• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

The work of a Mod

Thought I will share what goes on.

There is a whole lot of threads and posts that are held in moderation queue. These are not visible to forummers. They are from spammers, bots, nutjobs, disgruntled chaps etc. In all these are buried genuine materials from newbies and some are postings for the first time. Believe me, it is a thankless job but beneficial to forummers for the following reasons.

Firstly forummers do not have to wade thru crap to get to normal posts. Spams can be deceptive to pass moderation. Without the crap, forums can grow and bring in more people.

Secondly, there is a need to put thru good posts quickly especially for posts that are following a particular post and nobody trawls back to see posts that are cleared later. Newbies especially during exciting times get put off when their messages does not appear.

The work above done by a mod cannot be seen by the general audience and no one has a clue who is doing what. So don't assume.

Now comes the part that everyone can see. This is the part that requires balls made of brass and you certainly need to withdraw from the Mr Popularity Contest. Even nutjobs have an ego, temper and the determination to wreck things if they do not get their way. Thankfully more people can spot a nutjob.

Then comes the manipulative characters. These range from deceitful cocksuckers who will fellate the dicks of popular forummers and then start to have their way to those who operate multiple personalities. The goody two shoes have content or subject that are also popular with most people to bring in the bacon. The human mind is such that once they are allied to someone they will not oppose or even give him up.

The multiple personalities is the most common and the most difficult for mods to handle. A good example is Kopiuncle who is also blackhole,ilovesingapore, sinkie etc. Note the distinctly different personas between Kopi and Sinkie. Highly disruptive their motivation range from pure boredom and the need to occupy themselves to those who are too meek on the onside and need to boost their egos somehow in an anonymous forum. ( admittedly all these are pop psychology). Note how he uses 3 nicks to bait and occupy people while using one nick to do other things.

Then once in a blue moon you have a chap that no one can figure out. One day reasonable posts, the next day out of the ball park. Then you realise that the chap himself has no idea.

Then you have usual few predators which again mods have difficulty to handle and typically leave them alone. These are the ones who work on newbies, build rapport, provide generous advice and always the first to respond when the mark seeks help. We have people lose money, their arse and their egos in this forum. By the way, what is the best designer watch, what car, what cruise to take ?

Finally mainstream society delinquents - the racists, both covert and overt, sexual,peccadillos whose every message has sex in one form or another , then you have TCSS kings - who mixup the definition of popularity, value and contribution. This group requires no assessment - their volumes on the same issue says it all.

Raiders

There is a need for balance in the courtyard cafe. Serious discussions can be done at the political section and quiet zone. For me, I am ok if people TCSS in this section. You have to understand that some people have no one to talk to in real life and they come here to talk to themselves and the few other people active here :biggrin:

So long as they do not disrupt any good threads with their TCSS, I always believe that we should give some leeway. Things have improved tremendously. When Leongsam just appointed the super moderator, this section was basically in TCSS mode. Today, we can see quite a few good threads going on at page 1 of this section. Things could have been better, but again, there is no perfection in this world. I do hope that this section draws in a types of people. TCSS people like me, sex perverts(me again :o), intelligent academics, taxi drivers, pilots, businessmen, designers, salesmen. Hell, we even have have someone who wife is Sumiko Tan. :wink:

I wrote this thread with you in particular in mind as I noted that someone wrongly assumed that you were not doing anything. It is also to recognise the work of mods like Wuqi who not only does vast amount of moderation very quietly while encouraging and developing his phenomenally successful folder without a peep. Note how he raises a new thad to drive a new interest that he thinks has value. Sometimes he makes it sometimes the takeup is not there.

The TCSS is a small part of the entire posts. It is to complete the picture. By the way TCSS refers to those who hijack and disrupt thread by TCSS. Most people in SBf would have understood what is being conveyed as 90% in SBF of the postings are generally congenial and light and in the TCSS category. If you recall its was only 2 morons who were doing that repeatedly and they have stopped. No one is doing TCSS hijacking for a long time. SBF might as well close down if no one is going to TCSS in general.

by the way, my first post is not aimed at any of the present mods including you but to highlight the hidden work of a mod.

You remind me of a non-swimmer who pulls down a swimmer who is attempting to rescue him.

There is a need for balance in the courtyard cafe. Serious discussions can be done at the political section and quiet zone. For me, I am ok if people TCSS in this section. You have to understand that some people have no one to talk to in real life and they come here to talk to themselves and the few other people active here :biggrin:

So long as they do not disrupt any good threads with their TCSS, I always believe that we should give some leeway. Things have improved tremendously. When Leongsam just appointed the super moderator, this section was basically in TCSS mode. Today, we can see quite a few good threads going on at page 1 of this section. Things could have been better, but again, there is no perfection in this world. I do hope that this section draws in a types of people. TCSS people like me, sex perverts(me again :o), intelligent academics, taxi drivers, pilots, businessmen, designers, salesmen. Hell, we even have have someone who wife is Sumiko Tan. :wink:

Raiders

You remind me of a non-swimmer who pulls down a swimmer who is attempting to rescue him.

I appreciates this good gesture brother. My reply was also not a defence but to let you have an idea what goes through my mind as you and me seldom communicates. It is good to open up and have a heart to heart talk like this sometimes. :smile:

As for your first post, I might have misunderstood. You have to pardon my poor grasp of the language. I got your point during your second post and I fully agree. Thank you :biggrin:

You seems to have forgotten there's a dog running around spewing vulgarities on other people family members. Are you turning a blind eye on that cox he's your friend?

There's also another kind who think they are the wisest and bullies their own kind in this forum, no balls to confront PAP in real life but behaves like PAP in this forum, sounds familiar to you? :biggrin:

Raiders

There's also another kind who think they are the wisest and bullies their own kind in this forum, no balls to confront PAP in real life but behaves like PAP in this forum, sounds familiar to you? :biggrin:

This one I seemed to have an idea :wink:

peppertail

BTW, do you have the traffic statistics and breakdown on rough categories of posts?

Here: Most users ever online was 15,225, 29-01-2013 at 12:02 AM.

Check the most active thread on that date and draw your own conclusion.

Such deep insight from scroo. Thank you for enlightening me on the role of a moderator. Honestly the years I spent on a forum I always thought the role of a mod on a forum was akin to that of a tyrant to bully the bulk of the peasantry now that I know the mod actually has a responsibility to actually make sure the forum isn't littered by spam it makes me feel they take on the role of the road sweeper aka hygience managers metaphorically so to speak.

wah. why want to over sanitize this forum? might as well go ypap or set up another forum or folder call 'intellectualsonly.com', dio boh?
a little 'greetings' then more like real kopitiam, dio boh?

Bigfuck

So aLL the chambermaids are under the soLe housekeeper's charge ?..:smile::eek:

If that were true, there is an errant chambermaid vying to even take over the Landlord's charge. This chambermaid is challenging the housekeeper openly.

LeMans2011

Thought I will share what goes on.

There is a whole lot of threads and posts that are held in moderation queue. These are not visible to forummers. They are from spammers, bots, nutjobs, disgruntled chaps etc. In all these are buried genuine materials from newbies and some are postings for the first time. Believe me, it is a thankless job but beneficial to forummers for the following reasons.

Firstly forummers do not have to wade thru crap to get to normal posts. Spams can be deceptive to pass moderation. Without the crap, forums can grow and bring in more people.

Secondly, there is a need to put thru good posts quickly especially for posts that are following a particular post and nobody trawls back to see posts that are cleared later. Newbies especially during exciting times get put off when their messages does not appear.

The work above done by a mod cannot be seen by the general audience and no one has a clue who is doing what. So don't assume.

Now comes the part that everyone can see. This is the part that requires balls made of brass and you certainly need to withdraw from the Mr Popularity Contest. Even nutjobs have an ego, temper and the determination to wreck things if they do not get their way. Thankfully more people can spot a nutjob.

Then comes the manipulative characters. These range from deceitful cocksuckers who will fellate the dicks of popular forummers and then start to have their way to those who operate multiple personalities. The goody two shoes have content or subject that are also popular with most people to bring in the bacon. The human mind is such that once they are allied to someone they will not oppose or even give him up.

The multiple personalities is the most common and the most difficult for mods to handle. A good example is Kopiuncle who is also blackhole,ilovesingapore, sinkie etc. Note the distinctly different personas between Kopi and Sinkie. Highly disruptive their motivation range from pure boredom and the need to occupy themselves to those who are too meek on the onside and need to boost their egos somehow in an anonymous forum. ( admittedly all these are pop psychology). Note how he uses 3 nicks to bait and occupy people while using one nick to do other things.

Then once in a blue moon you have a chap that no one can figure out. One day reasonable posts, the next day out of the ball park. Then you realise that the chap himself has no idea.

Then you have usual few predators which again mods have difficulty to handle and typically leave them alone. These are the ones who work on newbies, build rapport, provide generous advice and always the first to respond when the mark seeks help. We have people lose money, their arse and their egos in this forum. By the way, what is the best designer watch, what car, what cruise to take ?

Finally mainstream society delinquents - the racists, both covert and overt, sexual,peccadillos whose every message has sex in one form or another , then you have TCSS kings - who mixup the definition of popularity, value and contribution. This group requires no assessment - their volumes on the same issue says it all.

In short the forum is the epitome of diversity. You only need to visit this place to see the different facets of life.