• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Living in JB 3 (Johore)

Status
Not open for further replies.

DorisPing

just sharing...

http://www.iproperty.com.my/news/8175/7-anti-burglar-security-measures

7 Anti-burglar Security Measures
Posted Date: Jan 15, 2014
By:

Source: chicagoagentmagazine.com

Home security measures have become an indispensable albeit pricey necessity in the eyes of many homeowners today. This is particularly true for those who spend a great deal of time away from their houses or are about to take a long family trip, which means leaving them empty and thus very vulnerable to break-ins. As the Chinese New Year holidays are around the corner, here are several simple and cheap ways you can minimise the risk of your home being broken into by burglars.

1) Lock everything up and stow away your ladders
The most important step that everyone knows in regards to safeguarding your home is of course to lock all the doors and windows, but many homeowners get a little lax when it comes to the second-storey windows or if they live in an apartment or condominium. If you live in a landed property and keep your handyman equipment outside, bring in any ladders you may have as burglars are not averse to using your own tools against you. For high-rise homeowners living on higher floors, thieves can find creative ways to reach your home so be vigilant about those locks.

2) Be careful what you leave in the trash
A lot of people are unaware that the contents of their garbage bins are essentially a catalogue of the contents in their homes. This is largely due to the fact that we dispose of the packaging materials of the items we buy for ourselves without a second thought. Cardboard boxes that used to contain your new television or laptop are clear indicators to burglars of what you keep inside your home, giving them a good idea of whether there is anything worth stealing. If possible, take these boxes directly to the nearest trash or recycling centre to avoid this.

3) Put your newspaper and mail deliveries on hold
Nothing says “no one is living in this home right now” more than a pile of newspapers and letters sitting uncollected on and in your mailbox, and that makes your home an inviting target for burglars to enrich themselves on your valuables. Before you leave on a long trip, call your post office and newspaper deliveryman to tell them to hold your mail and newspapers until you get back.

4) Minimise the number of dark areas around your home
Just like the police in your favourite television shows, burglars conduct their own surveillance before they break into the home of their target. Dark areas, particularly those near your windows, are perfect places for them to get an initial idea of your daily schedule as well as the layout of your home while going unnoticed. If you have plants near your home, ensure that they do not create such hiding spots, and consider investing in some motion detector lights directed at these locations.

5) Ensure that your security systems are out of sight
Alarm systems and other such security measures you can install in your home are not infallible even though you wish they were. If the burglars in question are resourceful enough, they will likely be able to find a way to circumvent your alarms especially if they know what make and model they are dealing with. As such, ensure that your security systems are not near any windows or close to mirrors that will reflect their image in such a way that they can be seen from the outside.

6) Restrain yourself when it comes to your social media postings
Many people today have developed a habit of sharing everything they do on their Facebook, Twitter and other such social media channels. While your intentions may simply be to share your enjoyment and latest adventures with your family and friends, there are others who will benefit from this to your detriment. Telling the world about the fabulous trip overseas you are currently having also means informing burglars that your home is currently unoccupied and ripe for the picking. It is for the best that you focus on enjoying yourself and only share your stories and pictures after you are back home.

7) Leave the lights on
Another obvious sign that no one is currently at home is when the lights inside remain switched off for several days in a row, a welcome sight for potential burglars. House-sitters – a trusted person who will stay in your home and help avoid this problem – are an option for solving this problem, but you can also install a timer which will turn your lights on and off throughout the day based on a preset schedule.

Gardener

Yday left Spore @ 9+ based on the cameras.

Surprising both sides clear.

Reached MY HOME in less than an hour.

Sometimes previously iv experienced jams close to midnight as well.

Gardener

Hi Doris, talking about motion detector lights they are a good idea but hard to find heavy duty and reliable ones.

I spent $$$ on Phillips and it gave way sooner than expected.

Maybe a timer based light that turns on every night at poorly lit spots as per ur article is a good idea.

Frodo

Today I drove car to Singapore at 5am, JB customs clear, bridge clear, but at Singapore check passport counter stuck at spot for almost 50min. Peng San! Reached secondary clearance ICA officer ask me to take passport see Duty Officer. I asked what's the problem and he said said number of people in car not the same as reflected on "4D" board. I asked how many people is being reported in the car, he said zero. I say, wah my car drive by itself fully auto hor. What a waste of time.:(

Gardener

Singapore super efficient country.. dunno what they trying to do....

if Malaysia responsible for jam we try to understand by saying aiyoh they always like that.

But if Spore side jam then ofcourse it's ultra efficiency, security, need to protect our borders and what not.:*::*:

Today I drove car to Singapore at 5am, JB customs clear, bridge clear, but at Singapore check passport counter stuck at spot for almost 50min. Peng San! Reached secondary clearance ICA officer ask me to take passport see Duty Officer. I asked what's the problem and he said said number of people in car not the same as reflected on "4D" board. I asked how many people is being reported in the car, he said zero. I say, wah my car drive by itself fully auto hor. What a waste of time.:(

crystal_tiong

i saw traffic fb grp that u must collect a slip from the clearance officer , e slip will indicate how many paxs in yr car.
Those never get , same situation as you.

Daydreamer

jasonjst

so means what arr? my fengshui no good. NE better or SW better? what is diff between wang ding and cai?

except after i buy my house i found out i bought the right house (facing, quadrant) based on my birthdate. heh heh.

wang ding mean have lots of babies , wang cai mean have lots of money lah , I choose the second one . Then you want to sell , buyer must have the same birthdate as you is it ?

potter

so means what arr? my fengshui no good. NE better or SW better? what is diff between wang ding and cai?

except after i buy my house i found out i bought the right house (facing, quadrant) based on my birthdate. heh heh.

Kns..tot u dun believe..:p

东北靠山.
旺丁~ 人多, 旺财~just look @$... no la, Is got $$. Both good. ref to地运, 走八运.
"地运的判断多用于投资,屋运的判断多用于旺人"
Yr $ already pa pa liao, go for 桃花la. Haha..

Status
Not open for further replies.