• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Patient seeks private treatment due to long wait at public hospital

t0nychat

Public Hospitals in Malaysia are much better. Is almost free, short waiting time, courteous staff and world class treatment.

Sporeans are learning the hard way that you can't just vote for some party because they have been around a long, long,...long time.

Maybe next time they will consider the "real issues" instead of being blinded by promises of HDB upgrades, handouts, .....

Himawari

It is also suspected that many cancers are caused by motor vehicle pollution. Instead of cursing cyclists, all Sinkies should be embracing the activity with a passion and leaving their cars at home as much as possible. By all means drive if you're traveling long distances. For a 20km trip to work, nothing beats cycling.

You know how fucking hot it is here?

hockbeng

Perhaps the question one should ask is

1) how many Drs are standby at A & E vs the Population?

2) And how many Drs are available at the A & E in each hospital? what if there is only 1 or 2?

3) How come the triage in Spore is so backward?

4) How many foreigners are at A & E?

Ok 1 suggestion, for A & E to be more efficient,,is there like a senior nurse etc that can assess the situation for each patient,,,this one has minor cuts and bruises, so go down the bottom of the list,,this one broken leg,,go up the list etc,,for minor cuts and bruises etc, surely the nurse can offer medical treatment. Like stitching etc.

To get more locals as Drs etc,,perhaps the gahmen should offer a system whereby nurses who are good,,be given the route to become qualified Drs,,like a specialised four year course after having 5 years nursing experience etc,,,

I think thats because everyone loves to run down the healthcare professionals in the Gov hospitals.
Being over worked by hoards to demanding patients doesnt help.
The best Drs will leave aggravating the situation.

There are tons of good family Drs out there but this resource isnt used efficiently, both by the Gov and the Public

soIsee

I agree with you on this, any medical public system in the world not only have long but extremely long waiting list. Voting the PAP out in 2016, or 2015...will not solve the problem...reducing their percentage will. This will put spurs in their hides, be on their toes...& SERVE THE PEOPLE.

It is very simple, you have the money, you get the best, medical attention & facilities...you are a common average Joe, live life healthy, avoiding the common medical problems that will besiege us, Diabetes, High Blood Pressure..that leads to strokes & heart problems etc..

But people do not understand, they expect to be treated at the medical fascilities well, quickly & at the best at a fraction of a cost...their expectations are too much...no government can match that....but we can work towards getting a government to work hard FOR US, giving us medical facilities that are timely & at a cost that are affordable.

These means a change in the way we vote...we will get what we want...the best of what we will have...

As I can tell once the PAP linked hospital looked at your record and they see you are a PRIVATE FEE payiny patient,
one will feel they are very well attended to when they come in thru their A & E.

Of course one look at your address in the I.D helps to smooth the process.

But I guess ppl like you got to join Kok Leong to experience the shit first! LOL

kingrant

It all comes back to the supply of doctors and if you back up even more, to the quantity/quality control of medical undergrads.

I understand that doctors are in short supply, and the govt has to allow in cheaper hungrier foreign doctors from India. At the same time, the govt sets a quota on the number of local medical undergrads every year, when many more actually applied to join the medical profession. Those unable to get in migrate to Australia etc. Why then does the govt allow so many who aspired to be doctors to be driven away?

Semaj2357

It all comes back to the supply of doctors and if you back up even more, to the quantity/quality control of medical undergrads.

I understand that doctors are in short supply, and the govt has to allow in cheaper hungrier foreign doctors from India. At the same time, the govt sets a quota on the number of local medical undergrads every year, when many more actually applied to join the medical profession. Those unable to get in migrate to Australia etc. Why then does the govt allow so many who aspired to be doctors to be driven away?

coupled to the fact that foreigners are given partial scholarships (and bonded thereafter in our hospitals to gain experience and then move back home or to greener pastures) over locals makes it so much easier to bond when it comes to 2016.

As I can tell once the PAP linked hospital looked at your record and they see you are a PRIVATE FEE payiny patient,
one will feel they are very well attended to when they come in thru their A & E.

Of course one look at your address in the I.D helps to smooth the process.

But I guess ppl like you got to join Kok Leong to experience the shit first! LOL

We all know this,you have money, you have connections, you are "members", the treatment is different. For example, I got a referral doctor to go A&E for some scary BP readings...need I say..how fast it took etc...for the record shows PRIVATE PATIENT...

My point is, we do not expect, immediate or special class attention or medication, but efficient, affordable & approachable medical treatment at a reasonable time. What is you are not in the category of PRIVATE or "members"....the health service must work towards that.

Of course, nothing is equal...we will still be like Oliver, asking for that extra bowl of 'gruel'...but please can you attend to me first!?:p

numero uno

I agree with you on this, any medical public system in the world not only have long but extremely long waiting list. Voting the PAP out in 2016, or 2015...will not solve the problem...reducing their percentage will. This will put spurs in their hides, be on their toes...& SERVE THE PEOPLE.

It is very simple, you have the money, you get the best, medical attention & facilities...you are a common average Joe, live life healthy, avoiding the common medical problems that will besiege us, Diabetes, High Blood Pressure..that leads to strokes & heart problems etc..

But people do not understand, they expect to be treated at the medical fascilities well, quickly & at the best at a fraction of a cost...their expectations are too much...no government can match that....but we can work towards getting a government to work hard FOR US, giving us medical facilities that are timely & at a cost that are affordable.

These means a change in the way we vote...we will get what we want...the best of what we will have...

well said. this lee guy the complainer must be one of the daft sinkies. whate makes him so special? in US or UK or even HK to wait for 12 to 24 hours for a doctor to attend to you in a public hosp is the NORM. he must be living under a cococnut shell. No garmen in the world would bother. it's like flying. no money fly budget or cattle class , don't cow beh cow bu. got money fly business class, no need waiting. now that's th norm for all cuntries. only stupid sinkies complain. no wonder Tiger airways full of complain

your points are well acknowledged.

singaporeans should be grateful that our healthcare system is affordable and approachable. it is one of the best in the world despite all our limitations.

bryanlim1972

My point is, we do not expect, immediate or special class attention or medication, but efficient, affordable & approachable medical treatment at a reasonable time. What is you are not in the category of PRIVATE or "members"....the health service must work towards that.

you have a soul! and there i was thinking almost everyone here was just a script :p

To be fair, hospital a&e staff not experience. I was admitted for a&e. Luckily the doctor on duty got real experience to see my case as real emergency. Think if now I admit to a&e, surely surrender ic.

If you want a good discussion, you should provide details of your emergency and your conclusion that the hospital staff at the AE are not experienced. Then you said , luckily for you, the doctor on duty was an experienced doctor and your life was saved. And you again concluded that if you go to AE now, you will surely surrender your IC. It's full of contradictions. Your story filled with holes.Not a very credible one I must admit. Anyway, thanks for sharing.