to sell.

A recent survey showed that 7 out of 10 elderly people had no social security support and had to rely on their children for their livelihood. In 1993, a little more than 22,000 Singaporeans over the age of 65 continued to work. Ten years later, the number swelled to more than 35,000, a jump of 57 percent.

Lim Boon Heng, minister-without-portfolio, decreed that in Singapore "the term 'retirement' will be history. I don't think what we should think of retiring."

But for the average senior person, life can be a living nightmare when one has to continue to work even when the body cries out to slow down. They face an uncertain future and, more disconcertingly, a lonely and unforgiving present.

A recent survey of 15 industrialized countries including Australia, Canada, USA, Spain, Italy, Hong Kong and Japan conducted by the AXA Insurance Group, showed that the proportion of Singaporeans contributing to a saving plan, mainly through the CPF, outstripped that of other countries.

Yet, among the 15 countries, the retiree in Singapore has among the lowest average monthly retirement income of S$1,692. Canada ranked first with S$4,216.45.

The question that is screaming to be asked is:'What has happened to all the CPF money? The simple answer is that most people have used their savings to finance their houses. Financial analyst Dan Fineman observes: "CPF financing has contributed to high land prices, the government gains from home purchases, while pensions balances dwindle."'

The SDP's Solutions

alter_cpf-230_x_82-.jpg

1. Reduce the cost of HDB flats
The inescapable truth is that HDB apartments have become too expensive. A reduction in the prices of HDB flats, less CPF savings will be used to service HDB loans. This will, in turn, allow more saving to be accumulated for one's retirement. For a more detailed explanation of how this proposal works, refer to our HDB manifesto.

2. Reduce CPF contribution rates
WIth a substantial reduction in HDB prices, the need for maintaining high CPF contribution rates just so that members can make withdrawals for housing payment is no longer present. CPF contribution rates should then be evenly divided between employer and employee and capped at a total of between 15 percent of wages, an amount slightly higher than what experts agree to be the minimum savings rate adequate for retirement expenditure.

The reduction in CPF contributions will improve the supply of capital for businesses to re-invest as well as for consumers to save, spend or invest as they see fit.

3. Ensure government undertakes share of responsibility
In 2010, the Government allocated an operating budget of $93.67 million for the poor and the elderly. Compare this amount to the $11.5 billion put aside for the Ministry of Defence. The solution is simple: The Government must increase national expenditure on the aged and retired.

<tbody>
</tbody>

<tbody>
</tbody>

SgGoneWrong

They wanted to but scare later you say they are using YOUR money again... As for what YMCA is doing... You try google, I do not know what the fuck they are doing.:biggrin:

I don't mind for them to use MY money to help your retarded children.

steffychun

Re: Special MP Teo Ser Luck: Roy must apologize to us NOW!

Why would he be know the YMCA programme? Ordinary Roy was there to talk about CPF and not to join in the YMCA event.

No he stages the "heckling" because to Roy, ever other event in SG except his is PAP-supported. Even those in Hougang and PE are not up to Roy's standards.

yellowarse

CPF Minimum Sum must go

<tbody>
</tbody>
Added on: Sunday 08 June 2014
Total comments: 0
Singapore Democrats

CPF.jpg
Dear fellow Singaporeans,

Let me first thank Ms Han Hui Hui and the organisers for staging this very important event to focus the nation's attention on our CPF and how the Government is withholding our hard-earned retirement savings.

I am unable join you at Hong Lim Park because I am presently at Sydney University to do a fellowship for a few weeks. But even as I am not there in person, I am, assuredly, there with you in spirit.

More than 20 years ago, the SDP had opposed the implementation of the Minimum Sum Scheme. Ever since, we have been doggedly trying to bring this most egregious breach of promise committed by the PAP to the attention of Singaporeans.

The CPF scheme was first introduced by the British colonial government and it started out with a 5 percent contribution from employees matched equally by employers. The goal was to help workers save for retirement. The savings would be returned to the saver upon retirement.

But when the PAP took over, the CPF became a lucrative source of funds for the Government and its original intent has been betrayed. The CPF is now used for housing payments, medical expenses, investment schemes, and so on.

Without an opposition to keep it in check, the Government introduced the Minimum Sum scheme in the 1980s to further retain our pension savings. The SDP firmly opposed such a move.

But this was before the days of the Internet and social media, and the PAP, with the help of the media that it controls, easily railroaded opposing views.

Back then, the amount retained was $80,000. The Government has, over the years, doubled the sum, withholding $155,000 of each member's account today.

Through the years, the SDP continued to bring to the attention of Singaporeans the detriment of the Minimum Sum Scheme. In 2008, when four of your fellow Singaporeans conducted a silent protest outside the CPF Building demanding the abolition of the Minimum Sum and calling for the Government to be transparent when it comes to our CPF money, they were met by the riot police.

But circumstances have changed. Now, on this day of 7 June 2014, we are exercising our rights to assemble here at Hong Lim Park. But our message hasn't changed: We want the Minimum Sum Scheme to be abolished and our CPF savings returned to us. We also want the Government to be transparent about how it handles and invests our CPF savings.

In our alternative economic programme that we published before the last general elections in 2011 called It's About You, the SDP spelt out measures on how our funds and reserves can be managed with a high level of transparency and where Singaporeans have a say in how they want their funds to be invested.

We will further refine our ideas on this topic in our forthcoming economic policy paper. We will present our ideas to the people of Singapore at the next GE and canvass their support.

In the meantime, please keep up your good work to inform the people and to warn them of the dangers of the Minimum Sum policy. Have a courageous rally and let us work even harder to build a democratic society for our nation, a society where the people are in charge and where the government is accountable to the people.

On behalf of my colleagues in the SDP, I wish you all the very best.

I remain yours in solidarity,

Chee Soon Juan

<tbody>
</tbody>

steffychun

SDP's manifesto is to use MINDEF money to give away to themselves first. Sinkies next.

Yingge

Can you explain how the government try? By getting YMCA to bring them out for a song and dance the moment other protesters arrive? By utilising them to cast the protesters in a bad light?

When minister attend the function. A lot of those porlampa peoples will donate and hope to get PBM or BBM. Those tent set up will be on sponser or discounted price. If not why the YMCA invited them???

Poomer

Re: Alex Tan said no heckling by Roy and Hui Hui at the Protest. What you think?

Is walking around holding a microphone considered a crime? Or interpreted as heckling? Dafuq, that's brainless.

Who is at fault, the protesters or the organiser who brought the special needs kids onto the stage, knowing full well of the presence of protesters in the crowd.

Yingge

Re: Alex Tan said no heckling by Roy and Hui Hui at the Protest. What you think?

Well said..: who is more important now? HHH and RN are talking about CPF... Even the kids or anyone who have book the place and spent money on it have to give way!!!:rolleyes:

Good. Very kind of you... But a lot of peoples out there is not happy to use THEIR money...:biggrin:

I dun think so. We must help everyone, rich and poor and retarded too. Leave no one behind, but don't try to score political points. That's it.

I thought all the while you said HHH and RN is right to go sing song in YMCA event??? HHH and RN had all their message passed to the people's... What political point that stupid minister score???:rolleyes:

I never say such things. I just know that National Parks should not allocate 2 disparate events on same day and same space. Hong Lim Park is not that fucking big to accommodate 2 events. Asking for trouble.

yellowarse

The government has done nothing to help special needs children. Period. I've a friend who has an autistic kid with normal IQ. None of the local schools will take him in. His only choice was to emigrate, or homeschool his child. He chose homeschooling.

YMCA now infested by MIW?

It been Alleged that YMCA change timing from morning to afternoon and its MC taunt The Game with "We love CPF".

I have no problem of pap arseholes shouting those slogan in their own capacity but the MC of a YMCA event shouting that slogan mean YMCA endorse it staff to provocate the other side. If YMCA become a pap lackey, then I no longer welcome the presence of YMCA.

Poomer

When minister attend the function. A lot of those porlampa peoples will donate and hope to get PBM or BBM. Those tent set up will be on sponser or discounted price. If not why the YMCA invited them???

Wow, that's far fetched. Donate to YMCA and get a PBM.

A more likely scenario is that the YMCA EXCO is filled with pro-PAP members willing to allow the use of YMCA to further the goals of the PAP?

Why did YMCA change the event timing to from morning to afternoon to coincide with the protest?
Why did YMCA bring out special needs children for their dance, knowing full well that protesters were there too? No thought were given for their welfare of the special needs children?
Why were National Park directors and police officers so coincidentally present on a Saturday afternoon in Hong Lim Park?
Why were PAP MPs giving their take on the 'shameful' protest', mere hours after it happen?