• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

The politics thread :)

whoami

Re: Singapore plans rare protest as population debate rages

MIW aka the garment. Why cant these two be separated? Y must the Ruling party be the garment? If only the garment is independent by itself. Its not fair for the MIW to use the tax payers money and at the same time tell the taxpayers they cant proceed with their promise since they are not elected into parliament. I am referring to Ponggol residents.

Mingchye

This is what happens when a ruling party has been in power for a loooong time. Things start to be blurred and separation of powers, checks and balances all gone down the drain.
Interestingly both Malaysia and Singapore are experiencing the same thing.

whoami

This is what happens when a ruling party has been in power for a loooong time. Things start to be blurred and separation of powers, checks and balances all gone down the drain.

Its common. But i take issue when the Ruling party is oso the garment by default. Why cant it be status quo....latter being independent? We are talking abt tax payers money. Our CPF too...

Mingchye

Its common. But i take issue when the Ruling party is oso the garment by default. Why cant it be status quo....latter being independent? We are talking abt tax payers money. Our CPF too...

Thats how the British Westminster style of government works where the people vote for MPs from political parties and these form the parliament with the PM and the cabinet coming from MPs from the majority party in parliament. UK, oz, nz, my, sg all adopt this style of govt. Whats crucial is that the civil service must be independent and only serve the govt of the day and not the ruling party. Parliament must adopt its role as a legislative body providing checkand balance to the govt(executive cabinet), but i suppose this is a weakness of the westminster style compared to the US style where secretaries are appointed persons who arent necessarily members of congress.
But yes I agree even if MPs are members of the same ruling party, their primary role is to be voice of their constituents, make laws, chcek on the govt and be acciuntable to those who vote themin. Unfortunaely this isnt practiced inreal life and MPs are all too interested to toe the party line.

430 pm 16 feb at Hong Lim Park. Permit received liao for this protest but I think less than 1,000 people will turn up one.....

Thanks for info, btw you know where is Hong lim park and the nearest Mrt station?

Thats how the British Westminster style of government works where the people vote for MPs from political parties and these form the parliament with the PM and the cabinet coming from MPs from the majority party in parliament. UK, oz, nz, my, sg all adopt this style of govt. Whats crucial is that the civil service must be independent and only serve the govt of the day and not the ruling party. Parliament must adopt its role as a legislative body providing checkand balance to the govt(executive cabinet), but i suppose this is a weakness of the westminster style compared to the US style where secretaries are appointed persons who arent necessarily members of congress.
But yes I agree even if MPs are members of the same ruling party, their primary role is to be voice of their constituents, make laws, chcek on the govt and be acciuntable to those who vote themin. Unfortunaely this isnt practiced inreal life and MPs are all too interested to toe the party line.

I think US style is better, no one can hog the Pm seat for more than 8 years.

If 55,000 turn up, just like good old day Selangor vs Singapore soccer final.

Then and only then the ruling elite will stood up and listen.

Hong lim park is how big? can accommodate 55k? They already set the limit by choosing the venue.

MIW aka the garment. Why cant these two be separated? Y must the Ruling party be the garment? If only the garment is independent by itself. Its not fair for the MIW to use the tax payers money and at the same time tell the taxpayers they cant proceed with their promise since they are not elected into parliament. I am referring to Ponggol residents.

The more they do this, the more they show themselves as tyrants.

PM Lee makes passionate appeal for population White Paper in Parliament
http://sg.news.yahoo.com/pm-lee-mak...tion-white-paper-in-parliament-082910512.html

Haha someone was as passionate when he said sorry two years ago. Where is the passion for Singaporeans in the white paper? I only can see the passion for foreigners.

As LTK pointed out rightly, build 500k homes and other infrastructure to improve the quality of living of Singaporeans makes no sense when the 500k homes and other infrastructure are to accommodate the new population i.e foreigners! :mad:

Saw this advert in The Star today. I like the tagline "By Malaysians, For Malaysians". What is SG's tagline? Obviously is "By Singaporeans, For foreigners" lah.

bymsiansformsians_zps8596b179.jpg

Hmm...tis Singh fm PaP oso buay wah hee with the PR and new citizens. Or was it wayang only....:smile:

http://sg.news.yahoo.com/stop-the-g...citizens--pap’s-inderjit-singh-070246723.html

Confirmed wayang - Singh voted for the white paper - only WP and NMP voted against the white paper. All 77 votes from PAP.

Parliament endorses population White Paper by 77 votes to 13
http://sg.news.yahoo.com/pm-lee-mak...tion-white-paper-in-parliament-082910512.html

potter

later go n buy 12打 7713!! HUAT huh snake yr..!!! titter.gif

arsenal

Make public housing only for locals like all other countries in the world. All foreigners give them more allowances so they can live in private properties.

Saw this advert in The Star today. I like the tagline "By Malaysians, For Malaysians". What is SG's tagline? Obviously is "By Singaporeans, For foreigners" lah.

bymsiansformsians_zps8596b179.jpg

Make public housing only for locals like all other countries in the world. All foreigners give them more allowances so they can live in private properties.

Haha PAP consider PRs as locals, so public housing is only for locals too according to PAP's definition...

potter

think ah singh is the worst amoungst all, zero integrity, complete failure. titter.gif