You can be fined for cycling on pavement

About time they start fining these cyclists...suka suka cycle pavement, suka suka cycle on road.

Fined $20 For Cycling On Pavement

Reminiscing a father and son moment where you were learning how to cycle for the first time under your void deck or pavements?

Well, not anymore for the future generations. IT IS NOW ILLEGAL TO CYCLE ON THE PAVEMENTS!

A few hours ago (28/02/10), my father and I were fined $20 as a first-time offender by two TPs for cycling on the pavement near Jurong West Street 93 (just outside Jurong West Sports and Recreation Centre). So much for Healthy Lifestyle and Saving the Earth.

Unknowing to the fact that this "project" was started two months ago with no banners nor signs to warn the "ignorant offenders" but just two TPs with pen and notebooks issuing summons, we were caught on our back foot. In our short ten minutes debate with the two TPs, another four summons were issued to three foreign workers and a local despite their insistent arguments.

And if educating the citizen/offender cost $20 per lesson, perhaps the $100 they have collected in the short ten minutes could be put to better use such as a banner to warn and educate the public on the do's and don't's of cycling on pavements. *Note: I am not a rocket scientist to come out with the solution.

Lastly, why not have RC or volunteers to educate the public instead of having our honorable policemen to handle such a menial problem?

Well, what a slap back to reality and oh what a fine city I live in.

http://forums.fuckwarezone.com.sg/e...-$20-cycling-pavement-no-warning-2688471.html

Also riding across pedestrian crossings is against the law.
Must dismount and push bicycle across.
Another act blur not enforced law.

About time they start fining these cyclists...suka suka cycle pavement, suka suka cycle on road.

The same goes with cycling on parks. There's not enough cycling tracks specially allocated for them.
Joggers, roller bladders and cyclist etc sharing the same path can be quite dangerous especially with kids running around.

It depends who you are and where you cycle.

If you're a Sinkie, then too bad for you! LOL

Fuck those cyclists. Pests on the pavements.

U think those losers are into the so called 'healthy movement'? More like no money to buy car, but too lazy to walk!

makes me think about the accident involving the cement truck and the 2 brothers on the bicycle in tampines... sad. driver kena charge also. poor thing.

Also riding across pedestrian crossings is against the law.
Must dismount and push bicycle across.
Another act blur not enforced law.

Perhaps need another campaign is needed to let Singaporeans know that Walkways are for pedestrians. Cyclists should stick to "Cycle paths."

its about fucking time they did this....

and another rule is that all cyclists should have lights AND TURNED ON when using the fucking road and please make everyone wear a damm helmet ....

Well then, I expect to see a lot of Ang Mo cyclists get fined then.

They cycle on the roads and on the pavements.

You know where they hang out. ;)

Well then, I expect to see a lot of Ang Mo cyclists get fined then.

They cycle on the roads and on the pavements.

You know where they hang out. ;)

the poodles only know how to bite at sinkies....

when they see angmohs their tails go between their fucking legs ............

You realise this "news" is 3.5 years old, yes?

Saw a TP stopped an uncle who was cycling (motorised) on the pavement at Gambas yesterday. Uncle was not causing obstruction or danger to anyone. Wtf!

Motorised "bicycles" should be treated like a motorbike or banned completely.

You can be fined for cycling on the pavement in Singapore, but apparently not in Tampines. :rolleyes:

Why not???

My understanding is that one of the MPs had a law passed in parliament to legalise cycling on the pavement in Tampines.

If this is incorrect, can someone please clarify or correct my understanding, thank you.

My understanding is that one of the MPs had a law passed in parliament to legalise cycling on the pavement in Tampines.

If this is incorrect, can someone please clarify or correct my understanding, thank you.

Tampines was just the first town that has an extensive network of dedicated cycling tracks. Cycling on pedestrian tracks is still illegal. Here is an article with more details:

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/lta-completes-dedicated/710460.html

On that note, i wonder if pedestrians walking on cycling tracks get fined too :) ?

Tampines was just the first town that has an extensive network of dedicated cycling tracks. Cycling on pedestrian tracks is still illegal. Here is an article with more details:

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/lta-completes-dedicated/710460.html

On that note, i wonder if pedestrians walking on cycling tracks get fined too :) ?

Thanks for the info.
I think they had a trial a few years ago where cycling on the pavement was allowed only in Tampines, back around 2007.
After a couple of years, they stopped the trial but continued to build extensive cycling tracks so that cyclists had special paths to cycle from home to mrt station, shopping malls, etc.

Thanks for the info.
I think they had a trial a few years ago where cycling on the pavement was allowed only in Tampines, back around 2007.
After a couple of years, they stopped the trial but continued to build extensive cycling tracks so that cyclists had special paths to cycle from home to mrt station, shopping malls, etc.

Riding your bicycle on pavement get fine..you walk on the road you get fine for jaywalking, you smoke within a certain zone you get fine...we are really a FINE city