• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Great! SG Airline LOST $$$Hundreds of Millions HUAT!

When SIA was founded, old fart made it clear that SIA was a corporate entity to compete in the world stage,,,and it did well,,and to be honest,,the Australia to Singapore route taking SIA is sensible as Qantas and Jetstar is shit,,more expensive,,,etc,,

Just that SIA is now helm by PAP yes men,,,

Runifyouhaveto

When SIA was founded, old fart made it clear that SIA was a corporate entity to compete in the world stage,,,and it did well,,and to be honest,,the Australia to Singapore route taking SIA is sensible as Qantas and Jetstar is shit,,more expensive,,,etc,,

We cannot say that the global air travel business is in a decline or recession. We just happened to lose a lot of market shares to middle east airlines:

Etihad closed a 27% revenue growth in last quarter.
Emirates profits surged 43%, revenue up 13% in last FY.

SIA did well in the past,,but due to it being controlled by PAP yes men,,,they can even read the market changes,,,like u say,,the business is growing,,,if its growing how come SIA is having so much problems,,,for the AUst singapore route,,SIA is still the best, more comfortable, better food etc cos the other airlines are crap,,,,but going to USA etc,,,the middle eastern airlines have done welll

We cannot say that the global air travel business is in a decline or recession. We just happened to lose a lot of market shares to middle east airlines:

In those days, due to the rapid rise in air travel, a used Boeing 747 sometimes cost more than a new one. Airlines who could not wait for their delivery from boeing, used to go to the used plane market to buy their fleet planes, and paid a premium to get immediate delivery. At that time, SQ being the operator of a purely Boeing fleet, and their fleet being pretty new and well maintained simply sold their planes for a capital gain. No need to sell too many, just a couple a year is enough to get a windfall. that was their so call profit.

yeah, the CEO is a sinkie, Koay Peng yen, who spend his entire career in the shipping industry. even graduated with Ocean systems management degree from MIT, and was shipping executive in NOL, as well as in PaxOcean engineering and Pacific Carriers. i still don't know why he was appointed CEO as he knows nothing and has no background in the Aviation industry, much less in the very demanding budget airlines market. this kind of appointment really stinks. i can't believe that Pillay with all his years at SQ would pick this guy to be CEO. And you wonder why they are going under.

This is typical of the PAP and we have seen them do it many times before. Spend millions to start an enterprise, and than put in a totally unqualified person to run it, and than sit back and watch while it loses money. except, its not their money its ours!!

Since I wrote this post, Koay has been fired. PAPsmearer feels bad about it. :mad: ...............................NOT. hahahahahha

I don't believe arab people can make money but more to make it a hub and lure visitors to visit arab state Abu Dabi.

Give them 10 years and see they come falling down.

SIA did well in the past,,but due to it being controlled by PAP yes men,,,they can even read the market changes,,,like u say,,the business is growing,,,if its growing how come SIA is having so much problems,,,for the AUst singapore route,,SIA is still the best, more comfortable, better food etc cos the other airlines are crap,,,,but going to USA etc,,,the middle eastern airlines have done welll

I've flown with other airlines & I don't agree that other airlines are crap.
The fact that SIA is not doing so well shows that they are losing out to the competition

I have plenty of positive experiences with other airlines. Such as being bumped to business when economy class was crowded. When I missed a flight & they simply booked me on an alternative flight without giving me any hassles. Taking care of my oversized package to avoid damaging it...... More important they are also cheaper than SIA:biggrin:

I just saying that for the Spore to Aust route, SIA is the best as its more comfortable, got better food etc,,,the other alternatives are Qantas and Jetstar which is crap,,,,and of course other budget airlines,,

I've flown with other airlines & I don't agree that other airlines are crap.
The fact that SIA is not doing so well shows that they are losing out to the competition

I have plenty of positive experiences with other airlines. Such as being bumped to business when economy class was crowded. When I missed a flight & they simply booked me on an alternative flight without giving me any hassles. Taking care of my oversized package to avoid damaging it...... More important they are also cheaper than SIA:biggrin:

Tuayapeh

when you get PLPs who are useless incompetent and good at only singing what the boss wants to hear ...wtf u thionk you get?

a solid company?

hahahahaha

time to short SIA....only downside risk is Ho Jinx coming in to sweep up all its shares for a premium like what happened in Olam.....

yinyang

U should try and take Qantas,,,,SIA food and service compared to them is like hawker and mid range restaurants..
Runifyouhaveto said:
used to get Hagen Daz ice-cream from SIA economy class. Not even take A380 also dun have. Cabin food is so-so
Think experience depends on routing (itinerary) for comparison, to be objective. Not "just across the board" opinion.

My limited experience with Qantas (and before code-share with BA to Heathrow), makan and cabin crew nothing to shout about. And Qantas in OZ can be picky on check-in luggage. Also, depending on counter staff, on one occassion wanted to validate return re-entry pass for my accompanying colleague who's a SPR.

On some regional routes, even for the short Bkk route, SQ still got sherbet ice cream (not always, not on return). RUN, you may have upset the chiobu stewardess :p

My limited experience with Qantas (and before code-share with BA to Heathrow), makan and cabin crew nothing to shout about. And Qantas in OZ can be picky on check-in luggage. Also, depending on counter staff, on one occassion wanted to validate return re-entry pass for my accompanying colleague who's a SPR....

I have heard many complaints that SIA is quick to penalized a passenger for exceeding their weight allowance even if you are flying business. I suspect it is SOP to generate extra $

Runifyouhaveto

Singapore Airlines will not charge premium fares for India-bound A380 flights
http://www.travelbizmonitor.com/sin...emium-fares-for-indiabound-a380-flights-24069

Singapore Airlines Ltd. (SIA) has said that it would not charge passengers premium fares for flying on the Airbus A380, which it will press into service on flights to Mumbai and Delhi starting May 30. David Lau, General Manager (India), Singapore Airlines, said the airline was looking at long-term business in India and does not want to be “too greedy” at this point of time, P R Sanjai reported for Mint.

“We are neither charging premium to fly A380 superjumbo nor offering promotional fares. We are in this business for a long time and we are present in India for 44 years. In fact, we are offering ten per cent discount for members of our loyalty programme,” Lau said.

RUN is fainting.......