• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Living in JB 2 (Johore)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Newbie2012

The current high price is due in part to the completion of many major infrastruture as well as the ever increasing cost of raw materials and labor costs.

To say that Singaporean alone buying homes in Johor is able to drive up developers' selling prices is a bit of over-estimating Singaporeans investment strength.

Some of the units in EL are bought by oversea investors and there is one such investor that spends M$250k on reno and only comes and stay occassionally. It is possible that empty units in EL and HH are owned by rich foreigners that bought as invesments because they buy in to the Iskandar Project.

With the large amount of money already spent on the infrastructure by the Fed gov, it is unlikely for prices to go back to the price level 2 to 3 years ago unless investments dries up for this project.

Now that there are more lands taken up to build factories and more companies are also setting up there to enjoy the 5 years tax holidays, so there are more demands for houses for all these new employees and workers.

And in another few years when connectivity between Iskandar and Singapore are enhanced, it is even more attractive to stay in wide open spaces and commute to tiny cramped Singapore for work. I just know of a young couple that has just committed to a SEG unit because they find it is too expensive to own a HDB that they rather stay in SEG in 3 years time and commute to Sg for work. They at least have a decent size house that they can stayed and owned rather than a HDB that is leased to us for 99 years even though we pay few hundred k for it.

Obviously we would still do our sum and not over-commit to any investment if we do not spare cash apart from the property in SG.

I know of a SIA pilot who will likely sell over his fully paid Sg condo for a tidy sum once his Bungalow is EL is ready and move over. By doing that he can shake leg and lim kopi without being sucked dry by the very expensive cost of living in Sg.

I do think it is unlikely that prices will go back to the level of 2 to 3 years back where HH gateway intermediate terraces were selling below $400K but consolidation is likely.

Yes, new infrastructures are being built and more companies are expected to set up business in Nusajaya. More workers will be employed to take up job there. So there will be a lot of people coming to the area to work and buy/rent properties for stay. But we have to go beneath that surface to see whether there is any solid fundamental to justify the current high prices that developer are asking.

Are the workers there gonna be paid salary equivalent to their counterparts in Singapore? Its very unlikely except for a small percentage of foreign talent experts recruited to kickstart the companies set up by foreigners. Most of the workers will have to come from Malaysia itself as the Malaysian govt will not and cannot be as open as Singapore in its foreign talent workers policy as they will risk being voted out by its people in the next election.

Will the companies setting up in Nusajaya willing to pay more to the workers than it is necessary? Who would want to procure their services if it is not much cheaper than in Singapore? So it is very unlikely these workers will be paid anywhere near their equivalent in Singapore. So I would say most of these workers will not be able to afford to buy or rent the type of properties that is currently bought by Singaporean and Singapore PRs at current price level, not in this decade. They will probably help to boost up demand for mass market properties below $500K instead.

So the current price level of Iskandar properties has still eventually got to be supported by Singaporeans and SPRs buying for residence as well as the high resale/rental values of Singapore HDB flats. The foreign investors(whether they are aware or not) are mainly buying into this factor, as this is the main push to catapult their property prices.

The new infrastructures are the means to attract more Singaporeans and SPRs to take up residence in Iskandar region. But with increasing congested immigration crossing, its attractive force may have hit the limit as the only way to commute to work in Singapore from Iskandar is by bus and car. The future MRT link will be the solution to push the limit further.

To say that the current developer high asking prices are mainly due to increases in labour and material cost is to further help feed the developer's greed. No doubt it may be a factor, but not big enough to justify such high increase. There is a developer who increases its asking price by more than $100k for the same project but the quality are the same for all the units.

On this quality point, at such current high level, I would advise buyers to be more selective in the quality of the material given by the developer. This particular developer, though provided laminated flooring for the upper floor but I must say its quality is not acceptable at current high prices. The laminated flooring felt bouncy like you are walking on Nike Air shoes; I doubt it would withstand the weight of your solid wood wardrobe and bed. The aluminum windows fitting feels like it will pop out if you lean against it. Their bathrooms are fitted with cheap PVC doors, one that would not even be able to withstand a single kick from intruders. Those buyers who bought the units at current high prices I doubt they will be able to accept its quality. They may have to burnt a big hole in their pockets to have the laminated flooring and windows replaced. Those buyers who choose not to replace them may be facing a bigger problem a few years down after they moved in; it will be a bigger hassle to replace them then.

FHBH12

I do think it is unlikely that prices will go back to the level of 2 to 3 years back where HH gateway intermediate terraces were selling below $400K but consolidation is likely.

Yes, new infrastructures are being built and more companies are expected to set up business in Nusajaya. More workers will be employed to take up job there. So there will be a lot of people coming to the area to work and buy/rent properties for stay. But we have to go beneath that surface to see whether there is any solid fundamental to justify the current high prices that developer are asking.

Are the workers there gonna be paid salary equivalent to their counterparts in Singapore? Its very unlikely except for a small percentage of foreign talent experts recruited to kickstart the companies set up by foreigners. Most of the workers will have to come from Malaysia itself as the Malaysian govt will not and cannot be as open as Singapore in its foreign talent workers policy as they will risk being voted out by its people in the next election.

Will the companies setting up in Nusajaya willing to pay more to the workers than it is necessary? Who would want to procure their services if it is not much cheaper than in Singapore? So it is very unlikely these workers will be paid anywhere near their equivalent in Singapore. So I would say most of these workers will not be able to afford to buy or rent the type of properties that is currently bought by Singaporean and Singapore PRs at current price level, not in this decade. They will probably help to boost up demand for mass market properties below $500K instead.

So the current price level of Iskandar properties has still eventually got to be supported by Singaporeans and SPRs buying for residence as well as the high resale/rental values of Singapore HDB flats. The foreign investors(whether they are aware or not) are mainly buying into this factor, as this is the main push to catapult their property prices.

The new infrastructures are the means to attract more Singaporeans and SPRs to take up residence in Iskandar region. But with increasing congested immigration crossing, its attractive force may have hit the limit as the only way to commute to work in Singapore from Iskandar is by bus and car. The future MRT link will be the solution to push the limit further.

To say that the current developer high asking prices are mainly due to increases in labour and material cost is to further help feed the developer's greed. No doubt it may be a factor, but not big enough to justify such high increase. There is a developer who increases its asking price by more than $100k for the same project but the quality are the same for all the units.

On this quality point, at such current high level, I would advise buyers to be more selective in the quality of the material given by the developer. This particular developer, though provided laminated flooring for the upper floor but I must say its quality is not acceptable at current high prices. The laminated flooring felt bouncy like you are walking on Nike Air shoes; I doubt it would withstand the weight of your solid wood wardrobe and bed. The aluminum windows fitting feels like it will pop out if you lean against it. Their bathrooms are fitted with cheap PVC doors, one that would not even be able to withstand a single kick from intruders. Those buyers who bought the units at current high prices I doubt they will be able to accept its quality. They may have to burnt a big hole in their pockets to have the laminated flooring and windows replaced. Those buyers who choose not to replace them may be facing a bigger problem a few years down after they moved in; it will be a bigger hassle to replace them then.

Have you bought a unit at Iskandar or waiting to buy one? I suppose you haven't and you are waiting for a correction - please confirm. I have been monitoring and also vested in Singapore properties. Singapore's land is almost exhausted, causing rental costs to become sky high. There is no turning back for Iskandar as it improves its infrastructure and business efficiency. JB population is still young and contributing to the economy. They will save up and upgrade to better housing, thus internal demand will be there. Most of the landed are below $1mil MYR, buy when they are still cheap at this level.

Funds Transfer

Have you bought a unit at Iskandar or waiting to buy one? I suppose you haven't and you are waiting for a correction - please confirm. I have been monitoring and also vested in Singapore properties. Singapore's land is almost exhausted, causing rental costs to become sky high. There is no turning back for Iskandar as it improves its infrastructure and business efficiency. JB population is still young and contributing to the economy. They will save up and upgrade to better housing, thus internal demand will be there. Most of the landed are below $1mil MYR, buy when they are still cheap at this level.

IMHO, it is important for us not to run away thinking that Malaysian properties move in the same way as Singapore as the latter is really unique. An annual household income of $100,000 supporting a property worth nearly a million. With a multiple of nearly 10X of income, it is quite unsustainable in the long run.

I would agree with Newbie 2012 that the majority of the average Malaysians or at least, in Johor, would be investing in RM 500K type of property.

That said, I am still bullish about the property scene here and would be drawing more comfort from the fact that a good terrace unit in KL, Penang can be more than RM 1 million.

But it will again be dependent on location, facilities, quality and security.

FHBH12

About $500k MYR for a house could be the base from internal demand. Anything higher is foreigners' demand, particularly from Singaporeans and PRs. $1 mil MYR ($400k SGD) is a piece of cake for Singaporeans/PRs investors if you look at how shoebox apartments are snapped up in Singapore (even up to today at $600k SGD for a 1 bedder). The 3% ABSD for Singaporeans/PRs and 10% for foreigners are channeling money into Malaysia properties.

siacw

1mil property may seem cheap for singaporean or SG pr, but they are not for local johorean.

landed in KL have not even hit that price generally except for some area.

RedsYNWA

I think the educated JB locals can afford RM 500k to RM 700k house. Anything more could be an issue.

If you do a like-for-like comparison, their double storey terrace (RM 400k to RM 700k) is comparable to our OCR 3 bedder condo in status which is going for around S$900k to S$1.2m. Thus far, we havent seen major problems in servicing loans for such purchases in both countries.

Similar to SG, the price rises for JB houses have mirrored a corresponding fall in interest rates. All things being equal, in the longer term of 15-20 years, I feel gd location landed in JB should still outperform SG houses because JB is still developing its infrastructure, while SG is mature in both its infrastructure & economy.

I have heard talk that SG govt agencies have KPIs to move SG SMEs to JB at a rate of 10% per annum. That should help prop up JB's economy. But yes, i agree a 3rd bridge & MRTs are a necessity. Both customs have also not been operating at full capacity, leading to jams.

Notably at causeway, an entire lane is closed to allow JB immigration officials to park their bloody cars. But connectivity is not something that cant be solved over time.

crystal_tiong

last sat finally have chance to watch a movie at BI , citibank card 1 for 1 promotion is still on (can use SG citibank card too) ! RM14 for 2 tickets only , very affordable , can bring whole family to watch liao ...

Mingchye

last sat finally have chance to watch a movie at BI , citibank card 1 for 1 promotion is still on (can use SG citibank card too) ! RM14 for 2 tickets only , very affordable , can bring whole family to watch liao ...

My own preference is NOT to watch English/Ang Mo movies in Malaysia because of the tough censorship rules. I prefer to watch Canto/Hong Kong movies in Malaysia cos its not dubbed and the original spoken language is maintained.

Sanur

Ha, I thought only the civil servants or PAP will say serious bo....are you one of them?
Grad driving taxi is common these days.. Employers want cheap, young and Tua L.. Definitely not old birds..
I also don't see any wrong with driving taxi.. ha.. Maybe you are out of Singapore for too long..

To add on... This is very real, my bro in law became a taxi driver in his late 30,s, he is a graduate n have been working as an engineer since he gratuated n with the same company, his loyalty was being taken for granted and was being kicked around in the company doing those work that no one is interested. They took in the younger FT. He was fed up, left n took closed to a year , couldn't get a job was so depressed n took up the taxi driver job.. After months of being one he managed to get an engineering job with much lower salary. Till date he still keeps his taxi licence.

crystal_tiong

Msia govt may build Nuclear Power Plants in Johor

quote:

Gov’t identifies 7 sites for nuclear plants, say NGOs

A coalition today revealed that the government has secretly pushed for its nuclear power plants project and has preliminarily identified the potential sites for them, despite objections from the ground.

The government, through the Malaysia Nuclear Power Corporation (MNPC), has identified seven sites for twin-unit nuclear power plants, said Malaysian Coalition Against Nuclear (MyCan) spokeperson Dr Ronald McCoy.

The seven sites are located in four states – one in Kedah and two each in Perak, Terengganu and Johor, he said in a press conference.

McCoy said five sites are located near the coastal areas, while two sites are located inland – Tasik Temenggor in Perak and Tasik Kenyir in Terengganu, as a massive amount of water is needed to cool down the twin reactors.

He said the coalition had obtained this accurate information within a month, but was not able to reveal its sources and the exact potential areas to protect its sources.

Despite the recent nuclear disaster in Japan, he said, the Malaysian government went ahead to secretly proceed with its nuclear power plant plans, apparently not able at all to learn from previous bad experiences.

http://forum.channelnewsasia.com/sh...-govt-may-build-Nuclear-Power-Plants-in-Johor

______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

with this news , does it affect Nusajaya investors ?

crystal_tiong

Then the voters will punish BN at the upcoming GE13.

but a quick check with the my malaysians beauticians and manicurist , they sounds like dun bother to vote at all . if majority ppl are like that , then too bad la ....i told them its a chance to vote and hope the country change !

Status
Not open for further replies.