• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Canadian PR

nayr69sg

Staff member
Finally, someone with the courage and honesty to speak the TRUTH.

If Singaporeans want to get out of the PAP nonsense and migrate, I strongly encourage that, but please please please listen to Wendypoh and myself and avoid Canada.

Try hard to get into US.

You will be saving yourself lots of trouble, frustration and money.

Yes. Please do not come to Canada.

And I am serious, if you do want to come to Canada, go to Brampton and everything Time2Evacuate has said will be true.

wendypoh

Canadians don't want you!

75% of Canadians (respondents born in Canada) say to limit the number of immigrants because new immigrants contribute to the extreme high cost of living in Canada, make properties prices sky high, rude immigrants, unhygenice immigrants (spit here and there etc), unsightly immigrants (squat in public places etc) etc etc

Poll Question:
Should Canada accept all qualified immigrants who want to enter the country or should we limit the number of immigrants allowed in each year?

Limit the number of immigrants: 73%
Allow all immigrants: 23%

sCdvoPc.jpg

indig10

If you're reading this thread and getting turned off by the sparring, ask yourself this:

"When was something worth fighting for, ever gotten with ease?"

There is a struggle of beliefs in your head, to be or not to be, to do or not to do.

To go, or not to go.

It is not an easy decision, because if you make the move, to wherever you're considering be it Canada or elsewhere, you may just screw it up royally and land yourself and your family in irreparable straits. The risks are very real, especially if you don't have enough savings and don't have financial or emotional support from extended family.

The fear of the unknown is equally real. And this is the key thing that hinders you from making a decision.

You think to yourself, as have some of us, there's so much to lose if I move. Nothing wrong in thinking that at all.

Yet, there's also so much to gain if I move. Not in the material sense but in your self-actualization, and for your family's.

At the same time, you probably can make do and lead a very meaningful/fulfilling life in Singapore, in all sincerity and honesty.

But you know there's something you would be missing, don't you?

Knowing that, 30 years down the road, you might be looking back with regret. Regret. That you did not do this.

So whatever decision you finally make, whether you decide to emigrate or not, simply make that decision with peace, and make peace with yourself so that you can say to yourself 30 years down the road: I have no regrets.

Time2Evacuate

Yes. Please do not come to Canada.

And I am serious, if you do want to come to Canada, go to Brampton and everything Time2Evacuate has said will be true.

Hahaha!

Dude, don't be so bad lah.

Wait some clueless Singaporean take your advice and go Brampton how?

Seriously, folks, I REPEAT:

DO NOT, DO NOT, DO NOT go Brampton.

AVOID Brampton at all cost if you make the mistake of going Canada.

It is hell on earth.

nayr69sg

Staff member
bro indig10, I admire your resolve to encourage others. I will share something I discovered while planning my move. It served me well and looking at other immigrants who have succeeded I think this applies to everyone.

Migrating is like planning to go out on a journey in the open ocean.

What do you do? How do you prepare?

Do you try to learn how to swim very well? In swimming pools? Learn all kinds of different types of strokes? Or swim one stroke so well you could be an Olympic level swimmer? World class?

Or do you contend that swimming in the open ocean is not the same as swimming in pools?

What is a definitely useful thing to have for such a journey? Flotation devices? A rubber dinghy? A small sailboat? A yacht? An oil tanker? The bigger it is the better isn't it?

So before you go for that journey, try to get as big a flotation device as possible because it will help keep you afloat longer. Meantime do try to learn to swim but don't bank too much on that as well.

What you are hoping for is to stay afloat long enough to join a crew of sailors willing to take you on board. After that, it's just climbing up the ranks among the crew.

Migration is not for everyone. It is not necessarily going to be better. But it will definitely be different. Think hard what price you are willing to pay and what you are not. That way you will know your limits. If you swim far enough and realize you are getting nowhere, turn back and swim to shore. You certainly don't want to drown. But whatever does not kill you only makes you stronger. That's how we all learn to be stronger people. By pushing ourselves.

Life is a journey, not a destination, may you find joy and peace on your journey through life.

Cheers everyone!

Time2Evacuate

If you're reading this thread and getting turned off by the sparring, ask yourself this:

"When was something worth fighting for, ever gotten with ease?"

There is a struggle of beliefs in your head, to be or not to be, to do or not to do.

To go, or not to go.

It is not an easy decision, because if you make the move, to wherever you're considering be it Canada or elsewhere, you may just screw it up royally and land yourself and your family in irreparable straits. The risks are very real, especially if you don't have enough savings and don't have financial or emotional support from extended family.

The fear of the unknown is equally real. And this is the key thing that hinders you from making a decision.

You think to yourself, as have some of us, there's so much to lose if I move. Nothing wrong in thinking that at all.

Yet, there's also so much to gain if I move. Not in the material sense but in your self-actualization, and for your family's.

At the same time, you probably can make do and lead a very meaningful/fulfilling life in Singapore, in all sincerity and honesty.

But you know there's something you would be missing, don't you?

Knowing that, 30 years down the road, you might be looking back with regret. Regret. That you did not do this.

So whatever decision you finally make, whether you decide to emigrate or not, simply make that decision with peace, and make peace with yourself so that you can say to yourself 30 years down the road: I have no regrets.

You are a total fool.

Just because you don't like what others wrote does not mean that what others wrote is untrue.

The issue is never about whether to migrate out of Singapore or not. I think if one is on this forum and reading this sub-forum on immigration, chances are ultra high that one is already sick and tired of living under the PAP nonsense and thinking seriously about getting the hell out of SG. So, whether to leave SG or not is never the real issue for people reading this.

The REAL issue is WHERE to migrate to.

And the point I am trying to make is that for those thinking of migrating out of Singapore, they need to do the proper research and know about the good things and the bad things about the place they plan on going. And to cut a long story short, they should consider US first way way way before Canada.

In fact, don't take my word for it. Also, don't believe in the hype or the propaganda about Canada being an accepting and tolerant place because people who say that are Canadians themselves boasting about themselves. People thinking of going to Canada should go do a detailed reconnaissance visit of Canada and look at the culture and the cities carefully, and decide which version to believe.

For Canada, it is mostly bad, with the biggest problem being the passive aggressiveness. The difficulty of finding proper jobs that many others talked about is simply a COROLLARY of the passive aggressiveness. Putting it plainly, many locals dislike non ang moh immigrants but they are too timid to point that out, so they act in a cold manner and exclude you socially and economically. This is the biggest "white elephant in the room" problem with Canada, and it usually takes many new-comers some time to figure this out. So I am just spilling the beans and saving people trouble and time and money by telling them this upfront.

Folks thinking of shipping out of SG should look at other alternatives first. First on the list should be US. Canada should be close to the bottom of the list.

What's wrong with me pointing this out?

You don't like my posts, don't read lor. Ignore them at your own peril. Some years down the line, you will look back at the wasted time, money and youth and remember my posts, and then blame yourself for being the fool you really are for ignoring my posts.

Now, go get lost, fool.

nayr69sg

Staff member
Hahaha!

Dude, don't be so bad lah.

Wait some clueless Singaporean take your advice and go Brampton how?

Seriously, folks, I REPEAT:

DO NOT, DO NOT, DO NOT go Brampton.

AVOID Brampton at all cost if you make the mistake of going Canada.

It is hell on earth.

Err what's the difference? The way you described Canada is like Brampton lor......and you say Canada what....not Brampton.

So scali Singaporeans all think all of Canada is Brampton (well to some immigrants Brampton is Canada to them and they are loving it), then realize it is not then how? I am helping you spread your message bro. By telling people to visit Brampton, they will know EXACTLY what you mean, what Wendypoh means etc.

That's your objective isn't it? To make sure people realize how bad Canada is, so that they don't go to Canada. So why not recommend them to visit Brampton and see for themselves? They will surely get what you mean.

nayr69sg

Staff member
You are a total fool.

Just because you don't like what others wrote does not mean that what others wrote is untrue.

The issue is never about whether to migrate out of Singapore or not.

The real issue is where to migrate to.

And the point I am trying to make is that for those thinking of migrating out of Singapore, they need to do the proper research and know about the good things and the bad things about the place they plan on going.

For Canada, it is mostly bad, with the biggest problem being the passive aggressiveness. The difficulty of finding proper jobs that others talked about is simply a natural result or outcome of passive aggressiveness. Putting it plainly, many locals dislike non ang moh immigrants but they are too timid to point that out, so they act in a cold manner.

Folks thinking of shipping out of SG should look at other alternatives first.

What's wrong with me pointing this out?

Nothing wrong. But I really think it would help your cause by highlighting Brampton as the example for all that you have highlighted as bad about CANADA.

remember folks, go visit Brampton Ontario. 9th largest city in Ontario.

nayr69sg

Staff member
I think AU is a worse place to migrate to compared to Canada.

But Canada is far from ideal.

AU is racist and the racism there is outright overt racism.

Whereas in Canada, the racism is passive.

I think it is a matter of which type of racism you can put up with.

U.S. is a far better option, in my opinion.

Hmmm AU worse than Canada

nayr69sg

Staff member
What status quo are you going on about?

You are a deluded paranoid fool. That is what you are.

Again, I dislike the PAP and never liked them (okay, maybe I did back in the 80s and early 90s). I can't wait to help vote PAP out of office in GE 2016.

So don't go point fingers at me and saying I am trying to preserve the status quo.

I am 100% in support of Singaporeans migrating to the West and getting their families and children out of Singapore to escape the PAP's grasp on them.

But seriously, my point is that there are WAY WAY WAY better options than Canada.

THE US IS MUCH MUCH MUCH better. I would even recommend AU over Canada even though AU is very racist generally.

Get lost already, you fool.

Hmmm AU is better than Canada.

indig10

If you're still reading this thread, please allow me to share another thought with you.

In your career, through the various roles and companies you've worked with, whether they were a few or many, there must have been a variety of characters you've encountered:

Some who were very negative, always pessimistic and cynical, dragging everyone down with their remarks, expressions, sounds and body language?

Some who were apparently well-meaning towards you, in front of you, but back-stabbers waiting for that one big opportunity to step on you and twist the knife in so that they have an upper edge over you?

Some who were totally oblivious to the politics and things happening around them and whom always got caught up in the crossfire and even then still do not realize it?

Some who meant well in everything they did and struggled to do their utmost, regardless of the outcome?

Some who were so normal and boring that you would never have guessed they were true masters of their work, whether in subterfuge or in plain view?

Some who were shit-stirrers or simply following their orders to the given agenda?

In every encounter you have in person or online, there are always such characters about. As a man or a woman, it is your right to see these people for who they really are, and to discern what their intentions truly are. If you allow someone to dictate your life and how you think or act, you have nobody to blame except yourself. If you accept without question the why, how and what others tell you, then if anything goes wrong in your life, you have nobody to blame but yourself.

Time2Evacuate

bro indig10, I admire your resolve to encourage others. I will share something I discovered while planning my move. It served me well and looking at other immigrants who have succeeded I think this applies to everyone.

Migrating is like planning to go out on a journey in the open ocean.

What do you do? How do you prepare?

Do you try to learn how to swim very well? In swimming pools? Learn all kinds of different types of strokes? Or swim one stroke so well you could be an Olympic level swimmer? World class?

Or do you contend that swimming in the open ocean is not the same as swimming in pools?

What is a definitely useful thing to have for such a journey? Flotation devices? A rubber dinghy? A small sailboat? A yacht? An oil tanker? The bigger it is the better isn't it?

So before you go for that journey, try to get as big a flotation device as possible because it will help keep you afloat longer. Meantime do try to learn to swim but don't bank too much on that as well.

What you are hoping for is to stay afloat long enough to join a crew of sailors willing to take you on board. After that, it's just climbing up the ranks among the crew.

Migration is not for everyone. It is not necessarily going to be better. But it will definitely be different. Think hard what price you are willing to pay and what you are not. That way you will know your limits. If you swim far enough and realize you are getting nowhere, turn back and swim to shore. You certainly don't want to drown. But whatever does not kill you only makes you stronger. That's how we all learn to be stronger people. By pushing ourselves.

Life is a journey, not a destination, may you find joy and peace on your journey through life.

Cheers everyone!

I agree 101% with the above, even though it is clear nayr69sg and I have different views about Canada.

I guess the question is: how far are you willing to sacrifice and how much time and money and effort are you willing to put in to make the plan work.

I think the answer to that question is different for everyone.

Looking at nayr69sg's posts, it is clear that he was very determined and was willing to go the extra mile to make his plan work. So, my hats off to him. I have heard many times from people I know in Canada that for regulated professions like doctors and lawyers and some engineers, the accreditation and licensing process there is ultra difficult for foreigners to the point of almost being undoable. So, for him to be able to pull it off (actually, I think he said he is still in the process of getting fully licensed, even after some years there, so that should tell you something about how hard it is) especially with a family, it really says lots about his determination. My hats off to him man. It is never easy, and for people in his profession, it is even tougher by miles and miles and miles.

But for other people and myself, I can say that we likely do not have the level of determination it takes.

So, question is how far is one willing to go to make a plan work.

And a more relevant follow up question is: if it takes too much effort and energy and costs too much to make one particular plan work, then what other plans should one look at? Are there other alternative plans that have better reward-versus-risk ratio?

Look at it another way, I guess one can say that if one throws enough money, effort and determination at a problem/project, the problem will ultimately be solved and the project will ultimately be successful. But that is begging the question, because a much more relevant question to ask is "IS IT WISE TO THROW SO MUCH EFFORT INTO THIS PARTICULAR PROJECT? ARE THERE OTHER ALTERNATIVE PROJECTS THAT OFFER A BETTER RETURN WITHOUT REQUIRING AS MUCH INVESTMENT AND EFFORT?"

My personal answer to the follow up question is that the reward-risk ratio for Canada is way way way way way way way way off. One should not look at just Canada. There are better options that do not require as much effort and time to pull off successfully.

US is a much better option.

Time2Evacuate

If you're still reading this thread, please allow me to share another thought with you.

In your career, through the various roles and companies you've worked with, whether they were a few or many, there must have been a variety of characters you've encountered:

Some who were very negative, always pessimistic and cynical, dragging everyone down with their remarks, expressions, sounds and body language?

Some who were apparently well-meaning towards you, in front of you, but back-stabbers waiting for that one big opportunity to step on you and twist the knife in so that they have an upper edge over you?

Some who were totally oblivious to the politics and things happening around them and whom always got caught up in the crossfire and even then still do not realize it?

Some who meant well in everything they did and struggled to do their utmost, regardless of the outcome?

Some who were so normal and boring that you would never have guessed they were true masters of their work, whether in subterfuge or in plain view?

Some who were shit-stirrers or simply following their orders to the given agenda?

In every encounter you have in person or online, there are always such characters about. As a man or a woman, it is your right to see these people for who they really are, and to discern what their intentions truly are. If you allow someone to dictate your life and how you think or act, you have nobody to blame except yourself. If you accept without question the why, how and what others tell you, then if anything goes wrong in your life, you have nobody to blame but yourself.

Let me repeat.

YOU ARE AN IDIOT.

This has nothing to do with being pessimistic.

It is about telling the whole picture upfront, no sugar-coating, no indirectness. Just the plain picture upfront, so that others can know the issues and decide for themselves.

I don't know why you are so set on focusing on picking bones with people with bad things to say about Canada.

It is a free world wah. Cannot say bad things meh?

Don't want to listen isit? Then don't listen lor.

Go Canada and then see what happens. But don't later come cry and whine and say people never warn you.

nayr69sg

Staff member
I agree 101% with the above, even though it is clear nayr69sg and I have different views about Canada.

I guess the question is: how far are you willing to sacrifice and how much time and money and effort are you willing to put in to make the plan work.

I think the answer to that question is different for everyone.

Looking at nayr69sg's posts, it is clear that he was very determined and was willing to go the extra mile to make his plan work. So, my hats off to him. I have heard many times from people I know in Canada that for regulated professions like doctors and lawyers and some engineers, the accreditation and licensing process there is ultra difficult for foreigners to the point of almost being undoable. So, for him to be able to pull it off (actually, I think he said he is still in the process of getting fully licensed, even after some years there, so that should tell you something about how hard it is), it really says lots about his determination.

For other people and myself, I can say that we likely do not have the level of determination it takes.

So, question is how far is one willing to go to make a plan work.

And a more relevant follow up question is: if it takes too much effort and energy and costs too much to make one particular plan work, then what other plans should one look at? Are there other alternative plans that have better reward-versus-risk ratio?

Look at it another way, I guess one can say that if one throws enough money, effort and determination at a problem/project, the problem will ultimately be solved and the project will ultimately be successful. But that is begging the question, because a much more relevant question to ask is "IS IT WISE TO THROW SO MUCH EFFORT INTO THIS PARTICULAR PROJECT? ARE THERE OTHER ALTERNATIVE PROJECTS THAT OFFER A BETTER RETURN WITHOUT REQUIRING AS MUCH INVESTMENT AND EFFORT?"

My personal answer to the follow up question is that the reward-risk ratio for Canada is way way way way way way way way off. One should not look at just Canada. There are better options that do not require as much effort and time to pull off successfully.

US is a much better option.

Thank you Time2Evacuate!

Actually I didn't try too hard to get into medicine lah. I was just lucky. Today was my last day at work. My managers kept telling me that if I ever change my mind or finish my residency and decide not to be a doctor for whatever reason, remember to call them first if I am looking to get back into the surface land industry in oil & gas.

Looking back on the last 3 years was it so difficult? Not really. Yes the first month was pretty tight rope stuff but after that things kind of fell into place.

You can be very determined but in the end you might not need to sweat blood. But always good to be prepared. On hindsight it was easier than I thought it would be.

If you are looking for the easy way always, then maybe migration overall is not so good for you. Seriously, if you think USA is going to be easy peasy....good luck!

indig10

In your life, you must've had one or two persons you really admire, someone that you know perhaps not closely but enough to know their qualities you emulate.

What is it about these people that strike an inner fire within you?

There's something about them that compels you to rise up and be better than who you are right now.

To reach higher and farther than you thought you could.

And you may have tasted a modicum of that feeling, relished it and rubbed it between your fingers as you savoured that sensation of accomplishment or achievement in your heart and spine.

Is that the feeling that you're seeking to capture or regain?

Did you know that it is always within you?

If and when the noise around you brings you down, centre yourself around this feeling you once had, and focus on it calmly and wholeheartedly... you will feel it ignite and any challenges that stand in your way can be overcome.

nayr69sg

Staff member
Let me repeat.

YOU ARE AN IDIOT.

This has nothing to do with being pessimistic.

It is about telling the whole picture upfront, no sugar-coating, no indirectness. Just the plain picture upfront, so that others can know the issues and decide for themselves.

I don't know why you are so set on focusing on picking bones with people with bad things to say about Canada.

It is a free world wah. Cannot say bad things meh?

Don't want to listen isit? Then don't listen lor.

Go Canada and then see what happens. But don't later come cry and whine and say people never warn you.

Hmmm....I was talking to my colleagues and they said that to many Ontario people, Canada = Ontario. They have no desire to know what the west is like. T.O is the centre of Canada.

I am beginning to see why you keep using the phrase Canada when I would have said Toronto, or Brampton or maybe even Ontario.....

Oh well. Yeah Canada is bad. Don't waste your time on Canada. Go to USA. Got it?

Indig10, don't bother liao lah. You want to live in Brampton meh? I also dowan!

nayr69sg

Staff member
AU okay wah.

It all depends on the person.

Personally, I prefer having to deal with outright racist drunks than passive aggressive racist silent types.

I prefer warm, progressive thinking, helpful neighbours. But then I live in Edmonton. What do I know about Canadians right?

But you are certainly very correct about how it depends on the person. As the phrase goes, one man's poison is another man's food.

Time2Evacuate

Thank you Time2Evacuate!

Actually I didn't try too hard to get into medicine lah. I was just lucky. Today was my last day at work. My managers kept telling me that if I ever change my mind or finish my residency and decide not to be a doctor for whatever reason, remember to call them first if I am looking to get back into the surface land industry in oil & gas.

Looking back on the last 3 years was it so difficult? Not really. Yes the first month was pretty tight rope stuff but after that things kind of fell into place.

You can be very determined but in the end you might not need to sweat blood. But always good to be prepared. On hindsight it was easier than I thought it would be.

If you are looking for the easy way always, then maybe migration overall is not so good for you. Seriously, if you think USA is going to be easy peasy....good luck!

Hey Bro, you deserve every credit and respect due you.

Like I said, I have been around long enough to know a crazily tough process when I see one. And the accrediting process for high end professionals like doctors lawyers etc in Canada is famed for being crazy tough. So even though my field does not require accrediting, I got a good sense from others on how tough it is.

I actually edited my post above to reflect that you went through the deal with a family, which I forgot to consider. Now, that just multiply the toughness by a couple of levels even.

So, don't be too humble lah. Time to go pat yourself on the back and take all the credit due you.

Credit is due where it is due. I respect you Bro.

You are on my hero status list.

Charlie99

Hello brother [nayr69sg],

One individual posted the following, amongst his post(s) about you:
"So, for him to be able to pull it off (actually, I think he said he is still in the process of getting fully licensed, even after some years there, so that should tell you something about how hard it is) especially with a family, it really says lots about his determination. My hats off to him man. It is never easy, and for people in his profession, it is even tougher by miles and miles and miles."

If my memory serves me well, you received the documents re: permanent residence for Canada about 4 to 5 years ago, but you and your family have been in Edmonton, Alberta, for about 3 years.
You decided not to practise medicine, and within a very short time of arriving in Edmonton, you worked at a factory, and thereafter, went to work with some land development or land related company.
Recently (or was it last year?), you took the exams re: to be considered for a medical residency position.

With respect, for any individual to allege that after several years, you are still in the process of trying to be fully licensed, is untrue.

If I were you, I would defend vigorously, and rebut that individual.
Otherwise, you may choose to ignore the said allegation.