• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

PRC mandarin accent is so annoying!

Mercury

They have this strong annoying Beijing nasal curly-tongue accent that makes me just want to throw up sometimes, other times it ain't so bad but most of the time it's unbearable and gives me headaches. I know this is kinda unfair on PRC Chinese but I much rather they speak English. I know Singlish sounds funny to non-Chinese people but at least we ain't driving people crazy.

Raiders

They have this strong annoying Beijing nasal curly-tongue accent that makes me just want to throw up sometimes, other times it ain't so bad but most of the time it's unbearable and gives me headaches. I know this is kinda unfair on PRC Chinese but I much rather they speak English. I know Singlish sounds funny to non-Chinese people but at least we ain't driving people crazy.

No doubt their accent is strong, but their moanings are even stronger :biggrin:

kulgai

Errr... how u know singlish isnt driving other people crazy??
BTW, I also notice many Sinkies try to fake PRC accent. How come nobody condemn huh? Only those who speak angmo accent kena condemned. Why huh??

Mercury

Errr... how u know singlish isnt driving other people crazy??
BTW, I also notice many Sinkies try to fake PRC accent. How come nobody condemn huh? Only those who speak angmo accent kena condemned. Why huh??

Because I've talked with them before, they think Singlish is funny and laugh at our accent. But PRC mandarin is pure annoyance...no Sinkie I know wants to listen to their annoying accent. The only reason why I prefer they speak in English is because they barely even speak English lol. ( it's much better if they keep their mouth quite)

PRC is a big place. Shanghai city folks speak different from Sichuan mountain folks. The tongue curling is predominantly from Beijing, Tianjin and the three northeast provinces (Liaoning, Jilin, Heilongjiang).

... I know Singlish sounds funny to non-Chinese people but at least we ain't driving people crazy.
singrish driving ppl crazy, ppl dun tel u in tis kopitiam ...

u tink singrish dun drive ppl cwazy? ... go ask dat samburger! ...

Cruxx

Singaporeans make me gag at the mere sight of them. This island is one big MLM, full of brainwashed Pollyannas slogging out the longest working hours in the world just to enrich their exploiters at the top of the pyramid. :rolleyes:

honestly, i hate the way pinoys speak English - they have a funny accent or trying to be funny.

and the men speaks like ah gua.

and indian accent also, thicker than my kopi kau.

Cruxx

honestly, i hate the way pinoys speak English - they have a funny accent or trying to be funny.

and the men speaks like ah gua.

and indian accent also, thicker than my kopi kau.

No men sound like ah guas more than Thais. :rolleyes:

I can assure you that the sinkie accent is just as annoying.

True, perhaps PRC Chinese even think our accent is annoying to them.

Whenever a prc chinese speaks mandarin to me with a heavily northern accent, I try to reply
in my most heavily accented singlish.
This kinds of evens it out for me.