• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

New developments to share

Re: The Epic :smile:

I think your article is a little too blunt. Rem that you are a guest in their land so you are free to leave the place if you don't like what you see :wink:

So easy to leave meh? After sinking in half million ringgit - not small change - how to leave unscathed if policy restrict foreigner from selling first property? I think the msia govt should make up their mind whether they welcome investors and not create Iskandar region to attract investors and then after people sank in money then change their rules and cause hardship to investors.

jasonjst

let me weigh in (again) on these really stupid ideas that the Johor govt is having.

the reason why they are even thinking of doing this ABSD is because they want to milk the golden goose/cow. they think that Iskandar is a die-die must buy place. but they are SOOOOOOO WRONG. let the truth be told. the SG rich will never reside in JB. How much can you save from living in JB (versus in SG)? RM1 vs SGD1 for Kang Kong or eggs or Coke? let me just say that you hafta eat A LOT of Kang Kongs to make the savings count. how much do you value security? for a family man such as myself, my family's safety is paramount! live in JB? you hafta be kidding me.

also, the interactions I have had with the JB locals the past few months have been less than pleasant. Sure, most of the locals are nice. But the inefficient and stupid yet proud and aggressive Malaysian Malays irks the hell out of me. I am not a racist per se and I will screw anyone who slows down my efficiency. The JB Chinese will apologise and try to make it up to you. But when I scold the Malays, even when they are slow and wrong, I can see the ANGER burning in their eyes. Their pride hurt-unable to recognise their failings but only focusing on their lost pride. Sad to say, but these are primates that failed to evolve. And these politicians' primitive thought process only reinforces my views.

Another thing. These politicians think with their asses. The problem with rising property prices is not due to foreigners and scarcity. IT HAS GOT EVERYTHING TO DO WITH DEVELOPERS REFUSING TO BUILD CHEAP HOUSING!!! every business has constraints. if I can build condos, why do I wanna build HDBs??? it's not like in SG where land is scarce. Johor as SO MUCH land. but the problem is that no one is building for the poor. the state govt asks for compensation (land and/or money) to allow developers to build high-end property - claiming that they need to protect bumi interests. ok, so the developer pays/gives. but does the govt uses these resources to build ADEQUATE cheap housing?

Fellow forummers must know by now that I live to party. My life is focused on having fun. making a profit in JB property isn't a real concern for me. JB is suppose to be my new playground. To save me time from having to fly to China or Thailand or Indonesia or other places to have fun. While most buyers of JB property aren't as notti as me, there will be some who just wants a place where they can have good food and a good time without having to rush back to SG the same day, and that's the reason they would be looking to buy into JB too. a holiday home. But raise the bar too high, and the money will flow elsewhere. If I am right, BKK will be a big beneficiary, if Johor pushes thru all these stupid initiatives.

The Johor govt just wants EASY MONEY. THERE! I HAVE SAID IT! its not about reigning in prices. its just an excuse to line their own pockets. Johor property has been in the dumps for the last 20-30 years. prices were cheap. did they build homes for the locals? now that prices are moving up, do you think they will start building? quite obvious rite?

Why am I writing all these down? it's to prove a point that JB is not the end all paradise that Singaporeans must and will buy into. If you set the bar too high, some ppl simply wont jump. Some cant jump that high. Others, like myself, will simply refuse - cos there are places where the bar is lower. anyway, I hope they come to their senses. I can accept them being corrupted. after all, the whole world is corrupted. but I cant stand them taking the ppl for fools. sure, milk the cow. take the goose's golden eggs. but for heaven's sake, leave the animals alone. 细水长流才能长久。但我想那些笨蛋看不懂。

M, don't remove this post. very well written.

Dont totally agree leh .
1) The local got themselve to blame wat . Last time , the whole of Nusajaya cheap cheap , they say dont buy , mostly likely will fail . Today there are still lot of non guarded houses and apartment selling around 200 to 300K range wat , why they need to buy those atas one at skyhigh price leh ? It is a need or a want ?

2) BKK , Vietnam , London maybe cheaper but lot of people need something more than just a playground leh . Something very near Singapore where we can suka suka go in and out . Those who already commute daily to work will tell you only Iskandar can meet their requirement .

rotikok

the good ones are tight in supply. and, yes, they are getting more expensive.

p.s. what do you mean "it"? singular? cannot be singular. must be plural. if singular = wife.

Where to find these kind of asset that tight in supply and not affected by gov ruling i.e. sinkie can sell theirs xx to anyone but cant buy local xx. Reli rugi leh, ady got under replacement rate prob.
let me weigh in (again) on these really stupid ideas that the Johor govt is having.

the reason why they are even thinking of doing this ABSD is because they want to milk the golden goose/cow. they think that Iskandar is a die-die must buy place. but they are SOOOOOOO WRONG. let the truth be told. the SG rich will never reside in JB. How much can you save from living in JB (versus in SG)? RM1 vs SGD1 for Kang Kong or eggs or Coke? let me just say that you hafta eat A LOT of Kang Kongs to make the savings count. how much do you value security? for a family man such as myself, my family's safety is paramount! live in JB? you hafta be kidding me.

also, the interactions I have had with the JB locals the past few months have been less than pleasant. Sure, most of the locals are nice. But the inefficient and stupid yet proud and aggressive Malaysian Malays irks the hell out of me. I am not a racist per se and I will screw anyone who slows down my efficiency. The JB Chinese will apologise and try to make it up to you. But when I scold the Malays, even when they are slow and wrong, I can see the ANGER burning in their eyes. Their pride hurt-unable to recognise their failings but only focusing on their lost pride. Sad to say, but these are primates that failed to evolve. And these politicians' primitive thought process only reinforces my views.

Another thing. These politicians think with their asses. The problem with rising property prices is not due to foreigners and scarcity. IT HAS GOT EVERYTHING TO DO WITH DEVELOPERS REFUSING TO BUILD CHEAP HOUSING!!! every business has constraints. if I can build condos, why do I wanna build HDBs??? it's not like in SG where land is scarce. Johor as SO MUCH land. but the problem is that no one is building for the poor. the state govt asks for compensation (land and/or money) to allow developers to build high-end property - claiming that they need to protect bumi interests. ok, so the developer pays/gives. but does the govt uses these resources to build ADEQUATE cheap housing?

Fellow forummers must know by now that I live to party. My life is focused on having fun. making a profit in JB property isn't a real concern for me. JB is suppose to be my new playground. To save me time from having to fly to China or Thailand or Indonesia or other places to have fun. While most buyers of JB property aren't as notti as me, there will be some who just wants a place where they can have good food and a good time without having to rush back to SG the same day, and that's the reason they would be looking to buy into JB too. a holiday home. But raise the bar too high, and the money will flow elsewhere. If I am right, BKK will be a big beneficiary, if Johor pushes thru all these stupid initiatives.

The Johor govt just wants EASY MONEY. THERE! I HAVE SAID IT! its not about reigning in prices. its just an excuse to line their own pockets. Johor property has been in the dumps for the last 20-30 years. prices were cheap. did they build homes for the locals? now that prices are moving up, do you think they will start building? quite obvious rite?

Why am I writing all these down? it's to prove a point that JB is not the end all paradise that Singaporeans must and will buy into. If you set the bar too high, some ppl simply wont jump. Some cant jump that high. Others, like myself, will simply refuse - cos there are places where the bar is lower. anyway, I hope they come to their senses. I can accept them being corrupted. after all, the whole world is corrupted. but I cant stand them taking the ppl for fools. sure, milk the cow. take the goose's golden eggs. but for heaven's sake, leave the animals alone. 细水长流才能长久。但我想那些笨蛋看不懂。

M, don't remove this post. very well written.

Yup well written, problem is that unless those goose or cow starting to leave, if not they dun really care. If you just buy one for own use, absd not crossed your mind...but it will if buying many.

FHBH12

blunt rite? but honest assessment. also, its good to share honest views and info with ppl who have trouble accessing them. if I had known the troubles I had to go through to buy "cheap" JB property, I might have given it more thought before plunging. and the real motives behind the policies to tax foreigners have to be exposed. the kampong folks of Johor may just suck it in blindly, but the well travelled 1nottiboy must do his part to save the world. Uncle Ben said, "With great power, comes great responsibility." I have been blessed with the super power to drink and make merry. And this power has allowed me to party with quite a few important ppl around the world. And they have allowed me a peak into the dealings of dirty politicians. So I must expose these hypocrites who claim to wanna help their own but actually only want to line their own pockets.

like I have said before, my vested interests are quite different from most of the forummers here. some buy to have a home. some to invest or speculate. others might do it to set up a business. and it is important for them to know what these politicians are up to and what ridiculous/corrupt ideas they can come up with. to tax ppl and improve their quality of life (e.g. more police, better roads, a new stadium, etc) is very different from lining their own pockets. while Malaysians are stuck with these politicians, Singaporeans are not. And these are the ppl I want to protect. I can forego my condo. I am still young. I can make it all back or simply drink less beer . But there are others who are considering uprooting themselves from their HDB and moving into their perceived new home. And it could be their everything.

Of course I am dramatizing everything. but it makes for good reading. But let's not forget. These state politicians are getting ready their butcher knives cos both govts have concluded their land swap deals. Nothing can be changed. And the federal govt politicians probably have their cronies lined up (to profit). But the state govt haven't gotten their share, and that's why all this nonsense is popping up. And of cos they also know, the SG govt cant makan their interests for the land deals in SG. But the land deals in MY are at their mercy. And whose monies are invested in Malaysia? SG CPF money and reserves.

Maybe I should consider a career in writing conspiracy thrillers...

When buying into boleh land just get ready to lose them all. Meanwhile enjoy e party while it lasts. I look at the masterplan n it seems quite well thought out, taking into consideration a lot of constraints. The only part missing is ensuring a sustainable system to ensure the right level of taxes and reinvesting them into right areas like better police force, education, low cost housing etc.

rotikok

When buying into boleh land just get ready to lose them all. Meanwhile enjoy e party while it lasts. I look at the masterplan n it seems quite well thought out, taking into consideration a lot of constraints. The only part missing is ensuring a sustainable system to ensure the right level of taxes and reinvesting them into right areas like better police force, education, low cost housing etc.
Dunno, being local malaysian, my view is more radical, those who earn big r upstream developers and upstream well connected ppl. Buying ppty and dream to profit commonly need to rely on another bigger fools. From malay land owner resell to local chinese speculator, later bought over by unknown company that later on inject to big company then build and sell to local and flip to sinkie. How many hands ady? Now local flipper will soon kena, who knows one day developers kena too...the up stream u r the safer u r. Which is y my play is only lands esp those can potentially converted de. Is ok, if u do good in iskandar, then viet, bbk, bangladesh u can do good either as those market 潜规矩more than malaysia.

FHBH12

Dunno, being local malaysian, my view is more radical, those who earn big r upstream developers and upstream well connected ppl. Buying ppty and dream to profit commonly need to rely on another bigger fools. From malay land owner resell to local chinese speculator, later bought over by unknown company that later on inject to big company then build and sell to local and flip to sinkie. How many hands ady? Now local flipper will soon kena, who knows one day developers kena too...the up stream u r the safer u r. Which is y my play is only lands esp those can potentially converted de. Is ok, if u do good in iskandar, then viet, bbk, bangladesh u can do good either as those market 潜规矩more than malaysia.

The quantum for land is very high. I would rather buy a house at lower quantum to reduce e risk.

rotikok

The quantum for land is very high. I would rather buy a house at lower quantum to reduce e risk.

Depend on area, even within individual limit, without sufficient area developer will not find you too. but yea it is not simply anyone can play, and even can play without having good connection with following line (developer) u r simply playing risk too. These bunch of ppl not really large but really making big big money each year. I am just lucky able to join the group with my relatively small capital in comparison to those big players, there r some sinkie group too using sdn bhd. Those in forum talking about iskandar 99% is ppty buyer, i dun expect to see any up stream player interested in the discussion, anyhow lately see the planned policy wanted to know how ppl response so paying attention to forum. And no, the suave one profiting without even own the land, legally.

FHBH12

I expect sales volume to go up in 2014 if GST is implemented in 2015. As for 2015, it might slow down. Accumulating too much land could be very risky.

Valdez

Housing for Malaysians

Save some homes for locals by making foreigners pay more

AS the humble home-seeking Malaysian can attest, the urban housing market is very tight, with an estimated mismatch between affordable housing supply and demand standing at 40 per cent due to excessive speculation. This is especially so when one has a very average disposable income and is competing in a real estate market that favours the very cashed-up. Add foreign house-buyers to the equation and the average Malaysian salaried worker hasn't a chance. Which is why the Johor government's new housing sale policy makes so much sense. To control property prices and foreign ownership, foreigners will soon have to pay a tax of between four and five per cent of the property price in the state. It is also looking at barring Malaysians from selling their property to foreigners to ensure the foreign-ownership quota is not breached.

Being just a stone's throw away from cash-rich but land-poor Singapore, Johor must surely be cognizant of the fact that it is all too easy to be neo-colonised. With no restrictions on foreigners owning freehold landed property, it is actually possible for Malaysia to be annexed by any foreign entity, one title deed at a time. And even without any dark motives at play, the fact is that the Malaysian property market is very attractive to foreigners. Compared with others in Asia, Malaysian properties are the second cheapest. Although foreigners cannot buy houses that cost less than RM250,000, the fact is that this base limit, which was set years ago, is no longer indicative of a higher-end property. Indeed, short of a closet, it is quite impossible for anyone to get any housing unit at that price in Kuala Lumpur, the focus of most foreign buyers. Strategically located housing in Greater Kuala Lumpur can appreciate by at least 50 per cent within less than five years, and, with real property gains tax not charged for properties held for more than five years, investing in Malaysian property is a major boon for speculators, especially as foreigners are allowed to own two residential properties at any one time, and the foreign ownership quota is generous at 50 per cent for condominiums and 10 per cent for landed property.

All this stands in stark contrast to the affordable homes project for low-income Malaysians, in which property is priced between RM45,000 and RM65,000, competing for the same finite land space as higher-end properties. To ensure that Malaysians do not lose out in their own homeland, the Federal Government ought to consider adopting the Johor policy. At least the taxes gained could go towards building more affordable homes for Malaysians.

Actually when price was rm500k, state consent at rm10k is already two percent tax. I remember I paid more than Rm11k including whatever fees. So after collecting at two percent in the past years, the money should be at least sufficient to build half of the required houses for the poor if need to charge foreigners 4 to 5 percent for that purpose.

Sunday

Actually, foreigner is not the person to blame for the high property price. The Gov need to review the local conditions, who really drive up the price.
With a mix toxi formula of DIBS, Developer discount (8%) + 90% loan, a local need to pay only 2% then the rest will be after the property is complete.
of coz, local will always buy from developers instead of 2nd hand.
During my search for a Iskandar property, i found out that example new launch is RM700PSF with the toxi formula but a brand new same unit next to it is sell at RM600PSF but no 1 is looking at it.

1nottiboy

I am prepared to lose it all. that's why I bought only a small condo. if they pull any shit on me, at least its only a small condo. a few years of beer money.

alnine

Yes one good example is why ppl rather buy D'Inspire at RM800psf fully furnished new launch from developer rather than resale Sky Executive Suites at RM600psf :smile: the cash outlay is much lower with new launch projects, especially those still with 10% rebate & DIBS scheme!
So they need to stop DIBS to stop price raise.
With CG reportedly sold 80% Malaysians must be snappy it up since only 50% can be foreigners.

RedsYNWA

if your definition of 'lost it all' means 'illiquid' then i suppose yes, you may lose it all. btw, that applies to me, too.

Use for weekend stay lah Bro, like me. You can walk around in the SEC gardens or use the swimming pool on weekends, and come back to SG refreshed! Next time upon retirement in JB, you can then rent out your SG properties... Safest option I reckon....haha

malpaso

Use for weekend stay lah Bro, like me. You can walk around in the SEC gardens or use the swimming pool on weekends, and come back to SG refreshed! Next time upon retirement in JB, you can then rent out your SG properties... Safest option I reckon....haha

that is the general outline of the plan. but actually dammit i was having a conversation with 1nottiboy but he is now in mod's bad books, so his posts keep getting deleted, making me look like a retard talking to myself.

Valdez

COVER STORY: Speeding towards high growth

FAST TRACK: The High Speed Rail between KL and Singapore could raise KL’s profile as MNCs are expected to relocate there due to its lower cost

With the construction of the MRT (Mass Rapid Transit) in the Klang Valley already in full swing, another transportation game changer is set to transform the public transportation landscape in Malaysia.

All eyes are now trained on the proposed High-Speed Rail (HSR) link between Kuala Lumpur and Singapore. To be built at a cost of RM40 billion, the long-awaited train is scheduled to start construction in 2015 with completion targeted by 2020.

It is estimated that upon completion, millions of people would take the train to commute between the two cities with some experts predicting that people may even stay in KL and work in Singapore to take advantage of KL’s lower cost of living.

The 330km journey on the HSR will take a mere 90 minutes (for express/non-stop travelling from KL to Singapore) while the total journey time for five potential intercity stops which include Seremban in Negeri Sembilan, Ayer Keroh in Malacca, Muar, Batu Pahat and Iskandar Malaysia in Johor will take about 120 minutes.

With the MRT already creating a buzz over its potential impact on the property market, the HSR’s spillover effect on the property market is expected to be greater than the MRT because the rail’s coverage extends to several major cities apart from Kuala Lumpur, whereas the MRT is limited only to within the Klang Valley.

Catchment areas

Although the exact locations of the HSR stations are still uncertain, property developers are expected to buy prime land in potential HSR catchment areas to “follow the infrastructure” as per what Ho Chin Soon, the renowned map maker, has said in his property books and seminars.

A good example is Sunway Bhd that is already strategising its township connectivity with the HSR in mind. “The BRT Sunway Line demonstrates that public transport does not require large acquisitions of land. It is planned to connect to the MRT and LRT through the proposed HSR to provide absolute connectivity,” reveals Kumar Tharmalingam, Executive Director of Sunway Bhd.

Kumar is positive that housing values will benefit from the HSR due to current market factors such as the gap in new home construction, rising construction costs, local council and utility companies’ requirements.

Triggering growth

What other impacts can we expect from the HSR on the property market? According to James Wong, Managing Director of VPC Malaysia, in the long term, with better accessibility, foreign companies from Singapore may be attracted to relocate their operations to KL and the other five intercity areas where operating costs are lower.

“The foreign companies’ growth in the main cities will trigger the growth of nearby second and third–tier cities. The spread and growth of the population and more efficient allocation of business activity will increase the demand for housing, commercial and industrial properties. Upon completion, KL and the other five intercity stops will attract more high net worth individuals from Singapore as the high-end condominiums in Singapore are at least five times more expensive at over S$2,000 psf (RM5,000 psf) compared to high-end Malaysian condo prices of around RM1,000 psf,” explains Wong.

In addition, higher tourist and business visitor arrivals will have immediate to medium-term positive impact for retail space, retail operators, hotels and hotel operators as well as commercial office space, says Veena Loh, General Manager of MPI (Malaysia Property Incorporated).

“Higher business and tourist arrivals will increase occupancy, lift prices of hotels, increase businesses of restaurants, retail and recreational activities in the area. It would make economic sense for Singaporean SMEs (Small Medium Enterprises) to relocate their business offices to KL. This would increase occupancy and rental rates of office space,” Loh observes.

The GM of MPI also adds that in the longer term, residential property prices are likely to rise, particularly in the vicinity of the HSR. Higher prices may encourage developers to rebuild some of the older parts of KL city. If the HSR, starting from the Tun Razak Exchange (TRX) is well planned and executed, says Loh, the land area around the TRX may rival or even overshadow the KLCC area which is some 15 minutes’ driving distance away.

Loh observes that better connectivity also increases the demand for residential properties, especially for holiday retreats for occupation by Singaporeans and expatriates. In a recent survey by iProperty conducted among 2,099 Singaporeans, 42 per cent chose Malaysia as the number one destination for overseas real estate investment.

Wong the MD of VPC meanwhile envisages that the major beneficiary of the HSR will be the housing developments in Iskandar Malaysia, Johor because of its close proximity to Singapore.

Condos upsurge

“Currently, there are many Malaysians who are working and staying in Singapore. With the HSR connectivity between Singapore and Iskandar Malaysia, many Malaysians who are currently working and staying in Singapore may opt to buy condominiums or apartments in Iskandar. There is a big upsurge in condominium developments in Iskandar Malaysia with many marketing campaigns targeted at Malaysians living and working in Singapore. Singaporeans will also be attracted to the cheaper housing in Iskandar and the HSR connectivity between Singapore and Iskandar will facilitate their purchase.”

Currently, foreigners account for less than 5 per cent of all residential property purchases in Malaysia, adds Wong. With the HSR connectivity between the two cities, he expects more Singaporeans to flock in to purchase properties in KL and the five intercity stops.

MICE to flourish

Other than residential properties, the HSR could also impact other segments of the property sector. Loh of MPI feels that hotels and retail properties would experience the most immediate and biggest impact.

She explains that this is because the 9.7 million Singaporean tourists formed the biggest portion (40 per cent) of the total 25 million tourist arrivals in 2012. Moreover, foreigners other than Singaporeans will also take this opportunity to visit Malaysia when they go to Singapore given the seamless and fast connectivity between the two cities.

In the medium term, Loh predicts that the MICE (Meetings, Incentives, Conferencing and Exhibitions) market is likely to flourish as a result of HSR as it would make sense to conduct more business meetings and conferences in Kuala Lumpur due to its lower cost. Other commercial properties like office buildings would also benefit from the HSR.

HSR positioning

As in the case of the MRT, the feel good factor of the HSR is not necessarily unanimous among industry observers. Some are more cautious about its prospects in relation the property market. For example, there are question marks on the exact positioning of the HSR, feels V Sivadas, Executive Director of PA International Property Consultants.

“I am of the view that Iskandar Malaysia itself may not really need the HSR now. What is more urgently required is an extension of the MRT from Woodlands into Johor Bahru, with connecting light rapid train lines or the cheaper alternative of dedicated rapid buses to Kulai, Nusajaya, Pasir Gudang and Ulu Tiram.

There has been an unacceptable congestion on the causeway over the last two decades that is causing substantial economic losses to both Johor Bahru

and Singapore. Tens of thousands of Malaysians and Singaporeans travelling to and fro both cities are suffering almost daily and the situation gets worse during holiday seasons. The expensive CIQ (Customs, Immigration & Quarantine) built here, not surprisingly, has not solved the problem. For starters, it would be good if more checking booths are opened up to clear traffic during peak periods,” Sivadas proposes.

With the ongoing dual tracking railway project by KTM (Keretapi Tanah Melayu) between Gemas and Johor Bahru and with land acquisitions almost completed by the Land Office, we should be able to expect railways to improve connectivity and frequencies between KL and Johor Bahru/Singapore. If electric trains can be introduced on these dual tracks, Sivadas suggests that this perhaps is the way forward.

“As more Singaporean residents, (either citizens, expatriates or Malaysians residing there) begin to move and reside in Iskandar Malaysia, we cannot continue to ignore the elephant in the room, looking for multibillion ringgit solutions. Any new solutions, however, must include substantial allocation for car parks and connectivity via efficient public buses and taxis. The latter two remain a mess here, with a visit along the main thoroughfares in the city centre showing buses and taxis parked almost throughout the day,” laments Sivadas.

Rational decisions

The Executive Director concludes by saying that what Iskandar Malaysia needs is an efficient transportation system that allows its residents to move seamlessly within Iskandar and between Iskandar and Singapore.

“If Iskandar Malaysia is to realise its full potential to take advantage of the vast potential that Singapore presents to it, it is hoped that some quick decisions are made without further delay. Given the vast disparity in income and property prices between both these regions, the upside potential for Johor is huge.”

Ahyat Ishak, CEO & Founder of AhyatPropertyTV concurs with Sivadas’ general views on the HSR’s impact on Iskandar. “Although the HSR will bring Singapore and KL closer, it might also have a negative impact on Iskandar. KL now has a population of approximately 6-7 million people while Iskandar’s population is approximately 1.5-1.6million. By the time the HSR is completed, the population in KL would probably be still far greater than Iskandar and many MNCs (Multinational Corporations) would still find KL to be more attractive to base their regional headquarters. Some corporations may consider relocating to KL from Singapore, perhaps due to reasons such as lower operational cost and access to workers. KL may turn out to be the main beneficiary of HSR and not Iskandar.”

Airline effects

Another possible side effect of the HSR would be on the airline industry. Wong, the MD of VPC explains that the HSR would rob Air Asia and other budget airlines of some of their business.

“Flying time one way takes about 45 minutes. The journey to and fro the two airports (KLIA – Changi Airport) plus check-in time add about two and a-half hours to this – making the entire journey more than three hours. In contrast, a 90-minute ride (plus perhaps 30 minutes for customs and immigration clearance) is an attractive alternative option. The HSR link could result in a huge drop in air traffic between Singapore and KL, and change the dynamics of competition between Changi and KLIA particularly if the line includes stops at either or both airports.”

Currently, Wong states that the Singapore – KL sector is now the largest International LCC (Low-Cost Carrier) route with total LCC capacity of 178 weekly flights in each direction and 101,248 weekly seats from KL (including both KLIA and Subang Airport) to Changi Airport, Singapore. He also cites a UOB Research Report that reveals that about 12 per cent of Malaysian Airport Holdings Bhd’s passenger throughput involves traffic from Singapore and at least 60 to 70 per cent of these passengers could opt for HSR instead of flying due to its time savings.

Challenges

Although the HSR is expected to be a major economic catalyst by improving inter-city connectivity with spillover effects cascading onto the major cities within its catchment areas, challenges are expected ahead in trying to kick-start the HSR.

“Negotiations between the two countries could stall if there are disagreements over where the immigration points and stations are to be located. How does one apportion the cost of the HSR between the two countries? There has to be much dialogue before the green light to go ahead can proceed,” cautions Loh, the GM of MPI.

avelc

For retirement, maybe alternate between Msia, Sg and northern Thailand?

Last edited by a moderator: