Young Irish teacher found dead in Queenstown flat

Administrator

Another foreigner died? Too chio to die so young, so sad.

4985f9aea80_6e5c_4cd7_a54.jpg

A young woman was found dead, reportedly in her bed, at her apartment in Queenstown on Wednesday night.

Police told Yahoo! Singapore a lady in her 20s was pronounced dead on arrival after they received a call for help at 10:59pm that day. They have classified it as unnatural death.

According to local and foreign media, the young woman was identified as Orla Daly, a 25-year-old Montessori teacher from Dublin, Ireland.

She was reportedly living and working in Singapore since January this year.

The Irish Mirror reported that Daly's best friend Michelle O'Brien, who shared the apartment on Stirling Road with her, first discovered her motionless body lying in bed.

It said Daly's mother and sister are arriving in Singapore on Saturday to collect her body and to meet with the Irish Embassy.

Police have also said they are in touch with the Irish Embassy representatives and will also meet Daly's family.

Friends of the young woman took to Facebook and Twitter with heartfelt messages paying tribute to the life she led.

Said Soph-eye Richard, a Canadian singer-songwriter-DJ on Facebook, "I was just with her 24 (hours) before, celebrating my birthday and I feel incredibly powerless that I wasn't able to do anything and hadn't notice [sic] how sick she was."

"She was one of the first people who embraced me as a friend and future colleague in Singapore," she continued.

"Lovely girl any time I met her," tweeted a user on Twitter going by the name Shane Gillen. "We're the same age. Tragic."

"RIP orladaly. Gonna miss ur beautiful face & ur wonderful love of life [sic]," tweeted another user djbyron, who posted a picture of him and Daly on Instagram.

On Twitter, Daly, who called herself an "optimist" and "opportunist", told friends that she was "loving it so much over here" and that "all is going great".

"Everything has fallen into place :) x" she tweeted to a friend in early May. Her last tweets were posted in end-May.

This story has made very little headline news back in her native Ireland. RTE are not even reporting this.

that's because the family is rational and know she just died. Not like the Todds who think their son was part of an espionage case

If she worked for AStar or MINDEF, then it would be news.

Maybe she did work for AStar but PAP asked PAP-Press to change that fact? :D

Wah lau eh ...you still harbouring so much bitterness over Shane Todd. Why? I know of a good psychologist who can help you. No drugs pushed. :D

it's you and the Todd family so concern over this. Bet you it's only them who would make noise. This girls parents--why they say the girl was killed due to a spy case?

Alamak ...the Shane Todd has been discussed till death and no one has mentioned it for weeks ...then you bring it up again. Why lah?

You want to make an issue of this girl's death? Can also lah ...so, what's teh cospiracy this time?????

Alamak ...the Shane Todd has been discussed till death and no one has mentioned it for weeks ...then you bring it up again. Why lah?

i have no problem with todd's suicide verdict. i have a problem with a so called prodiguous 23-year old "detective" trying to pass himself off as paramedic, coroner, forensic specialist, judge, jury, supercop, suicide expert, computer geek, and gracious hard disk giver all rolled into one. :D

I still don't think it is a suicide but this is sinkapore, what can you do? The ball is now in the hands of the parents to keep this issue alive and their elected representative do the work for them.

Another ang mo dies in SG and there doesn't seem to be any cause found yet (as reported).

One might think that SG is a "hotbed" for Caucasians dying here.

The media reported that she was "happy", and "loved Singapore". Wonder if she found a "sugar daddy" or something?

Let's see if they dust for prints now, shall we??

I still don't think it is a suicide but this is sinkapore, what can you do? The ball is now in the hands of the parents to keep this issue alive and their elected representative do the work for them.

and every cia field agent knows a professional hit can be staged to look, feel, sound, and even be forensically proven as a "suicide", except of course, the spf and their handlers on sbf. :rolleyes:

Another ang mo dies in SG and there doesn't seem to be any cause found yet (as reported).

One might think that SG is a "hotbed" for Caucasians dying here.

The media reported that she was "happy", and "loved Singapore". Wonder if she found a "sugar daddy" or something?

Let's see if they dust for prints now, shall we??

waiting for the same moron to spin the "depression" angle, as though 100% victims of depression becum 100% suicide victims. :D :rolleyes:

The verdict by the judge is the biggest joke. He ignored all contradicting testimonies and inconsistencies, just so that be can conclude it is a suicide. Well, let see if his work can stop the congressional committee to investigate sinkapore's role in the illicit transfer of technology to PRC.

it is without doubt forensically determined to be suicide. but what post mortem forensics cannot do is figure out the pre mortem possibility of a professional hit job staged as a suicide. field covert agencies and underworld hit teams have been perfecting the "art" for decades, if not centuries. the fact that morons cum here to spin it as a direct result of and solely due to depression is too comedic not to laugh. :D

Todd was suicidal plain and simple. Family like to spin fake story.

How do you know for a fact? Did you see him die?
There are so many questions unanswered and the authorities did not even attempt to address them. Will you want to address them?

Let Shane Todd rest in peace.