• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Project 2016: Vote out Lee Hsien Loong (SBF)

xingguy

So which one do you want? a meal at hawker centre or restorant?

Dr Lily Neo:
Sir, I want to check with the Minister again when he said on the strict criteria on the entitlement for PA recipients. May I ask him what is his definition of “subsistence living”? Am I correct to say that, out of $260 per month for PA recipients, $100 goes to rental, power supply and S&C and leaving them with only $5 a day to live on? Am I correct to say that any basic meal in any hawker centre is already $2.50 to $3.00 per meal? Therefore, is it too much to ask for just three meals a day as an entitlement for the PA recipients?

Dr Vivian Balakrishnan:
How much do you want? Do you want three meals in a hawker centre, food court or restaurant?

LEGEND

Dr Lily Neo:
Sir, I want to check with the Minister again when he said on the strict criteria on the entitlement for PA recipients. May I ask him what is his definition of “subsistence living”? Am I correct to say that, out of $260 per month for PA recipients, $100 goes to rental, power supply and S&C and leaving them with only $5 a day to live on? Am I correct to say that any basic meal in any hawker centre is already $2.50 to $3.00 per meal? Therefore, is it too much to ask for just three meals a day as an entitlement for the PA recipients?

Dr Vivian Balakrishnan:
How much do you want? Do you want three meals in a hawker centre, food court or restaurant?

He revealed that Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong then asked him if he would have bid for the YOG if he had known it would cost more than S$300 million.

To this, Dr Balakrishnan said that he would still do it, and had no regrets.

Sinkies, song boh?

xingguy

Source: The Online Citizen

MP shocked – S’porean faculty staff in tertiary institutions are minority

nus2.jpg

In Parliament earlier in March, Member of Parliament for Marine Parade GRC, Seah Kian Peng expressed shock at the number of foreigners who have staffed the faculties in Singapore’s tertiary institutions.

He was speaking on the merits of “long-term thinking and planning”, giving the example of the roles of our universities.

Mr Seah related how one of his colleagues had told him “how rare it was for his daughter to hear a Singaporean accent when being taught by NUS professors.”

“I was actually ready to dismiss the claims but then I heard it again — this time from a student at NTU,” Mr Seah said.

After inquiring with the Ministry of Education for the numbers, he found out that Singaporean faculty members made up the minority in certain departments in the National University of Singapore (NUS) and the Nanyang Technological University (NTU)

- Political Science department of NUS, 28% of the 25 faculty members are S’poreans.

- NTU’s S. Rajaratnam School of International Studies, 41% of the 29 faculty members are S’poreans.

- NTU Wee Kim Wee School of Communications and Information, 44% of the 48 faculty members are S’porean.

- NUS Lee Kuan Yew School of Public Policy, 46% of the 82 faculty members are S’poreans.

“I know it that in our universities, as in other professions, there needs to be open competition,” Mr Seah told Parliament. “But the percentages are surely astonishing — only a bit more than one quarter of the professors at the Political Science department in NUS are Singaporeans!”

Besides the presence of a majority in faculty staff, the shortage of places in tertiary institutions for Singaporeans has also been a point of unhappiness among Singaporeans.

IN 2011, the Minister for Education disclosed in Parliament that the number of foreign students in the tertiary institutions was 18 per cent.

According to the New York Times in August 2012, “The government has capped the number of international students at 20 percent of the undergraduate intake for the past decade. In 2011, they made up 18 percent, with most coming from China, India and other Southeast Asian countries, according to the Ministry of Education.

“The ministry said in a statement that it would maintain current levels “to facilitate better integration between Singaporeans and international students.”

The government had announced that the cap of 20 per cent foreign enrolment will remain but 2,000 new university places will be added for Singaporean students by 2015.

On Friday, the Mr heng Swee Keat, the Minister of Education, said he will add 1,000 places this year.

This means there will be 14,000 university places for locals, 1,000 more than the 13,000 places in 2012.

“We had originally aimed to reach this level by 2015, so we are a year ahead of schedule,” Mr Heng said.

————–

Here is an extract of Mr Seah’s speech in Parliament earlier in March:

“One of my colleagues, who is studying at the National University of Singapore, told me how rare it was for his daughter to hear a Singaporean accent when being taught by NUS professors. I was actually ready to dismiss the claims but then I heard it again — this time from a student at NTU.

“So, through Parliament, I asked MOE for some figures. I found out in the Political Science department of NUS, 28% of the 25 faculty members are Singaporeans. In NTU’s S. Rajaratnam School of International Studies, 41% of the 29 faculty members are Singaporeans. In the NTU Wee Kim Wee School of Communications and Information, 44% of the 48 faculty members are Singaporean. And in the NUS Lee Kuan Yew School of Public Policy, 46% of the 82 faculty members are Singaporeans.

“I do not know what the international norms are — the Ministry of Education does not have comparable figures for UK and US universities. I agree that our universities need to be competitive and internationally well recognised. I know it that in our universities, as in other professions, there needs to be open competition. But the percentages are surely astonishing — only a bit more than one quarter of the professors at the Political Science department in NUS are Singaporeans!”​

melzp

All these Academies of Foreign Studies(eg.ISEAS) need a 2nd relook. ie.Retrenchment.
What do they contribute to our society n community. Only when there are turmoil, disaster,
election, etc that these native professors are asked for their views on television.

Gostan

"MP shocked – S’porean faculty staff in tertiary institutions are minority"

"In Parliament earlier in March, Member of Parliament for Marine Parade GRC, Seah Kian Peng expressed shock at the number of foreigners who have staffed the faculties in Singapore’s tertiary institutions."

Now why are you shocked, you are not on the ground? never take MRT? never go lunch hour at Golden Shoe?

LEGEND

"In Parliament earlier in March, Member of Parliament for Marine Parade GRC, Seah Kian Peng expressed shock at the number of foreigners who have staffed the faculties in Singapore’s tertiary institutions."

Now why are you shocked, you are not on the ground? never take MRT? never go lunch hour at Golden Shoe?

I will be shocked if they are not shocked. :p

Sinkees siao liaoz. More 'HELP' is on the way after Pinky's holidays. Last time Pinky said 'Increase GST to help the Poor". This time don't know 'HELP' who? Or help themselves?

Stompiss

Woman from China jailed for vice had earned $18,450 from prostitutes in just over 2 months

Published on Mar 28, 2014
By Elena Chong

A woman from China who procured five women for prostitution and earned $18,450 from them for 21/2 months was jailed a total of 14 months on Friday.

Zhang Changyan, 24, who faced 21 vice-related charges and two immigration offences, had admitted to nine charges including detaining two of the prostitutes against their will.

A district court heard that between April and June last year, Zhang managed a Lorong 7 Geylang premises as a brothel. She charged five women, aged between 25 and 43, $80 to $120 a day to use the place for their prostitution activities.

Investigation further showed that she would take sexually provocative photographs of these Chinese nationals and upload them on mobile phone application We Chat to advertise their sexual services.

Get the full story from The Straits Times.

Bytheway, Gostan is singlish for Go Astern. :wink:

A woman from China who procured five women for prostitution and earned $18,450 from them for 21/2 months was jailed a total of 14 months on Friday.

Wow, 姑娘真会挣钱!:o

Kuailan

LHL is the most useless PM Singapore ever had. :oIo:

Yes! he cost inflation by jacking up 5% to7% GST!! 2% for the POOR but I see the poor gets POORER!!

I see that he out source bloody m&d from Malaysia to summon motorists -- Fine fine = Money money!!

Yes! He's a Mathematician now looks like becoming a Magician Now you see! Now you don't!

LEGEND

Yes! he cost inflation by jacking up 5% to7% GST!! 2% for the POOR but I see the poor gets POORER!!

I see that he out source bloody m&d from Malaysia to summon motorists -- Fine fine = Money money!!

Yes! He's a Mathematician now looks like becoming a Magician Now you see! Now you don't!

Last decade was the worst for Sinkies since Independence. No prize for guessing who's the PM for the last 10 years.