• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Teacher cuts pupil's hair, mum files police report

This kind of haircut at $60? What a waste of good money.

ST_20120823_JMHAIR23_3266278e.jpg

Ryan’s hair before it was cut by his teacher.

The mother, Madam Serene Ong, is outraged that the teacher did this just before a crucial exam, that it was done without her knowledge - and that it ruined the boy's $60 haircut.

I know the need for discipline in school, and I am acutely aware that parents these days pamper and are overprotective of their kids, but...

The boy's hair wasn't even long to begin with! And it wasn't dyed. If he were in NS, that hair would be okay.

Clearly, the teacher Belinda Cheng fucked up big time.

Did she take out her frustration on the boy because she a sexually repressed 'old maiden' or unhappily married at home?

What kind of teachers are the MOE creating to 'mould the future of our nation'?

Belinda Cheng Voon Yen, Form teacher of Pri. 6H
http://www.unitypri.moe.edu.sg/family_form_teachers.html

ZUKmB.jpg

[email protected]

Goh Meng Seng

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
Although I don't agree with the forceful cut of hair by the teacher, but it seems that the mother has made a big fuss over nothing. During my school time, being dragged to the barber and get a crew cut was just too common and nobody made a fuss over it because, when you just ignored warnings, you would the respective cut. I remembered one of the year, all the guys in my guys, just decided to have botak hair cut eventually just to make it a trend and avoid people from laughing on those who kena botak hair cut! :wink:

Goh Meng Seng

http://www.facebook.com/belinda.yen

Belinda Cheng Voon Yen

16 years old in 1983 (graduated from Sec 4) = 45 years old in 2012.

Work and Education
Employers

Ministry of Education
Graduate School

University of Toronto
Class of 2009 · Master's Degree · Educatoin · Toronto, Ontario
College

Nanyang Technological University
Biology · Education · Singapore, Singapore

Ngee Ann Polytechnic
Singapore, Singapore
High School

Woodsville Secondary School
Class of 1983 · Singapore, Singapore
sec 46

The one in the middle:

ShKHO.jpg

vT85Z.jpg

Yep, having a fun time with her BFFs in Bali in 2011. During the school holidays, how convenient.

Glaringly

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
I know the need for discipline in school, and I am acutely aware that parents these days pamper and are overprotective of their kids, but...

The boy's hair wasn't even long to begin with! And it wasn't dyed. If he were in NS, that hair would be okay.

Clearly, the teacher Belinda Cheng fucked up big time.

You believe the first picture is taken just before his hair is cut by the teacher?

Sign of the times...back then schools standby barbers during assembly and catch boys with long hair....cut already still have to pay the barber.
Teacher should have known how pampered kids are now then to pull a stunt like this.

Although I don't agree with the forceful cut of hair by the teacher, but it seems that the mother has made a big fuss over nothing. During my school time, being dragged to the barber and get a crew cut was just too common and nobody made a fuss over it because, when you just ignored warnings, you would the respective cut. I remembered one of the year, all the guys in my guys, just decided to have botak hair cut eventually just to make it a trend and avoid people from laughing on those who kena botak hair cut! :wink:

Goh Meng Seng

When I was reading this case, there are two sides of the coin. First, the mother of the boy is overreacting & definitely spoiling the boy, who will have no sense of discipline, grow to believe that money & whatever power and connection he will get his way. There is no humility,

Second, I am sure that the school would have issued circular or notes to the parents with the attire they require for attending school examinations, especially important ones like PSLE, Min. of Ed, would have issued their directive to the school . The boy either have not given that to the parents or the mother/father could not be bothered to read the circular or notes. They just cannot be bothered.

The teacher, should have told the boy to inform his mother before cutting his hair or inform the principal so that, she cover her 'asses' from being burnt. We have to be careful with people's precious children these days, hairstyle cost $60.

You are right, when we are young the standard school hair cut was the 'botak look' or the 3 by 4 famously done by the Chinese barbers or the Hainanese barbers ( no offence to the Hainanese), I don't want my hair to be cut by the Chinese ones or the Hainanese. I chose to have my hair cut by the Indian or Malay barbers, who knows you are a student, will cut your hair a compromise between being modern & still keeping the school hair cut standard.

Being botak was common in my time, especially those studying in the Chinese medium schools especially so the 3 by 4 hairstyle.

If We ever get our hair cut by the school, whether the teacher , discipline master , worse the school principal; we won't dare go home, or we will get a trashing from our mother or father. Rarely, we have parents, during our time questioning the authority of the school. To get the school to call the parents to school, unless for school awards, one is really in deep shit!

Kids are spoil today & some parents ( not all) are making it very difficult for the school to educate & teach the children. In this case, the mother looks like she is not angry for ruining the hair cut of the boy ( after all the hair will grow back fast) but she HAD SPENT $60 AT REDS to cut the hair. The boy as one comment here, will be cutting his hair F.O.C. at Boy's Home first, then Changi Resort or Maybe Buangkok Lodge . F.O.C.

The teacher is at fault, the parents is at fault, and that idiotic Mrs. Bayi Principal is at fault too, for not standing on the side of the teacher. The principla is encouraging indiscipline...If were I was that teacher, I RESIGN!

Jlokta

The teacher is at fault, the parents is at fault, and that blinky fool fool Bayi Principal is at fault too, for not standing on the side of the teacher. The Bayi is encouraging indiscipline...If were I was that teacher, I RESIGN!

very long post, but I agree with you on this part. :biggrin:

I look at this boy's picture and reads how his mum behaves, I suddenly have a premonition that 1 day this boy will get his hair cut in Changi Resort.

1. aiyoh!
2. world-crass parenting.
3. top it up! spoilt brat in the making!
4. no eye see.
5. moe is some toothless thing.

Balls2U

That's the problem with all these fucktards Sinkie teachers. No bloody brains! Can't she just allow the kid to finish with his exam first? Will his supposedly long and unsightly hair have any bearing on his academic performance at the end of the day? During my school days, this mother fucker teacher who tried to cut my hair in front of the whole class. I snatched the fucking pair of scissors away and threw it out of the classroom. That bastard pulled my shirt towards him, but I instinctively pushed his fucking head away so hard that he fell backwards. Needless to say, I got suspended from school for 3 weeks. Supposed to get public canning, but somehow, the Discipline Master went for some course and later forgotten about it. Whew! :mad:

Pupil's hair kena cut. Parent angry and hire gangsters kidnap teacher and cut her pubic hair !!!:o

To truly traumatize a woman, shave her head bald. Cutting her pubic/armpit/leg hair won't work.

Every woman, even the fugliest ones, will fight to the death to defend the hair on her head.

Why do you think women spend so much money on perming, rebonding, dyeing, highlighting and salon treatments? Their hair is their LIFE.

chilakak

When I was reading this case, there are two sides to the coin, the mother of the boy is overreacting & definitely spoiling the boy, who will have no sense of discipline, grow to believe that money & whatever power and connection he will get his way. There is no humility,

I am sure that the scholl would have issued circulars to the parents with the attire they require for attending school examinations, especially important ones like PSLE, Min. Ed, would have issued theirs to the school too. The boy either have not given that circulars to the parents or the mother could not be bothered to read the circulars. The reasons we all know of people behavior these days ( the learn from the pxp).

The teacher, should have told the boy to inform his mother before cutting his hair or inform the principal so that, she cover her 'asses' from being burnt. We have to be careful with people's precious children these days, hairstyle cost $60.

You are right, when we are young the standard school hair cut was the 'botak look' or the 3 by 4 famously done by the Chinese barbers or the Hainanese barbers ( no offence to the Hainanese), I don't want my hair to be cut by the Chinese ones or the Hainanese. I chose to have my hair cut by the Indian or Malay barbers, who knows you are a student, will cut your hair a compromise between being modern & still keeping the school hair cut standard.

Cutting botak was the standard in my time, especially those in the Chinese medium school or the 3 by 4 hairstyle. We get our hair cut by the school, whether the teachers , discipline master , worse the school principal; we won't dare go home, or we will get the trashing. Rarely, we have parents, during our time questioning the authority of the school. To get the school to call the parents to school, unless for school awards, one is in big shit!

Kids are spoilt today & some parents ( not all) are making it very difficult for the school to educate & teach the children. In this case, the mother looks like she is not angry for ruining the hair cut of the cut ( afterall the hair will grow back fast) but she HAD SPENT $60 AT REDS to cut the hair. The boy as one comment here, will be cutting his hair F.O.C. at Boy's Home first, then Changi Resort or Maybe Buangkok Lodge . F.O.C.

The teacher is at fault, the parents is at fault, and that blinky fool fool Bayi Principal is at fault too, for not standing on the side of the teacher. The Bayi is encouraging indiscipline...If were I was that teacher, I RESIGN!

Well put, Halsey. Agree with your last line.

Over the past decade or slightly longer, the standard of discipline in our schools has been declining rapidly. And the main reasons are bad parenting and incompetent staff, at both the school and MOE levels. Although parents like this Mdm Ong are in the minority, it is a rather sizeable and growing minority. They have no interest in raising self-disciplined and civic-minded children and practise what I call "prosperity parenting", much like the concept of someone's well-known "prosperity gospel", with the parenting version being "if you give your kids more in material terms, your kids and you will be blessed, don't worry about the side-effects". There are many defiant children in our local schools nowadays with many of them coming from well-off homes.

On the part of the education sector personnel, there are many idiots like the bayi principal and principals of Dunman High and Nanyang Primary who were also quoted in the report. Those two morons are not fit to lead. The MOE isn't any better and in fact can be considered the bigger culprit for the simple reason that they hardly stand by their frontline staff. It is common knowledge amongst teachers that MOE and principals always send the unwritten message of not being too tough on students when it comes to discipline because they don't want the hassle of managing parents' complaints. Many teachers now find it not worth the while to do anything more than just teach the academic curriculum. Forget about the past concept where many of our teachers saw it also as their role to groom the value systems of the next generation. Basically the situation in local schools now is one where the interests of the generally well-behaved majority has been preceded by the need to molly-coddle the unreasonable and vocal minority and this is a growing minority. Lack of support from their leadership is one of the primary reasons for good teachers leaving the system and not the oft-cited "salary not good enough" reason from MOE and the establishment.

chuckyworld

my mum crops my hair, if she weren't free, my brother does it. likewise, me style my brother's hairdo. thought that's the norm.

You must volunteer to shave Serene ong son Botak, so it will be shiny target for Kana chi on his bald shiny head.....:biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

Reddog

$60 haircut. Wah, my Malay barber gave me discount and charged only $8. Maybe this well protected boy will one day have his haircut provided by Changi resort leh. Sad.