• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Kuok’s SCMP: Restricting Migrant Labour is Best Way to Alleviate Poverty

Asterix

Fairly paid HK leader resists Employers' demands for foreign labour
While Sinkies’ grossly overpaid leader does the exact opposite
To the detriment of People who he is supposed to be serving
No eye see Sinkies so daft and ball-less to accept such nonsense

Asterix

Leung Chun-ying successfully resists employers' migrant labour demands

It would be easy to dismiss the chief executive's latest policy address as just the usual staff New Year party - everyone gets a prize - except for one thing.

Hunt and peck through that speech as I might, I could find no reference to opening the borders wide to migrant workers in order to address employer complaints about critical labour shortages.

I thought I might find it under the heading of Development of the Construction Industry as our government bureaucrats have occasionally sung the chorus to the employer lament in this sector - we need to bring in more foreign workers if we are to meet our targets for infrastructure projects.

But, no, it wasn't there. This paragraph in the speech contained only exhortations to raising productivity and using more advanced technology. All it said about labour shortage is that more effort is needed to tackle the problem. It didn't propose a solution in migrant labour.

I then thought I would find it in the tourism paragraph but what I really took note of here was an admission that tourism "can create a large number of jobs for lower-skilled workers".

How interesting to see government admit it at last. In a wealthy city with low unemployment we have designated as a "pillar industry" a low-wage sector best suited to poverty-stricken start-up economies with high jobless rates.

What the chief executive said here, however, was that we should focus on high-spending visitors in order to "achieve the greatest economic benefits with limited resources". This certainly suggests very strongly that hotels will just have to grin and bear it if they cannot find enough waiters and chambermaids.

All of this I find welcome news, so welcome, in fact, that I think Mr Leung hardly needed to devote quite so much of his speech to poverty alleviation. His objectives in relieving poverty are much better met by that simple measure of keeping the doors shut to migrant labour and forcing employers to bid up for what they can find in the existing labour pool.

The chart [click on the link below to see it] demonstrates just how closely rising wages can be linked to tight labour supply. Few economic indicators show quite so close an inverse correlation in this town as unemployment and changes in the nominal wage index.

I actually think the HK$3 billion Low Income Working Family Allowance, which is expected to benefit more than 700,000 people, will be less effective in alleviating poverty.

Assistance of this kind can achieve its objectives with a smaller number of people but, when made a social programme of this scale, it encourages employers to pay their lowest-paid workers even less on the cynical expectation that government will make it up to them.

This is certainly how it has proved in public housing, a poverty-alleviation programme that, because of its scale, has effectively become an employer wage subsidy. Employers naturally pay as little as the market will bear and, if government covers housing costs, the labour market will bear a lower wage.

But it is only really true in an environment of ample availability of labour. With an unemployment rate of only 3.3 per cent, virtual full employment for an economy with social welfare, it is less certain.

Then scarce labour supply begins to play a key role in meeting the balance of demand and the fulcrum of the wage scale inevitably moves to higher wages.

It is the best way of reducing income inequality in any economy and Mr Leung seems to have found it at last. What is more, he faced persistent employer demands to open the doors to migrant labour and he fended them off.

I thus rate it a commendable policy address, not for what it did but for what it didn't.

http://www.scmp.com/business/econom...successfully-resists-employers-migrant-labour

HK govt not same as greedy pappy govt.
Hongkies go into politics to serve and contribute to society....vile pappies do it as a career advancement and road to riches.

escher

HK govt not same as greedy pappy govt.
Hongkies go into politics to serve and contribute to society....vile pappies do it as a career advancement and road to riches.

Sinkies got what they voted for and what they fucking deserved.

TO REMAIN HEAD DOWN DOWN AND ARSEHOLES UP HIGH HIGH TO BE FUCKED AND SCREWED BY SMEAR OF SHIT ON SOLE OF SHOE LKY AND HIS PAP AND PAP DOGGIES SUCH AS STEFFYCHUN

Hong Kong will end up like japan, which is not a bad thing.
Australian businesses are seeking 60k skilled workers annually giving the excuse that locals are not bothered to work in certain fields.
manpower agents gains the most if foreign workers are allowed in and the HR department of factories probably get kickbacks for employing them, making it even harder for locals to gain employment even if the pay is equal.

Asterix

I am very pleased to have received a "friend request" from a fucktard using a newly created nick called YouThisHamKarChan, which hasn't even made a single post. Goes to show that I must be irritating the Lightning brigade and their masters. I will be worried if they didn't use underhand methods such as these to try and irritate me back. This is just to tell them that I am not irritated but rather pleased and will be make more posts like the one that started this thread. Next post will be a bonus article from the South China Morning Post. Expect more to come and it should irritate YouThisHamKarChan and his masters. Can't wait for July when the Occupy Central movement is expected to start - even more articles to post here!

Asterix

YouThisHamKarChan contributed this article to Sammyboy on behalf of the Lightning Brigade. Please give him a pet on the back or a kick in the ass, whichever suits your fancy.

Eddie Ng vows to ensure students on overseas scholarships return to serve

A judging committee will be set up to ensure that top pupils awarded a new scholarship for studying at renowned overseas universities will return after graduation, the education minister said yesterday.

The scholarship, announced in the policy address, will award up to 100 secondary school graduates each year a maximum of HK$250,000. Another means-tested grant of up to HK$200,000 a year will be added for those in financial difficulties.

Concerns were raised as soon as the measure was announced on Wednesday that public money would be wasted if the recipients never returned.

"We definitely want them back," Secretary for Education Eddie Ng Hak-kim said, calling the scholarship "Hong Kong-centric".

"Whoever is interested will need to convince [the committee] that he or she will eventually be able to come back, serve and contribute to Hong Kong."

Ng said that the scheme would be effective until the 2018-19 school year, when the government would review its effectiveness and decide whether it should continue.

Questions about the scheme were among several that lingered after Chief Executive Leung Chung-ying announced proposals covering education, including more funding, scholarships, subsidies, tertiary places and equal education opportunities.

Despite Leung's promise that the city's first Chinese-as-a-second-language curriculum would begin in the new school year that starts in September, an advocacy group for ethnic minorities said the plan was so vague it wondered if it would differ from the present framework.

"It seems the policy address reflects the will of the most senior government officials rather than the genuine commitment and will of the Education Bureau," Unison acting executive director Holing Yip Ho-ling said.

"The measures mentioned don't seem to depart much from the bureau's current practices."

Deputy Secretary for Education Michelle Li Mei-sheung said the framework would give ethnic minority pupils four options: a curriculum for those participating in the Diploma of Secondary Education exams (DSE); an applied Chinese language subject under the DSE with recognised qualifications to be implemented early next year; a vocational Chinese training programme; and other, international Chinese language qualifications.

http://www.scmp.com/news/hong-kong/...e-students-overseas-scholarships-return-serve

da dick

Hong Kong will end up like japan, which is not a bad thing.
Australian businesses are seeking 60k skilled workers annually giving the excuse that locals are not bothered to work in certain fields.
manpower agents gains the most if foreign workers are allowed in and the HR department of factories probably get kickbacks for employing them, making it even harder for locals to gain employment even if the pay is equal.

fuck aussies lah. even aussie expats are stealing our jobs!!! disgraceful!!!

Asterix

Wow, they reactivate ChewCheng, because of this post on dishwasher salary in HK, without uncontrolled immigration policy brought on by overpaid MiniSTARS. Must upz this post:

Genuine case of SGD 2,667 per month for Dishwasher!

Gist of article in Chinese (below) is that HK's unemployment rate dropped to 3.1%, a record low since 1997. Since HK does not import foreign labour indiscriminately, this has led to higher wages for the man in the street. An operator of a chain of Japanese restaurants has increased basic salary for dish washers from HKD 12K to 16K per month. That is SGD 2,667 (at 1 to 6 exchange rate) for a lowly dishwasher. Employer says it is still cheaper than hiring temps.

$1.6萬 食肆聘洗碗男
失業率3.1% 自97年新低

19/02/2014

職場向晴,本港最新失業率再跌0.1個百分點至3.1%,是自97年新低。有人力顧問表示,今年初收的職位空缺,較去年同期升逾四成,有飲食集團以逾1.6萬元聘洗碗工,成功吸引中青男士洗碗。

政府統計處昨公布最新失業率為3.1%,較上次微跌0.1個百分點;就業不足率亦微跌0.1個百分點至1.3%。

職場招聘意慾回升,但目前飲食業仍有請人難問題,尤其厭惡性的洗碗工,然而只要高薪聘請,仍可吸引不論男女中青入行。

福樓集團執行董事黃傑龍表示,自去年10月起,公司旗下的日本餐廳洗碗工月薪由以往約12000元加至最高16500元(連勤工、獎金等),即使無獲額外獎金,每月普遍都有15500元,吸引年齡30餘歲男士入職。

下月跳槽高峰期

黃說:「以往絕大部分洗碗工都由50至60歲的中年婦女擔任,由於加薪後薪金吸引,今年新年期間派利是,發現新入職的洗碗員工有30至40餘歲的本港中青男女。」黃指人工大幅上升,可以穩定人手,同時減少聘用散工,「散工時薪貴,時薪一般45元至50元,寧願加人工聘用固定長工」。

中原人力資源顧問有限公司董事總經理周綺萍指,今年職位空缺較去年同期升四成半,以金融、資訊科技、零售及酒店中層職位最多,料下月踏入跳槽高峰期。

「今年初面試安排較前年同期急升三至四成。」她謂,銀行及航空業皆有好轉。

ManpowerGroup大中華區董事總經理徐玉珊稱,經濟未全面復甦,今年加薪及派花紅情況非特別好,故上班族不再集中農曆年後跳槽,但職位空缺較去年同期有增加。

勞工及福利局局長張建宗稱,受惠農曆新年期間消費暢旺,令就業情況改善。他又指相信失業率短期處於低水平。

中大全球經濟及金融研究所常務所長莊太量指,失業率跌至3.1%,反映願意工作的人已出來工作,已近「全民就業」。他稱現時市場工資高,仍吸引家庭主婦外出工作,料今年有機會跌至2.8%或2.9%水平。

http://www.skypost.hk/港聞/新聞頭條/20140219/001/$1.6萬 食肆聘洗碗男/128200

Asterix

Only got time to translate headline
Three tricks by Hongkie restaurants to attract employees
Sinkie two tarzen and sickty dollar salary for dishwasher
Major increase in working space
Air conditioning for dishwasher!

How is this possible?
Answer in the second last paragraph of article
In 2013, employers applied for 4,410 workers to be imported
Only 40% were approved
Hongkie Ministry also has 26 categories of work
Not allowed to apply for imported labour

洗碗工難求 食肆3招搶人
月薪1.6萬 倍增工作空間 裝冷氣

早前有食肆申請輸入外勞當洗碗工,被勞顧會勞方成員反對,洗碗工是否很難請?有飲食集團以月薪1.6萬元、倍增工作空間及加裝冷氣招徠,不單吸引廚房幫工轉行,亦有80後年輕人願意兼職。

據勞工處數字,去年有逾17萬飲食業空缺,創歷年新高,以樓面部長、侍應、傳菜員最多,洗碗工排第三,有逾7,000個空缺。餐飲聯業協會會長黃家和指,最低工資徹底改變職場生態,行業流失大量洗碗工,影響食肆運作,贊成政府輸人外勞,解決人手不足情況。

身兼最低工資委員會的叙福樓集團執行董事黃傑龍稱,現時新移民婦女可補充基層職位,自從公司以1.6萬元請洗碗工,多了男性入行。惟他不認同工會指,只要老闆願加人工,就有人入行:「洗碗加到五萬蚊一個月,一定有人爭住做,但到時乾炒牛河要168蚊一碟。」

80後時薪46元做兼職

專營日式食肆的株式會社有限公司區域經理蔣成邦稱,集團自2012年尾開始以1.6萬元聘洗碗工,並在新店減少店面面積擴大洗碗空間兼加裝冷氣,改善工作環境,出招後查詢倍增,同時有廚房幫工被高薪吸引轉行,亦有80後需供樓的年輕人以時薪46元兼職洗碗,惟仍是請不夠人。他指集團19間食肆基本需每店至少一名全職洗碗工,惟現時只有13人,需靠兼職工幫手,建議政府短期輸入外勞解決業界人手不足問題。

飲食業職工總會秘書長黃必文指,自沙士後業界不斷精簡架構,洗碗工序由以往三人負責變成現時一人「一腳踢」,工作量大增薪金增幅卻有限,低技術中年人士也拒絕入行,建議政府督促業界檢討,改善工人待遇,不應隨便放寬輸入外勞。

港大社工及社會行政學系榮譽教授周永新則不反對輸入外勞,但強調政府需做好配套。「如增加兼職職位,釋放婦女勞動力,政府增設『外勞稅』,以稅款津貼低收入工人,及提供培訓引領基層工人上流。」

申外勞 勞方一致反對

早前有食肆計劃以「補充勞工計劃」申請輸入十名外勞當洗碗工,被勞顧會勞方成員一致反對,惟資方認為可以「開錄燈」,「現時真的請不到人嘛!」

勞工處去年收到申請輸入外勞人數達4,410人,只得逾四成獲批。計劃目前規定26個工種不能申請,包括收銀、侍應,洗碗工卻不在此限。申請僱主首先要在港公開招聘四星期,若未能聘任足夠人手,則可透過計劃申請輸入,惟六名勞顧會中勞方成員全力反對,在公開招聘一步前已否決其申請。

資方成員之一的施榮懷贊成,他稱其友人為日本餐廳老闆,曾以日薪600元聘洗碗工,時薪為75元仍無人問津。勞方成員之一梁籌庭指,今次是首次收到洗碗工申請外勞,擔心批准會創先河。

http://www.skypost.hk/港聞/新聞頭條/20140224/001/洗碗工難求 食肆3招搶人/128567

Asterix

If that is indeed the case, then there is no poverty in North Korea because there is zero migrant labour there.

It is clear that North Korea is not a normal economy
Writer is permitted to assume that his readers know this
If really wanted to be crystal clear beyond shadow of a doubt
Might add "ceteris paribus" - all other factors being equal

gingerlyn

If that is indeed the case, then there is no poverty in North Korea because there is zero migrant labour there.

it is certainly not an intellectual discourse from you as North Korea is a planned economy.
Instead you may want to compare it with Switzerland, Austria, Vatican North Europe which have insignificant amount of foreign labour.

it is certainly not an intellectual discourse from you as North Korea is a planned economy.
Instead you may want to compare it with Switzerland, Austria, Vatican North Europe which have insignificant amount of foreign labour.

The Swiss are so pissed off with the flood or migrant labour that they recently had a referendum to drastically reduce the numbers.

For some reason, Singaporeans have this impression that their own country is going to dogs while the Swiss and the Nordic states are some sort of Utopia. Nothing could be further from the truth.

All the problems that Singapore is facing are mirrored in the EU to varying degrees. Some countries are even worse off in that they are facing a flood of refugees who simply arrive by boat and refuse to leave.

gingerlyn

The Swiss are so pissed off with the flood or migrant labour that they recently had a referendum to drastically reduce the numbers.

For some reason, Singaporeans have this impression that their own country is going to dogs while the Swiss and the Nordic states are some sort of Utopia. Nothing could be further from the truth.

All the problems that Singapore is facing are mirrored in the EU to varying degrees. Some countries are even worse off in that they are facing a flood of refugees who simply arrive by boat and refuse to leave.

this is very misleading from you and please do not cheat sinkie and please read this

http://www.swissworld.org/en/economy/workers_and_jobs/foreign_workers/

In 2002 a new law came into force allowing the free movement of workers between Switzerland and the old members of the European Union and European Free Trade Area. An initial report on the consequences of this law, issued in 2005, showed that - contrary to some initial fears - it had had little impact on either employment figures or on wages.

http://www.singsupplies.com/showthr...grant-Labour-is-Best-Way-to-Alleviate-Poverty

this is very misleading from you and please do not cheat sinkie and please read this

http://www.swissworld.org/en/economy/workers_and_jobs/foreign_workers/

In 2002 a new law came into force allowing the free movement of workers between Switzerland and the old members of the European Union and European Free Trade Area. An initial report on the consequences of this law, issued in 2005, showed that - contrary to some initial fears - it had had little impact on either employment figures or on wages.

http://www.singsupplies.com/showthr...grant-Labour-is-Best-Way-to-Alleviate-Poverty

You can hunt down articles to quote to try to prop up your claims but the fact that the Swiss people themselves initiated a referendum on the issue which has revealed widespread support for a cull in the numbers speaks for itself.

If free flow of labour had no impact, the issue would never have been raised in the first place.

Asterix

wasnt the 2k dishwasher n 7 k taxi driver case debunked?

Debunk your head lah
Uncle you can read Chinese or not
Even if you Baba I also put down
The gist in England which is
SGD 2.6K for dishwasher in HONG KONG
Largely due to restrictive immigration policy
For low wage segment of the market
Hongkie newspaper no dare to tell blatant lies one
Why? Because there is a free press if untrue
Your competitor newspapers will tear you to pieces

The Problem with Hk news papers is they will criticise the gahmen etc, but they dont criticise the real culprits which is the central gahmen,,,u never heard of these papers having self censorship so as not to offend the commies,,but have to admit, the HK gahmen is dominated by the rich, land lords club and pro commies, but they did not open the flood gates,,or the flood gates is open but not as wide as Singapore,,,or is it?

[video=youtube;2DxUEwxrjko]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2DxUEwxrjko&list=PLyQwHft0jy6ddfc-1HzjTwFEpRDa2DGGO&feature=c4-overview-vl[/video]

Debunk your head lah
Uncle you can read Chinese or not
Even if you Baba I also put down
The gist in England which is
SGD 2.6K for dishwasher in HONG KONG
Largely due to restrictive immigration policy
For low wage segment of the market
Hongkie newspaper no dare to tell blatant lies one
Why? Because there is a free press if untrue
Your competitor newspapers will tear you to pieces