Walao, sometimes I really don’t understand why people still rushing to get married in Singapore. You ask me why I’m still single? It’s not that I cannot find anyone, it’s because I’m smart enough to protect myself.
In this country, marriage for a man is basically like signing a contract where the terms and conditions are all written in invisible ink—and only the wife has the highlighter.
You think I’m being paranoid? Look at my friend, let’s call him Ah Huat. He’s the ultimate "cautionary tale."
He worked his whole life to pay off their 5-room HDB in Seng kang. Then the marriage sour, they go court. He basically caught his wife cheating with her boss and he even bought her a car, he confronted her but she called the cops on her and said that he tried to use a knife to threaten her (Reality: he was cooking in the kitchen), Because of the way the law looks at "indirect contributions" (which basically means she gets credit for existing in the house), he lost 70% of the flat's value. *
The Result: He was literally homeless for 2 years, crashing on his sister’s sofa and renting a tiny room............
In this country, marriage for a man is basically like signing a contract where the terms and conditions are all written in invisible ink—and only the wife has the highlighter.
You think I’m being paranoid? Look at my friend, let’s call him Ah Huat. He’s the ultimate "cautionary tale."
He worked his whole life to pay off their 5-room HDB in Seng kang. Then the marriage sour, they go court. He basically caught his wife cheating with her boss and he even bought her a car, he confronted her but she called the cops on her and said that he tried to use a knife to threaten her (Reality: he was cooking in the kitchen), Because of the way the law looks at "indirect contributions" (which basically means she gets credit for existing in the house), he lost 70% of the flat's value. *
The Result: He was literally homeless for 2 years, crashing on his sister’s sofa and renting a tiny room............