• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

$7 for a plate of chai tow kway at Republic Foodcourt

rambo22

I still remember eating at Koek Road next to the wet market, which was next to Cold Storage at Orchard Rd. The wanton mee was only 50 cts:biggrin: The chinese styled satay was only 10 cts a stick. Bean curd drink at only 5 cts & bigger cup was 10 cts.

THat was during the police wear-short time.

U still remember that ORCHARD ROAD COWBOY?

the fish soup noodles price ok. wanton mee price quite costly.

but chai tow kuey $7, TS sure or not ? :biggrin:

nowadays outside food prices expensive. my place food court. a roti prata with egg costs $2.20.

In developed countries, eating out is expensive. Is sinkapore a developed country or a 3rd world country? PAP wants to have it both ways and ends up decimating the middle and working class. If sinkapore is to be a developed country, then we need to stop the influx of cheap foreign labour and repatriate 2 million foreigners immediately. This island can accept 300k of foreigners, anything more is killing us.

price never increases. but portion sizes shrink significantly. right ?

me do find the fillet'O'fish having a significantly thinner slice of fish. cheese is also about half, if not a third, of the original size.

The chinese styled satay was only 10 cts a stick.

still like the good old days where the satay man count the sticks of satay you eat before charging you, even had different color ink at the blunt tip to indicate what meat was on the stick.

Tuayapeh

Tuayapeh really misses those satya club days and especially peter's deadly bbq chicken wings!!

contangee

Vote with you wallet.

Price increase is unavoidable, everything goes up in price and hopefully your income goes up even faster.

iconchia

Food Republic has always been known to be pricier than other foodcourts with below par quality. Nowadays, most of the food are prepared by Ah Tiong.... Want authentic local food? You need to go those old hawker centres, like Bedok Block 85, Bukit Merah Food Centre, Kaki Bukit Food Centre, Bukit Timah Hawker Centre, etc

Tuayapeh

food republic has always been known to be pricier than other foodcourts with below par quality. Nowadays, most of the food are prepared by ah tiong.... Want authentic local food? You need to go those old hawker centres, like bedok block 85, bukit merah food centre, kaki bukit food centre, bukit timah hawker centre, etc

yeah support your local food culture and eat at the true blue hawker centres before these bastard facists pigs from the pap come and wipe them out with their cb kiahs from ntuc and food republic!!!

still like the good old days where the satay man count the sticks of satay you eat before charging you, even had different color ink at the blunt tip to indicate what meat was on the stick.

Some claim that the unused peanut satay sauce is re-cycled back for other customers. Maybe that's why it is so tasty:biggrin:

THat was during the police wear-short time.

U still remember that ORCHARD ROAD COWBOY?

Of course. I used to see him hang around THE car park. As a matter of fact I also had the same plastic pistol :smile: In those days that pistol was very popular.
I regret not challenging him as I could made my reputation of beating the cowboy:o

wonder if they recycle uneaten satay??? :eek:

In those days when you sat down to eat, you were only charged for the sticks you ate. Those uneaten sticks were resold. That's why some satay sticks were more burn't than others. It might seem gross by todays standards but remember that this was in the old days. Before the PAP got into the business of renting out hawker stalls.

i should have licked every stick of satay on the plate so others could get a taste of neanderthal dna. :p

Siao. I go bedok eat my favourite hill street ckt....special edition only 5 bucks eat until song song.
Likewise I saw before in ion some unknown prawn noodle want to sell $16....uncle prawn noodle connoisseur leh....want to con me? Cb ion food court want to charge hotel price? I go any singapore famous prawn noodles add extra extra ingredients also no need $15

The last time I went in JB to eat satay and mee rebus by the sea....the stalls there still practise this

lianbeng

Wow the skinny ahbeng must be trying to set a new standard for inflation

lianbeng says my place coffeeshop still selling at $2.50 big plate can eat 3 times what they sell at Food Republic!:biggrin: add 50cents lor!