• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

COE prices for 1,600cc cars, commercial vehicles set new records. LTA huat ah.

bushtucker

Partying, eating at restaurants, about once a week is not much leh. 1 bottle champagne already 100plus plus here and there lor...it adds up u know.

insurance office provide ..

you could buy the champagne from supermarkets for $60 and ask your friends over to your house to drink. other sparkling wines only cost $20-$30.

jubilee1919

You are confusing personal needs and self fulfillment with mindless splurging. That is no need to spend big money to feel happy.

I'm also confuse why a secretary need or want a car?

Let him/her decided what he/she wants. Says cannot afford to buy but not willing to sacrifice. Cannot have your cake and eat it, right? This type of troll question is a waste of time to reply to and not a genuine request for advice.:oIo:

Flozzy

You are confusing personal needs and self fulfillment with mindless splurging. That is no need to spend big money to feel happy.

I'm also confuse why a secretary need or want a car?
Why cant a secretary have aspirations to own a car? Is it a crime or you looking down on secretary?!?

watchman8

Why cant a secretary have aspirations to own a car? Is it a crime or you looking down on secretary?!?
If you can afford. No one will stop you.

If you can't, then don't complain, and a car is not something that you need anyway. Most office workers don't need a car because it is left in office or home car park. There are too many people like you who aspire to things that you don't even need. For your own sake, at least aspire to something that you need or that is more meaningful.

watchman8

Let him/her decided what he/she wants. Says cannot afford to buy but not willing to sacrifice. Cannot have your cake and eat it, right? This type of troll question is a waste of time to reply to and not a genuine request for advice.:oIo:
Actually I think it is quite reflective of poor upbringing. Parents did not impart the right values. I have encountered too many sinkies like this. First paycheck went to feed the car. Then later complain no money buy flat :rolleyes:

Flozzy

If you can afford. No one will stop you.

If you can't, then don't complain, and a car is not something that you need anyway. Most office workers don't need a car because it is left in office or home car park. There are too many people like you who aspire to things that you don't even need. For your own sake, at least aspire to something that you need or that is more meaningful.

If i have car, i can send my mother to hospital for her regular checkup. Dun need taxi. My brother can also use what. Its family car. I am not crazy just to have a car for non practical purposes lah

watchman8

If i have car, i can send my mother to hospital for her regular checkup. Dun need taxi. My brother can also use what. Its family car. I am not crazy just to have a car for non practical purposes lah
Do your sums, taxi cost far less than car ownership. And at hospital, no need to pay for carpark. I brought up 2 kids without a car, and we enjoyed all the rides on public transport. When my wife was pregnant, i just rent a car for the final month. Save tons of money and we can retire early. You want to work for whole life to support super expensive car in sg?

If your bro or bf want to use, then ask them to pay. Why do you want to let them leech on you?

Flozzy

Do your sums, taxi cost far less than car ownership. And at hospital, no need to pay for carpark. I brought up 2 kids without a car, and we enjoyed all the rides on public transport. When my wife was pregnant, i just rent a car for the final month. Save tons of money and we can retire early. You want to work for whole life to support super expensive car in sg?

If your bro or bf want to use, then ask them to pay. Why do you want to let them leech on you?
Mother on wheel chair lah

Cerebral

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
I think different people have different outlook in life and nothing to do with upbringing. I agree that thrift is good, but seriously, how much do you need in the grave? I think we all must learn to enjoy and explore life as much as possible, within reasonable means. After all, we only live once.

I personally love cars and will drive not because of the prestige, but simply for the love of driving :smile:

Flozzy

I think different people have different outlook in life and nothing to do with upbringing. I agree that thrift is good, but seriously, how much do you need in the grave? I think we all must learn to enjoy and explore life as much as possible, within reasonable means. After all, we only live once.

I personally love cars and will drive not because of the prestige, but simply for the love of driving :smile:
For me it is convenient only lah..but wont buy cos i think my savings wasted lor

watchman8

But if not rich, and yet spend so much of income earned in initial years on unnecessary and expensive car. After which cry father cry mother cannot afford to get married. This is definitely linked to upbringing and values.

Nagoya

but seriously, how much do you need in the grave?

After all, we only live once.

simply for the love of driving

You are positive but the expense is just too much. That piece of paper is a lawful bribery and I scorn that.

at least i dun gamble like some of my jie mei...i see them sometimes so miserable when we party and i chinchai lah..pay for them lor

If you plan to stay on in Spore I recommend you use the $$ you save to invest rather than wasting it on cars. Times are bad with alot of job uncertainty & you need to start building a nest egg.

With a nest egg you will have more options open to you.