• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Foreigners to pay more than Sinkies to visit the new "Gardens By the Bay"

New Product

Foreigners will pay more for Singapore new “Gardens By the Bay”

Luc Citrinot - 27 June 2012, 07:26

Singapore will open officially this coming Friday one of the three gardens which make the new Botanical Park “Gardens By the Bays”. However, foreign visitors will have to pay more. Is the current nationalism wave in Singapore intruding into tourism as well?

Singapore_Gardens-by-the-Ba.jpg

SINGAPORE- On Friday June 29th, Singapore will get a new attraction as it will inaugurate its brand new Gardens by the Bay. Under the supervision of Singapore’s National Parks Board, Gardens by the Bay is a massive project costing US$ 775 million (S$ 1 billion). Friday opening will only be for Bay South, the largest of the three gardens which form Singapore’s second botanical park. The park will feature more than 300 plant species and 500 animal species.

Bay South plays host to two conservatories, six dining areas as well as 18 Supertrees. The Gardens will be open at 5 am this Friday and is expected to attract over 30,000 viewers. Visitors to the garden will be treated over the next two weeks with free performances and free movie shows as well as a light and sound at the Supertree Grove. The latest will probably become a hit among visitors. These uniquely designed vertical gardens –emulating tree shapes of 25 to 50-metres tall- have large canopies that provide shade in the day and come alive with a light and sound at night. One of the trees will have a restaurant located on the top of the tree with sweeping views over the gardens.

They are some good and bad news about the new park. First, the good news: Gardens by the Bay will be free of charge for all visitors while the OCBC skyway, a 128 m-long aerial walkway will cost a moderate fee of S$ 5 (US$ 3.90). However, access to both conservatories will cost for an adult S$ 20. Bad news: Foreigners will have to fetch a 40% premium for the entrance ticket to the conservatories, set for them at S$ 28.

Singapore is of course not the only country to use double-standard pricing for locals and foreigners. This practice – the debate remains open on the fairness of such a procedure- is often observed in developing nations where locals generally can’t afford to pay the ‘real’ price of a service due to limited resources…

But it will be harder to justify in Singapore, one of the world’s most affluent nation. GDP per capita in the City State is indeed higher than any other country located in Southeast Asia, higher than China, India, South Korea or even Italy or New Zealand. Difficult also to understand that a country which can spend US$ 700 million just for a park is desperately looking to recoup its investment by asking foreigners to pay more…

What could be then the explanation? In recent years, Singapore has been submerged by a wave of nationalism with locals asking to benefit from a “national preference” status as they feel increasingly discriminated compared to the rise of foreigners in the city. Prices at “Gardens by the Bay” might be the populist answer to some citizens’ fear of being neglected…

Cruxx

Hey PAPzis! Why not put this on every foreigner who enters:

Holocaust_Yellow_Badge.jpg

KNN only Sinkies would be hoodwinked by such contrived measures :rolleyes:

That's a good idea.

Yellow six-pointed star with the word 'Tiong' for PRCs.
Red six-pointed star with the word 'Neh' for Ah Nehs.
Blue six-pointed star with the word 'Pinoy' for Pinoys.

Other foreigners and non-Singaporean visitors: Green six-pointed star with the word 'Tourist'.

The star is an entry pass that is valid for one whole day. Displayed prominently on the chest, it also helps security guards with crowd control.

Microsoft

$20...so it cost...a not so well off sinkie family of 4, a whopping $80 bucks to visit de park...surely...with the obscene amt of tax collected by the fucking garment frm casino is more then enuff to wave off the entry fees for sinkie...no? :oIo:

Where there are trees and beautiful flowers, expect the Ah Nehs to flock the area having picnic with their families..

Ah Nehs love dancing around trees and rolling on the grass..

Gardens By The Bay will be hosting alot of these Foreign Pundeks..

Cruxx

$20...so it cost...a not so well off sinkie family of 4, a whopping $80 bucks to visit de park...surely...with the obscene amt of tax collected by the fucking garment frm casino is more then enuff to wave off the entry fees for sinkie...no? :oIo:

Btw, the 1 billion that financed this white elephant came from you and me. :smile:

it is doomed to be a white elephant - like Tang Dynasty City.

foreigners no fear...they just need to cross the bridge to MBS and can easily get back 10x the price they pay for Gardens by the Bay for free.

Sinkies? Pay 100 please.

Microsoft

Btw, the 1 billion that financed this white elephant came from you and me. :smile:

Jus b4 i knockoff frm work today...told my co security guard bout the opening...he sound excited until i told him bout the 20 bucks entrance fees...he say...

"Ah Microshit...I 1 mth plus ot earn less then 2k...2 daughter in higher education...and a wife with fail health who couldn't work...on some tight mths...80 buck almost enuff to buy simple food n eat whole mths...even if i hab de spare 80 bucks...i rather save em up for my children education expenses or my wife medical bill...din noe nowadays in sinkieland...u nid to hab 80 bucks for a walk in de park..."

It's to keep pinoy maids and their bangla boyfriends out.

Recently watched the documentary "Get Real" where Cheryl Fox went to interview pinoy maids and their bangla bfs queuing for hotel rooms on their off days. The budget hotel lobby was like the waiting room of an A&E department after a major accident. They were literally waiting for the couples to finish fucking to use the rooms.

I had went to the Harry Potter exhibition lately over at Marina Bay Sands. As I was getting ready to pay for the tickets which cost $24 per person, the cashier asked "Are you Singaporean? There is a discount." I was pleasantly surprised and showed my pink IC.

Special discounted price for Singaporean: $20 ($4 discount if you hold pink IC) :rolleyes:

Television

Many countries that i have visited, Gives their citizens either free access or up to 80 % discount for entry.

I tell you: all these silly, boliao and insincere wayang of 'citizens come first' (another recent example: hiking of primary school fees for non-citizens) is simply because the PAP had lost Aljunied GRC, and got trounced again in the Hougang by-election. The rank-and-file members of the Lighting Clan are scared shitless of losing more ground in 2016.

Despite the inherent gian png nature of most Sinkies, who're always looking out for bargains and freebies, I hope no one gets placated by the insulting crumbs these plutocrats throw our way.