• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Living in JB 2 (Johore)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sanur

Re: Agents' commission

Dear all,

Glad I found this forum here. Have been looking around in the nusajaya area for the past 2-3 months after a friend who bought a house in EL sold me the idea of staying in Johor. We are thinking of getting the house for our own residence and not for investment purpose. Have always been wanting to have a quiet away from city bigger living space for us. And my wife and I found HH, LF and EL very nice.

Initial thought was to get a terrace in EL but there is no more launch for terrace and the resale units are not "released" by the owners yet. So we investigated LF a bit more, and like many of the people here, found bayou creek (both the semi d and LF surroundings) to be great. We think we can live with the inconvenience of the kampong road one has to travel to the LF existing entrances, until the new entrance becomes a reality.

But my question is whether bayou creek semi d is worth its very high price of rm 1.8m?? We are not high income earners, but we feel this is a place where we want to reside and retire in, so we are serously thinking about it.

What do you think? Please feel free to comment and offer your honest opinion...

Thanks.

Hi,

Think of the lifestyle your family wants or prefer, the difference between a terrace, usual semi d or bungalow n bayou creek (semi n bung) is community living. Myself I got one there has no community living, my mum owes a unit at bayou water village, I realised the neighbours are closely knitted n they n kids seems to have lots of fun, they have their own club house where residents planned their own activity, this is what I see missing in other precinct . I have friends who sees bayou creek n commented that they preferred those without community groups. So it's important to think this over

Funds Transfer

Sorry , I am not sure for msia properties that's y posted that msg...

Just met my tenant. His company is using EL's houses as offices and also 'executive hostels'. Another agent informed that he has difficulties getting available EL houses available for lease.

Boomz for those bros/sisters vested there.

Sanur

Just met my tenant. His company is using EL's houses as offices and also 'executive hostels'. Another agent informed that he has difficulties getting available EL houses available for lease.

Boomz for those bros/sisters vested there.

That's great. News!!!

IskandarRocks

Wow! 400 pages liao. In super short time. A testimony of the interest in JB Iskandar.

I went to hear a talk on Malaysia property, Iskandar and KL, by Norman Sia of NS Global. The room was packed with people and they had to bring in additional chairs. Interest is definitely growing strong ....

Movingaway

Hi guys. I new here so would appreciate any advise or assistance. I have decided to take the plunge and put a booking fee for a property at Setia Eco Cascadia.Going to view their showhouse on 8 July. Any inputs on whether it is a good place. The sole purpose is for me to retire there someday. Till then it would be a weekend home I guess. Was told it is better to buy within the nusajaya area like east Ledang and HH but the asking price is way above my budget. Any advice is appreciated

Eco Cascadia is a nice place overall, i went to view show house two weeks ago, Hazel unit. For myself, i am buying as a weekend house, so wasnt quite ideal. But if i were to buy for retirement and once a blue moon go SG then should be fine.

Aisanbo

Hi guys. I new here so would appreciate any advise or assistance. I have decided to take the plunge and put a booking fee for a property at Setia Eco Cascadia.Going to view their showhouse on 8 July. Any inputs on whether it is a good place. The sole purpose is for me to retire there someday. Till then it would be a weekend home I guess. Was told it is better to buy within the nusajaya area like east Ledang and HH but the asking price is way above my budget. Any advice is appreciated

Travelling wise, assuming no jam, its ~10minutes from malaysia custom to Adda heights Exit using EDL.
From this exit, it'll take another ~10minutes to reach SEC.
The roads are new and wide here and traffic quite light now.
But much empty space available for residential and thus traffic may build up in time.

SEC is just north of Setia indah which is an old taman but with much existing shops.
SEC is also about ~5-10min to Tebrau Jusco.
SEC is freehold landed strata and have clubhouse facilities which is rare in JB.
i like the fact that terrace house also has clubhouse facilities and the clubhouse is within the G&G compound within walking distance.

Of course, selling point is also the landscaping which is nice.

I would suggest you also check out Bandar Dato Onn which is within this area.
Setia Tropika, Austin height and Adda Height also very popular but they may only have high end launches.

Funds Transfer

I went to hear a talk on Malaysia property, Iskandar and KL, by Norman Sia of NS Global. The room was packed with people and they had to bring in additional chairs. Interest is definitely growing strong ....

When was that? Can you share some of the findings there? Any new developments coming up?

DREAMorACTION

Hi penpen,

First and foremost, thank you for your brief introduction :smile:

Many learned bros and sis have already answered your post. I totally agree with them. For own stay, sometimes it is your own sentimental value that couldnt be priced. No one can really answer you whether the price is worthy or not. Only way is to get a valuation and see how much additional premium you are willing to pay because you will hardly find any reputable property that matches valuation report.

If you are evaluating LF, why not have a short stay over there since LF offers resort stay packages? Check out their website for the rates. This will be a good start for you to really feel it personally and mix with the community before you commit RM1.8 million.

Hope these information help.

http://www.leisurefarm.com.my/

Dear all,

Glad I found this forum here. Have been looking around in the nusajaya area for the past 2-3 months after a friend who bought a house in EL sold me the idea of staying in Johor. We are thinking of getting the house for our own residence and not for investment purpose. Have always been wanting to have a quiet away from city bigger living space for us. And my wife and I found HH, LF and EL very nice.

Initial thought was to get a terrace in EL but there is no more launch for terrace and the resale units are not "released" by the owners yet. So we investigated LF a bit more, and like many of the people here, found bayou creek (both the semi d and LF surroundings) to be great. We think we can live with the inconvenience of the kampong road one has to travel to the LF existing entrances, until the new entrance becomes a reality.

But my question is whether bayou creek semi d is worth its very high price of rm 1.8m?? We are not high income earners, but we feel this is a place where we want to reside and retire in, so we are serously thinking about it.

What do you think? Please feel free to comment and offer your honest opinion...

Thanks.

DREAMorACTION

Agree with bro FT.

Dont just restrict yourself to those properties that you mentioned only because you have heard most about them due to the heavy marketing in SG.

Expand your searches, understand the different areas such as Bukit Indah, Sutera etc before you commit $1.8 mil. Not a small sum afterall. Cheers

Bro PenPen

As indicated in my reply to Bro Jasonjst, we may be exposed to the more 'atas' developments that you have surfaced. You may be keen to know some value for money developments like Nusa Duta, Laguna may be worth looking at.

But welcome to the forum. I hope you find the alternative home you are looking for!

Sanur

Hi penpen,

First and foremost, thank you for your brief introduction :smile:

Many learned bros and sis have already answered your post. I totally agree with them. For own stay, sometimes it is your own sentimental value that couldnt be priced. No one can really answer you whether the price is worthy or not. Only way is to get a valuation and see how much additional premium you are willing to pay because you will hardly find any reputable property that matches valuation report.

If you are evaluating LF, why not have a short stay over there since LF offers resort stay packages? Check out their website for the rates. This will be a good start for you to really feel it personally and mix with the community before you commit RM1.8 million.

Hope these information help.

http://www.leisurefarm.com.my/

Yes, on the 15 July they are having a pick the fruit event, residents goes to their fruit garden to harvest fruits. Veggies, they will have most kinds of fruits tasting too. That will b a good day to check it out.

DREAMorACTION

Bro, is there any specific source to find these seminars? I would be very interested to attend some too. Thanks

DREAMorACTION

Wow sis. Sounds like it would be a very good day and good fun! Is the fruit garden a centralised one? Who actually upkeeps the garden? Part of maintenance charge? Sorry to sound like a frog under the well as I have never learned about any fruit garden in LF. Thanks :smile:

Yes, on the 15 July they are having a pick the fruit event, residents goes to their fruit garden to harvest fruits. Veggies, they will have most kinds of fruits tasting too. That will b a good day to check it out.

Sanur

Wow sis. Sounds like it would be a very good day and good fun! Is the fruit garden a centralised one? Who actually upkeeps the garden? Part of maintenance charge? Sorry to sound like a frog under the well as I have never learned about any fruit garden in LF. Thanks :smile:

Oh dreamoraction,

Yes, it's within Lf itself, it's actually a fruit farm, maintained by Lf, there are small plots for rental to residents to plant their own veggies, there is a fishing pond too, rabbit farm as well as horse riding as well as pony rides. Isn't it most development have something similar?

DREAMorACTION

Sis, you are a good teaser hehe

Most developments will have to do it within their own house boundary. Having own plants and fish pond, where got centralised one like yours leh ... Horse riding needless to say Liao. For laguna, maybe dolphin have haha :smile:

Oh dreamoraction,

Yes, it's within Lf itself, it's actually a fruit farm, maintained by Lf, there are small plots for rental to residents to plant their own veggies, there is a fishing pond too, rabbit farm as well as horse riding as well as pony rides. Isn't it most development have something similar?

Sanur

Sis, you are a good teaser hehe

Most developments will have to do it within their own house boundary. Having own plants and fish pond, where got centralised one like yours leh ... Horse riding needless to say Liao. For laguna, maybe dolphin have haha :smile:

Hmm hmm, the fruit farm us own by Lf n the fruit picking is for residents lo, din have to own any veggie plot.

IskandarRocks

Hi DoA and FT,

I saw the ad in Straits Times yesterday. Apologies to all, I should have posted it on the forum. Next time on, if I see anything I will post it.

In any case, the event was at the Grand Park Orchard Hotel and hosted by NS Global, the marketing agent for Somerset Puteri Harbour and another property in KL (forgot the name) launched in KL embassy area by CapitaLand. There was a presentation by the owner, Norman Sia and he was generally very positive about Malaysia (of course, he has to sell). In any case, he had some good points that most of us are already aware of. He covered mostly KL as the KL development was newly launched at around 1200 to 1300 psf range. The Iskandar developement, Somerset, was mostly sold, only one marina facing unit left at 1000 psf.

contra

In my humble opinion & speculation,

LF access will have to wait awhile. It has been made to wait since it was developed because UEM will make sure all its developments incl Medini get the market first. But if UEM takes over Mulpha (owner of LF) then it can be much faster. You see, they are in competition.... UEM was the one who built the 2nd link and the North South highway. Thus its developments near the 2nd link like HH, EL, LH, NI, Medini must benefit first .

That said, LF has things others do not such as the well-conceived strata concept where communal fruits can be grown and shared. That is nice. And horses and river-side lifetsyle. But if wait for the access to open, the prices would have run up far ahead. Tough one.

By the way you know that interest in Malaysia is double of Singapore's right? At about 4% p.a. Say you take 60% loan, it means paying SGD20k per year in interest alone. And it can go up over the tenure of the loan..

If I had your kind of money, I would buy one semi-d and a terrace in other developments and make profit from the terrace after about a couple of years holding to subsidise the other. Anyway just me. I am only currently invested in one terrace....

If you see bro Investors list thread, you can cast your options wider.

Arsenal:
Yup, i think so too, EL new launch has a smaller built up area if i am not wrong..
Road will be open only in 2015 i heard?

jasonjst:
haha bro, i am one of the "most working class" people. And i dont have 1.8m to fork out so have to get a mortgage loan for MOST part of it :smile:

Probably we will try to rent out the hdb here to help with the financing. We figure if we dont try to get one now, the more we cant afford as prices keep rocketing ??

Thats why we have to be careful with our decision and seek opinions here... alternative we may get one slightly further away from spore for a lower price.

arsenal

Got durian bo? got durian I come.

Status
Not open for further replies.