• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

PSLE 2012 Top score 285 Lowest score 43

Clone

I have spoken to some parents, and almost all agreed that force feeding can only help till PSLE. After that the kids will start to rebel, or they simply can't catch up. By A levels, there are plenty of complex concepts to grasp, can't fake it any longer.

Your kids probably have the innate abilities, you simply wasted time and money on those tuition classes.

Agreed with you on the issue of raging hormones. Very much depends on how motivated the kid is towards the common goal. Like I've said, talent is overrated.

kingrant

You also dont need a good PSLE result to be in the board room.

Asses and donkeys can be there. Just get married into the right family. Look at Ho Ching.

You don't need a good PSLE result to be in the chatroom.

enterprise2

Very true. If you take a longer term, broader view of things, PSLE is just a blip, hardly signifcant. However, for most of the parents and kids caught in the race, it is hard not to get sucked in.

Helloo,u guys know how the system work or not??? If u screwed up in PSLE, u may not progress or u may end up in Normal vs Express stream. Why do u think parents are so kang chiong about this?? Everyone pushing their kids so that they don't end up in Normal stream. For those in the 250 and above range, why not choose the best schools with the best teachers and system. Everyone may start at the same starting line but these kids already got the best coaches, best equipments and best training,...how not to win??

watchman8

Helloo,u guys know how the system work or not??? If u screwed up in PSLE, u may not progress or u may end up in Normal vs Express stream. Why do u think parents are so kang chiong about this?? Everyone pushing their kids so that they don't end up in Normal stream. For those in the 250 and above range, why not choose the best schools with the best teachers and system. Everyone may start at the same starting line but these kids already got the best coaches, best equipments and best training,...how not to win??
Go out more, don't just stay in civil service. You will find plenty of PSLE top scorers working for bosses who were average students.

Anyway I was referring to kids who are scoring well within express stream qualification. Not the borderline cases between normal and express.

Conqueror

What Do You Mean By Talent Overrated ?

That's not true. Academic skills can be developed and reinforced. If I am a parent, I'll start them young from 7 so they can peak at 17 in time for their A levels. Every step counts.

Talent is overrated. :wink:

I don't think PSLE has a lot effect on the child's intelligence. It is still too early to tell. Can the champ or king PSLE be a king or champ of GCE O-level ? And can the same O-level champ be the A-level champ ? Then, you have to ask again will he or she end up as a Harvard champ ? Then, what ?

Will he eventually become famous people like Sun Tzu or ZhuGe Liang that have lasted for not just decades but many millennia. Newton or Ampere ? Einstein ? These were the ones that made headlines.

There's another type that made the headline too - the sinking of the Titanic.

titanic-new-york-american-coverage.jpg

ahkow

Another big problem is the GEP scheme at P4. The top 1% of entire cohort are creamed off nationally and relocated to the GEP schools like nanyang and Henry park. Of course these Schools with GEP classes will have plenty of top PSLE students. Yet these schools are dishonest and promote themselves as if they have done such a superb job in transforming students from P1. Then all the parents Kancheong, all want their kids to enter these top schools at P1. Wonder why MOE still not doing anything about this nonsense?

That is why it is not the principals nor teachers in these schools are better. It simply means they get a lion share of top performining students at P3. Imagine a school like NYPS has about 100 GEP students out of the nation 500 GEP students for the cohort. How not to produce at least a student in the top scorers list every year? I think they should scrap the GEP system.

paiseh to say i did not do well in psle and almost did not get my o level cert. yes, life is tough as career options very limited. the only consolation i got was lucky to meet good bosses and people who helped me along the way.
if can turn back clock, i will cheat heavily on both my psle and o levels examinations. :wink: that would probably save me from walking so many innocent roads.

Conqueror

Guy Sux At O-Level Still Gets A Good Career

paiseh to say i did not do well in psle and almost did not get my o level cert. yes, life is tough as career options very limited.

I'm not sure whether a person's destiny is fixed since the day of one's birth. I had a secondary school classmate who was very charismatic and cheerful and he was well liked by everyone. He did not do well in his O-level. I don't really know what happened back then after some of us moved on to Polys and JCs.

Ten years later, I 'saw' him again. He became a realty estate agent manager on the ST paper. I think he will make a good salesman.

Life is hard to predict. Never give up dreaming.

That is why it is not the principals nor teachers in these schools are better. It simply means they get a lion share of top performining students at P3. Imagine a school like NYPS has about 100 GEP students out of the nation 500 GEP students for the cohort. How not to produce at least a student in the top scorers list every year? I think they should scrap the GEP system.

These students that score well academically already have the discipline, right home environment or are just naturally good in scholastic endevors. It's not really correct to say that their principals or teachers actually even played a part in developing them. That's why when you see a batch of students that did better than what's expected of them shows that the teachers are actually dedicated. Imagine model students that do their homework, get good grades and stay out of trouble all congregating in a certain school. There is hardly any challenge for the teacher to even teach them and develop the teacher.

The human mind is receptive to training especially when they are young. They are able to pick up certain skillsets at a young age such as language and articulation skills. That is the reason why structured schooling begin at age 6/7 and not at 13.

A kid who does well at PSLE would have a headstart for 2 reasons - they land in a good school with similar cohort and secondly they are able to keep pace. Like all things in life there will be exceptions such as late bloomers and these are outliers.

Talent also plays a part. A talented and intelligent kid sails thru while a less talented and less intelligent kid struggles thru. I have seen both sets reach the pinnacle in terms of academic achievement and get OMS. When they return , the latter would struggle and plateau early.

The civil service is conscious of it and from the very start have a parallel pipeline of non-OMS. Some of the PS, GLC heads are non-OMS.

erection2015

Alfrescian (InfP) + C
you are probably correct about this.....but the parents should not have allowed this poor kid to do the PSLE.....they should have sent him to a school that can cater to his special needs. I'm not sure how expensive these schools are but i think there are subsidies.

Please dont laugh U both even more idiot. Dont use brain to think. That person likely is handicap/mental disorder.
His parent sent him/her for PLSE test so that children will feel like normal person.

Clone

Re: What Do You Mean By Talent Overrated ?

I don't think PSLE has a lot effect on the child's intelligence. It is still too early to tell. Can the champ or king PSLE be a king or champ of GCE O-level ? And can the same O-level champ be the A-level champ ? Then, you have to ask again will he or she end up as a Harvard champ ? Then, what ?

Will he eventually become famous people like Sun Tzu or ZhuGe Liang that have lasted for not just decades but many millennia. Newton or Ampere ? Einstein ? These were the ones that made headlines.

There's another type that made the headline too - the sinking of the Titanic.

The race begins from the P1 registration exercise. 'Every School is a Good School' is hogwash. If the kid mixes with the wrong peers, the battle is half-lost. Then the kid has to put in the hours, if he's 'intelligent', then lucky him for toiling fewer hours.

Those famous names that you mentioned started young. If you notice, recent physics Nobel laureates are past 50 and the age bracket keeps pushing up, that's because the body of knowledge keeps expanding. You want to be world-renowned? Be very knowledgeable in your chosen field first. Einstein won his Nobel Prize at 23. He started off when he's 10.

songsongjurong

top student is from zhong hua primary school (285) in serangoon, neighbourhood school..but last nite TV news choose to focus on nanyang primary school..

that leaves us the 43 MOE backed primary school...which is... ?

watchman8

Those famous names that you mentioned started young. If you notice, recent physics Nobel laureates are past 50 and the age bracket keeps pushing up, that's because the body of knowledge keeps expanding. You want to be world-renowned? Be very knowledgeable in your chosen field first. Einstein won his Nobel Prize at 23. He started off when he's 10.
Don't write on topics that you don't understand. Recipients of Nobel prizes usually got their awards at much older age because the scientific body needs many years to verify and ascertain the impact of that scientific discovery.

The current Singapore system will never produce any Nobel prize winners because the teachings and exams have so much focus on rote learning. High points for using wide range of vocabulary, but little emphasis on writing clearly and using the most appropriate words. So end up primary schools just cram students with using chim words. Maths is atrocious too. All the stupid emphasis on using specific method to solve problems, and alternative methods are deemed incorrect. Great way to kill learning enthusiasm and future thought leaders.

The Singapore education system is only good at producing meek followers suitable for civil service. So I applaude the recent MOE effort to reduce focus on PSLE score and to open up more channels for kids to excel, be it academic, sports or other fields. However, instead of praising MOE for going in the right direction, sinkies are fighting to keep the current system of ultra competitive exams:*:

Clone

Don't write on topics that you don't understand. Recipients of Nobel prizes usually got their awards at much older age because the scientific body needs many years to verify and ascertain the impact of that scientific discovery.

The current Singapore system will never produce any Nobel prize winners because the teachings and exams have so much focus on rote learning. High points for using wide range of vocabulary, but little emphasis on writing clearly and using the most appropriate words. So end up primary schools just cram students with using chim words. Maths is atrocious too. All the stupid emphasis on using specific method to solve problems, and alternative methods are deemed incorrect. Great way to kill learning enthusiasm and future thought leaders.

The Singapore education system is only good at producing meek followers suitable for civil service. So I applaude the recent MOE effort to reduce focus on PSLE score and to open up more channels for kids to excel, be it academic, sports or other fields. However, instead of praising MOE for going in the right direction, sinkies are fighting to keep the current system of ultra competitive exams:*:

Go check out the chronological list of physics Nobel laureates, the age of the recipients has been trending upwards. As for the underlying reasons behind this trend, you can always "Google".

I agree with you we can never produce a Nobel prize laureate given the current system.

watchman8

Go check out the chronological list of physics Nobel laureates, the age of the recipients has been trending upwards. As for the underlying reasons behind this trend, you can always "Google".

I agree with you we can never produce a Nobel prize laureate given the current system.
The age trend is largely because of the current focus is on building on fields that has already been explored. The early 1900s were exciting times when physics world chanced upon quantum and relativity. If one day, another Einstein level genius discover an entirely new field in physics, then the age with trend down again. But this has nothing to do with drilling kids in academics at young age.

My personal belief and experience tells me that it is better to give kids more time and space to develop and discover their talent and interest, instead of forcing them through a system that encourages conformity and exam smarts. There are more than enough university slots, why need to be the top student to enter uni, when the key to success in life is to excel in chosen field?

Clone

The age trend is largely because of the current focus is on building on fields that has already been explored. The early 1900s were exciting times when physics world chanced upon quantum and relativity. If one day, another Einstein level genius discover an entirely new field in physics, then the age with trend down again. But this has nothing to do with drilling kids in academics at young age.

Yep my point exactly on the current uptrend and you're right about how the age trend can be reversed.

My personal belief and experience tells me that it is better to give kids more time and space to develop and discover their talent and interest, instead of forcing them through a system that encourages conformity and exam smarts. There are more than enough university slots, why need to be the top student to enter uni, when the key to success in life is to excel in chosen field?

Is your belief shared by the majority of parents you encountered?

Kinana

Re: Guy Sux At O-Level Still Gets A Good Career

I'm not sure whether a person's destiny is fixed since the day of one's birth. I had a secondary school classmate who was very charismatic and cheerful and he was well liked by everyone. He did not do well in his O-level. I don't really know what happened back then after some of us moved on to Polys and JCs.

Ten years later, I 'saw' him again. He became a realty estate agent manager on the ST paper. I think he will make a good salesman.

Life is hard to predict. Never give up dreaming.

In singapore, anyone who works hard can make money

You also dont need a good PSLE result to be in the board room.

Asses and donkeys can be there. Just get married into the right family. Look at Ho Ching.

I agree with you though using whore jinx is bad example......I can bet you she aced her psle