Will " Zhi Char " be more expensive from now on ???

Lionheart

The National Environment Agency has clarified that the hawker-licensing rule which Environment and Water Resources Minister Vivian Balakrishnan scrapped on Monday was to deal with "zhi char" stalls.

The rule indicated that licensees who want to sell "restaurant type of dishes" must be authorised by the Director-General of Public Health to do so.

In response to media queries, the agency said on Tuesday that the rule was referring to "zhi char" dishes, which are cooked-to-order, home-style Chinese dishes; such stalls are typically found in coffee shops. Such dishes, it said, usually involve heavy cooking and stalls must have adequate cooker hoods and flues to deal with smoke and fumes, as well as space to prepare and refrigerate the various ingredients.

"Hence the licence condition required stallholders selling 'zhi char' dishes to seek NEA's approval, so that these operational requirements are addressed upfront," said a spokesman.

I have many favourite "Zhi Char" stalls, many of them operating in old coffee shops and some in hawker centres. The dishes are good and some are even better than the high class expensive restaurants.

The dishes are not only affordable but they are also much much better!!!

What do you think? Do you eat " Zhi Char" ???

With this new NEA regulations, I am sure the dishes will be much much healthier, cleaner and better!!! I am willing to pay more for the dishes if they remain good and tasty.

Gong cheebye TS time out fromposting pro pap stuff to appear 'balance'.

Zhi Char expensive then boycott lor.
Like voting there's always a choice, dun need to vote for pap always.

Gong cheebye TS time out fromposting pro pap stuff to appear 'balance'.

Zhi Char expensive then boycott lor.
Like voting there's always a choice, dun need to vote for pap always.

gongest cbybin
dont come and fuck the post!

These "Zhi Char" dishes are cheap and good!

In fact some of these stalls are better than many good restaurants and very much cheaper.

Some of the Zhi Char in fact have more roaring business than many high class restaurants.

Many of the cooks are young Malaysians, many from Ipoh.

With the new regulation, I am sure the prices will have to go up. But I hope the standard remains the same.

lianbeng luv zi-char horfun, fried rice, yee-mee, bee-hoon, sang-mee, etc... lah! :D