• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Belinda Bel Teo made police report

Microsoft

Dis photographer Roy Chuang...Isn't he the guy tat accused another photographer of trimming model pubic hair in public few mths ago...wats cooking now?...:biggrin:

She is trying to promote her modelling career lah.

And her Engrish - she should have cc the Education Minister Goldfish Eye Heng too - it might enhance her career.

She is trying to promote her modelling career lah.

And her Engrish - she should have cc the Education Minister Goldfish Eye Heng too - it might enhance her career.

sinking land modelling career with difficult to earn living without special service. unless she meet a robert head.

As she forwarded a copy of the Police report to the Prime Minister, I would sincerely hope that the PM reflects on the report seriously and think about our entire education process from end to end where the teaching of English Language is concerned.

I have travelled enough to see and hear the use of the English Language by non-native speakers though heavily accented and with reduced vocabulary can string a grammatical sentence correctly, get the tenses right, use the appropriate words and get their message across clearly.

The first time I saw an absolutely horrific written report was in circa 1996 from a civil servant. I was shocked as she was from an English stream school.

And why does this need to go to the PMO?

Harassment news you can change it to English education problem.... We know you English teacher lah, wah piangz ehh....

ray_of_hope

When a nobody sends a letter to the PM you really get to realise why the powers-that-be might turn a deaf ear to most feedback. Everyday the PMO must be receiving hundreds of vacuous letters from serfs.

This reflects badly on the PAP and million dollar ministers. Our kids are losing jobs to FTs who seem to write better especially to the Indian and Ang Mo FTs.

How come people like you and me can get our English right but not the younger generation? I am sure when you were schooling the pay of Ministers were in line with the rest of the world in relative terms. Also recall the streets were cleaner compared to now.

We used to be well known for our good command of the language and were readily accepted in the Commonwealth countries and US for it.

Harassment news you can change it to English education problem.... We know you English teacher lah, wah piangz ehh....

Sir_Fcuk

Lunch Corporal
As she forwarded a copy of the Police report to the Prime Minister, I would sincerely hope that the PM reflects on the report seriously and think about our entire education process from end to end where the teaching of English Language is concerned.

The first time I saw an absolutely horrific written report was in circa 1996 from a civil servant. I was shocked as she was from an English stream school.

And why does this need to go to the PMO?

Absolutely, and the Prime Minister needs to forward this to the Education Minister. We can forgive her if her cheena is sibei good.

king_of_abalone

Absolutely, and the Prime Minister needs to forward this to the Education Minister. We can forgive her if her cheena is sibei good.

Most Singaporeans, myself included, cannot read, write and speak in English AND Mother Tongue to save our lives. It would be great if we were good at one language at the least, any one will do.

Based on police report number, she reported her case at either Bedok Police Div or its NPC. Most likely living in the east and/or working there.

Once I was waiting for a friend at Raffles Place MRT and sat next to a bunch of uncles. Immediately noticed they standard of English was outstanding including their diction etc. They looked no different to any retiree ah pek in cargo shorts and sandals that you find in coffeeshop. The second time was at Changi Airport, again a bunch of retirees TCSS at the staff canteen.

One person that I thought was outstanding in terms of spoken language is SC Kenneth Tan. The guy schooled locally and his family is local as well.

Once I was waiting for a friend at Raffles Place MRT and sat next to a bunch of uncles. Immediately noticed they standard of English was outstanding including their diction etc. They looked no different to any retiree ah pek in cargo shorts and sandals that you find in coffeeshop. The second time was at Changi Airport, again a bunch of retirees TCSS at the staff canteen.

One person that I thought was outstanding in terms of spoken language is SC Kenneth Tan. The guy schooled locally and his family is local as well.

By the same token, when overhearing conversations by students from the top schools, I am unable to decipher 100% of what they say - either because of their 300 mph or bad diction/slurring of words.

And don't let us get started on Vomit Singh's spoken Engrish here.

zeebjii

Don't have to look far. Compare Tommy Koh, LKY to modern scholar-generals Chan Chun Sing, Lui Tuck Yew.:biggrin:

I agree. The slurring is very perceptible.

By the same token, when overhearing conversations by students from the top schools, I am unable to decipher 100% of what they say - either because of their 300 mph or bad diction/slurring of words.

And don't let us get started on Vomit Singh's spoken Engrish here.