• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

ipad3 is coming on march 2012

Would you buy the New ipad (gen 3)

• Yes, I will buy the New ipad when it is out

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • No, I will keep my ipad (gen 1)

Votes: 1 10.0%
  • No, I will keep my ipad 2

Votes: 2 20.0%
  • Undecided

Votes: 1 10.0%
  • No, I am not interested in any ipad

Votes: 2 20.0%
  • I will buy competitors tablet

Votes: 4 40.0%

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

Now that's what you call brand loyalty! Pair sit at the head of the queue for Apple's iPad 3 five days before it goes on sale

There are still five days to go before Apple launches the latest version of its hugely-popular iPad in the UK.
But that hasn't stopped two eager customers setting up camp outside the Apple store on London's Regent Street in anticipation of the release.
The two men decided to beat the inevitable queues by heading to the central London store way before the March 16 release date.

Zohaib, who is first in the queueand his friend Ali brought portable chairs and bags of supplies along for their stint outside the store.

Is the new iPad just too smart for UK? British fans will fork out for hi-tech '4G' connection - but may never be able to use it
It's here! Apple unveils its newest iPad - it's FOUR TIMES faster, has 3D capability and a sharper picture than an HD TV
It all began this morning, and will end on Friday by which time they will have spent five days on the pavement outside the shop.
The highly-anticipated device will be available later this week and priced from $499-$829 (£399-£659) - the same range as the iPad 2, which the technology giant launched a year ago.
The tablet will be powered by a super fast quad-core A5x chip, putting Apple's tablet ahead of competitors such as Samsung.

It will also offer a high speed 4G LTE network connection in territories with 4G - in the U.S., it will be available on both the AT&T and Verizon wireless networks. The network is not yet available in the UK.
Demonstrations at the launch showed off the power of 4G, with videos that played from the web near-instantly - but British consumers will miss out.
4G networks have yet to roll out in the UK, with even optimistic projections putting the launch at the end of the year, by which time, Apple will no doubt be on the verge of launching another iPad.

Others have questioned whether the British 4G connection, using portions of the old analogue TV spectrum, will even work with the American device.
Despite this, Apple claims the battery lasts 10 hours and the device is just 9.4mm thick.
'Who will come out with a product that's more amazing than the iPad 2?' Apple CEO Tim Cook asked the audience at the San Francisco launch event. 'Stop wondering - we are'.
The screen, a larger version of the screen in iPhone 4s, is sharper than most 40-inch HD televisions.
Apple claims that the screen resolution is so sharp words on screen are sharper than words in print.
The new iPad also offers a 5 megapixel iSight camera which can record video in full HD.
Mr Cook said: 'We are taking it to a whole new level and are redefining the category that Apple created with the original iPad'.

---------

only idiots in europe buy 4g, 4g will only be out there in 2013,2014, by that time, a new ipad will be out.

SingTel and StarHub announce new iPad to retail in stores on 16 March Reported by Siang Liang on Wednesday, March 14 2012 7:02 pm
With M1 Limited announcing yesterday that the new iPad will hit the stores on 16 March, it is only expected that the other two telecommunication companies, SingTel and StarHub, would follow shortly with their own announcements. However, both SingTel and StarHub will not have the iPad launch at their retail stores past midnight like M1, so do save the hassle of queueing.

-------------------

this is first time singapore in tier 1 nation, maybe soon we get an apple store.

Apple's new iPads run a higher bill of materials, offer better value Reported by Steve Dougherty on Tuesday, March 13 2012 6:51 pm
It's been revealed that Apple's bill of materials (BOM) on the 'new iPad' is heftier than some may have previously thought; this despite Apple keeping its latest range of tablets at the same respective price points as their predecessors.

The 16GB 4G version of the latest iPad is estimated to be US $310 which is substantially higher than the 16GB iPad 2 (US $270). The biggest factor in the higher cost of build would inevitably be due to the higher res (2048 x 1536) screen, estimated to come in at about US $70 alone (about $20 higher than the iPad 2's). Then there's other factors like the bulkier battery (US $8 higher), the US $5 dearer camera and the A5X processor at US $28 (close to double that of the A4 used in the first-gen iPad).

The lower margins as a result of the increased BOM equate to a 6% dip from 57% for the original iPad to 51% on the new model. So if you're thinking iPad pricing is still way too inflated, at least you can rest assured if you pick up a third-gen model you're literally getting better bang for your buck versus its predecessors.

20120313-1038561.jpg

I saw the new ipad today, OMG, i cannot tell the difference with ipad 2 screen. you must look very closely to tell. if you have ipad or ipad 2, dun even bother to get ipad 3. usa can use 4g lte, that is night and day compare with 3g, but for rest of the world, let forget about this ipad 3.

Did you compare it side by side? I wanna compare the screen only

Microsoft

U can oni tell when apps...esp games...design 2 run at de new resolution...in de near future...:biggrin:

Strictly speaking...Ipad 2 vs Ipad 3...has lesser difference den Iphone4 vs Iphone4ass...shd hab call it Ipad2ass...:p

Did you compare it side by side? I wanna compare the screen only

cant tell in one look, it is retard, we all know ipad and ipad 2 screen is already very sharp, lots of apps and picture saved in that are all reduced in size. now we have a hd ipad, but no picture or software or icons to use it.

waste of money, total waste of money if you already have an older ipad.

U can oni tell when apps...esp games...design 2 run at de new resolution...in de near future...:biggrin:

Strictly speaking...Ipad 2 vs Ipad 3...has lesser difference den Iphone4 vs Iphone4ass...shd hab call it Ipad2ass...:p

not if you have a 4g lte network near you, it will be fantastic upgrade, if not, you cannot tell it is an ipad 2 or ipad 3, they are so similar. that damn ceo , since he took over, we have two upgrades that look almost the same. where is steve, when we need him. damn disappointing, the new apple.

sir Ive busy with design, but funny that mac pro which look exactly the same for 5-6 years, imac look exactly the same for 3-4 years, apple like to do the work inside.
whats wrong with MBP look? it is simple, it is sleek, it is timeless, the best design for a notebook I've seen liao, you want to be like ah beng laptop izzit? LOL

nothing wrong, but if they keep using same design for too long, people get bored with it.

user of new ipad complain about heat
------------------------------------
Baking Apples? Users mob iPad forums to complain that new gadget overheats

Device can be 'almost too hot to hold'
Gadget can lock into 'cool down mode' and freeze up, claim users

Apple fever swept the world on Friday, as users queued outside Apple stores for a new iPad that offers a far sharper screen.
But now it turns out that the new iPad also has something that few users will be happy about - it is hotter than previous iPads, and can even be uncomfortable to use.
On forums on the Apple website one of the threads called ‘New iPad overheating’ had got 115 responses and had been viewed nearly 10,000 times.

Smokin' hot? Apple forum users have claimed that the new gadget is far hotter than previous iPads - literally - and can be uncomfortable to use
On blogs iPad owners have been claiming that the tablet is hotter than previous versions and is uncomfortable to use.
Some have even claimed that it goes into ‘cool down mode’ and freezes until it has reached a stable temperature.
The problem could make it harder to use your iPad in hotter countries when you are on holiday - not to mention if you live somewhere warm.
The issue seems to be confined to the bottom left hand side, though some people said that the whole left side of the device was too hot.

User Faatty began the discussion by posting: ‘Just got my new iPad. I'm loving the screen and speed but there's something weird about it.
‘It gets rather warm/hot after 30minutes of usage. It has never happened on my iPad 2. Do you think it's harmless or .... ?’
Rawwave added that his got ‘almost too warm to hold whilst malegno said: ‘The heat on mine is concentrated on the bottom-left although the whole left side seems to be hotter than the right side.’

In a separate threat on the Apple website user znz212 wrote: ‘It begins getting warm within about 10 minutes for me, and after about 25 it's quite hot to touch (not hot enough to burn or anything, but hotter than it feels like it should be).
‘I can even feel the heat on the front - the top half of the screen is warmer than the bottom half.
‘It cools down very fast (within 5 minutes) when locked or even on the home screen, so I'm not sure if the heat is normal with the new chip.’
Apple has not addressed the problem directly but customers who took their iPad to a store have written that it has been exchanged for a new one with no problems.
This is not the first time that the company has run into teething problems with its gadgets, however.
The launch of the iPhone 4 was marred by reports that it would not connect to the Internet if it was held in a certain way.
Apple solved the ‘grip of death’ issue by giving out a free silicone rubber band to put round the phone.
Among the other other glitches have a software problem with iPhones and iPod touches which stopped the alarm clocks working until Apple issued an update to sort it out.
The iPad went on sale earlier this month and was widely praised for its 3.1million pixel 9.7" Retina display, which is the sharpest out of any tablet computer.
On the official Apple website it says the iPad should stay below 35c for optimum ‘operating temperature'.

meaning new ipad too hot to use in singapore. no wonder singapore is tier 1 countries, they are test rats.

gift from PRC

attachment.php

My Coworker bought an iPad 2 at Target on March 14 as a birthday present for her son. She opened it up on March 18 to get it all set up, however when she opened it there were three rocks that all well secured to the interior with tape. There was also a nasty note from 'Foxconn' workers which had Chinese characters and the following message written in English:

"Foxconn workers revenge, suck USA."

Apple told her to take it back to Target and exchange it.

I just managed to get hold of the new iPad at the Apple shop today. This is my honest opinion.

Compared it with iPad2
1) The image are crisp and bright, I'm impressed. you really can see the diff when you magnify
2) Camera: 5mp lens, definitely better, added with the screen, the picture do look sharp and better control lighting, but when you magnify, you still can see the noises.
3) Cant compare the connectivity, so dunno how fast it is.

Overall, it is worth it to buy for new owner and those who selling their iPad2 to get the newer iPad. To those who owned an iPad2 and are happy with it, stick with it.

For Apple other news....

MacBook Air getting an upgrade to 15", 11" will ceased.
There will be only 17" Macbook Pro, 15" will ceased too...

Thats what I heard lah.....

Microsoft

Me oso get 2 toy around with 1 yesterday...imho...not worthy to upgrade frm I2 to I3...beside sharper screen...oh and yes...de cumplain by many bout de Ipad3 getting warm is real...much warmer den I2...front n back...

you know ipad software reduce graphic and video size when you upload from computer to ipad. so the damn graphic file is still the same as ipad 1, you cannot see the improvement in ipad 3.

It is nuts ipad 3, dun buy it. if you already have ipad and ipad 2.

About the heat problem, i guess if you intend to use it aircon room, ok, if you intend to use outdoor, forget it. Get an ipad 2, it is cheaper and it look the same for those reduce graphic files. it is cheaper. lighter and virtually the same as ipad 3. you are not going to get LTE anyway, if you do, in USA, then do it.